Moscow is a city-museum. It is not an easy task to calculate their exact number. But there are pearls in the museum gallery, the expositions and collections of which are national, intellectual, creative assets.
Moscow museums carefully preserve masterpieces of world history and culture. Hundreds of stately state repositories coexist with modern art objects and natural monuments. The capital also has such a unique segment as a museum estate - Kolomenskoye, Ostankino, Tsaritsyno, Kuskovo.
In Moscow there are more than 400 private and state museums and their branches, which are constantly replenishing their expositions. Every week new exhibitions and creative events are announced in the capital.
Acquaintance with the capital usually begins with the historical center: Red, Manege and Cathedral Squares. The museums of Red Square are devoted to the history of Moscow and the Russian state; contain rich and interesting collections of artifacts and treasures from different centuries.
Historical Museum in Moscow
The State Historical Museum is the largest museum of the national history of the Russian state. Here the priceless monuments of archeology, numismatics, ancient Russian painting and bookishness, weapons, works of fine and decorative arts are kept. The museum’s collections include about 5 million museum objects and more than 14 million sheets of documentary materials.
In 2006, the Historical Museum completed work on a permanent exhibition. The history of Russia from ancient times to the beginning of the 20th century is presented on two floors in 39 halls. The exhibition starts on the second floor. It is dedicated to primitive society, ancient Russia, fragmentation, the fight against foreign invaders, the unification of Russia, culture, the development of Siberia. Russia is shown on the third floor, beginning with the era of Peter I: politics, culture, and the economy of the Russian Empire.
The museum presents about 22 thousand items on 4 thousand square meters. To bypass the exposition of the museum it is necessary to take more than 4 thousand steps, which is about 3 km. This is the scale of the museum in numbers. If you spend about a minute on each exhibit for an inspection, then it will take about 360 hours of time, which is only 0.5% of its collections.
Address: Red Square, 1
The Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow
Lavrushinsky Lane in Moscow became famous only because the Russian merchant, millionaire and philanthropist Pavel Mikhailovich Tretyakov built a special building for his collection of paintings here. It formed the basis of one of the largest art collections in the world. The Tretyakov Gallery continues to preserve, explore, and popularize Russian art, thereby forming our cultural identity.
The first canvases of the future Tretyakov collection were acquired in 1856. A decade later, the gallery was opened to the public, and in 1892 the owner donated it to Moscow along with the building. In the first years of the 20th century, the facade was rebuilt according to Vasnetsov’s sketch.
Employees of the Tretyakov Gallery are always jealous of their duties. After the maniac stabbed Repin's picture with a knife, the gallery keeper found himself guilty of this incident and rushed under the train.
After the revolution, the collection was nationalized, the building was repeatedly completed and rebuilt, and the building of the closed church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy was annexed to it. During the war, paintings and statues were evacuated to Siberia, combined in 1985 with the State Picture Gallery on Krymsky Val, the main exposition was moved there, and the main building was restored for 11 years. A new building for the Tretyakov Gallery on Kadashevskaya Embankment is under construction now.
Address: Lavrushinsky per. 10
Museum-Estate "Lefortovo" in Moscow
Previously, on the site of Lefortovo, there was a settlement with foreigners who settled here after the Livonian War. This settlement on the bank of Yauza was plundered by the Poles during the reign of False Dmitry II. Gradually, it was here that something like the “embassy” suburb of Moscow was formed.
The creation of a landscape gardening ensemble began in the 18th century. All construction was concentrated in the hands of Fedor Alekseevich Golovin. Thanks to his efforts, the Lefortovo Park was created, which resembles the famous Versailles ensemble. Since that time, alleys and ponds have been preserved, as well as a 20th century arbor in the style of classicism. And already Paul I, who came to the throne in 1796, gave the look of Lefortovo a military parade style.
Now the Lefortovo estate is a place where residents and guests of the capital can attend interesting educational lectures. The presenters will be happy to tell their listeners about the stages of the emergence and subsequent development of the Lefortovo palace and park ensemble, the reigns of Peter I and Empress Elizaveta Petrovna, the charity mission of Lefort himself and his entourage, the history of the emergence and disbandment of the Moscow Cadet Corps, the birth of the Russian Navy and many other fascinating topics relating to the history of Russia. Among other events, interactive cognitive classes are also organized here, which are accompanied by the demonstration of visual exhibits, photographs and video recordings of historical persons and events related to the estate.
Address: Krasnokazarmennaya st., Building 3
Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin in Moscow
State Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin is a museum complex possessing one of the largest art collections in Russia of foreign art, storing artifacts created by masters of different eras - from Ancient Egypt and ancient Greece to the present day.
The date of foundation of the Museum of Fine Arts is considered to be on August 17 (29), 1898. On this day in Moscow, in the former Kolymazhny dvor, near to the Cathedral of Christ the Savior on Volkhonka, a new museum, founded with public funds, was laid. This event was preceded by years of intense work by its founder, professor at Moscow University Ivan Vladimirovich Tsvetaev (1847-1913), as well as a group of Moscow and St. Petersburg scientists.
The new museum was conceived primarily as a university training center; its foundation was composed of plaster reproductions (casts) of sculptural originals. Plaster castings were made by the largest firms of the time; many were made specifically by the order of I.V. Tsvetaev. Fourteen years later, in May 1912, the museum was opened to the sound of a solemn cantata, specially written for this event. The collection of casts was replenished with magnificent collections of genuine works of art. This is a collection of ancient Egyptian monuments (about 6,000 items) that the Petersburg orientalist V.S. Golenishchev gathered during his travels in Egypt, and works of Italian artists of the XII-XIV centuries from the collection of M.S. Shchekin.
The museum finally became the collection of originals in the second half of the 1920s and 1930s, when an art gallery emerged as a result of the redistribution of the museum funds of the country. It combined the works of foreign artists from the former Rumyantsev Museum, the collections of S.M. Tretyakov, Yusupov, Shuvalovs, G.A. Brokar, D.I. Shchukin and other collectors. These were paintings by Dutch and German masters, 17th century Flemish and Spanish painters, 13th-17th century Italian artists, and 19th-century French authors. However, revenues from the State Hermitage Museum were crucial for the formation of the art gallery. From there, the works of the largest European painters — Botticelli, Rembrandt, Van Dyck, Rubens, Poussin, Murillo, Canaletto — came to Moscow.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 12
The planetarium was opened after 17 years of renovation in 2011. It was elevated by 6 meters in height. The area of the planetarium increased from 3 thousand square meters to 17 thousand. This made it possible to significantly expand the functionality of the complex.
The Big Star Hall is the main hall of the planetarium. It is the largest in Europe; its dome-screen diameter is 25 meters. During the day, various astronomical films are shown there. On the grand dome-screen, the effect of a deep black sky dotted with thousands of twinkling stars is created, and travels in time and space take place. An hour before the session in the Great Star Hall visitors take a tour of the Urania Museum.
The Urania Museum is named after one of nine muses. Urania is the patroness of astronomy and personifies the power of contemplation. The museum consists of 2 levels. The first level is dedicated to the history of space exploration. It presents instruments and tools from the funds of the planetarium, mock-ups of spacecraft of different years, photographs of space and stained-glass windows. At the second level, visitors can see a collection of meteorites, large relief globes of the Earth, the Moon, Mars and Venus. In addition, at the second level of the museum, a large-scale model of the Solar System was recreated.
Address: Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya St., 5 b. 1
Marine Aquarium at Chistye Prudy in Moscow
The marine aquarium at Chistye Prudy is a small aquarium located in the center of Moscow on Chistoprudny Boulevard. There are guided tours, during which visitors are introduced to the inhabitants of the tropical seas. Twice a week in the aquarium they organize a show with the feeding of marine predators - sharks and moray eels.
The area of the aquarium is 500 square meters, which is home to about a thousand fish and small marine animals. Aquariums with them are installed in several halls, and one of the largest aquariums is made in the form of a large panoramic hall “Batiskaf”. Around the visitors outside the walls of the aquarium sharks swim, and under their feet - stingrays. In another tank a fragment of the seabed is recreated. In the third you can see a flock of colorful small tropical fish that love to settle in coral reefs.
Among the inhabitants of the aquarium there are also poisonous fish-stones, striped clown fish, lion fish, seahorses, piranhas, sea urchins, octopuses, sea anemones and corals. Some inhabitants, for example, a tortoise and starfish are allowed to stroke.
Address: Chistoprudny Blvd., 14, Building 3
Manor Ostafyevo in Moscow
The estate of Ostafyevo with a light hand of Pushkin is now often called the “Russian Parnassus”. One of the owners of the estate was Prince A.I. Vyazemsky, it was under him that many writers and poets of the 19th century visited it. Among the guests there were Zhukovsky and Griboyedov, Gogol and Pushkin.
The owners of the estate were well-known Russian representatives of the elite: Prokopy Lyapunov, Bartenevs, Lvovs, Peter Apraksin, Vyazemskie, Sheremetevs and others. Moreover, with the next subsequent generation, the external and internal appearance of the estate was modified, completed and acquired the features of a real museum. There was organized a large book depository, a collection of objects of painting, applied art and ancient weapons. And even in the revolutionary era, when all weapons were seized everywhere, it was still possible to defend a valuable collection of the manor through long negotiations. After nationalization, a recreation center was located here, and it was not until 1989 that the museum was revived in Ostafyevo, and its reconstruction continues to this day.
Current visitors have a unique opportunity to get acquainted with the historical events that the manor has experienced during all the years of its existence. On the territory monuments to Pushkin, Vyazemsky, Karamzin and Zhukovsky are located. Guides will offer everyone a guided tour of the picturesque manor park. Here you can enjoy the aroma of a wonderful historic linden alley, breathe in the fresh and healthy air in the pine forest and stroll through the age-old Russian birch grove. Different topics and very interesting excursions are held for both adult visitors and young guests.
Address: Ryazanovskoe, village Ostafevo
Museum of Archeology of Moscow
The Museum of Archeology of Moscow was opened in 1997. This unique museum is located at a depth of 7 meters. One of the main exhibits is the foundations of the 17th century Resurrection Bridge across the Neglinnaya River.
In the museum you can see numerous treasures found in various parts of Moscow. Of particular interest is the large treasure of silver dishes and coins from the Gostiny Dvor.
In the center of the exhibition - the foundations of the Resurrection Bridge of the XVIII century, discovered during excavations. The bridge was transferred across the Neglinnaya River from the Resurrection Gate to the road to Tver. Built in the time of Boris Godunov and filled up after the fire of 1812, the Resurrection Bridge is a witness of several centuries of the city’s life. The museum has modern multimedia installations around the bridge, showing the history of this part of the city. In addition, there are binoculars - interactive modules-glasses, with which you can look into the past and see how the surroundings of the bridge looked in different eras.
Address: Manezhnaya Square, 1a
Gallery of Alexander Shilov in Moscow
Alexander Shilov Gallery is located in a mansion of the early nineteenth century. The expositions of the gallery are devoted to the works of the Russian artist Alexander Shilov, who works in the classical technique of realistic art. The exposition of the gallery is regularly updated, as the artist donates his new paintings to the city. At the moment, the gallery has about nine hundred paintings by Alexander Shilov. In addition to exhibition activities, the gallery of Alexander Shilov organizes creative evenings of classical music.
The Moscow State Art Gallery of the USSR People’s Artist Alexander Shilov opened its doors in May 1997. The gallery is located in a beautiful mansion of the beginning of the nineteenth century, designed by the famous Russian architect E. D. Tyurin in the historical center of Moscow.
The portrait gallery has reflected the multifaceted work of Alexander Shilov, based on the best traditions of classical realistic art and affirming the timeless value of the ideals of humanism and beauty.
The concerts “Stars at A. Shilov’s”, creative evenings “Meeting at a Portrait”, evenings of classical music and ancient romance, which create a special atmosphere of spirituality and beauty, continuity of Russian classical art culture, so necessary to our contemporaries, have become traditional.
Address: Znamenka Street, 3
Diamond Fund of the Moscow Kremlin in Moscow
The Diamond Fund Museum in the Moscow Kremlin is the current exhibition unit which has been operating since 1967.
The history of the Diamond Fund of Russia began with the decree of Peter I on the formation and preservation of a collection of valuable items throughout the state. Until 1914, precious objects of this collection - state regalia, insignia, and jewelry - were kept in a special room of the Winter Palace in St. Petersburg.
In connection with the events of the First World War, the jewels of the royal collection were transported for safe storage to the basements of the Moscow Kremlin, where they were located for almost 8 years. The examination in 1922 confirmed their exceptional value; the collection was fully included in the State Repository.
The famous treasures of the Diamond Fund are unique nuggets and products made of precious stones and metals of the XVIII – XX centuries, the most significant part of the fund of Russia in artistic and historical terms, a genuine public wealth.
The central exhibits of the Diamond Fund Museum include the famous seven historical stones weighing from 25 to 398.72 carats: these are the “Orlov”, “Shakh” and portrait diamond, gigantic samples of emerald, Ceylon sapphire, spinel and gem - olive green chrysolite.
The most famous items in the collection are the big and small imperial crowns, a scepter (its upper part is decorated with an “Orlov” diamond) and a orb, a diamond mark on a chain with a star of the highest order of the Russian Empire.
Address: Proyektiruemy pr., 813
Moscow cat museum
Artist Andrei Abramov and his colleague Inna Mankos began collecting images of cats about twenty years ago. These were paintings and sculptures, ceramics and photographs. Еру hobby turned into a profession, and in March 1993 a cat museum was opened. It does not have permanent premises in Moscow, but its fame has outgrown the framework of the Russian Federation. The museum organizes visiting exhibitions that have been successfully demonstrated at world and national cat shows.
The organizers of the museum space are real popularizers of the “cat business” - they hold cat shows, film shows and fashion shows, song contests and art auctions. The main hero of these events is a cat. The whole world of this institution revolves around it.
In ancient Russia, the cat was the subject of prestige and luxury - only rich people could keep it. Animals multiplied well and gradually mastered in the expanses of the country. The Russians loved cats, even Gilyarovsky, describing the markets of Moscow, said that fat cats sat on the shelves, and merchants organized competitions - whose cat is thicker. In Russian homes it is still the opinion that the dog is the mistress of the yard, and the cat is at home. A flexible and elegant cat is associated by the Slavs with the feminine. On a sufficiently large number of pictures, the cat underlines female beauty. Its images are found in the Egyptian pyramids, in cave paintings, in the Bible. The cat was built into a cult and was considered protector from evil spirits. The animal was first allowed into a new house, it was considered a great sin to kill it.
Address: Rublevskoe highway, 109, building 1
Multimedia Art Museum (Moscow House of Photography) in Moscow
Founded by Olga Sviblova in 1996, the Moscow House of Photography museum is never empty. Visitors can wander through the 7-storey building for hours, viewing the works of Russian and foreign photographers.
Now it is a large center for contemporary arts on Ostozhenka, which in 2001 combined the Moscow House of Photography Museum, the A. Rodchenko School of Photography and the Multimedia Art Museum and thus became a platform for the development of Russian photography.
The center is located in an old mansion, after the reconstruction of which they retained the facade, but completed a large new space under the glass roof. Inside, everything is done stylishly and simply - a lot of “air” and white walls do not distract visitors from the most important thing - from the talented works of photographers.
The prototype for creating the Moscow House of Photography was the European House of Photography, which is located in Paris. These two houses are implementing joint projects in the framework of cultural cooperation between the two capitals. Due to the close connection with the European home, Muscovites were able to see unique expositions of images of masters of the twentieth century.
On the basis of the Moscow House of Photography there is the first photo library in Russia. It contains Russian and foreign books on art, technology and the history of photography, as well as a unique collection of negatives and photographs from the beginning of the 20th century.
Address: st. Ostozhenka, d.16.
Gallery of Ilya Glazunov in Moscow
The Moscow State Art Gallery of the People’s Artist of the USSR Ilya Glazunov was opened on August 31, 2004. Ilya Sergeyevich Glazunov donated his paintings and graphic works to Moscow as a gift.
The gallery displays over 700 paintings by the world famous artist. Ilya Sergeevich Glazunov is a full member of the Russian Academy of Arts, academician, laureate of the State Prize of the Russian Federation, honorary member of the Royal Academies of Arts of Madrid and Barcelona, holder of the UNESCO award - Picasso Gold Medal for his contribution to world culture and civilization.
Gallery of Ilya Glazunov is located in the historical district of Moscow near to the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. Its uniqueness is a huge world of images created by the artist during the second half of the XX - beginning of the XXI century: his monumental canvases, historical paintings, illustrations to the works of Russian classical literature, numerous portraits, images of the “City” cycle, sketches of theatrical scenery for Russian classical opera N.A. Rimsky-Korsakov, A.P. Borodin, PI Tchaikovsky.
A feature of the gallery, which distinguishes it from modern galleries and museums, is that, in addition to works of art, there are masterpieces of ancient Russian icon painting, wooden sculpture, cast copper icons and folding XV - XIX centuries; items of furniture of the XIX - XX centuries from the collection of Ilya Sergeevich Glazunov.
Ilya Glazunov is not only an artist, but also an architect, author of interiors (the decoration of the gallery’s halls is made according to his projects), historian, journalist, writer, public figure, founder and rector of the Russian Academy of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 13
Cheburashka Museum in Moscow
The museum of the legendary character of Edward Uspensky was opened in 2008. The idea of creating a museum belongs to the author of the cycle of works about Cheburashka and Crocodile Gena himself. The figures of these popular fairy-tale characters will meet visitors at the entrance to the museum. A telephone booth of the 60s was also installed here, where, according to the writer's plan, there lived a “beast unknown to science” Cheburashka.
The collection of an unusual museum consisted of children's drawings, crafts, soft toys, dedicated to the beloved fairy tales of Uspensky. Of particular value is the typewriter of the children's writer stored in the museum, on which the famous fairy tale was created.
The Cheburashka Museum is one of the smallest in Moscow. It occupies two rooms. The first part of the exhibition is actually placed in an old telephone booth. Despite the miniature and even a certain conventionality of this institution, the museum is actively involved in creative work. Periodically, there are creative workshops or concerts, as well as temporary exhibitions.
To a separate "branch" of the museum a small literary living room can be attributed, where periodically meetings with children's writers, including the author of the fairy tale about Cheburashka.
During these meetings, you can find out, for example, what claims the book had from the censors, why the release of the book was threatened, and also why the Zakhoder, teacher of Uspensky, considered the history of Cheburashka to be a rather insignificant piece.
Address: st. Dmitrievsky, 3A
Armory of the Moscow Kremlin in Moscow
The Armory of the Moscow Kremlin is included in the museum complex of the Kremlin and is located on its territory. The building of the modern Armory Chamber was built in 1851 by the project of architect K. A. Ton during the planned restructuring of the Kremlin. In this case, the first mention of the repository as the Armory Prikaz refers to 1547, about the Chamber - to the 1560.
The beginning of the museum of the Armory Chamber was laid back in 1806 - by an appropriate decree of Alexander I. Having survived a lot of historical upheavals, the museum became part of the State Museum of the Moscow Kremlin in 1960.
The basis of the existing museum exposition was formed by the precious products of the Kremlin workshops and gifts by ambassadors from other countries. The historical name of the Kremlin's treasury has been kept.
The precious products included in the royal and then in the museum treasures were created by Russian, European and Oriental craftsmen of the 4th - early 20th century. The permanent museum exhibition covers about 4,000 objects of decorative and applied arts of high artistic and historical value.
Among the most impressive exhibits of the museum collection there are royal carriages, coronation gown, secular costumes, Monomakh's hat and other ancient state regalia, ceremonial weapons, Faberge eggs. Funds of the Armory include archival materials.
Address: Moscow Kremlin
Paleontological Museum in Moscow
The largest Paleontological Museum named after Yu. A. Orlov in Moscow is an important part and a practical component of the Paleontological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences.
For the first time the museum was opened in 1937, then its area covered only 700 square meters. Various reasons have already put pressure on the establishment several times, and it was forced to close and change its location.
The main and permanent leaders of the museum for a long time were paleontologists-researchers Flerov Konstantin and Efremov Ivan. Today, the head of the museum is A. A. Karhu.
The main exhibition of the museum is located in six rooms with a total area of about 5,000 square meters.
Acquaintance with the museum begins with the introductory hall (hall 1), where visitors get a general idea of paleontology as a science. Thematic exposition of the next hall covers the period of the Precambrian and Early Paleozoic - the initial stages of the development of life on earth. The third hall is devoted to geology and paleontology of the Moscow region in a broad sense.
The exhibitions in the other halls are arranged in chronological order: the Paleozoic period and the beginning of the Mesozoic (hall 4), the second half of the Mesozoic (two-level hall 5, the exhibition is largely devoted to dinosaurs), Cenozoic and the era of mammals (Hall 6).
Address: Profsoyuznaya 123
House-Museum of N.V. Gogol in Moscow
The full official name of this institution is: “The house of N. V. Gogol is a memorial museum and a scientific library”. In fact, there is not only the aforesaid, but also the “New Wing”, the research department, and the exhibition hall, and the library consists of several large sections, including the reading room and the music department.
The museum occupies a historic building in which the great writer spent the last four years before his death. The old house was built before the great fire of 1812 and since then has repeatedly passed from hand to hand and underwent various changes. N.V. Gogol moved here to the family of his friend, Count Alexander Petrovich Tolstoy and his wife, who at first only rented one floor in the building, and later purchased it. After the revolution, the house was made a typical residential apartment building, and in 1971 it was transferred to the library. Three years later, the first museum rooms opened at the library. The exposition received the full status of a memorial museum in 2005. In 2009, it was opened after a major modernization, becoming much more detailed and more thorough.
The museum exposition occupies the first floor of the building. It is distributed between several rooms, in each of which the exhibition is built around some particularly significant exhibit. The latter is associated with the general idea of a specific part of the exposition: for example, in a memorial room it is a death mask, and in the auditorium it is a chair. Among the exhibits there are simply antique items of the epoch and genuine personal belongings of the writer.
The exposition of the second floor focuses specifically on the books of N. V. Gogol, as well as monographs about him. In addition, it tells about the hospitable hosts, with whom the writer has associated genuine emotional intimacy.
Address: Nikitsky Blvd., 7A
House-Museum of V.M. Vasnetsov in Moscow
Since 1986, the All-Union (since 1994 - All-Russian) museum association "The State Tretyakov Gallery" has included the house-museum of Viktor Mikhailovich Vasnetsov, located in the former 3rd Troitsky Lane (now Vasnetsov Lane). It was opened in 1953. Today, there are 25 thousand exhibits that allow you to get acquainted with the biography and works of the famous artist.
The interiors of the house have the national-romantic spirit. A suite of rooms on the ground floor connects the living and the dining rooms with the living rooms of the wife, daughter and sons. In the living room and dining room, the log walls are combined with furniture made according to Old Russian samples in the Abramtsev and Stroganov carpentry-carver workshops, as well as from the drawings by V.M. Vasnetsov by his brother Arkady in Vyatka. The design of the dining room is close to that of a peasant hut.
The workshop is located on the second floor. Many famous works of the artist were created here (including the famous "Bogatyri", 1881-1898). The paintings in the workshop were painted in the 1900s. Almost all of them are inspired by the images of Russian folklore. Among them are seven canvases, which the artist himself called “the poem of seven fairy tales”: this series includes “Tsarevna-Nesmeyana”, “Tsarevna-Frog”, “Carpet-Plane” (1919-1926). Vasnetsov's favorite epic "heroic" theme continued in the works "The Battle of Ivan Tsarevich with the Three-Headed Serpent", "Dobrynia Nikitich with the seven-headed Serpent Gorynych" (1918).
Address: per. Vasnetsov, 13
Museum of Russian State Humanitarian University in Moscow
The Museum “Other Art” was opened in the Museum Center of the Russian State Humanitarian University in 2000. The Museum “Other Art” is dedicated to unofficial Russian art from 1950 to 1970. The basis of the museum collection was the collection of Leonid Prokhorovich Talochkin.
Before the revolution of 1917, the Shanyavsky People’s University was located in the old part of the building. After World War II, a part of the building was built in the style of the "Stalin Empire". The museum "Other Art" is located in it. The collection of the museum has more than 1500 works of art. The basis of the exhibition is works of artists of the sixties. Later works, of the late 1990s, are presented in the exhibition.
The circle of artists whose works are represented in the museum is impressive. These are the works of the masters of the Soviet underground: A. Abramov, S. Bordachev, V. Vaisberg, B. Beach, R. Gerlovin, Yu. Zharkikh, A. Zverev, V. Kalinin, Yu. Kosagovsky, D. Krasnopevtsev, V. Kropivnitskaya and L. Kropivnitsky, E. Neizvestny, V. Nemukhin, V. Pyanov, A. Rabin, M. Roginsky, E. Rukhin, A. Kharitonov, O. Tselkov, V. Yankilevsky, S. Shutov and others.
In the Museum Center there are also the Art and Training Museum named after I.V. Tsvetaev, Hall of Art of Ancient Mexico and the Exhibition Hall, which hosts a variety of exhibitions, including international. The Museum Center today is a cultural and educational center and an innovative research area where the concept of “Education through art means” is implemented.
Address: st. Chayanov, 15
Museum of personal collections in Moscow
The Museum of Personal Collections is one of the youngest and most unusual museums in the country. The decision on its creation as the Department of Personal Collections of the State Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin was taken in July 1985. On January 24, 1994, the Museum opened its doors to visitors.
The collections donated to the Pushkin Museum by private collectors and by the artists themselves or their families are located on two floors. The exposition of art collections is presented in such a way that the integrity of individual collections and the clarity of the original idea of those who created them over the years have not been violated. At the same time, special attention is paid to the personality of each collector, his tastes and preferences.
Since the founding of the Museum, about thirty collections have been received from donors to its funds. Currently, the museum collection includes over seven thousand works of Russian and Western European art of the 15th – 20th centuries. These are painting, drawing, sculpture, applied art and artistic photography. Collections differ from each other in their focus and structure. They are divided by types of art, among them there are monographic and thematic. A special place in the collection is devoted to the unique collection of the founder of the museum - I.S. Silberstein. It has over two thousand paintings and drawings, occupying four halls in the exposition. These are works of the highest level, performed in various techniques and genres, representing the work of both individual masters and some artistic associations. Such collections themselves can turn into independent museums.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 10
Museum of I.S. Turgenev in Moscow
Museum OF I.S. Turgenev was opened in October 2009 in the house which was rented from 1840 to 1850 by the writer's mother Varvara Petrovna Turgeneva. While in Moscow, Turgenev stayed with his mother, sometimes lingering for several months. His guests were many prominent people of the era of the 40s of the XIX century.
In this “gray house with white columns,” the events described in the famous Turgenev story “Mumu” took place. Almost all the inhabitants of the house became the prototypes of its heroes, including Varvara Petrovna - some traits of her character are guessed in the mistress, who forced the janitor Gerasim to get rid of the "nasty little dog."
In the ceremonial enfilade of the halls of the Turgenev Memorial House there is an exposition "Moscow. Ostozhenka. Turgenev", telling about the life and work of the writer, his epoch, literary and friendly environment, his family, Moscow life, events connected with the "Ostozhensky" house.
Address: st. Ostozhenka 37/7
Stalin's Bunker in Moscow
The “Bunker 42” Museum of the Cold War is a unique tourist site, unique in its kind and unparalleled in the world. The facility is located in the very center of Moscow deep underground.
The construction of the bunker began in 1951 due to the imminent threat of a nuclear war with the United States. During the construction of the underground complex, the same equipment and technology was used as in the construction of the subway.
Already in 1956, the object of about 7 thousand square meters was completed. The bunker housed: a reserve command post of the long-range aviation headquarters, a radio studio, a central telegraph office, a geodesic laboratory, and so on. The staff of workers was more than 2.5 thousand people.
By the mid-70s, it was decided to reconstruct the object. The reason for this was the numerous technical problems: non-automatic drives of hermetic doors, insufficient waterproofing, physical and moral obsolescence of ventilation systems and diesel generators. However, plans were not allowed to materialize. Due to the lack of funding, the bunker gradually became unusable, and in 1995, after the confiscation of secret equipment, the object was completely declassified.
The entrance to Stalin's bunker on the surface is protected by a concrete dome, 6 m thick, which is hidden in the frame of an ordinary two-story house. The building has pseudo-windows, in which even during the work of the bunker for its intended purpose in the evenings the lights were turned on for conspiracy. The object was classified secret so much that workers were either brought in by blind buses, or delivered by special branch in subway cars.
The museum is located at a depth of 60 m under the ground. Direct access to the stairwell is closed by a hermetic door and a sliding plate about 1 m thick, which is able to protect the room from the blast of a nuclear strike.
Address: 5th Kotelnichesky Lane, 11
Darvin Museum in Moscow
The Darvin State Museum is the official name of Europe’s largest zoological museum, most of whose visitors call it simply the Darvin Museum. The museum was opened over a hundred years ago by Professor Cots, in order to satisfy people's craving for the knowledge of nature and the reasons for the diversity of living beings.
You can safely come to the museum even with the youngest children, they will be especially interested there, because in the halls you can see models of moving dinosaurs (causing a special storm of emotions among young visitors), listen to the buzz of various insects, birds singing or the roar of animals by pressing the corresponding buttons on special stands in the hall. Or to get up on special scales, and find out how many mice, foxes or elephants you have.
Immediately upon arrival at the museum a full immersion in the history of the development of our planet begins. Inspection should start from the central hall. If you're lucky, you can immediately get to the demonstration of the film about the origin and development of life on the planet. The film is shown right on the walls of the hall, the lights are extinguished, and visitors are transported millions of years ago to see with their own eyes the big bang, the formation of the moon, the birth and death of dinosaurs, and finally the birth of humanity.
At the end of the viewing, special attention should be paid directly to the central hall, in which, besides representatives of the diverse animal world, the model of the first bathyscaphe was arranged comfortably, of the windows of which you can see the water world, ranging from walrus striking in its size and ending with unusual shells and algae.
Address: st. Vavilova, 57
Museum named after N.K. Roerich in Moscow
Museum named after N.K. Roerich of the International Center of the Roerichs is located in the very heart of Moscow, on the territory of the old city estate of the Lopukhins. It is a little reminiscent of other art museums and galleries. Its story and destiny are as unique and unusual as the life of the person whose name the museum bears.
The initiative to create the country's first cultural institution of a new type, the public Museum named after N.K. Roerich, belongs to Svetoslav Roerich - a great artist, thinker, versatile scientist, talented teacher and well-known public figure. The creation of the Museum in the status of a public cultural center was associated with the ideas of Svyatoslav Nikolaevich about culture, the organization of which, in his opinion, should not be state, but public.
The collection of the Museum constitutes the invaluable cultural heritage of the Roerichs, transferred by Svetoslav Nikolaevich to the Soviet Fund of the Roerichs (now the International Center of the Roerichs) in 1990. Exceptional in the richness of artistic, philosophical, and scientific thought, it carries with it a new cosmic world view, the interest in which is increasing every year.
The central place in the Roerichs' heritage is occupied by the philosophy of cosmic reality - the Living Ethics, which reveals the idea of the close relationship between man and the Cosmos, contains knowledge that helps to understand the features of the upcoming evolutionary stage in the development of mankind.
Address: Barykovsky Lane, 4, bld. 2
Museum of Soviet Gaming Machines in Moscow
The museum of Soviet gaming machines in Moscow was opened on April 13, 2007. It is called the "time machine", which takes adults to childhood, and allows children to see the past that helps to establish closer contact between modern children and their parents.
The exposition is completely interactive: you can play at everything by dropping a 15-kopek Soviet coin into the coin acceptor. Here you can see the working machines of the 70-80-ies of the twentieth century, such as "Sea battle", "Sniper", "Highway", "Towns", "Safari" and many others.
Every day on weekdays and every hour on weekends you can listen to an exciting excursion. It includes a story about the history of gaming machines, facts from Soviet history and cultural life, a story about the history of the museum itself, as well as an inspection and study of the structure of the Sea Battle from the inside. In addition, you can refresh yourself with delicious soda from a retro machine and call a friend from the phone booth.
Address: st. Kuznetsky Most, 12
Geological Museum named after V.I. Vernadsky in Moscow
State Geological Museum named after V.I. Vernadsky of the Russian Academy of Sciences is the oldest scientific, cultural and educational center in the field of earth sciences in Russia. The museum is located in the center of Moscow in a historic building built in 1918 by the design of the architect R.I. Klein.
The history of the museum originates from the "Mineral Cabinet" of the Imperial Moscow University - the first university in Russia, founded in 1755 thanks to the activities of the outstanding scientist M.V. Lomonosov. The Mineral Cabinet, donated by the Demidovs industrialists, became in 1759 the foundation of the very first natural science museum in Moscow, the Museum of Natural History of Moscow University.
Today, the museum’s collection includes over 300,000 minerals, rocks and fossils. The museum funds were created by scientists, collectors and patrons of the XVIII-XX centuries. Historical collections are unique, including the collections of the Demidovs, Count N.P. Rumyantsev, Count S.G. Stroganov, princes Gagarins.
In the XIX - early XX centuries in the museum outstanding scientists who created a geological science in Russia worked: G.I. Fisher von Waldheim, V.O. Kovalevsky, A.P. Pavlov, M.V. Pavlova, V.I. Vernadsky, A.E. Fersman and many others. During this period, the museum became the center of advanced scientific ideas, the main base for teaching and research work of whole generations of domestic and foreign geologists, mining industry specialists, and the initiator of organizing a broad educational work in the field of natural science.
Today, the museum, as an institution of the Russian Academy of Sciences, continues its scientific and educational traditions. Research is being conducted in the field of geology, subsoil use and ecology, the history of geological sciences, and there are active exhibition activities. The museum participates in various federal and international programs, carries out close cooperation with scientific, educational and public organizations.
Address: Mokhovaya st., 11, b. 11
Memorial Museum-Apartment of A.S. Pushkin on the Arbat in Moscow
In one of the oldest buildings of the Arbat, built immediately after the fire of 1812, where Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin did not spend even six months, today there is a poet’s memorial apartment. The chambers of the 18th century, which belonged to the noble Khitrovo family in 1806, were rebuilt in 1815 into a two-storey mansion with a triangular pediment and aired ground floor walls - typical attributes of the Alexander I era.
It was this house on Arbat that the poet rented on the eve of the wedding. Here was his bachelor party, attended by his closest friends. Immediately after the wedding on February 18, 1831, Alexander Sergeevich brought here his young wife, Natalya Nikolaevna Goncharova. However, the Pushkins lived on the Arbat not for long. Already in May, they moved to a cottage in Tsarskoye Selo, near to St. Petersburg.
Exactly 155 years after the wedding of Pushkin, a memorial museum was opened in the house. The first floor of the house is occupied by the exposition “A. S. Pushkin and Moscow”. Engravings, watercolors and authentic nineteenth-century household items tell how strongly the work and the fate of the poet were associated with Moscow. A special place is occupied by books, almanacs, periodicals, as well as lifetime editions of the poet of the Moscow period. In the rooms on the second floor the interior of the apartment was reconstructed, in which Pushkins lived for three months: solemn halls with parquet floors, heavy curtains, and bronze-crystal chandeliers.
Part of the exhibition, located in the closets in the lobby of the first floor, are gifts to the museum, among them illustrations to the works of the poet, portraits of his acquaintances, objects of decorative and applied art.
Address: st. Arbat, 53
Museum "English Compound" in Moscow
The name of the mansion in the center of Moscow, a vivid example of ancient Russian architecture, is due to the fact that, since 1556, for a long time it was owned by the diplomatic representation of England. There were receptions, Russian and English merchants met, the treasury and goods were kept.
The mansion was built at the end of the XV century at the expense of the merchant Ivan Bobrishchev. After the English the House changed many owners. The change of owners did not contribute to the preservation of the original appearance of the building. By the beginning of the twentieth century, the building had completely lost its former beauty and splendor. Only in the 60s – 70s of the 20th century, with the participation of Peter Baranovsky, a full restoration was carried out, the excellent results of which were estimated by the Queen of Great Britain Elizabeth II herself during her visit to Moscow.
In one of the rooms of the museum, the State Chamber of the Court was restored, where the atmosphere of a medieval house is felt. The expositions are made up of materials from the archive, telling about the Russian-British state and trade relations of the XVI-XVII centuries, graphics, photographic materials, as well as finds made by archaeologists in Zaryadye.
In addition to excursion work, the museum staff organizes events in the framework of exclusive museum programs, including, for example, dramatized and costumed excursions, interactive games for children and adults, “Birthday at the museum”. And in the main hall of the Old English Court, as the echo of past centuries, sounds of old chamber music.
Address: Varvarka st., 4A
Museum of the Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow
The Museum of the Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences receives visitors by prior arrangement or during events in the "open day" format.
The museum contains various developments of Soviet and Russian scientists in the field of cosmonautics, some of them took part in scientific research and visited space - for example, a balloon probe, which was used in the 80s to study the atmosphere of Venus, or the camera, which was used to shoot comet Halley, also in the mid-80s.
However, some developments that have become exhibits of the museum have never been to space. Such a fate befell, for example, the “mechanical arm” created for the Phobos-Grunt spacecraft. It was assumed that with the help of this manipulator, soil will be fenced on Phobos - the satellite of the "red planet" Mars.
In addition to the instruments, the museum also presents models of the spacecraft “Regatta”, equipped with a solar sail, and one of the autonomous stations of the interplanetary station Mars-96, launched in 1996 to study Mars. This project failed because the station collapsed five hours after launch.
One of the exhibitions of the museum, which meets visitors at the entrance, helps to present and appreciate the scale of the universe. These are several stands with images made with varying degrees of distance from the Earth.
The Space Research Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences is the main scientific institution that conducts research in the field of space and is engaged in the development and testing of scientific equipment complexes.
Address: Profsoyuznaya st., 84/32
“Mosfilm” Cinema Concern Museum in Moscow
The Mosfilm Film Studio Museum was established in 1995. Currently it is the Mosfilm Cinema Concern Museum, in several halls of which elements of various decorations are assembled.
A subject of special pride is the collection of retro transport. The Peugeot Phaeton of 1913, the 1913 Rolls Royce Convertible, the Russo-Balt of 1913 — they all feel very comfortable in the 21st century, have all been restored, put into working condition and, despite their age, look like they just left the conveyor line.
Some models are generally represented in Russia in a single copy. Each of the exhibits has its own unusual history - viewers saw the famous “Volga” in such films as “Beware of the car” and “The Diamond Hand”, in the Mercedes-Benz of 1938 Stirlitz traveled in “Seventeen Moments of Spring”, and “Buick-Eight” " of 1941 once belonged to the emperor of Manchuria, Henry Pu I. Here you can see the famous Soviet government vehicles "Zil-101" in 1936 and "ZIS-110" in 1945, trucks, buses and military equipment during the First and Second World Wars.
Of great interest is the collection of various costumes - in the presented exposition, visitors will see the dress of Helen from the film “War and Peace” by S. Bondarchuk, the monastic clothes of Andrei Rublev from the movie of the same name by A. Tarkovsky, luxurious fabulous costumes from the film “The Tale of Tsar Saltan” by A. Ptushko, royal costume from S. Bondarchuk's painting “Boris Godunov” and many others.
Address: Mosfilmovskaya St., 1
The Mikhail Bulgakov Museum in Moscow
Known by the novel “The Master and Margarita” the “bad” apartment number 50 in the house 302 bis at Bolshaya Sadovaya, in which Woland lived, has its prototype. This is the apartment of Mikhail Bulgakov himself on Bolshaya Sadovaya, 10.
In our time, “Bad Apartment” works like a Bulgakov museum. This is a former communal apartment with a long corridor and rooms on both sides, each of which is unique. “First Moscow Cabinet”, “Blue Cabinet”, “Editorial Office”, “Kitchen” - all these are expositions reflecting the life of Bulgakov in the years of his residence at Bolshaya Sadovaya. The writer's workplace is a table with a lamp over which a bookshelf hangs with sphinxes supporting it from below. Many books immediately struck the eye,Mikhail Afanasyevich harbored an extraordinary passion to them, atypical even for a writer.
The Blue Cabinet became the embodiment of Bulgakov’s long-time dream - he always dreamed of having a room with blue walls. For him, it was an ideal place to work, and therefore it was here that the most famous works of the writer appeared. Especially distinguished is a large mahogany secretary, located in the corner of the room, behind which the manuscript of The Master and Margarita was born.
The kitchen fully reflects the life of that era: kerosene containers, stoves, pots and other household items. And if you consider that this area was common, everything falls into place - here you can find anything.
Address: Bolshaya Sadovaya Str., 10, 50
Panorama Museum "Battle of Borodino" in Moscow
The Panorama Museum "Battle of Borodino" is the only museum in Moscow, whose exposition is entirely devoted to the Patriotic War of 1812. The central exhibit of the museum is a panorama - a brilliant example of military history painting of the beginning of the 20th century, dedicated to one of the key moments of Russian history - the Battle of Borodino.
The idea of writing a panorama "Borodino" arose on the eve of the centenary anniversary of victory. The author of the picture was the academician of painting Franz Rubo. The word "panorama" in translation from ancient Greek means "I see around." Panorama, combining the painting canvas, the subject plan and special lighting, has a great power of influence on the viewer. The length of the Borodino panorama is 115 m in circumference, and its height is 15 m. The canvas represents events that took place on the battlefield around noon on August 26 (September 7), 1812. The artist showed the height of the battle when "all the infantry, cavalry and artillery fought desperately "(M.I. Kutuzov).
The opening of the panorama took place in the wooden pavilion at Chistye Prudy on August 29, 1912. By 1918 the building became unusable, and the second life of the panorama began only in 1962, when a new building on Kutuzov Avenue was built at the 150th anniversary of the victory in the Patriotic War.
The museum was conceived to showcase a single exhibit, but the extensive collections of paintings, graphics, arts and crafts, equipment and weapons collected over the years made it possible to create a full-fledged exposition that reveals the main events of World War II.
Address: Kutuzov prospect, 38
Manor Lyublino in Moscow
The heyday of the Russian estates, including ones of the Moscow region, dates back to the end of the XVIII - the first half of the XIX century, when the special importance to the architecture and landscape design was given. Behind all this there was the image of the luxurious royal residences of the "northern capital" - St. Petersburg, and also the image of Versailles - the sovereign of the minds, the legislator of high artistic taste and lifestyle. In the first place, as in the French samples, ancient symbolism appeared which gave the nobleman a bright shine and high status.
Today, the Lyublino estate is an architectural and landscape monument of federal significance. The first information about this area refers to the end of the XVI - the beginning of the XVII century.
The central building, somewhat distant from the rest of the buildings, is the main manor house - the palace. Simultaneously with the manor's house, other manor buildings erected from bricks were built, in contrast to the buildings of most of the estates near to Moscow. Guests drove into the estate over the bridge, thrown across the pond.
Next to the palace there was a large complex of theater buildings, consisting of a theater, the house of the manager and a theater school building. The serf theater in Lublin created fame for its owner and at the beginning of the 19th century was one of the twenty largest serf theaters in Russia.
It is remarkable that almost all the historical buildings of the manor have been miraculously preserved to our time, albeit rebuilt in the 20th century. As in the XIX century, the compositional center of the manor ensemble is the main manor house-palace.
Address: Letnyaya Street., 1 building 6
Central House of Aviation and Cosmonautics in Moscow
There is a place in Moscow where, in a light, understandable and fascinating form, anyone can join the two most important branches of science of the 21st century - aviation and astronautics. This is the Central House of Aviation and Cosmonautics DOSAAF - a museum, exhibition and educational center. Nine halls of the museum tell about the birth and formation of aeronautics in our country, about the first bold dreams of launching a man into space, about great scientists and revolutionary scientific developments - and, finally, about the flights of the past and present. Multimedia and other innovations have not yet touched the museum, but the exhibits, despite the lack of interactive, are very interesting. Here you can see the first artificial satellite of the Earth and the simulator of the “Buran” reusable spacecraft, find out what the pilots of World War II flew on, and understand the principle of operation of jet engines.
The Central House of Aviation and Cosmonautics occupies a two-storey mansion of the early 20th century across the road from Petrovsky Park. Before the revolution, a restaurant and a profitable house were located here, and later, with the formation of Society for the Promotion of Defense, Aviation and Chemical Construction in 1927, the building was transferred to the management of members of the public. Over time, the number of exhibits increased so much that the question of a permanent exhibition arose - and this is how the current museum was formed.
A visit to the museum begins with an inspection of the artifacts of the times of the birth of aeronautics and aviation, right up to the First World War. Models of balloons, airships and primitive airplanes - here there is everything that is connected with the first attempts of a man to get off the ground.
Address: Krasnoarmeyskaya st., 4
Central Museum of the Armed Forces in Moscow
The Central Museum of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation (the former Museum of the Soviet Army) was founded in 1919.
The exhibition presents samples of various weapons and equipment, as well as a collection of military uniforms, documents, awards, weapons and personal belongings of the top military leaders of various periods of the military history of Russia.
Also the battle and trophy banners of the period of the civil and second world wars are presented.
On the open site, there are about 157 units of combat artillery, armored, rocket (including the American MGM-31A "Pershing-1A"), aviation, naval equipment and weapons, from guns and tanks of the civil war to modern operational-tactical and strategic missiles, missile-carrying aircraft and air defense.
The museum offers guided tours of the halls, stock collections and viewing platform, as well as thematic classes for schoolchildren.
Address: st. Soviet Army, 2
Museum of V.V. Mayakovsky in Moscow
Fans of Vladimir Mayakovsky and people who love to look at something new and unusual will love to visit this amazing museum. It is very likely that guests who do not favor the work of this poet will discover his rebellious world and will want to get acquainted with his poetry.
The Mayakovsky Museum was opened in 1938; the poet’s comrades led by Lilya Brik were the initiators of its creation. They began to promote the idea of a museum exhibition immediately after the death of the poet. At first, the museum was located on Taganka, and in 1974 - at Lubyansky Proezd, Building 3. Here, in room No. 12, Mayakovsky lived with friends for nine years until his death.
In the 1980s, the exposition was completely renewed. But for all the time of the museum's work, the main goal was to preserve the creative heritage of Vladimir Mayakovsky. On the fifth floor of the building there are exhibits, which are not allowed visitors. There can only be present scientists who study the work of Mayakovsky.
The first thing that greets visitors at the entrance is a giant letter “I”. That was the name of the first collection of works by the avant-garde poet. And at the same time, this is nothing but the symbolic personification of the personality of the creator who wants to convey his thoughts and dreams to every reader.
The space inside the building is unique because of completely lack of any overlap between the floors. There is only a central staircase that leads to the fourth floor to the room where the great poet lived. The exhibits of the Mayakovsky Museum very much resemble the scenery from the theater. There are no museum windows with neatly laid out exhibits, everything around does not at all correspond to the generally accepted rules for the design of the museum.
At first you might think that confusion reigns here. But looking closer, you begin to understand, it’s just a symbolism that describes the complex creative world of Mayakovsky by his own means. His rebellious, successful experiments, trying to find the way to the new rules of versification, which will be in demand in the future - the designers of the museum exposition tried to express this with their unique design of the room.
Address: Lubyansky passage, 3 / 6c4
Museum of Oriental Art in Moscow
The State Museum of the East, which occupies the Lunin House, was established on October 30, 1918 and is one of the largest cultural and educational centers, in which the art of the Far and Near East, as well as Central Asia, the Caucasus, Transcaucasia, Kazakhstan, Buryatia, Chukotka and others is most fully represented.
By the decree of the President of the Russian Federation, the museum is referred to "Especially valuable objects of the cultural heritage of Russia." The museum funds include painting, graphics, sculpture, decorative and applied arts of Japan, China, Korea, Iran, India, Vietnam, Burma, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Mongolia and many other countries. Admiration is caused by unique samples of ancient and medieval sculpture, including Buddhist, classical and modern painting, including on scrolls, works of masters of artistic varnish, textiles and jewelry, wood carvings and bones, works of miniature sculpture, weapons, various household items . A special place among the permanent exhibitions of the museum occupies the work of outstanding artists, thinkers, scientists and educators - Nicholas and Svyatoslav Roerich.
The Museum of the East is not only a large exhibition complex, but also a research institute. The museum has permanent exhibitions: "Art of Korea", "Art of China", "Art of Japan", "Art of Southeast Asia", "Art of the Caucasus", "Art of Iran", "Art of India", "Art of Central Asia and Kazakhstan", "Art of Buryatia, Mongolia and Tibet", "Art of the Peoples of the North", "Painting of the Transcaucasus and Central Asia (XIX century - 1st half of the twentieth century)", "Creativity of N.K. and S.N. Roerich".
Address: Nikitsky Blvd., 12A
Museum of Russian Folk Toys in Moscow
Here you can see incredible toys that are more than a century years old, from a variety of materials: a bright flap, pleasantly rough birch bark, barbed straw and warm wood. And they will also show you (and will surely give you a chance to touch!) toys from the times of the USSR and the most modern ones - after all, each epoch is amazing and interesting in its own way.
In the life of every person toys occupy a very important place. His psycho-emotional development, moral formation as a person and ethical values largely depend on both the environment and the things that accompanied him in childhood.
A traditional toy is a product of national and decorative art of a single region. During its creation, the master uses the experience of previous generations. It carries a huge semantic load - the finished product will tell about the culture and life of nations.
Museum events are held in an interactive form and are designed to introduce the child to the world of folk entertainment, to make him feel his involvement in the history of his country. Excursions here are fabulous: there is no monotonous story of the guide, from which you want to sleep, guides play with children and tell them the fascinating story of each exhibit.
Filimonovskaya, Kargopolskaya, Romanovskaya, Fedoseevskaya and Khludnevskaya haze - the exposition shows more than one and a half thousand toys of 20 toy crafts from 15 Russian regions. The exhibits are provided by the Traditions Folklore Society. The Museum of the Russian folk toy “Zabavushka” constantly conducts master classes for children and parents. You will learn to sculpt from clay, cut from birch bark, sew from scrap materials and much more. The warm atmosphere of childhood, magic and family comfort reigns in this place.
Address: 1st Pugachevskaya St., 17
Museum-Estate of Leo Tolstoy in Khamovniki in Moscow
"Khamovniki" is an old Moscow manor. Tolstoy bought it in 1882 from the collegiate secretary I. A. Arnautov. He lived here with his family for 19 winters, until the spring of 1901, spending every summer in Yasnaya Polyana. Of the 13 children of the Tolstoy couple, 10 lived in Moscow: daughters Tatiana, Maria, Alexandra; sons Sergey, Ilya, Lev, Andrei, Mikhail, Alexey, Vanechka.
In the Khamovnichesky house, the writer created about a hundred works, including the novel "Resurrection", the novel "The Death of Ivan Ilyich”, “The Kreutzer Sonata”, “Father of Sergius”.
Since 1921, the house on today's Lev Tolstoy Street, 21 is a memorial museum, part of the Leo Tolstoy State Museum.
Of particular interest is the working room of Tolstoy on the second floor, at the very end of a narrow corridor. On the approach to it you can see the shoe bench, behind which the writer himself made shoes. He mastered this craft when he was 55 years old. There is also a bicycle, on which Tolstoy first sat at 67 years old. The furnishing of the cabinet contrasts with the furnishings of the house. The first thing that catches your eye is low ceilings. A man of medium height will reach them by hand. A large table, behind which stands a low wooden chair. The writer himself sawed its legs to sit closer to the manuscripts. Another table to work while standing. On average, Tolstoy wrote for 8-9 hours a day. In this office, he created more than a hundred different works. He also received visitors, among which were representatives of the lowest strata of society, and famous figures of Russian culture. Tolstoy believed that if someone needed him, he could not refuse to meet.
Address: st. Leo Tolstoy, 21
Moscow State Museum of Defense
The Moscow State Museum of Defense was opened in 1981. It presents the history of the greatest event of the Great Patriotic War, which predetermined the fate of not only our country, but the whole world - the battle of Moscow 1941-1942. The visitor seems to go along with the participants of the Moscow battle the whole difficult path of trials, learns and understands what motivated people at the most critical moments of the battle, wonders at their strength of mind, embodied in a sacrificial feat in order to save life on earth.
The exposition recreated with the help of authentic objects and a unique architectural and artistic solution helps to understand what stopped the best forces of the most powerful army at that time near the walls of Moscow. Visitors like to turn the pages of the full drama of the history of Russia: the people's militia, the air defense of Moscow, the life of Muscovites.
The exposition of military equipment in the open air acquaints with the best artillery pieces of the Great Patriotic War.
The museum organizes thematic exhibitions, holds annual military-historical holidays and is a member of citywide cultural events. For visitors excursions, cultural and educational programs, lectures and excursion support in the battlefields in the Moscow region are offered.
Address: st. Olympic Village 3
Zelenograd Local History Museum in Moscow
In the creative palette of Zelenograd, the State Local History Museum (Zelenograd Museum) is a bright and original paint. This unique institution occupies its own special niche in the socio-cultural space of the district.
Opened on the initiative of the city public in 1969 in young Zelenograd, a city of modern science, progressive ideas and young creators who boldly look to the future, the museum helped preserve the memory of Zelenogradskaya land and heroic events of 1941 for residents and guests. No wonder Zelenograd since its existence was imbued with a special spirit of patriotism, which helped to preserve the indifferent old-timers of this area.
In 1992, an important event occurred in the life of the museum - it received the status of a state and became known as the Zelenograd State Local History Museum.
Today the museum is not only engaged in the collection and storage of antiquities, but also actively conducts scientific and educational activities. One of the areas of work of the museum is a unique program of museum pedagogy for schoolchildren, based on students' familiarity with the basics of local history. Classes are held in theatrical form, with the obligatory use of museum objects. The museum annually publishes various collections of works "Essays on the history of the region", albums, catalogs; publishes materials on the history of the region and the city, conducts scientific conferences and seminars.
In addition, the museum is a meeting place for creative people of the city; it regularly hosts exhibitions of Zelenograd artists, photographers, arts and crafts, as well as exhibits from funds.
Address: st. Gogol, 11B
Victory Museum in Moscow
The museum is an integral and at the same time main part of the Victory Memorial complex on Poklonnaya Hill in Moscow. The museum part of the ensemble includes the Halls of Memory and Glory, an art gallery, six dioramas ("Counteroffensive of the Soviet troops near Moscow in December 1941 ...," "Siege of Leningrad", "Battle of Stalingrad. Connection of fronts", "Battle of Kursk", "Forcing the Dnieper", "Sturm of Berlin"), the halls of the historical exposition, the hall of meetings of veterans.
Today the museum is a developed system of various exhibition projects - art and thematic, stationary and mobile, domestic and foreign. There is also an exhibition of weapons, military equipment and engineering structures (victory weapons, trophy equipment, railway troops, military road, artillery, armored vehicles, air force, navy).
The museum has unique exhibits. Among them there is a rare aircraft, one flying - U-2, the best tank of the Second World War, the T-34. The exhibition “Motors of War. Rare, Unknown, Famous” is enjoyed by visitors.
The Victory Museum and Victory Park comprise a unique town-planning ensemble, which includes the main monument - a 142.5-meter bayonet with bronze bas-reliefs and the Goddess of Victory Nika, the Church of the Holy Great Martyr George the Victorious, Memorial Mosque, Memorial Synagogue, Catholic Chapel and other monuments.
Address: Victory pl., 3
Chambers of the Romanov boyars in Moscow
The chambers of the Romanov boyars are a monument of civil architecture of the end of the XV – XVII centuries. In the middle of the XVI century the estate was taken over by the boyar Nikita Romanovich Zakharyin-Yuryev, a prominent political figure of his time, the brother of the first wife of Tsar Ivan the Terrible and grandfather Mikhail Fedorovich Romanov. In 1631, the Znamensky Monastery was founded on the estate’s territory, and in 1668 the chambers became “state cells”, the building was used to store the monastic treasury and the archive, and clergymen lived here.
In 1859, Emperor Alexander II in a solemn atmosphere opened the museum "House of the Romanov Boyars". The museum not only recreated the rich interiors of the boyar house, but also transferred here the Romanov family heirlooms.
After the revolution of 1917, the chambers were renamed the "Museum of Boyar Life", which in 1932 became a branch of the State Historical Museum.
At present, the “Chambers of the Romanov Boyars” is the only museum that introduces visitors to the boyar life of the pre-Peter era. In the museum you can see recreated interiors - both residential and household, furniture of that time, household and personal items, clothing and utensils, tile stoves, embossed leather, chests, old books, fabrics, etc. Various excursion programs will help to immerse in the atmosphere of the boyar manor and find out the smallest details of its life.
Address: Varvarka st., 10
Polytechnic Museum in Moscow
The Polytechnic Museum is a national museum of the history of science and technology, one of the oldest and largest scientific and technical museums in the world, established in 1872. Today, the Polytechnic Museum is not only a collector and keeper of the unique achievements of mankind embodied in devices and objects, but also a popularizer of science in various fields: from astronomy to genetics. The main goal of its team is to arouse in adults and children an interest in the knowledge and achievements of mankind, to inspire students and support young professionals.
Since 2013, the historic building of the Polytechnic Museum has been closed for reconstruction. In April 2014, in the pavilion number 26 at the Exhibition of Economic Achievements, the Polytechnic Museum opened the exhibition “Rossiya delaet sama”, dedicated to the achievements of Russian science. It presents seven halls: "Beyond the Earth", "New Anthropogenesis", "Analogs of Nature", "Illusions", "Radio +", "Core Energy" and "Plasma Energy". The new exposition of the museum at the Exhibition of Economic Achievements will become a key, but not the only site of the Polytechnic for the entire time of the reconstruction of a historic building, which will last until 2019.
The ZIL Cultural Center has a lecture hall and scientific laboratories for children. The “Moscow” Technopolis has housed museum collections and the Polytechnic Library, which has more than three and a half million books, including the first Russian textbook of mathematics, Arithmetic by Leonty Magnitsky in 1703, and the lifetime edition of M.V. Lomonosov, “The First Foundations of Metallurgy or Mining”, a unique two-volume edition of the drawings of the Eiffel Tower with a dedication made by Gustave Eiffel, and epistolary notes by Erasmus of Rotterdam, published in 1469-1536.
Address: Lubyansky pr-d, 9, building 1
State Museum of A.S. Pushkin in Moscow
State Museum of A.S. Pushkin is the first museum in Moscow dedicated to the life and work of the Great Russian poet Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin was founded in 1957. The museum complex, located on the territory of the former urban estate of the Khrushchevs-Seleznevs on Prechistenka, 12/2, after restoration and reconstruction in 1997 turned into a modern multifunctional museum-cultural center, which is annually visited by more than 300 thousand people.
In the halls of the main manor house the exposition "Pushkin and his era" was placed. The collection of the museum has over 165 thousand museum objects (including objects of the auxiliary fund), including works of art of world importance: Tropinin, Kiprensky, Bryullov, Bakst, Petrov-Vodkin, Korovin and others of the XIX-XX centuries. The museum has an open storage system.
The museum annually carries out dozens of fundamental exhibition projects, holds about 100 concert programs, literary readings, international scientific conferences and seminars. A special focus of the museum is working with a children's audience: interactive programs, season tickets, theater and museum projects, and New Year's children's parties.
Address: st. Prechistenka, 12, 2
Biological Museum named after K.A. Timiryazev in Moscow
State Biological Museum named after K.A. Timiryazev is a complex natural science museum, founded in 1922 on the basis of the Museum of Wildlife of the Moscow City National University named after A.L. Shanyavsky.
The museum exposition covers all biology, from mushrooms and orchids to dinosaurs and humans. Here, along with the zoological and evolutionary theme, there are exclusive sections on botany and physiology that are not found in other museums in Moscow.
The museum hosts more than 80 topics of excursions and practical classes in all sections of biology and ecology for all ages. In 2013, a new interactive Laboratory "Transparent Science" was opened, equipped with modern microscopes, models and objects of study.
For many years, on weekends, the Museum has hosted the “Family at the Museum” program, which is addressed to children of very different ages and their parents. As part of this program, classes are held: the biological quest “Family labyrinth”, interactive classes, practical exercises with microscopes, demonstrations of experiments, guided tours of the greenhouse and in the open air, ecological holidays and the annual festival of fascinating science.
Address: Malaya Gruzinskaya St., 15
Museum of Baron Munchhausen in Moscow
The Museum of Baron Munchhausen is undoubtedly one of the most interesting museums in the capital. Its director and founder is at the same time journalist Sergey Lvovich Makeev, who himself conducts excursions for adults and children. He enthusiastically talks about Baron Munchhausen and willingly shares the stories and knowledge he has gathered over the years of his life.
Everyone knows the fictional Munchhausen, but for many it’s interesting that Baron Jerome Karl Friedrich von Munchhausen is a real historical character who lived in the 18th century and was famous for his incredible stories about his adventures. Everyone knew him as a great inventor and a prankster. His incredible stories went around the whole of Europe and in 1785 the first book about his travels was published. Since then, the baron has become a regular hero of books, stories, plays, and later cartoons and movies.
In the museum you will learn many interesting facts from the life of the “most truthful person in the world”; you will see many images of a literary baron at different times, find out how many books have been written about him and why he has become so popular. In addition, the museum exhibits such things as the famous pistol without flint, the very “mad fur coats”, the model of the ship on which Munchhausen flew to the moon and discovered Cheese Island.
Address: Narodnogo opolchenia Street, 12 building 6
State Museum of L.N. Tolstoy in Moscow
After the death of Tolstoy on November 7, 1910, the question of preserving his heritage arose. A year later, on the initiative of Vladimir Bonch-Bruyevich, members of the Tolstoy Society organized an exhibition, the exhibits of which formed the future literary exposition of the museum. A large role in the organization of the museum in Moscow was played by the followers of Lev Tolstoy: Valentin Bulgakov, who later became the first director of the institution, and the head of the Tolstoy Society, Nikolay Davydov.
The Lev Tolstoy Museum in Moscow was founded on December 28, 1911 and was originally located in the rented eight-room apartment of the Khreptovich-Butenev House on Povarskaya Street, 18.
In 1920, the museum organizers received a warrant for owning a mansion on Prechistenka. The building was built in the years 1817-1822 by the architect Athanasius Grigoriev in the Empire style. Externally, it is a one-story mansion, decorated with a portico of six columns. Front halls are located along the main facade; living rooms with low ceilings overlook the courtyard.
The exposition of the museum is dedicated to the literary work of the writer. Tolstoy’s personal items, family heirlooms, photographs of the writer and his close friends are kept here. At the beginning of 2018 in the halls of the museum there is a permanent exhibition “L. N. Tolstoy and his era”. The collection includes the first children's art sketches of the writer, lifetime editions, illustrations of his works, portraits of Leo Nikolaevich, objects of applied art, as well as memorial items of the writer's relatives and friends.
The central element of the exhibition is steel room-safe with all published works of Leo Tolstoy. The exhibition also presents the memoirs of the station warden Ivan Ozolin, in whose house the writer spent his last days at Astapovo station. In his memoirs, the caretaker described the “Astapov week”: how a train with a sick writer stopped near the station, about Leo Tolstoy leaving, about the influx of journalists and gendarmes.
Address: st. Prechistenka 11/8
Memorial Museum of Cosmonautics in Moscow
The Cosmonautics Museum is located in the basement of the Monument to the Conquerors of Space - a unique monument of Moscow, erected in honor of the launch of the First Artificial Earth Satellite designed by the architects M.O. Barshch, A.N. Kolchin and sculptor A.P. Faydysh-Krandievsky and opened on November 4, 1964. The idea of creating the museum belonged to the Chief Designer of Rocket and Space Systems Yu. A. Gagarin. The museum was solemnly opened on April 10, 1981, to the 20th anniversary of the flight into space by Yu.A. Gagarin. The museum’s collections contain samples of space technology, personal belongings of the workers in the rocket and space industry, archival documents, films and photographic materials, items of numismatics, philately, philocarty and phaleristics, works of fine and decorative arts.
Currently, the museum and the adjacent Alley of Space Heroes are open after reconstruction. Significantly expanded and updated exposure demonstrate full-scale rocket and space technology. Interactive exhibits are placed in special zones, which include simulators identical to simulators in the Cosmonaut Training Center named after Yu.A. Gagarin: simulator of a transport spacecraft approaching and docking, virtual simulator of the international space station, simulator of a search helicopter pilot. The museum houses the Mission Control Center in miniature, where you can watch the International Space Station in real time and negotiate with the crew, the “Buran” interactive cabin with a mobility system and panoramic stereo image, an interactive cognitive and training class made in the form of a mess room.
The Museum of Cosmonautics is located in the stylobate part of the monument "Conquerors of Space" - one of the most famous monuments of Moscow. It is made of polished titanium used in rocket production. The altitude of the monument is a unique engineering construction with a height of 110 meters, the angle of which is 77 degrees.
The area of the renovated museum is 8500 square meters, of which 4000 square meters are allocated for the exposition.
Address: Mira Avenue, 111
Gallery of Russian ice sculpture in Moscow
Gallery of Russian Ice Sculpture with the area of 450 square meters is the place where ice sculptures with light-musical accompaniment are presented all year round at sub-zero temperatures.
Twelve best sculptors of Russia, winners of international and national ice sculpture competitions, took part in the creation of the Gallery. The project has no analogues in our country and abroad. More than 90 tons of crystal clear ice, specially grown from spring water, was used to create an ice museum. Famous theatrical decorators and designers of the capital took part in the design of the Gallery halls.
The subject of ice exposition is based on the best examples of national Russian culture, starting with the historic Ice House of Queen Anna Ioannovna, including the literary characters of the fairy tales of A.S. Pushkin, P.P.Ershov and Krylov's fables, which makes the exhibition interesting for the widest range of visitors - from schoolchildren to foreign tourists.
The Gallery of Russian Ice Sculpture is located in the picturesque park "Krasnaya Presnya" in the center of the cultural and business life of the capital in close proximity to several metro stations and other types of urban transport.
Address: st. Mantulinskaya, 5
Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center in Moscow
The Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center is located in a historic building - Bakhmetyevskiy Bus Park. Its main task is to create an interactive platform for dialogue between different cultures.
The concept of this unusual complex was developed by Ralph Appelbaum Associates (RAA). The creators of the museum did not just want to visualize the life and culture of the Jews, but to visually show the history of Russia through the prism of one of its peoples. This will allow looking from different sides at key events in the country's history - the revolution, the Civil and Great Patriotic War.
The museum is conventionally divided into 12 pavilions. At the entrance there is a 4D cinema, followed by halls with artifacts, including documents, photographs, letters, telling about the life of Jews in Russia from the beginning of the 19th century to the present. Especially for the museum unique videos were created - evidence of people from all over the world.
The largest exposition is devoted to the period of the Great Patriotic War. The Center of Tolerance is the final point of the exposition, where you can discuss relations between cultures in general and individuals in particular.
Address: st. Obraztsova, 11, b. 1, lit. A
Bread Museum in Moscow
The Museum of Bread in Moscow is located in the entertainment complex "Kremlin Izmailovo". It contains documents, photographs, telling about the history of bread in Russia. There are a variety of devices for baking, forms, bread recipes. In the museum, visitors will be told about the traditions of baking, will show antique items with which they baked bread.
As is known, there is a tradition in Russia: who breaks the bread together remain friends for life. Until now, honored guests are greeted with bread and salt and therefore bread in Russia has always been considered a symbol of friendship. In honor of this product, a museum was created in the cultural and entertainment complex "Kremlin Izmailovo" in Moscow. Visitors will be able to learn the history of bread in Russia, see various utensils and accessories for baking. You can also learn the technology of making bread, old and modern recipes.
In addition, the museum exhibits bread, among which the youngest is from the beginning of the 20th century; there are baking molds and equipment for making bread. Those objects with the help of which they cooked bread in the old days have changed a bit by our time, but still remained almost the same. Visitors will get acquainted with the traditions existing in Russia since ancient times. Also, the museum hosts master classes in baking bread.
Address: Izmailovsky highway, 73zh
Gubin Mansion in Moscow
It was built in 1793 by the great Russian architect Matvey Kazakov for the Ural industrialist Mikhail Gubin. The massive three-storey house - a vivid example of Moscow classicism - like the majority of capital buildings, suffered from the fire of 1812, but was soon carefully restored.
After the restoration, the heirs of Gubin rented the house to various educational departments. Then a beautiful garden was laid out on the estate and a pond was dug along the street.
In 1920, the Institute of Physical Therapy and Orthopedics was opened here, and later this building was occupied by hospital departments. The interiors fell into decay, but at the end of the 20th century the house survived the restoration, thanks to which today we can see the ceiling paintings and some interior details. Getting into the mansion is easy - now there is the Moscow Museum of Modern Art.
Address: st. Petrovka, 25
Zurab Tsereteli Art Gallery in Moscow
The Museum and Exhibition Complex of the Russian Academy of Arts "Art Gallery of Zurab Tsereteli", the largest modern art center, was opened in March 2001. It was created in the course of implementation of the Academy conversion program developed by the President of the Russian Academy of Arts Z.K. Tsereteli.
The Dolgorukov Palace, in which the Gallery is located, has a suite of wonderful vaulted halls on the first floor, which preserved the architectural space of the 18th century, and a number of magnificent ceremonial halls on the second floor, decorated in the middle of the 19th century. It is perfectly adapted to the needs of the exhibition, with dozens of different halls and covered courtyards to display works of art.
A permanent exhibition of works by the greatest painter, sculptor, muralist, President of the Russian Academy of Arts Zurab Konstantinovich Tsereteli is open in the Gallery of Arts. The exhibition consists of works of different years: paintings, monumental and easel sculpture, graphics, enamel panels and miniatures, works of decorative and applied art.
Address: st. Prechistenka, 19
House-Museum of A.I. Herzen in Moscow
The post-fire empire mansion with a mezzanine, built in the 1820s, became the third possession of Ivan Alekseevich Yakovlev in the Arbat and Prechistenka regions. The house was bought by him in 1839 from General Sergei Alekseevich Tuchkov specifically for his son Alexander Herzen. In the old house, called "Tuchkovsky", the writer lived with his family from September 1843 to departure abroad in January 1847. The house remains intact since the time of its restructuring in 1892, having lost the visible features of the Empire style. In October 1968, the Executive Committee of the Moscow Council decided to organize the Museum of A. I. Herzen as a branch of the State Literary Museum in the house at Sivtsev Vrazhek, No. 27.
The museum consists of two complexes: the old memorial "Tuchkovsky" house, where the exposition "Herzen in Russia" is deployed and the modern extension, consisting of the exposition hall "Herzen in the West" and the Conference hall for public events and temporary exhibitions.
From February 2008 to March 2012 there was a complete historical restoration of the House of Herzen. The mansion remained in its original, authentic form, completely intact, unlike many Moscow "remakes": the walls were re-lined with boards, some logs and supporting structures were replaced, interiors were restored, etc. On April 6–8, 2012, as part of the celebration of the 200th anniversary of A.I. Herzen, the Herzen House was solemnly opened after the capital restoration. It houses an exhibition of rarities from Herzen’s collection: “Things that were sacred to us.” A significant part of this collection consisted of materials that were transferred to the Herzen Museum by the descendants of the writer.
Address: Sivtsev Vrazhek Lane, 27
Memorial Museum-room of Academician S.S. Nametkin in Moscow
Memorial office of Academician S.S. Nametkin is a part of the Institute of Petrochemical Synthesis named after A.V. Topchiev of Russian Academy of Sciences. It was opened in 1976 on the basis of the Resolution of the Bureau of the Department of General and Technical Chemistry of the USSR Academy of Sciences in connection with the 100th anniversary of the birth of Academician S.S. Nametkin.
Collection of exhibits for the museum was carried out from the personal account of S.S. Nametkin, his personal archive and other archives of Moscow. The museum retained the atmosphere of that time, in which Sergey Semenovich Namekin lived and worked. Visitors are surrounded by antique furniture and books, photos by S.S. Nametkin, his family, colleagues and students.
The museum houses prints of S.S. Nametkin articles, his unpublished works, reports at various meetings, his letters and workbooks, documents of the period of the Great Patriotic War, etc. The exhibits quite fully characterize the life and career of the scientist.
Address: Leninsky Prospect, 29
Central Museum of the Interior Troops of Russia in Moscow
The Central Museum of the Internal Troops of the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs is located on Krasnokazarmennaya Street. The museum was opened on February 4, 1972, and in 2010 it became the winner of the review competition among museums in Moscow dedicated to the 65th anniversary of the Victory.
The visitors can observe an exposition covering the main stages of the development of the Internal Troops. It consists of: a collection of short-barreled weapons of the XIX - XX centuries, more than 600 units of homemade weapons made by criminals in an artisanal way, a collection of battle banners, a huge number of photographic materials, archival documents.
The museum holds visiting exhibitions in public organizations, educational institutions, thematic excursions that give an idea of the activities of the Internal Troops over the entire period of their existence. Their main topics: “Brother” is a story about Special Forces units and anti-terrorist groups of internal troops and “10 years between peace and war” is a photo exhibition about the operations of internal troops in “hot spots” to resolve interethnic conflicts.
Address: Krasnokazarmennaya St., 9A
Historical memorial museum "Presnya" in Moscow
Historical memorial museum "Presnya" is located in the Moscow region, famous for the revolutionary events of 1905-1907 and 1917, which is dedicated to the exhibition "Presnya on sharp turns of the history of Russia of the twentieth century."
The museum was opened in 1924 in a one-story wooden house (now it is a historical monument), where in 1917 the first legal Presnensky district committee of the Bolshevik Party and the Military Revolutionary Committee worked, whose memorial interiors are preserved to this day.
Particular attention is paid to one of the most striking episodes of the First Russian Revolution of 1905-1907 - the December armed uprising in Moscow. The exhibition presents photographs and documents of participants in the revolutionary events, weapons of workers-vigilantes and soldiers of the royal army. The light-dynamic diorama “Heroic Presnya. 1905” transmits the tense atmosphere of this time, performed by the national artist of the RSFSR E.I. Deshalyt. Placed in a separate, specially equipped hall, the diorama was opened in December 1982. After the modernization carried out in 2014, the diorama works in three modes, which provide exhaustive information about the December armed uprising of 1905 and about the architectural and historical appearance of Presnensky district.
New exposition “History of Russian everyday life. The twentieth century”, through the re-creation of typological reconstructions of public and private interiors, tells about how the daily life of people changed under the influence of global historical events. Presented furniture, numerous household items, photos, clothes, toys, books and many other little things in life without which there is no understanding of history. In the interiors there are fragments of musical works and radio programs that characterize different decades of the twentieth century, newsreels, commercials and news reports are broadcast. In the summer cinema you can see popular movies of the 1960s, and in the pioneer room you can get acquainted with the life of Soviet schoolchildren of the 1930s.
Address: Bolshoy Predtechensky Lane, 4
Memorial House-Museum of Academician I.V. Kurchatov in Moscow
The “father” of the Soviet atomic bomb was the so-called physicist Igor Kurchatov, but he himself was in favor of using the atom for peaceful purposes. Igor Kurchatov was born in a poor family of a teacher and land surveyor in the south of Russia, but thanks to his talent as a researcher, he was able to become an academician and founded the Atomic Energy Institute (now the Kurchatov Institute).
The life path and scientific activities of the legendary Soviet physicist are represented in the memorial house-museum located in Moscow at the address: pl. Kurchatov, 46. The museum was founded in 1962 and opened in 1970 in the building where Academician Kurchatov lived with his family in 1946-1960.
The museum area is about 400 square meters, where more than 25 thousand items are stored and exhibited. In addition to the personal belongings of the academician and his family members, the museum has several unique collections of photographs, documents, state awards, film materials, as well as materials on the history of the National Research Center “Kurchatov Institute” and the history of Soviet nuclear energy in general.
The museum has repeatedly become a platform for shooting various television programs about the so-called “Atomic Project of the USSR”. More than a dozen exhibits of the Kurchatov House-Museum have the status of a monument of science and technology, among them the academician’s personal weapons, devices used by him in scientific activities.
The museum is also engaged in the study of little-known facts of the biography of Academician Kurchatov, the popularization of his scientific heritage, holding conferences and exhibitions, participated in the preparation for the publication of the six-volume collection of scientific works of an outstanding scientist.
Address: pl. Academician Kurchatov, 1
Museum of felt boots in Moscow
The museum “Russian felt boots” is the only one in Moscow where you can learn a lot of new things about such a common subject and realize its full significance. Felt boots are not only comfortable, healing and, at times, irreplaceable shoes. It is a symbol of genuine Russia with its wide soul and endless expanses. This unique (no beginning, no end, no seam, and no scar) shoes have long been loved by all, regardless of rank and class.
The museum presents a variety of models: from embroidered boots of the late XIX century to modern, turned by artists into art objects. Acquaintance with the methods and tools of hand felting, the stages of the industrial production of felted shoes and watching a video film make it possible to trace the path of birth of a felt boot from a pile of sheep wool to the finished product.
The history, tradition and modernity of the age-old Russian footwear are presented in the museum vividly, fascinating and informative. Excursion to the museum is interesting to all - "from small to large." Children are delighted with the slogan "TOUCH WITH HANDS IS MANDATORY!". The teenagers are happy to try on and capture themselves in the photo in painted felt boots and a felt hat. Pensioners "rest their souls," remembering their youth, listening to the forgotten sounds of the gramophone and singing along to Lydia Ruslanova with all the familiar words: "felt boots, felt boots ...". And all visitors are simply amazed at the process of "birth" from a pile of sheep's wool of a full felted boot!
Address: Kozhevnicheskiy second Per., 12
Museum of harmonica of A.Mirek in Moscow
The Museum of Russian harmonica of A. Mirek was created on the basis of a unique collection of materials collected over four decades by the Honored Artist of the Russian Federation, Doctor of Art History, Professor Alfred Martinovic Mirek (1922-2009). For a long time it was a private museum that is widely known not only in our country, but also abroad (it was included in the catalog of private collections of ICOM UNESCO). In 1996, the Government of Moscow allocated space in the city center to create a museum and on January 12, 1999 adopted a Resolution “On the Establishment of the Museum of Russian Harmonica by A. Mirek as a department of the Museum of Moscow History”. The museum was opened for visitors on December 28, 2000.
The exhibition presents the path traversed by the harmonica in almost two and a half centuries since the 70s of the XVIII century to the present day. Here you can see the reconstruction of the first harmonica in the world (1783), look into the workshop of the Russian harmonious master, visit the traditional Moscow tavern, visit concerts of modern performers on harmonica, bayan and accordion. The halls of the museum are radio-installed, which allows visitors to listen to unique recordings of the game of harmonists and accordionists of the early twentieth century to the present day and more fully feel the characteristics of the instrument, the skill of the performer.
The basis of the exposition is a collection of musical instruments, reflecting the development of the national harmonica from simple five-step ones of the XIX century to the most complex concert models of accordions and bayans of the 20th century, ancient regional harmonics of the middle of the nineteenth century, the first Russian button accordion by the master of Sterligov in 1907, memorial musical instruments of outstanding masters and performers of the 30s - 80s of the XX century. A special section of the exhibition is devoted to harmonica abroad. The materials about the origin and development of harmonious production in Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Great Britain, the USA in the XIX - XX centuries are demonstrated here: rare documents, photographs, musical instruments, including the first harmonium (France, 1832), English Concertina company "Wheatstone" the second half of the XIX century, a collection of Western European accordions XX century and others. The exposition is completed with a section introducing visitors to the history of the Museum of Russian Harmonica and the personality of its creator - Honored Artist of the Russian Federation, Doctor of Art History, Professor Alfred Martinowich Mirek.
Address: 2nd Tverskaya-Yamskaya Str., 18
Museum of the Vodka History in Moscow
It is no coincidence that the Museum of the Russian Vodka History is located within the walls of the Kremlin in Izmaylovo, after all, Moscow in the 15th century became the site of the appearance of Russian vodka, and the Izmaylovo lands once housed a model royal economy with rich arable land and industries.
The interesting collection of the museum, which demonstrates the 500-year history of Russian vodka from the moment of its invention to the present day, contains more than 1000 types of this drink, old vodka recipes of the XVIII century, advertising posters, photographs and documents from different periods of national history, “historical” types and forms of vodka labels and bottles - from a scale and a kosushka to a shtof and a quarter. The museum exhibits a unique item - the layout of the first distillation apparatus, with which in the 15th century they began to receive intoxicating wine.
Visiting the museum, you will learn about the technology of the preparation of vodka, the main components of the most famous Russian drink, you will hear an exciting story about how vodka influenced the course of important historical events in Russia.
The Russian Vodka Museum is no longer an ordinary post-Soviet museum with boring shelves and a sleeping excursion, but an exhibition space of a modern format, where the visitor interactively learns the history of the most famous Russian drink. He is reincarnated as a researcher whose task is to find out the secret of such popularity of vodka among Russians. For a better acquaintance with the object, the museum guest will use all of their receptors: sight, taste, hearing, and even smell.
Address: Izmaylovo sh., 73ZH
Museum of the history of railway equipment at the Rizhsky station in Moscow
The Museum of Railway Transport in Moscow is located at the Rizhsky Station. It was opened in 2004.
Visitors can see everything related to railway equipment. In total, the collection has 60 different exhibits, consisting of cars and locomotives from different times. Some of them constitute the gold fund of Russia in terms of rolling stock.
Guests of the exhibition are invited to admire not only modern technology, but also historical, and the exhibition is not limited to trains of domestic production. There are numerous locomotives, electric locomotives, cars of various types and special railway equipment.
The Russian Railways Museum also tells about the history of the railway and how the railway technology has evolved from its origins to the present. It will be interesting to look at a small locomotive. It is available for visitors. In it you can twist the levers, pull the handles, and press the buttons. In short, the museum is very interesting and will leave only positive emotions.
Address: Rizhskaya square, 3с3
Moscow History Museum
The History Museum of Moscow is one of the oldest Moscow museums. The basis of its collection was the exhibits of the pavilion "Moscow" of the All-Russian Art and Industrial Exhibition, held in Nizhny Novgorod in 1896, where achievements in the field of urban improvement, education and charity were demonstrated. In the same year, the Moscow City Duma decided to create, on the basis of this exposition, the Museum of the Moscow urban economy, which was located in one of the Krestovsky water towers.
The name of the Museum, as well as its location over a 100-year history, has changed several times. Since 1921 it was called the Moscow Communal Museum and was located in the restored monument of the XVII century Sukharev Tower. Adopted in 1935, the plan for the reconstruction of Moscow influenced the name and character of the museum exposition. At this time, the museum was moved to the building of the Church of St. John the Divine under the elm, where it is still located. Since 1987, the museum has its current name.
Today, the Museum Association includes five distinct, not similar to each other, divisions: the Museum of Archeology in Moscow, the Museum “English Compound”, the Museum of Russian Harmonica of A. Mirek, the History Museum “Lefortovo”, the Museum of Russian Estate Culture “The Estate of Princes Golitsyn Vlahernskoye – Kuzminki”.
Address: Zubovsky Boulevard, 2
Museum of the Chocolate and Cocoa History in Moscow
In 2005, the “United Confectioners” holding, which brought together the best confectionery manufactures in Russia, decided to merge the “Krasny Oktyabr” and the “Confectionary Concern Babaevsky” at one site.
From the idea of combining the museum exhibits of these two "pillars" of the confectionery business in Russia, the idea arose of creating an even more significant concept and scale museum, telling not only the history of two confectionery factories, but also the history of chocolate in general, as an extremely important and significant phenomenon in life of mankind.
The topic itself is limitless, and in fact only factories have existed for more than 150 years each, and each has its own unique experience, world-famous products, huge funds and the amount of materials that would be enough for not just one but a dozen museums.
The use of state-of-the-art multimedia should not have disturbed the elegant historicity of the topic. The wax figures had to come to life and convey the spirit and customs of the epochs by their own appearance. The scale and seriousness of the excursions should not have caused boredom even among the youngest guests of the museum.
On March 19, 2009, Kuznetsov A.V., Director General of the “United Confectioners” Holding, in the presence of more than two hundred guests and journalists from various countries of the world, opened the Museum of the History of Chocolate and Cocoa.
Address: st. Lobachik, 1
“House of the Icon” Museum in Moscow
The House of the Icon Museum is a bright, interesting, unusual and homely center of Russian culture. Its specificity consists in studying and revealing for visitors the spiritual foundations and artistic features of Russian icon painting. The museum collection includes more than 2000 Russian and Greek icons of the XV-XX centuries and the rarest works of Western Christian art. Many of the exhibits are unique, have great historical, cultural, artistic, museum significance.
In the museum hall there are the most valuable, outstanding monuments of the collection: from the image of the “Mother of God of Georgia” of the XV century to the icon-banners from the home church of Emperor Nicholas II. The exhibits of the Academic Hall illustrate the development and originality of Christian art in Europe, in Greece and Russia. The exposition begins with a Fayum portrait of the end of the 2nd - the beginning of the 3rd century; Spanish (Catalan) icons of the beginning of the 15th century, unique for Russian museums, are exhibited. The exposition of works of rare iconography and the most revered "family" icons is of constant interest. Thematic exhibitions are held in the Collection Hall, the exposition is changed every two months.
The museum provides classes for students of Sunday and secondary schools, developed specialized tours. Researchers lecture on the history of Christian culture from different eras. Master classes, chamber concerts of classical and folk music. Work restoration workshops. The educational activities of the museum, aimed at studying the history and artistic heritage of Russia, attracts visitors of different ages and religions.
Address: st. Spiridonovka, 4, b. 1
Museum of retro cars in Moscow
The Moscow Transport Museum was opened on the basis of the museum of retro cars on Rogozhsky Val in Moscow in April 2016.
The museum presents various brands of cars and trucks, taxis, trams, buses and trolleybuses carrying passengers along the streets of the capital, as well as cars of various city services: police, firefighters, ambulance. Among them are the legendary "lorry" and "three-toned", personal cars of Soviet leaders, as well as the collection of cars AZLK and GAZ.
Today, the Moscow Transport Museum is the largest museum of retro cars in Moscow, where a huge collection of retro vehicles is assembled. The exposition includes the entire history of our country's transport from its very appearance to the present day, but some foreign exhibits are also on display here.
The museum annually holds visiting thematic exhibitions and runs of historic buses, trolley buses and trams. They are also used at Moscow holidays and public events; participate in parades and filming of television and movies.
Address: Rogozhsky Val st., 9/2
Museum of Contemporary History of Russia in Moscow
The museum is the largest center for studying modern Russian history. The constantly updated funds and expositions reflect the most important events and phenomena that determined the development of Russian society and the state over a century and a half, from the second half of the XIX century to the present day.
The exhibits of the museum characterize many famous state and political figures, prominent scientists, writers, artists; they talk about state transformations and revolutionary upheavals, wars and workdays, ideological quest, political struggle, and cultural life of the country. Excursions and educational museum programs acquaint with all expositions, exhibitions of the museum and its memorial departments – “Presnya”, “Underground Printing House of 1905-1906”, “Finding Freedom”, the G.M. Krzhizhanovsky memorial apartment, exposition and exhibition department "Museum Gallery of E. Evtushenko".
The museum is located in the center of Moscow in a building-monument of late classicism architecture of the late 18th century. From 1831 to 1917 it hosted the Moscow English Club.
The museum’s birthday is March, 21 (March 8, old style) of 1917, when the director of the Museum of the All-Russian Union of Cities, V. Kranichfeld addressed the Chairman of the Executive Committee of Moscow public organizations N. M. Kishkin with a proposal to “immediately convene a meeting of representatives of historical science and existing museums in Moscow for the purpose of scientific and practical development of the issue of creating a Museum of the Revolution in Moscow”.
Address: Tverskaya St., 21
Museum - Workshop of A.S. Golubkina in Moscow
The basis of the museum collection consists of works donated to the family of Anna Semenovna Golubkina as a gift to the state, according to her last will.
Name of Golubkina is world-famous. Her creative heritage includes more than three hundred works of sculpture and is stored in the best museums in Russia. It belongs to the generation of artists of the late XIX - early XX century, the period of the brilliant flourishing of Russian literature, music, and visual arts, which they called the Silver Age. Golubkina is a representative of the direction in Russian art, which is associated with the names of V. Serov and M. Vrubel in painting, A. Scriabin in music, A. Blok and A. Bely in poetry.
The museum exposition is located in several halls. They present works of different years, made in various materials: plaster, bronze, marble, wood. Of particular interest is the workshop located on the second floor, which gives an idea of the sculptor's titanic work. It presents the tools that worked the master and blanks for sculpture. In the memorial part of the museum are few preserved household items, photographs of relatives.
Address: Bolshoy Levshinsky Lane, 12
Central Museum of Old Russian Culture and Art named after Andrei Rublev in Moscow
The Museum of Old Russian Culture and Art is located on the territory of the Spaso-Andronikov Monastery, founded in the middle of the XIV century and associated with the Battle of Kulikovo and other events of Russian history and culture. In the oldest architectural monument of Moscow, the Spassky Cathedral (20s of the 15th century), in the window openings of the altar there are frescoes of Andrei Rublev, the great icon painter of Ancient Russia. In this monastery he was a monk, and here in 1430 he was buried.
Until 1950, in the museum there was the archive of the Ministry of State Security. When Rublev was officially recognized as a Great Russian artist, there was no better place for his museum. The decree on the creation of the museum was adopted by the Soviet government in 1947 on the anniversary of the 800th anniversary of Moscow.
Now there are more than 5 thousand icons in the museum, and among them are the works of Dionysius. In addition to the icon fund, the museum owns a collection of icon salaries, liturgical objects, handwritten and printed.
The museum exposition is deployed in the complex of the Church of St. Michael the Archangel, built at the end of the 17th century by order of the first wife of Peter I, Evdokia Lopukhina. There are periodic exhibitions devoted to the church art of different eras. The museum acquaints visitors with outstanding examples of artistic creativity of the XI-XVII centuries. The icon collection of the museum is internationally renowned and includes many outstanding works. Among them are the masterpieces of the artists of the circle of Andrei Rublev and Dionysius, the workshop of Metropolitan Macarius and Tsar Ivan the Terrible. The art of the XVII century, the work of icon painters of the Armory and regional masters is especially fully represented.
Address: Andronevskaya Square, 10
State Memorial Museum of A.N. Scriabin in Moscow
The memorial museum of A. N. Scriabin is the only one in Moscow and one of the few in the world where it was possible to preserve in inviolability the atmosphere of the apartment of the composer living in it. Alexander Nikolaevich Scriabin spent three years of his life in house 11 on Bolshoi Nikolopeskovsky Lane, from 1912 to 1915. The representatives of the Moscow intelligentsia, the brightest persons of the talented era of the Silver Age, gathered in this house: K. Balmont, V. Ivanov, Y. Baltrushaitis, N. Berdyaev, S. Bulgakov, L. Pasternak, V. Meyerhold, A. Tairov and many others.
During the civil war and after the revolution, A.V. Lunacharsky who headed the People's Commissariat of Education did a lot to preserve the creativity of the composer and his apartment. On August 20, 1918, the widow of Scriabin, T.F. Schlozer received the “Security Letter” (a copy of the document dated October 19, 1922 was preserved). Officially it is believed that the museum was opened to visitors on July 17, 1922. T.F. Schlozer became its first director.
The museum is interesting not only to professional musicians, but also to the widest audience as a typical example of a city apartment at the end of the 19th - beginning of the 20th century in the style of "modern". A variety of lecture and concert programs, literary meetings and creative evenings with famous musicians and young performers are always in demand by museum visitors.
Address: Bolshoy Nikolopeskovsky Pereulok, 11
State Museum of Architecture named after A.V. Schusev in Moscow
The Shchusev State Research Museum of Architecture is a museum and research center for the study and promotion of architectural heritage. The museum is named after its founder and first director, the outstanding Russian and Soviet architect A. V. Shchusev.
The museum was founded in 1934 and is located on Vozdvizhenka Street, 5. The building of the museum is part of the architectural complex of the estate of the Talyzins noble family, an architectural monument of the era of Russian classicism (late 18th century).
The main activities of the museum are research, collection work, promoting the restoration of architectural monuments, the organization of exhibitions. The structure of the museum includes scientific departments for the storage of funds, a scientific library, an archive, restoration workshops, a photo library, a department for promoting architecture, a department for development.
The collections of the museum reflect the thousand-year history of the architecture of Russia and include more than one million items.
Address: st. Vozdvizhenka 5/25
Andrei Bely Memorial Apartment in Moscow
At the end of one of the oldest streets in Moscow, in the house number 55 on the Arbat there is a memorial apartment of Andrei Bely. Here, on October 14, 1880, Boris Nikolaevich Bugaev was born, one of the fathers of Russian symbolism, a poet, novelist, critic, memoirist and researcher of literature.
The history of the house itself is older than the poet for more than a century: the old manor house that forms the basis of the manor house that was rebuilt in the late 1870s according to the design of the architect Mitrofan Aleksandrovich Arsenyev was built before the fire of 1812. Apartments in the tenement buildingwere given to the teachers of Moscow University, one of which (No. 7) was received by the mathematician Nikolai Vasilyevich Bugaev, the father of the poet.
The apartment, which occupies half of the third floor, has five rooms. Now in the nursery there is a part of the exposition related to the youthful years of the poet. Here you can find all the drafts and notes on the epic "My Life". Part of the exhibition dedicated to the mother of the poet, located in the bedroom of the parents. The exhibits tell us that it was Alexandra Dmitrievna Bugaeva who instilled an interest in the young Borya not only to poetry, but also to music and painting. A special place in the room is occupied by exhibits telling about the poet's muses: Lyubov Dmitrievna Mendeleeva-Blok and Margarita Kirillovna Morozova.
Bely’s entire literary heritage – manuscripts, drafts, letters, books, and photographs — is located in the former dining room. A living room returned its historical function. Today, as with the Bugayev family, creative meetings and musical evenings are held there. Today, the museum has more than 1,000 units of manuscripts, typescripts and documents, among which you can find autographs of V. Bryusov, N. S. Gumilyov, I. Severyanin and, thanks to private collections, they are constantly replenished.
Address: st. Arbat, 55/32
Museum of entertaining sciences "Experimentanium" in Moscow
The Museum of Entertaining Sciences Experimentanium is a scientific center of family leisure, where everyone can take direct part in various experiments. The museum was opened on March 6, 2011 for a fascinating study of the laws of the exact sciences and natural phenomena.
More than 300 interactive exhibits tell about mechanics, electricity, magnetism, acoustics, demonstrate optical illusions, puzzles and other scientific discoveries and inventions. The exposition is divided into thematic areas dedicated to the main areas of physics. Here you can see the sound, paint with light and visit the only water installation in Russia. All this can be done independently or as part of various excursions.
The collection of museum exhibits is constantly updated; new educational and entertainment programs are being developed. There is an extensive excursion program, each excursion adapts to the age of the listeners.
Museum of the submarine fleet of Russia in Moscow
On July 26, 2006, the grand opening of the Submarine Museum was held. In June 2007, amphibious means of the Navy were delivered from Kaspiisk to the museum - the “Orlyonok “air combat naval landing vehicle and the “SKAT” air-cushion assault boat. Thus, the museum’s exposition includes not only the famous submarine “Novosibirsk Komsomolets”, but although not numerous, but a whole squadron of diverse Navy forces, including unique exhibits that have no analogues in the world.
At present, the exposition “Submarine-Museum” has been deployed, the Eaglet-mounted “Orlyonok” and the hovercraft “SKAT” have been installed; the exposition on the platforms of military equipment of the Navy. In February 2010, an educational (training) booth for virtual piloting of the “Orlyonok” was opened for visitors, which is made on the basis of the most up-to-date technologies of Trans-Force, the leader of domestic firmware. It is a model of the cockpit of the maritime naval transport-paratroopers "Orlyonok" and is designed to simulate a flight and perform combat missions using controls and navigation instruments. It works in automatic mode according to pre-prepared automated mission scenarios, as well as in manual mode, which allows visitors to work off the take-off, landing, and control at night, as well as in bad weather conditions, choose various travel routes.
In early 2011, two temporary exhibition pavilions with interchangeable exposition and a transformable space were installed on the mooring line of the museum complex, which provide a unique opportunity to hold exhibitions, installations, opening days, concerts in one of the most picturesque corners of Moscow.
Address: Svobody st., 52
Scientific and Memorial Museum of N.E. Zhukovsky in Moscow
Scientific and Memorial Museum of Professor N.E. Zhukovsky was opened in 1956. Zhukovsky's pupil, general designer, academician A.N. Tupolev, academicians S.A. Khristianovich and M.V. Keldysh and Honored Worker of Culture of the RSFSR N.M. Semenov took part in its creation. Two years after opening, a bronze bust of N.E Zhukovsky, the work of sculptor G.V. Neroda, was installed at the entrance to the building.
The museum holds more than 50 thousand exhibits: documents, photonegatives, models of almost all Russian aircraft, helicopters, gliders, first rockets, models of artificial earth satellites (including the first one), spacecraft, models of aircraft and rocket engines. Among the valuable exhibits is a genuine Otto Lilienthal glider acquired by N.E. Zhukovsky during a trip to Germany in 1895, the model of the Ilya Muromets aircraft of the famous aircraft designer I.I. Sikorsky, manufactured at the Russian-Baltic plant in 1915, and a flat wind tunnel, built in 1909 at the Imperial Technical School under the direction of A.N. Tupolev on the instructions of N.E. Zhukovsky.
The exhibition is located in six rooms of the museum. The first of them contains the scientific biography of N.E. Zhukovsky. Most of the works are authentic collections published in the year before and at the beginning of the last century. Pictures, letters from N.E. Zhukovsky to his mother and sister and important historical documents, carefully stored in special glass display cases.
Four subsequent halls introduce the creation of a research and experimental aerodynamic base in Russia, the organization and the first years of work of Central Aerohydrodynamic Institute, the famous flights of the 1930s by V.P. Chkalov and M.M. Gromov, as well as the position of the Institute and the entire Soviet aviation in the prewar years and during the Great Patriotic War. The last hall introduces the era of the development of jet aircraft.
Address: Radio St., 17 k. 5
House-Museum of A.M. Gorky in Moscow
The Maxim Gorky Museum appeared in Moscow in the 60s. This is a mansion in which the writer's office is located, absolutely identical to the two exactly the same in St. Petersburg and in the Crimea. The idea of having the same classroom belongs to the writer himself - he wanted to work in familiar surroundings, wherever he was. The authorities willingly met halfway and organized everything, as dreamed of a literary genius. The museum itself is unique in its exhibits and the architecture of the building.
The museum building of Maxim Gorky is the clearest representative of the Art Nouveau style. It was built by the famous architect Shekhtel, the mansion was designed for living of the wealthy people. The facade is lined with glazed brick; the walls are painted with flowers. The main staircase is called “melting” - it is made in the form of a stone wave, on the very crest of which an amazingly beautiful lamp is fixed. The ceiling in the room is decorated with a chandelier decorated under a jellyfish, and the door handles under the seahorses. The house has many elements of decor associated with the ocean. So it was not the writer who conceived, but the architect who built the house.
The main thing that the author brought to the mansion is a chapel and a library. The chapel is organized in the Old Believer style; the walls are decorated with paintings. To the Maxim Gorky Library, the epithet “posh” is most suitable. There are huge bookcases, sofas and armchairs in leather. The museum has a lot of expensive things for the writer. In the library there are the writer's favorite books, on the wall a canvas on a religious theme there is the Mother of God with Jesus.
Address: 6/2 Malaya Nikitskaya Street
Memorial House-Museum of Academician S.P. Korolev in Moscow
Memorial House-Museum of Academician S.P. Korolev was opened on August 1, 1975 in accordance with the decision of the Executive Committee of the Moscow Council in the Ostankino house, where S.P. Korolev lived.
The museum is unique in the authenticity of its exhibits. These are personal items of the academician, a library of technical and fiction literature, books with inscriptions from authors, furniture, household items, and works of art. Everything that the museum has - from the accurate notes of the young student of the Kiev Polytechnic Institute in the 1920s to a notebook telling about the affairs and concerns of the chief designer in the last month of life - all this was transferred to the widow academician Nina Ivanovina Koroleva.
Sergey Korolev generated many extraordinary ideas and created outstanding design teams that worked on the development of rocket and space technology. His contribution to the evolution of manned spacecraft is difficult to overestimate. The man with a difficult fate, behind whom there were exiles, camps and prisons, did not break, developed his abilities and brought the country into the leaders of aerospace and rocket armament.
During his lifetime, Sergei Pavlovich Korolev was the most secret scientist in the USSR. Few people knew what the outstanding designer of rocket and space technology, the author of the Soviet space program, and the flight director of the first cosmonaut of the planet, Yu. A. Gagarin, looked like. And, of course, no one knew where Korolev lived.
Address: 1st Ostankinskaya St., 28
Museum "Moscow Lights" in Moscow
The Moscow Lights Museum is located in Armenian Lane. The museum building is rare monument of Russian architecture - the white-stone chambers of the end of the XVII century. In December 1980, an exhibition dedicated to the 250th anniversary of street lighting in Moscow was opened on the first floor of the building, on the basis of which the Moscow Lights Museum was established.
Today, the museum introduces visitors to the history of street lighting in Moscow. The exhibition presents a variety of light sources: lights, oil, kerosene, gas lights and lamps, modern electric lamps, as well as a large number of photos with views of the capital. With the help of a remote control, visitors can light old lanterns and feel like pedestrians in the streets of Moscow of past centuries. The materials of the museum give information on the Moscow studies, history, physics.
The museum hosts tours, interactive programs, and master classes. They invite elementary and middle school students to the interactive programs “Visiting the Old Street Lamp”, “Making the Fire”, “What is Light?”. You can also take part in a master class on painting candles or order a festive program "As for your birthday." Children from 3 to 6 years old can take part in the New Year's fairy tale "Fir-tree for a hedgehog" or "Old street lamp".
Address: Armenian Lane, 3-5, 1
Museum-Apartment of Galina Ulanova in Moscow
The museum, which was opened to visitors in 2004 and is located in a high-rise building on Kotelnicheskaya Embankment, presents works of fine and decorative arts, including works by Alexander Benois, Mark Chagall, Arthur Fonvizin and others.
The library has about 2,400 books, many with inscriptions. The apartment to this day looks exactly the same as during the life of the Great Russian ballerina. The exposition of the museum, consisting of photographs, posters, letters, memorial things, tells about the life and work of Galina Ulanova, starting with her first performances on stage and ending with the last years of life.
Museum-apartment of G.S. Ulanova is located in a high-rise building on Kotelnicheskaya Embankment, built in 1948-1952 (architects D.N. Chechulin and A.K. Rostkovsky, engineer L.M. Gokhman). The height of the building is 176 m, its lower floors are lined with crushed and polished red granite, forming an extensive basement, which defines a clear division of volumes with the central 26-storey building in which the apartment is located. This building is distinguished by a heavy decor in the form of statues and jagged towers. The facing of the entrance hall walls is marble, the floors are of polished granite and marble slabs. Ornamental framing of anodized metal openings. The building at Kotelnicheskaya, like many other high-rise buildings in Moscow, is used to observe the weather.
Address: Kotelnicheskaya Embankment, 1/15, 185 / m
Contemporary museum of calligraphy in Moscow
The Contemporary Museum of Calligraphy is the first museum in Russia dedicated to the art of writing. The initiators of the opening of the museum were the National Union of Calligraphers and the Sokolniki Exhibition and Convention Center. All over the world, in particular in Turkey, China, Japan, the United Arab Emirates, there are museums with permanent exhibitions of calligraphic works, in Russia, this experience has no analogues. The official opening date of the museum is August 14, 2008.
The museum exposition includes unique writing patterns, among its exhibits are world masterpieces created by recognized masters of calligraphy. The museum presents exquisite samples of Slavic and European letters, refined works of Jewish and Arabic schools of calligraphy, strict forms of classical Japanese calligraphy, examples of ancient Chinese writing, revealing the history of the art of calligraphy and reflecting new facets of fine art; domestic and foreign books on the art of calligraphy; rare handwritten editions issued in single copies; writing instruments of the past and present.
The museum will be interesting to visitors of different ages and will be an excellent addition to the program of both art and general school and university education, and for students of specialized educational institutions it will serve as an excellent illustration of the course of lectures and will become simply indispensable for the general development and better understanding of painting and artistic techniques described in various literary sources devoted to the visual arts.
Address: st. Sokolnichesky Val, 1
Center for Oceanography and Marine Biology "Moskvarium" in Moscow
The building of “Moskvarium” is a complex, which is conventionally divided into the Aquarium and the Main Hall, where marine animals and circus performances take place.
The territory of the Aquarium occupies over 12,000 square meters, which has 80 huge specially designed aquariums and pools. The exposition is 600 meters long with a total water volume of 3000 cubic meters provides an exceptional opportunity to recreate in single complex ecosystems of different parts of the oceans.
The auditorium, which hosts various shows with the performance of marine animals and circus artists, is designed for 2,300 seats.
An incredible underwater journey through the World Ocean awaits you in Moskvarium: from Baikal to the Galapagos Islands, from Icelandic fjords to the Great Barrier Reef, from Greenland to Kamchatka. Europe's largest aquarium holds 5 million liters of water, 80 aquariums, 7,000 different fish and marine animals, an interactive children's area, a touchpad with starfish, carps and rays.
The spacious lecture hall hosts scientific and educational seminars and documentary shows about the marine nature, and a team of experienced researchers offers a rich excursion program around the 600-meter exposition with a visit to the panoramic site, which will provide an opportunity to watch graceful killer whales, mysterious belugas and naughty dolphins at a stretch arms!
Address: Prospect Mira, 119, 23
Central Museum of the Federal Border Service of the Russian Federation in Moscow
The museum was founded in February 1914 at the headquarters of the Separate Corps of the frontier guard of the Russian Empire in St. Petersburg. Today, the museum is a major research, cultural and educational institution of the Border Guard Service of the Federal Security Service of Russia.
In its funds, numbering over 80 thousand units of storage, materials on the history of the Border Guard from the period of Ancient Russia to the present are collected. These include original documents and photographs: Battle Banners, awards, weapons, paintings, graphics, sculptures, prints, documentary films and video films, contraband items, devices used by violators when crossing the border.
The museum exposition consistently and visually displays the history of the border guard, the development and improvement of the border troops and the border service. It presents all the most significant events that occurred on the border, its heroes and exploits.
On January 1, 2016, there were 127 museum-type units, rooms (cabins) for military glory (history) in the border agencies, institutions and units designed to support the activities of the border agencies and the Border Guard Service of the Federal Security Service of Russia, in institutions and units designed to support the activities of border agencies and the Border Guard Service of the Federal Security Service of Russia.
Address: Yauzsky Boulevard, 13
Water Museum in Moscow
In 1993, JSC Mosvodokanal created the first information and environmental Center “Museum of Water” in Russia, the subject of which is devoted to education in the field of water conservation, the education of respect for water resources and the formation of environmental culture.
The museum exhibits the most interesting authentic historical documents of the past - handwritten albums, maps, working drawings with autographs of the great Russian scientists and engineers. The entire history of the centralized water supply and sewage system of Moscow, from Rostokinsky aqueduct to 21st century buildings - membrane filtration systems for drinking water at the South-West waterworks and ultraviolet irradiation unit of treated wastewater at the Lyubertsy wastewater treatment plant is traced in the museum halls.
The great interest among visitors is caused by the operating layouts of buildings, electrified maps of water supply sources, schemes of technological processes for purifying natural and waste waters on large screens. The “virtual guide” will help you to familiarize yourself with the topics of the halls.
The materials of the museum are widely used by students and researchers in the preparation of essays, graduation projects, articles and textbooks. Moscow schools and higher educational institutions conduct environmental lessons and lectures at the museum.
Address: Sarinsky pr-d, 13
Moscow State University Museum of Geography
The Museum of Geography of Moscow State University is the Museum of Earth Sciences. Its main function is the participation in the educational process of students of natural and humanitarian faculties of Moscow State University and other educational institutions of the country, including schoolchildren of different ages - future university entrants. The expositions reveal the history of the development of scientific knowledge and the content of various scientific concepts, tell about the latest achievements of scientific thought in the field of earth sciences, about the holistic picture of the world, the relationship between the living and the nonliving in nature, the formation of modern nature, the emergence and activity of man. All this is considered as different aspects of a single complex process - the evolution of the planet Earth, educating and shaping the biosphere thinking of museum visitors.
The exhibition consists of seven main sections: the history of MSU; the origin and structure of the Galaxy, the Solar System, the planet Earth; endogenous processes of the Earth; the processes of formation of minerals; exogenous processes, the formation of the relief of the Earth, the life of the World Ocean, the history of the development of life on Earth; natural areas of the Earth; physiographic areas of the world, Russia and neighboring countries.
The museum exhibits over 36 stands with thousands of exhibits and natural collections consisting of tens of thousands of mineral samples, mountain ores, rocks, meteorites, hundreds of soil samples and monoliths, dozens of botanical herbaria, zoo and biogeocenoses. In the frieze belt of the numerous halls of the Museum there is a gallery of painting canvases (262 paintings), reflecting the diverse landscapes of our country, written by major artists mainly from nature.
Address: st. Lenin Mountains, 1
National Museum of History of the Moscow Metro in Moscow
The Metro Museum was opened in November 1967 through the efforts of enthusiasts - metropolitan labor veterans who collected future exhibits bit by bit: documents, photographs, samples of various equipment. When creating the funds, materials were used from the Metropolitan Administration, the State Archive of Film and Photo Documents, the Russian State Library, as well as various equipment that was removed from service. Many documents and individual items were donated to the museum by private individuals.
The exposition is designed to maximize the history of the creation of the metro and its development to the present. Unique exhibits demonstrate the labor feat of those who created this engineering and architectural miracle and ensure its functioning. The exposition also includes other thematic sections: "The Metropolitan during the Great Patriotic War: transport and bomb shelter", "The Metropolitan as an architectural monument", "The Commonwealth of Metro systems of Russia, the CIS countries and other countries of the world".
Address: Khamovnichesky Val, 36
Museum "Underground printing house of 1905-1906" in Moscow
This is one of the most unusual museums in Moscow. It is located in the old district of the city in a three-story building - a typical example of a Moscow apartment building from the end of the 19th century. Here, in the days of the First Russian Revolution, there was a deeply conspiratorial illegal printing house, where revolutionary leaflets and a Social Democratic newspaper were published.
The museum has existed since 1924. It is a unique monument of the political history of Russia during the period of the first revolution of 1905-1907, the history of the illegal activities of the RSDLP (b). Its organizers were those who at one time created a secret printing house and worked in it. That is why the exposition with extraordinary accuracy reproduces all the details of the long gone past. The basis of the museum is the memorial complex of the underground printing house, which was covered by the shop “Trade in Caucasian fruits Kalandadze”. The typography itself is a cave dug in the ground, where there is an authentic printing machine - you can get there through a masked manhole from a well to drain groundwater.
The restored interior of the basement, from where there was the entrance to the printing house, looks like a warehouse of boxes of fruit and cheese, at the bottom of which there were stacks of illegal newspapers and leaflets. From the sales area with old shop windows, a counter and a desk you can get to the basement and residential premises, which served not only to disguise the secret life of the owners, but also a resting place for printers.
The underground printing house at Lesnaya was never discovered by the Tsarist police due to the high professionalism of the conspirators. The museum complex provides an opportunity to feel the spirit of that time, to present the conditions in which the underground workers worked. Much attention is paid to the disclosure of the socio-psychological portrait of the Russian revolutionary, a description of the security structure of the Russian Empire, and the methods of its work to prevent the "Russian turmoil".
Address: Lesnaya St., 55, b. 1
Museum of V.A. Tropinin in Moscow
Among many museums in Moscow, the Museum of V.A. Tropinin and Moscow artists of his time occupies a special place. It is rightly considered the most Moscow museum among the metropolitan museums. This is due to the fact that the building itself and the works of art stored in it are directly related to the artistic culture of Moscow in the XVIII-XIX centuries.
The museum was founded in 1969 by the famous Moscow collector F. Vishnevsky, who donated a mansion and two hundred and fifty works of art of painting, drawing and decorative and applied arts to the city. Total F.E. Vishnevsky presented about eight hundred works of art to various museums of the country. For forty years, the museum collection has increased almost tenfold. The museum has one of the most significant collections of works by V.A. Tropinin - the founder of the "Moscow school" of painting, the favorite portrait painter of Moscow in the first half of the 19th century, as well as the works of outstanding artists of the past: I.Ya. Vishnyakov, I.P. Argunov, A.P. Antropov, F.S. Rokotov, D.G. Levitsky, V.L. Borovikovsky, S.F. Shchedrin, S.S. Shchukin and others. The museum holds paintings of famous masters of the XIX century: I.K. Aivazovsky, A.N. Benoit, V.M. Vasnetsov, I.I. Levitan, K.A. Korovin, V.D. Polenova et al.
A distinctive feature of the museum is its intimacy, which preserves the atmosphere of an old Moscow house. The themes of the museum’s expositions and exhibitions are very attractive for visitors; it represents the art of the Tropinin time.
Address: Schetininsky per. 10, b. 1
Cognac History Museum in Moscow
The museum was built and was open to the public in 2007. It is located in a typical house of French winemakers. The stylish interior is harmoniously complemented by vintage household items and educational exposition with rare exhibits.
The museum is located on the territory of the Moscow wine and brandy factory "KiN". Inside, on two floors, the whole long way of cognac birth from grapevines to matures, aged in oak barrels of “liquor of the gods”, as the writer Victor Hugo called cognac, is reproduced with love. All exhibits in the museum are authentic. For one and a half years, they collected them in different parts of France - the historical homeland of cognac. In the museum you will see a lot of interesting things that give a complete picture of the production process of cognac: tools of winegrowers, coopers and winemakers of the XIX - early XX centuries, cognac storehouse, and the only real French distillery cube in Russia - alembic. In addition to tools, the museum has the rarest household and interior items: dishes and books, a coffee shop, a walnut floor clock, the hands of which show the time of the Cognac region.
The exhibits are dated to the end of the 19th - the beginning of the 20th century and everything that is represented in the museum can be touched! The amazing atmosphere and fascinating stories of each exhibit, as if by magic, will take you to the magical world of winemakers, whose art and experience are passed on from generation to generation, but so far have been hidden under a veil of secrecy.
Address: Leningradskoye shosse, 67
Museum of Russian estate culture in the estate Kuzminki in Moscow
Manor Kuzminki is known since the XVIII century. Its owners were the barons Stroganovs and the princes Golitsyn. In the XIX century Kuzminki was considered one of the most beautiful places in the vicinity of Moscow. Exemplary farming, well-thought-out layout, beautiful architectural structures, picturesque parks with ponds, islands, bridges attracted many guests to the estate. Kuzminki was visited by Russian emperors Peter I, Nicholas I, Alexander II, Empress Maria Feodorovna (spouse of Emperor Paul I), foreign delegations were received here, and annual festivities were held.
In the late XIX - early XX centuries Kuzminki became a favorite dacha place. The difficult fate of the estate in the twentieth century did not change its attractiveness and charm. Today, there is a museum on its territory, which revives memories of the long-gone era of the Russian noble estate. You are offered to make a fascinating journey to the estate Kuzminki past and present.
The surviving manor buildings fully allow to represent the life and life of the Russian manor. The equestrian courtyard, the outbuilding for servicemen on Slobodka, the bathing house, the forge, the outbuildings of the manor house are now turned into a museum. Unique hiking, cycling and horseback riding tours are held throughout the estate.
Estate buildings are made in the style of "Empire" and are objects of the cultural real estate heritage of the Russian Federation. A striking attraction is the Stable yard. Its façade, the Musical pavilion, is decorated with horses, made according to the models of the sculptor Klodt.
Address: Topolevaya Alley, 6
Mineralogical Museum named after A.E. Fersman in Moscow
The history of the oldest in the country and one of the oldest in Europe Mineralogical Museum is closely connected with the development of mineralogy in Russia. The foundation of the museum was laid by the organization in 1716 of the Mineral Cabinet of the Kunstkamera in St. Petersburg. To do this, by order of Peter I in Danzig an extensive collection of minerals (1,195 samples) was acquired from the doctor of medicine Gottwald, with which the Kunstkamera Mineral Cabinet began its existence. This collection was supplemented with samples from Russian fields and since 1719 it has been exhibited to the public in St. Petersburg in the building of the Kikiny Chambers.
In 1725, the Academy of Sciences was established in St. Petersburg. The Kunstkamera became one of the institutions of the Academy; the Mineral Cabinet was transferred into the possession of the latter and grew up within its walls into a large scientific institution, subsequently the Mineralogical Museum. In 1836, the Mineralogical Museum stood out as an independent institution of the Academy of Sciences from the Mineral Cabinet.
The great merit in the development of the Museum in the Academy of Sciences as a scientific museum institution of a new type belongs to the mineralogist and geochemist, academician A.E. Fersman. Today the Mineralogical Museum named after it is one of the largest in the world. In total, the collections contain 135,000 samples of minerals from deposits in Russia and foreign countries. The main fund of the museum consists of 5 collections: a systematic collection of deposits, a collection of crystals, a collection of formations and transformations, a collection of ornamental and precious stones.
In one exhibition hall of 1200 sq. meters more than 20 thematic expositions are deployed. More than 12,000 exhibits - 1/12 of the museum are exhibited.
Address: Leninsky Prospect, 18 building 2
Museum of the History of Jews in Russia in Moscow
On May 18, on World Museum Day, the Museum of the History of Jews in Russia was opened - the first the Museum in our country after a long break dedicated to the history and culture of Russian Jewry. The museum was opened on the basis of the private collection of its founder, businessman and writer Sergey Ustinov. The museum has about 4,000 exhibits; a little less than 1,000 are on display in the new exhibition.
Taking into account the experience of European and American countries, where Jewish museums have become an integral part of the cultural landscape, as well as the traditions of the existence of Jewish collections in the Russian Empire and the early Soviet state, the new-born Museum sets itself the task of popularizing the history and culture of Russian Jewry, as well as preserving and studying the disappearing material heritage of Jewish communities.
The museum’s collection includes all Jewish religious and sub-ethnic groups - not only Eastern European Ashkenazi, but also Georgian, Highland and Bukhara Jews, as well as Karaites and Russian sectarians who converted to Judaism (Gera and Subotniki). The materials in the museum reflect the peculiarities of their life and culture, as well as the peculiarity of their historical development.
The phenomenon of Russian and Soviet Jewry is viewed in the context of its ties with Russian culture, society and state power. The museum’s collection also reflects the cultural and religious unity of Russian Jewry and the Jewish diaspora in other countries of Eastern Europe, which existed beyond local differences and state borders.
Address: Petrovsko-Razumovskaya Alley, 10, building 3, 7
Memorial Museum-Office of Academician P.L. Kapitsa in Moscow
The museum was created on the basis of a decree of the Presidium of the Academy of Sciences on the perpetuation of the memory of Academician P.L. Kapitsa (1894-1984) dated January 17, 1985. The opening took place on April 8, 1985, on the day of the anniversary of the death of Peter Leonidovich Kapitsa.
The exposition represents the entire life of a scientist, both moments of his world fame and dark days, when no one knew how his fate would turn. Here you can see scientific instruments and devices, a unique collection of photographic portraits of scientists of the twentieth century, all with inscriptions and autographs. The museum holds medals and certificates of honor, among them - in the place of honor - a diploma of a Nobel laureate, received by P.L. Kapitsa in 1978.
The huge archive of the museum keeps Kapitsa's correspondence with outstanding scientists, public figures, artists and musicians. The walls of the office and living room are decorated with original paintings.
The organizers sought to preserve the premises as they were during the life of the academician. The scientist's office remained intact, unique instruments and details of research facilities — the scientist used them in his experiments, machines — he liked to work behind them, photographs, a personal archive, and holograms of medals that were presented to Peter Leonidovich were created on a special showcase. Another original exhibit is a self-regulating table, the inscription on the tabletop below: “A stable table of the P.L. Kapitsa. Made on Nikolina Gora from May 5 to May 19, 1948 by P. Kapitsa. ”
Address: st. Kosygin, 2
Gallery of European and American Art of XIX-XX centuries in Moscow
The Gallery of European and American Art of the XIX-XX centuries is a new department of the State Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin opened the doors to the public in August 2006.
In twenty-six halls of the Gallery, a collection of works of masters of the XIX - XX centuries is deployed. Entire halls are devoted to individual trends of European art or the work of a single artist. The German school of painting of the early 19th century, represented by the works of K.D. Frederick and the Nazarene artists, is on display in a specially designated room. Chamber halls allow the public to see well-known pictures by E. Delacroix and Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres. Spanish School is represented by the work of F. Goya. Members of the Paris Salon received a separate hall: J. Jerome, P. Delaroche, E.L. Isabey. The works of French landscape painters C. Corot and the artists of the Barbizon school by T. Rousseau, J. Dupre, V. Diaz de la Peña, S. Daubigny seem to be specially designed for the interiors of the Gallery. Cloths G. Courbet, J.F. Millet, O. Daumier complement the panorama of the art of French realism.
The pride of the Gallery is painting by French impressionists, post-impressionists and masters of the beginning of the 20th century: C. Monet, O. Renoir, A. Sisley, C. Pissarro, E. Degas, P. Cezanne, P. Gauguin, V. van Gogh, A. de Toulouse-Lautrec, members of the Nabi group, A. Matisse, P. Picasso, A. Derain, A. Russo. In the new exhibition you can see the work of representatives of other European schools, as well as works of American art. Along with the paintings by V. Kandinsky, M. Chagall, J. de Chirico, paintings by A. Funi, C. Hofer, F. Casorati, X. Grundig, F. Behringer, R. Kent are shown. The work of the largest sculptors of Europe - A. Bari, O. Rodin, A. Majol, E. Burdel, O. Tzadkina, X. Arpa is presented.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 14
Museum of traditional Russian drinks "Ochakovo" in Moscow
Placing the museum on the territory of the flagship producer of beer and non-alcoholic beverages allowed its employees to creatively build their work. Ochakovo Company is one of the largest Russian enterprises, the leader of the Russian market in the production of beverages. It has its own enterprises for the production of ingredients - hops, grape juice, sugar, etc. It delivers products in 60 Russian regions and in more than 30 foreign countries.
Museum of beer and kvass "Ochakovo" conducts tours for adults and children. The children will learn everything about the production stages of homemade kvass, the development of technologies for its preparation - from ancient times to the present day; they will get acquainted with modern lines for the production of sweet drinks. For adults, the tour is supplemented with information on the ways of the formation of the brewing industry.
The tour consists of two parts. It begins with a trip to the Old Russian outback - to the origins of brewing. This was made possible thanks to the collection of old homemade and brewing equipment. Here, the original utensils are carefully preserved, with the help of which our ancestors made “honey-beer”, which A.S. Pushkin himself drank, and “flew through his mustache and did not get into his mouth”.
Everything here is built on contrast. You have just been in an old peasant hut, but now the door opens and you immediately get into the XIX century. In the world of modern production, in the realm of stainless steel, huge cooking pots and fermentation tanks with an eight-story house in height. This is impressive! Huge exhibits are just on the street, and in the museum there are wooden barrels and mortars that were used in the production of kvass.
Address: Ryabinovaya st., 44
Moscow Kremlin in Moscow
The Kremlin or Kremenets in Russia has long been called the stone fortress, reliably protecting from enemies from the West and the East. But only the Moscow Kremlin acquired the status of a sacred symbol, personifying the power of a great country. Behind its red-brick walls there are government buildings and a giant museum complex, where hundreds of thousands of artifacts tell about the history and culture of Russia. Archaeological work is not interrupted even for a day, revealing all the new secrets of the most extraordinary place of our country.
At the end of the 15th century, Tsar Ivan III launched a large-scale construction on Borovitsky Hill. The Italians were considered the best fortifiers of that time, so the sovereign invited the Milanese masters to build a fortress. And they did not shame the glory of their shop, having built not just a powerful defensive line, but also a complete architectural ensemble. None of the 20 towers is repeated, the walls are decorated with merlon-teeth with dovetail. Only hipped roofs appeared much later.
With the beginning of the reign of Peter the Great, the value of the Moscow Kremlin changed noticeably - the king moved first to Preobrazhenskoye and then to St. Petersburg, and the fortress lost its status as a permanent royal residence. At the beginning of the 18th century, the character of the Kremlin building changed: after the devastating fire of 1701, Peter issued a decree in 1704 prohibiting the construction of wooden buildings inside the Kremlin.
With the Soviet power rise to power, the capital was moved to Moscow, and the Kremlin again became a political center. In March 1918, the Soviet government headed by V. I. Lenin moved to the Kremlin. His residence and residence of the Soviet leaders were palaces and cavalry corps.
Address: Red Square
New Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow
The only permanent exhibition of Russian art of the 20th century is located in the Gallery building on Krymsky Val. The works of the world-famous masters of the Russian avant-garde of the 1900s-1920s (K.S. Malevich, V.V. Kandinsky, M.Z. Shagal, P.N. Filonov, L.S. Popova) are replaced by the works of socialist realism of the 1930s –1950s.
The work of artists of the “stern style” of the 1960s is demonstrated in parallel with the art of representatives of the “underground”, who initiated the “second wave” of the Russian avant-garde. The final part of the exhibition, in which the works of the 1980s – 1990s are presented, is fundamentally “open” in nature - the Tretyakov Gallery is ready to replenish its collection with the most recent and relevant works of domestic authors.
In addition, various exhibitions are regularly held in the halls of the Gallery on Krymsky Val: classical and modern art, domestic and foreign masters.
Since 2002, in the Tretyakov Gallery on Krymsky Val a children's creative workshop exists there. The peculiarities of working with children in this center of children's creativity are determined by the proximity to the exhibition “Art of the Twentieth Century”, where all the most daring experiments in the field of artistic language of the last century are presented.
Address: Krymsky Val, 10
Museum of Russian impressionism in Moscow
The Museum of Russian Impressionism was opened to visitors in May 2016. This is a unique collection consisting of more than seventy canvases of outstanding Russian painters: Konstantin Korovin, Valentin Serov, Igor Grabar, Konstantin Yuon, Pyotr Konchalovsky, Yuri Pimenov and many others. Many masterpieces were returned to Russia from abroad by the efforts of the founder of the museum and became public property.
Russian impressionism, previously presented in public and private museums only as a small part of large collections, first received a separate site. Using the example of the permanent exhibition of the Museum of Russian Impressionism, one can study the history of this trend in painting, trace the birth, development process and current state of impressionism in Russia. More than a thousand square meters of exhibition space, a multimedia hall, an educational interactive zone, a training studio, a cafe, a shop with books and souvenirs - the new museum is a cultural space that combines exhibition work with scientific, publishing and educational activities.
The museum is located in the cultural and business complex "Bolshevik" - a former confectionery factory, which is an important architectural and historical monument of Moscow. Founded in 1855 by French entrepreneur Adolf Sioux, the factory was the first building in Moscow with electric lighting.
The reconstruction project of the museum was made by the famous British architectural bureau John McAslan + Partners, having numerous national and international awards in the field of architecture. The museum building is a 4-storey cylindrical pavilion, trimmed outside with perforated silver metal and turned into a modern art object.
Address: Leningradsky prospect, 15 building 11
Center of Photography named after Lumiere brothers in Moscow
The Lumiere Brothers Photography Center was opened on March 2, 2010 on the territory of the former Krasny Oktyabr confectionery factory and includes three exhibition halls, a gallery of collectible photography, a PhotoBookPoster bookstore and a library. All expositions are devoted to Soviet, Russian and foreign photographic art of the twentieth century.
The art site occupies more than 1000 square meters of the old mansion on the Bolotnaya embankment and is designed to work with professional photographers, photographic collections and photo exhibitions. Showrooms allow you to exhibit more than 400 photos. The library has the best photography literature in the last 80 years. The PhotoBookPoster bookstore offers a wide and constantly updated assortment of books on art and the history of photography, as well as postcards, photo posters and magazines.
In addition to the regular holding of photographic exhibitions, the Center is engaged in training, research activities, conducts its own publishing program and forms the basis for the creation of the Russian “Museum of Photography”.
Address: Bolotnaya emb., 3, b. 1
Museum of the Patriotic War of 1812 in Moscow
The museum was opened to the 200th anniversary of the Patriotic War of 1812. The exposition reflects the background of the ten-year confrontation between Russia and France until 1812, presents a “museum image” of the Patriotic War itself and the period of liberation of Europe from the power of Napoleon, touches upon a special theme of “experiencing the war” and memory of it.
It is built on a chronological basis and consists of a presentation zone and ten thematic sections: "Alexander and Napoleon: Neutrality Diplomacy. 1801-1805"; "The military campaigns of 1805-1807"; "Russian-French alliance. Expansion of the French Empire"; "Preparing for war. 1809-1812"; "The initial period of the war: from the Neman to Smolensk"; "Battle of Borodino"; "The great army in the ancient capital. Moscow fire"; "Exile of the enemy from Russia"; "The road to triumph. Overseas trips"; "Memory of War".
In the museum fund there are items of everyday life and arts and crafts of that era, collections of numismatics, paintings by V. Vereshchagin, D. Dow, some other artists and much more. Here you can also see the silver ark of certificate of gratitude from Alexander I to the Moscow nobility, favored rings, snuff boxes and award medals of the participants of the Patriotic War. Of particular interest are things that belonged to the generals of the Patriotic War of 1812; M.I. Kutuzov's samovar, P.H. Wittgenstein’s wrought marshal's baton, N. Bonaparte’s saber, etc. The exposition displays a successful combination of historical curiosities, works of art and multimedia.
Address: Revolution square, 2/3
The Kremlin in Izmaylovo in Moscow
The Kremlin in Izmaylovo is located on a high hill. It is surrounded by a wooden palisade. The walls are stone, with massive towers and a bridge. Nearby is the Silver-Grape Pond.
In the 17th century, abandoned wasteland came to master the craftsmen, who built a wonderful city, with domes and fairgrounds. To this city you could get through the carved gates. So the Kremlin appeared in Izmaylovo.
The Kremlin in its walls collected all the best that was in the royal residence. One of the magnificent ponds was re-created. A menagerie, aviary and stables were revived. There is still a bear, horses and tame pigeons in the Izmaylovo Kremlin. Flowers and vineyards grow.
On the territory of the Kremlin there are various museums that help to make a trip into the past. Also there is windmill, pottery, various workshops (weaving and blacksmithing), in which you can learn this craft.
Russian traditions are now being revived in the Kremlin. There are various fairs, city festivals. The performances are folklore ensembles: balalaika, harmonists, guslars.
Address: Izmaylovskoye Highway 73
“Garage” Museum of Contemporary Art in Moscow
Founded in 2008 by Darya Zhukova and Roman Abramovich, the Museum is the first philanthropic organization in Russia aimed at the development of modern art and culture.
The extensive program of exhibition, educational, scientific and publishing activities conducted by “Garage” reflects the current processes in Russian and international culture and opens up opportunities for public dialogue and the creation of new works.
On May 1, 2014, the “Garage” Center for Contemporary Culture changed its name to the “Garage” Museum of Contemporary Art, which reflects the main goal of the Museum’s co-founders - to introduce the general public to the works of living artists and materials on the history of art. On June 12, 2015, the “Garage” moved to its first permanent building in Gorky Park, in the heart of Moscow.
Address: st. Krymsky Val, 9 Building 32
The State Academic Central Puppet Theater named after S.V. Obraztsov in Moscow
The Obraztsov Theater Puppet Museum occupies a special place on the museum map of Russia and the world. Having once begun with an exhibition on a balcony in the first building of the theater on Mayakovsky Square, it is now the largest in Russia and one of the largest in the world — more than 4 thousand units of storage.
The museum collects and stores dolls, technologies, images, documents, which reflect the historic revolution not only in the art of playing dolls, but also in the whole culture of the dolls. There are saved artistic discoveries that moved the doll from the field of craft and folk art in the sphere of high professional art.
It reflects the process of artistic co-creation of prominent art workers playing dolls in Europe, Asia, North and Latin America, Australia, which resulted in the creation of a professional puppet theater of the 20th century. The very process where ancient magic, folk art, professional art schools and movements turned into a qualitatively new cultural phenomenon.
Address: Sadovaya-Samotechnaya street, 3
All-Russian Museum of Decorative, Applied and Folk Art in Moscow
The All-Russian Museum of Decorative, Applied and Folk Art is the only museum in Russia that combines works of decorative and applied art from Russia in the 18th-20th centuries in its collection. The collection of the museum was formed by 1999 as a result of the unification of the collections of the All-Russian Museum of Decorative, Applied and Folk Art, founded in 1981, and the Museum of Folk Art named after S.T. Morozov, as well as library and archival funds of the Research Institute of the art industry.
The collections of the museum also contain private collections: a collection of art metal, donated to it by the collector G.A. Kubryakov, the famous collection of Russian, Eastern and European fabrics of N.L. Shabelskaya, donated by a French citizen P.M. Tolstoy-Miloslavsky, collections of porcelain, collected by M.V. Mironova and A.S. Menaker, as well as a collection of porcelain by L.O. Utesov.
The museum presents artistic metalwork, Russian artistic varnishes, porcelain and glass from the Imperial and private factories, works of famous modern masters of decorative and applied art. The collection of works of decorative and applied art of the Russian Art Nouveau, as well as the collection of Soviet art of the 1920s and 1950s, including agitation porcelain and fabrics, has no analogues. In recent years, the museum collection has been replenished with magnificent works of contemporary artists. The library of the museum contains a collection of rare books. Unique handwritten materials are in a special archival collection.
Address: st. Delegatskaya, 3
Palace and Manor of N.A. Durasov in Lyublino in Moscow
Russian estates are a complex, multifaceted phenomenon, a thousand threads associated with the artistic culture of the Russian people. The history of their construction goes back into time, preserving unique architectural and natural ensembles for posterity. Moscow region estates, nowadays Moscow estates, play an important role in the national estate culture, playing an extremely important role in shaping the image and architectural appearance of our ancient capital and giving Moscow a special attraction that distinguishes it from other Russian cities.
One of such historical places on the territory of modern Moscow is Lyublino, mentioned in the sources of the end of the XVI century. In the 80s of the XVII century, the estate was owned by the famous Godunov’s family and it was called Godunovo. Later, it became owned by the princes Prozorovsky, and was so loved by the owners that it received the name "Lyublino". In the first quarter of the XIX century, the estate was bought by the wealthy Moscow landowner N.А. Durasov (1760 - 1818), the most famous of its owners.
Miraculously preserved, landscape gardening ensemble of the former manor "Lyublino" occupies a special place in the domestic estate culture. The original for the architecture of Moscow and the Moscow region building of the manor’s palace has in its plan a combination of a cross and a circle. According to legend, the owner wanted his house to resemble the Order of St. Anne, whom he may have been awarded by Emperor Paul I.
In the XX century, the manor has undergone many changes - some buildings were rebuilt. In 2003, the Main Directorate for the Protection of Monuments of Moscow carried out restoration work in the palace, thanks to which it acquired the same beautiful view as it did 200 years ago. Now visitors can contemplate it in all its former glory, to get acquainted with the most interesting example of architecture of the late XVIII - early XIX century.
Address: Letnyaya Street., 1 building 6
Zoological Museum of Moscow State University in Moscow
The Zoological Museum was founded in 1791 as the Cabinet of Natural History at the Moscow Imperial University. The first inventory of its collections, made by G.I. Fisher, is dated 1806–1807. In the 20s of the XIX century, when the Cabinet was restored after the fire of 1812, a zoological collection was allocated from it, which formed the basis of the Zoological Museum. In 1822 a new inventory of his collections was published. In the 1860s, the funds were divided into exposition, educational and scientific. Since 1866, the museum has operated as a public one. According to the project of academician of architecture K.M. Bykovsky in 1898–1902 for the museum a special building on Bolshaya Nikitskaya Street was built, which belongs to it to this day.
In the 30s of the twentieth-century museum was introduced into the Biological Faculty of Moscow State University, then its administrative subordination and structure were repeatedly and fancifully changed, until finally, in the early 1990s, it acquired the status of the Zoological Research Museum. In the 1970–1980s the museum has undergone a complete reconstruction, which opened up new opportunities for its development. The exposition of all the rooms was renewed, the area of the depository was increased, and the scientific part of the museum was divided into seven sectors.
Address: Bolshaya Nikitskaya Str., 2
House-Museum of Marina Tsvetaeva in Moscow
On November 1, 1990 by the decision of the Presidium of the Culture Fund Council chaired by Academician D.S. Likhachev Cultural Center, House of the poet Marina Tsvetaeva, was registered. The official opening of the house-museum was held on September 12, 1992.
The museum is dedicated to the life of Marina Tsvetaeva and her family. The house in Borisoglebsky lane, 6, where Tsvetaeva lived in 1914–1922, is closely connected with the life of Marina Tsvetaeva, her husband Sergey Efron, and daughter Ali. The exhibition presents photographs and manuscripts of the poet, recreated the interior of the apartment.
Over the years, the museum has become a center for the study of the life and work of Marina Tsvetaeva, where the International scientific conferences, literary and musical evenings are held here every year.
Address: Borisoglebsky lane, 6с1
Russian National Museum of Music in Moscow
The Russian National Museum of Music (until 2018 - the All-Russian Museum Association of Musical Culture named after M.I. Glinka), the largest treasury of monuments of musical culture, which has no analogues in the world, is included in the State collection of especially valuable cultural heritage sites of the peoples of the Russian Federation.
The All-Russian Museum Association of Musical Culture includes: the Central Museum of Musical Culture, the Museum-Apartment of A. B. Goldenweiser, Museum-apartment of N.S. Golovanov, Memorial estate of F.I. Shalyapin, Museum of S.S. Prokofiev, Museum "P.I. Tchaikovsky and Moscow", House Museum of S.I. Taneyev.
There are about a million items in the museum collections. Unique musical instruments, manuscripts, documents, personal belongings of musicians, books and sheet music are collected here. An extensive collection of audio and video recordings; a collection of graphic materials could constitute more than one exposition of an art museum. The association conducts research work on the study of foundations and the introduction of unknown, forgotten works into the scientific and cultural circulation.
In July 2010, the State Collection of Unique Musical Instruments of the Russian Federation, the largest collection of stringed instruments by masters from different countries and eras, including A. Stradivari’s masterpieces, Guarneri and Amati families, became part of the All-Russian Museum Association of Musical Culture.
The association has a modern recording studio and concert halls. In the Central Museum of Musical Culture (Fadeev, 4), there are the oldest organ of Russia by the master F. Ladegast and the organ of the firm A. Schuke.
Address: st. Fadeeva, 4
Institute of Russian Realistic Art in Moscow
The Institute of Russian Realistic Art is a private project reviving the social traditions of Russian philanthropy. The Museum and Exhibition Complex was opened in December 2011 in one of the old buildings of the former print factory built in Zamoskvorechye at the end of the 19th century. The art collection today is considered to be one of the best collections of paintings of the national realistic school of the twentieth century.
Three floors of the exhibition space with a total area of more than 4,500 square meters present an exposition of almost 500 works of Russian and Soviet art.
In the halls of the third floor one of the most significant sections of the museum collection is exhibited - Soviet painting of the first half of the 20th century. There are the works of outstanding masters of Russian art Arkady Plastov, Sergei Gerasimov, Alexander Deineka, Yuri Pimenov, George Nissky, Isaac Brodsky and other artists.
The second floor is a collection of works of Soviet artists of the second half of the XX century. The exposition is based on the works of the largest artists of the “Sixties,” which include folk artists, full members of the Russian Academy of Arts Helium Korzhev, brothers Sergey and Alexey Tkachev, Viktor Ivanov, Peter Ossovsky, Dmitry Zhilinsky, Tair Salakhov. Painters of this generation inherited the traditions of Russian artistic culture, many of these masters, such as Victor Popkov, devoted their work to dramatic collisions of the modern life of our country in all its complexity and contradiction.
Address: Derbenevskaya Nab., 7 bldg. 31
House of Burganov in Moscow
The Moscow State Museum “House of Burganov” was created as a state cultural institution. The basis of the museum’s collection was the works of the national artist of Russia, full member of the Russian Academy of Arts A.N. Burganov, brought by the artist as a gift to the city. At the same time, Alexander Nikolayevich presented Moscow with a building at Bolshoy Afanasyevsky Lane, 15, b. 9. Subsequently, the building was transferred to the museum at Bolshoy Afanasyevsky Lane, 17, b. 1, which was in ruined condition at that time. Alexander Burganov himself designed the art project of the Pegas exposition and exhibition gallery and carried out the restoration of the building at his own expense.
In 2001-2005 there was a process of creating the main exhibition of the museum in the Pegasus gallery and in the open air on three sites: the Small Courtyard, the Great Courtyard, and the Museum Garden.
A feature of the museum "House of Burganov" is also a working workshop of the sculptor. Here, in front of museum visitors, a whole series of major monumental works by Alexander Burganov were created - his monuments and monumental compositions, sculptures for parks and fountains for Russia and Belgium, America and Germany. The creation of the sculpture was, in fact, a kind of museum exhibit. The opportunity to see the real creative process and feel the touch to the world of art has become that amazing effect that attracts many viewers to the museum, returning here many times.
Address: Big Afanasyevsky Lane, 15
Museum of nomadic culture in Moscow
A geography teacher at a school on Aviamotornaya Str., Konstantin Kuksin, decided to spend his teacher's vacation on Mongolia. Three months he spent with the nomads. The Mongols turned out to be extremely hospitable people, and the geography teacher returned to Moscow with the real yurt "ger": a larch frame, felt upholstery, inside - a white canvas as a sign of return to summer, growth and development.
He put a yurt teacher in the courtyard of his favorite school number 1321 on Aviamotornaya Street and organized a Museum of nomadic culture here. But since he brought one yurt to Moscow, why stop there? Today, on the territory of the museum you can visit the homes of the Nenets and Khanty, Chukchi reindeer herders, Kyrgyz - only about a dozen yurts, tents and yarang. You can touch everything in the museum - there are no prohibitions. And at times they invite to games - to shoot from a bow, for example.
There are nomadic peoples on all inhabited continents. Over the years of their existence, they have accumulated a huge reservoir of knowledge, which for many of our contemporaries remains a terra incognita. Civilized people know little about this culture, and even fewer of them managed to come into direct contact with it. An excursion to the museum of nomadic peoples will help to fill this gap. Indians and Mongols, Chukchi and Kalmyks, Gypsies and Australian Aborigines - we are all very different, but we have a lot in common.
The purpose of the museum is to show to the Russians the distinctive life of the most ancient peoples, to acquaint them with their habitat and culture. Tours are conducted by an interactive method - by immersion in the domestic environment. Visitors can ride horses, treat themselves to national dishes, listen to folk music played on authentic instruments, and even learn new jokes from the life of a particular tribe.
Would you like to taste real Mongolian tea, treat yourself with baursaks and see the exposition? Come to the school yard. Just remember: do not walk counterclockwise, do not put your foot on the threshold, or you can inadvertently declare war. Guests can take photos in national clothes or buy books and CDs about nomads from different countries. You will be told about inter-ethnic relations between nations and their social orientation. The guest yurt is reserved for holding concert programs, conferences and seminars. On the territory of the museum there is a Buddhist temple. Visit the museum is by appointment.
Address: Aviamotornaya St., 30A
Museum of the International Numismatic Club in Moscow
The Museum of the International Numismatic Club opened its doors in 2015 in the restored Yusupov-Zinoviev Chambers, monument of Russian architecture of the XVII – XVIII centuries. The exhibition is based on the private collection of Vagit Alekperov and includes about 4.5 thousand items.
An old coin is not only a collectible, but also a way to look at world history from an unusual angle.
The museum collection consists of five sections: "Coins of the Russian Empire", "Antique coins", "Coins of the Byzantine Empire", " Thalers", "Investment and commemorative coins." The exhibits come from the most famous private collections of Grand Duke George Mikhailovich, Count Ivan Tolstoy, Count Emeric Von Gutten-Chapsky and others.
Some coins were returned to the country from abroad. This happened, for example, with the so-called “Hermitage doublets” sold by the Soviet government at the Munich auction of Adolf Hess in the early 1930s.
In December 2015, the founder of the museum, Vagit Alekperov, was awarded the Phoenix Prize of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation for assistance in preserving architectural monuments and their adaptation to modern use.
Address: Big Afanasyevsky Lane, 24
Moscow City Museum
It is the first and only museum of skyscrapers and high-rise construction in Moscow. Created at the initiative of PJSC "City" together with the Museum of Moscow and opened in July 2017.
The exposition of the Museum is devoted to the history of high-rise construction in Moscow and the history of the creation of Moscow-City.
The historical part tells how Moscow grew up: from the bell tower of Ivan the Great to the Stalinist skyscrapers and today's skyscrapers of Moscow-City. Here you can see a unique historical photograph - the panorama of Moscow in 1867, made from the highest point of the capital at that time - the Cathedral of Christ the Savior.
Part of the exhibition, dedicated to the history of the creation of Moscow-City, introduces the skyscrapers of the complex - the name, height, architectural and technical features of each. And the City archive stores architectural projects created for Moscow City, which remained only on paper.
Address: Presnenskaya nab., 6 Building 2
Museum of childhood in Moscow
The Museum of Childhood, located on the 7th floor of the Central Children's Store on Lubyanka, is declared as a space in which memorabilia and toys acquired in the Central Children's Store, a legendary children's store, in the historic building of which it now exists, are collected and restored.
At first glance, the Museum of Childhood is not impressive at the scale of the exposition - it seems that in a small cave, the entrance to which is organized from one of the side stairs on the way to the observation deck, there is practically nothing to see, however, this is not quite true: a significant number of exhibits, among which there are quite interesting, are located on shop windows along the walls, so that it is convenient to move around the room even if it is chock full of visitors. As indicated on the store’s website, today the Museum’s collection includes more than 1,000 exhibits: toys, books, gramophone records, films and radio programs, as well as photographs.
The exhibition presents children's toys mainly from the 1950s – 1980s: teddy bears, dolls, toy soldiers and military equipment, cars, dolls, cartoon and fairy tales characters, toy kitchen utensils. One of the corners of the exhibition hall is decorated in the form of a room in which the puppet tea party takes place: in addition to dolls and teddy bears, there are toy interior items (table, chairs, sideboard and wardrobe), as well as dishes - everything is as it should be.
Of particular interest are information boards, located on the walls of the Museum. From them you can learn about the history of the production of toys in the Soviet Union and Russia and the enterprises in which they were made. So, in addition to general data about the well-known toy factories (Moscow Krugozor Toy Factory, March 8 Moscow Toy Factory, Moscow Orlyonok Toy Factory, Leningrad Toy Production Association in Leningrad, Donetsk and Dnepropetrovsk Toy Factory) more specific industries that produced toys at different times. Among them are the Tambov Powder Plant, the Tula Cartridge Plant, the Glukhov Computing Equipment Plant, the Vulkan Scientific and Production Association, the Lugansk Machine-Tool Building Plant, the Okhta Chemical Plant, the Saratov Aviation Plant, the Kishinev Tractor and Assembly Plant and many others.
Address: Theater Avenue, 5
House-Museum of Anton Chekhov in Moscow
“I live in Kudrino, against the 4th gymnasium, in the house of Korneev, similar to a chest of drawers. The color of the house is liberal, that is, red,” wrote Anton Pavlovich Chekhov in one of his letters. In the memorial space of the house, restored from the drawings and memories of the writer's sister and brother, it is easy to imagine the mode of a poor family, whose main income was the literary work of Anton. In the halls of the literary exposition it is possible to understand how gradually the writer of "big" literature appeared from the author from the "minor press". It was here that Chekhov wrote the plays "Ivanov", "Leshy", vaudevilles "The Bear", "The Proposal", "The Wedding", the novels "The Steppe", "The Lights", and "A Boring Story".
In the office of particular interest are objects that are witnesses of the distant past: an authentic desk, a pair of candlesticks in the form of dragons, fishing accessories and an inkwell with a horse figure, donated, according to legend, by one of the patients. Here, Chekhov not only wrote stories and plays, but also received patients - in the strictly allotted time from 12 to 15. The rest of the time, as he noted, was given to literary and artistic youth.
The museum presents the lifetime editions of Chekhov, a rare collection of photographs of the writer and his entourage, items from the Chekhov family, a collection of playbills and phototypes.
Address: Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya st., 6, b. 2
House-Museum of M.N. Yermolova in Moscow
The museum is located in a mansion of the end of the XVIII century, where the great tragic actress M.N. Yermolova lived from 1889 to 1928. Since May 15, 1970, the House-Museum of M.N. Yermolova was located in several rooms of this house, where there were things saved by the daughter of M.N. Yermolova - M.N. Zelenina. On the basis of these materials, the House-Museum was created, which opened in 1986.
The exposition of the House-Museum tells about the world of theatrical Moscow in the 19th century, about the life history of M.N. Yermolova from childhood and schooling to the summit roles, which were remembered by the audience until the end of their days. Spacious, quiet rooms, in which unique interiors and original things of the owners have been preserved, keep the cozy atmosphere of Moscow life of the end of the XIX century. The living room, dining room, bedroom of the hostess and the office of the owner, famous lawyer N.P. Shubinsky, sustained in a single manner, they feel the dignity of the style and culture of the past time.
In the memorial White Hall of the museum musical concerts, recitals, performances, theatrical meetings are held.
House-Museum of M.N. Yermolova is a historical monument, built in 1773. Its first owner is unknown. According to the legend that existed in the Yermolova family, there were meetings of the Masonic Lodge. In the XIX century, the building belonged to different owners, who rebuilt and reworked it to their liking. The real look of the house was formed by 1873 and did not undergo more significant changes, with the exception of the installation of the cartouche with the letter “W” in the pediment of the parapet, which is crowned by the front facade. This is a kind of imitation of the family coat of arms of the famous Moscow lawyer N.P. Shubinsky, who bought the house in 1889.
Address: 11 Tverskoy Blvd.
Telephone History Museum in Moscow
The Museum of the Telephone History was opened in 2010 on the basis of the company "Mastertel". On April 25, 2018, the museum moved to a separate building at Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya Street, 19, bldg. 2.
The museum was created on the initiative of the management of the telecommunications company Mastertel on the basis of a private collection. At present, the museum’s collections represent the largest collection of rare telephone sets and accessories from the late 19th – mid 20th centuries in Europe, which can be seen as an example of how the design and functionality of telephones changed over time, how the phone turned from a luxury item into one of the most necessary attributes of a person..
The exposition presents the first phones of the Swedish company "Ericsson", a copy of the famous phone of Alexander Bell, the phone of the family of Nicholas II, a real telephone station, specialized ship or military telephones and walkie-talkies of World War II and other rare telephone sets from Europe, the USA and Russia.
In addition to the exposition, the museum has a creative and presentation zone. Thematic workshops are held in the creative zone. The presentation zone is used for holding press conferences, seminars and other business events with the participation of companies that are leaders in the IT industry.
Address: Sadovaya-Kudrinskaya st., 19, b. 2
House of Peter I in Moscow
The house of Peter the Great in Kolomenskoye is a unique monument of history and architecture and at the same time a museum, which contains interesting exhibits telling about the life of the tsar-reformer. The building, which is more than three hundred years old, is located next to the museum of wooden architecture in a picturesque place, on the banks of the river Zhuzha (a tributary of the Moskva River).
The house of Peter the Great was built in the tradition of Russian civil architecture - it is made of chopped logs with a gable hewn roof. Pay attention to the patterned edge of the roof and the design of the porch - its pillars and fences are decorated with unpretentious carvings - a double arch with a hanging weight, square cuts between the boards and wide scaffolds framing the windows. At the same time, we see European innovations - a large size of windows and instead of mica in window openings there is glass.
There were several heated rooms in the house - an office and a bedchamber, a living room and a dining room. In the unheated premises (the hallway and the corridor), a historical exposition is currently unfolding in detail about the life, habits and character of the emperor. Models of ships, weapons of that time and battle flags are presented.
Near the house you will see galley anchors raised from the bottom of the Moscow River. According to the legend, this find dates back to the time when the flotilla of Peter was created here.
Address: Andropova Ave, 39 Building 6
House-Museum of K.S. Stanislavsky in Moscow
In the house where the House-Museum of Konstantin Sergeyevich Stanislavsky is located, the last 17 years of this great reformer of the Russian theater, an outstanding director and actor, whose name rightfully ranks among the glorious names of great cultural figures of the world culture, have passed. He lived and worked here from 1921 to 1938. In 1948, a memorial museum was opened in the building.
The memorial exposition includes the living rooms of Stanislavsky and his wife - artist of the Moscow Art Academic Theater M.P. Lilina, "Onegin Hall", "Blue Foyer" and other rooms. An exhibition of Stanislavsky's historical and theatrical collections is constantly on display - antiques, furniture, books, stage costumes, theatrical relics, photographs.
Museum visitors will be attracted by the historical and architectural features of the old building, and theater lovers will enjoy the unique theatrical exposition, exhibitions and evenings held here devoted to the art of the Moscow Art Theater.
Address: Leontievsky per., 6, building 1
House-museum of Matthew Muravyov-Apostol in Moscow
The house-museum of Matthew Muravyev-Apostol was opened in 2013. The old manor was restored at the expense of Christopher Muraviev-Apostol, a Swiss citizen, a descendant of the Muraviev-Apostol family. In the main house of the estate a museum was created with a small permanent exhibition and constantly changing exhibitions of painting and photography.
The manor is a house in the style of Moscow classicism. The basement with vaulted ceilings and wooden floors reproduces the interior of the XVIII century. A solid staircase leads to the second - the main one - the floor where the entrance hall, pantry, study, bedroom, two living rooms, a ballroom and a spacious hall are located. This was the mansion of Senator I.M. Muravyev-Apostol. All three sons of Ivan Matveyevich Muraviev-Apostol took part in the Decembrist movement and were among the main participants in the uprising.
The exposition tells about the movement of the Decembrists, about the role of the family of Muravyov-Apostles in this movement, as well as about the history of this family up to our days. Here, in particular, are family heirlooms, donated to the museum by the descendants of the Muravyov-Apostles.
On the main floor exhibitions are held. The exhibitions of the House of Christis, drawings and engravings by Alexander Orlovsky, photos of Sebastio Salgado, Ivan Schultz, an exhibition of authentic old maps of the XVI-XVIII centuries, on which Russia is represented, and others, were very successful.
Address: 23/9 Staraya Basmannaya Street
Silver Age Museum in Moscow
The Silver Age Museum, opened in 1999, is the only literary exhibition in Russia dedicated to all styles and trends of the Silver Age era. The exposition unfolded in the house where the poet, writer, critic, translator, Pushkin scholar Valery Bryusov (1873-1924) lived from 1910 to 1924.
On the ground floor, in the memorial room of V. Bryusov, reconstructed from photographs and memoirs of contemporaries for the period of 1910, there are things that belonged to the poet: his library, oak table, clock, furniture, paintings and drawings donated to the poet by artists F. Rerberg, K. Feofilaktov, A. Koiransky, H Sapunov, N. Goncharova.
Rising to the second floor, the guests of the museum find themselves in the aesthetic space of the Silver Age, thanks to the exhibition, which reflects the names of the brightest poets and writers of the late XIX - early XX centuries. The windows show manuscripts and lifetime editions of writers' books with their autographs, collections, almanacs, and journals published in that period. The materials of the exhibition, its architectural and artistic design make it possible to feel the color and inner movement of the era. Here are unique manuscripts and portraits of L. Reisner by V. Shukhaev, M. Voloshin by B. Kustodiev, a portrait of Andrei Bely by L. Bakst, and others.
Address: Mira Avenue, 30
A.N. Tolstoy House-Museum in Moscow
A.N. Tolstoy lived in the house on Spiridonovka from 1941 to 1945, until his death. Here he worked on the third book of the novel "Peter I", finished the novel " The Road to Calvary", the cycle "Short Stories by Ivan Sudarev" and was engaged in military journalism. The house has fully preserved furnishings of the study, living room and corridors adjacent to them.
The exposition of the museum was created on the basis of the memorial collection of A.N. Tolstoy, transferred to the State Literary Museum after the death of the writer's widow.
Collection of A.N. Tolstoy is one of the most valuable in the composition of the funds of the State Literary Museum. A part of this collection is represented in the exhibition; a part is in the State Literary Museum funds and is the basis for numerous exhibition projects. The collection includes Russian and Western European painting of the 16th-20th centuries, objects of decorative and applied art (porcelain, bone, metal, lighting equipment, etc.), furniture made by Russian and Western European masters. A significant part of the collection is the library of the writer, which includes the rarest editions of the time of Peter the Great, books from the Masonic library of the writer's ancestors - Turgenev, rare lifetime foreign editions of the writer.
Address: st. Spiridonovka, 2
House-Museum of A.N. Ostrovsky in Moscow
The museum was opened in 1984 in the house where the playwright A.N. Ostrovsky was born. The wooden house is a cultural monument of the early 20s of the 19th century, located in Zamoskvorechye, one of those rare places in today's Moscow where the charm and comfort of an old life is preserved. Around the city estate of Ostrovsky there is a splendid garden, which blooms from early spring to late autumn, and the rooms of the wooden house, where a slightly muffled, soft light is poured, keep the atmosphere and mood of a calm, measured life.
The museum’s collection consists of personal belongings of the playwright, objects of material culture of Russia of the XIX century, as well as exhibits reflecting the history of Moscow, in particular Zamoskvorechye. The exposition tells about the stage embodiment of the plays of A.N. Ostrovsky on the stage of the Russian theater, it presents sketches of scenery and costumes, portraits of actors, posters, manuscripts.
It will be interesting for both adults and children to visit the Ostrovsky Museum-Estate. It often hosts children's parties and excursions, and there is always a Christmas tree for Christmas.
Address: st. M. Ordynka, 9
Museum of Industrial Culture in Moscow
The industrial culture museum is an unusual museum, it is a memorial museum. Most of the presented items once surrounded us in everyday life, were in our homes. Families often come to the museum, and everyone finds what he likes.
Children will be interested to look at the toys of their parents. And with some exhibits you can even play. Moms will see old household appliances, sewing machines and other female "tricks" that our grandmothers used. And dads are waiting for cars, motorcycles and all sorts of tools.
In the museum there are no excursions in the usual way. Almost all the items you are familiar with. Very often you can hear "And we had it!". The older generation begins telling the younger about how they lived, and the excursion into the past begins ... There are no plates and fences in the museum that are common to other museums. You can touch many exhibits, hold them in your hands, and find out how they work.
The museum has become a kind of club of interests that unites amateurs and keepers of history of technology. A part of the museum expositions are collections represented by these people. Some items were donated by museum visitors.
Address: Zarechie st., 3A
Moscow Literary Museum-Center of K.G. Paustovsky in Moscow
Moscow Literary Museum-Center of K.G. Paustovsky was founded in 1975 on the initiative of Zoya Vsevolodovna Kvitko, a teacher of literature at school No. 456 of the Volgograd district of Moscow. Exhibits for the first exhibition were collected by schoolchildren and admirers of the writer on numerous expeditions to places connected with the life and work of K.G. Paustovsky (Moscow, Solotcha, Sevastopol, Odessa, Leningrad, Kiev, Tarusa, Ryazan).
The museum fond contains a unique collection of memorial things, manuscripts, documents by K.G. Paustovsky and his literary environment. The museum is a scientific center for the study of the writer and regularly holds scientific conferences with the participation of Russian and foreign researchers. Since 1992, the museum publishes the cultural and educational magazine "World of Paustovsky". The museum implements the cultural and educational program "Journey to the World of Paustovsky".
The new exposition reveals the secret of the creative work of the remarkable Russian writer of the 20th century, who possessed the gift of an original artist and a subtle psychologist who dreamed of the harmonious unity of Nature, Man and Society. On the first floor of an old house, an architectural monument of the 18th century, the authors created a unique figurative and plot exposition dedicated to the inner, creative life of K.G. Paustovsky. The exposition is able to transform into the space of a “living museum”, implying an interactive, theatrical and club activity of visitors, the museum is equipped with modern museum-exhibition and multimedia equipment. The halls of the museum are transformed into exhibition and art models: in a certain sequence, five philosophical and poetic “Ecos” appear, united mainly in the image of the Road (City, Sea, Forest, Peace, House).
The exhibition presents for the first time the personal belongings of the writer, unique documents and photographs from his family archive, which have long been considered lost, as well as works by world-famous artists from private collections. Its authors have found a unique solution for the museum building with small exposition areas, creating a universal space that easily transforms into exhibition areas.
Address: Kuzminskaya St., 8
Apple Technology Museum in Moscow
Apple technology has won the hearts of hundreds of millions of people around the world for its quality, reliability and durability. We all know about the performance of iPhones and MacBooks, which are ahead of many of their “brothers” in technology. Undoubtedly, everyone knows about Apple, but not everyone knows how it all began.
In the mansion on Taganka, thanks to the efforts of collector Andrei Antonov and the founder of re:Store Yevgeny Butman, this museum was opened - it contains the first compact personal computers, and the first laptops, and in general everything that is somehow connected with Apple aggregators. The idea was adventurous, but with no competitors at all - there is simply no such museum in any of the European or Asian countries. For fifteen years of diligent gathering of retro-macros, a lot of interesting objects have been accumulated, the great parents of the current miracle machines worthy of being presented to the public. And, the idea has been implemented. Now Apple’s private history museum is one of the local attractions of the capital.
Here are the first experiences of the then young Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak, the first PCs, laptops and peripherals. The oldest exhibit is the 1977 Apple’s launch serial II computer. The same period is its portable version of Lisa II, which bears the name of the daughter of Steve Jobs. Also in the collection there are portable laptops of compact size and the very first laptop “with an apple”.
It has everything that has anything to do with Apple - from magazines and books, to gadgets, bags with built-in radio, and even glasses with lenses in the shape of an apple. The museum’s exposition tells in detail and clearly shows what path the devices went before being presented in the form that we all know now. Just a couple of decades ago, they seemed to be the pinnacle of human thought. Today, Apple is a symbol of success, innovation, progress.
Address: Skladochnaya st., 3, b. 1
Moscow Museum of Perfumery
The Moscow Museum of Perfumery, occupying the famous mansion on the Arbat, is in many ways unique. It is one of the 10 perfumery museums in Europe and one of the two existing in the world inspections - libraries of smells. However, only in Moscow library of smells for tasting guests are provided with authentic antique and vintage spirits.
Visitors are offered tasting tours - special excursions, during which you can get acquainted with the best spirits of the world, take in hand and in detail the vintage and antique bottles created by the masters of the houses Baccarat, Lalique and Murano, write and send a fragrant letter of love. One of the most popular tasting tours is “The 25 Best Flavors of the World”. All tastings are held with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee with sweets.
The Moscow Museum of Perfumery is the magic door to the perfume universe of the classical school of perfumery, where all the olfactory memory of humanity is stored for 300 years. Inhale and pass through this melody of images and associations, step over the decades and comprehend the secrets of the great perfumers of the past.
In addition to excursions, the museum hosts lectures, seminars and master classes for amateurs and professionals. Here you can organize a romantic date, make a marriage proposal, or celebrate the birthday of your mother or grandmother. A gift certificate will ideally complement the authentic vintage perfume from the store located at the museum.
Address: st. Arbat, 36/2
Historical toilet in Moscow
In GUM everything looks expensive and beautiful, even the toilet. However, the “Historical toilet” does not just fulfill its direct functions; it is also a museum that allows you to go back 120 years.
A luxurious toilet room was created during the reign of Alexander III in the European style. Later the room was closed, and then appeared before the visitors in a more modest form. In the 2000s, the historical appearance of the toilet was restored by drawings and photographs. Now these old photographs can be seen on the walls of the “Historical toilet” and make sure that it is similar to the original.
As mentioned above, visitors to the toilet museum can not only admire the environment, but also use it for its intended purpose. Here you can also take a shower, swaddle your baby, brush your teeth and even shave. At the entrance, visitors will be met by ladies in white aprons to help remove outerwear.
The toilet itself, as usual, is divided into male and female premises. Plumbing fixtures and toilet paper holders, installed in the ladies' half, are gilded, and while in the men's room these items are silver plated. Special attention should be made of lamps made of bronze and crystal. Instead of paper napkins in the "Historical toilet" there are cotton towels.
Museum of Russian woodcut and naive art in Moscow
The Museum of Russian woodcut and naive art was formed as a result of the reorganization of the Museum of Naive Art, which has its history since 1998. The museum included the Moscow Museum of Folk Graphics (Small Golovin Lane, 10) and the State Exhibition Hall ART-Izmailovo (Izmaylovsky Boulevard, 30).
The museum is the only state-owned museum in Russia whose task is to popularize Russian popular print, the naive art and creativity of outsiders, preserve works of domestic naive artists, and develop and strengthen interregional and international contacts with naive artists, outsider artists and woodcut artists.
The museum also includes Art-Naiv-Park (17a Soyuzny Avenue) - a cultural mini-cluster where open-air-exhibitions of naive painting reproductions, celebrations, performances, children's city quests, master classes and many other things are held, and the open exhibition space "Art-Naive Square" (Izmailovsky Boulevard).
Address: Soyuzny Avenue, 15a
House of Russian Abroad named after A. Solzhenitsyn in Moscow
The House of Alexander Solzhenitsyn’s Russian Abroad is a unique complex that combines the functions of a museum, an archive, a library, a research, information, publishing and cultural-educational center. Its main activity is devoted to the historical phenomenon of the Russian abroad and the strengthening of ties with compatriots outside Russia.
By status and in its essence, the House is a museum-archive of foreign Russia. Household items, works of art, documents, manuscripts, book collections, photographs, films have a memorial meaning, are a valuable source of information and knowledge about the history and life of emigration, and to a significant extent about the pre-revolutionary and post-revolutionary periods of the country. In the museum collection there is over 18 thousand items. The funds of the House grow and are formed due to the numerous gifts of the Russian people scattered throughout the world.
As well as the museum-archive, the fund of the library of the House represents a significant historical and cultural value. It has over 75 thousand storage units, a significant part of which are emigration publications, representing an array of publishing products of the Russian diaspora, especially books, almanacs, magazines.
The most important component of the activities of the House of Russian Diaspora is a research work aimed at studying the historical fate and diverse heritage of the Russian world abroad, and above all, after the October emigration. The structure of the House includes a film studio and film club "Russian Way", as well as the publishing house "Russian Way".
Address: Lower Radischevskaya St., 2
“P.I. Tchaikovsky and Moscow” Museum in Moscow
Museum "P. I. Tchaikovsky and Moscow” was opened on May 18, 2007 in the building of the Cultural Center named after P.I. Tchaikovsky. Peter Ilyich lived from September 1872 to November 1873 in this miraculously preserved house, in an apartment that occupied half of the second floor of the outbuilding of a large old manor.
Moscow played a huge role in the life and work of Tchaikovsky. His creative individuality was formed precisely in the Moscow period. Here the composer found friends and like-minded people, whose attention, care and participation helped to overcome domestic difficulties and contributed to the flourishing of his musical talent. Moscow formed a genius who gained world fame. Tchaikovsky would later write about the Moscow period of his life: “There is no doubt that if fate had not pushed me to Moscow, where I had lived for more than 12 years, I would not have done what I did.”
The purpose of the exhibition is to reveal the two components of the life of a great artist: an active dialogue with the outside world and a focused inner life. The first section - “The World of Tchaikovsky” - concentrates on the personality of P. I. Tchaikovsky, his character, psychology, manifestations in everyday life, and communication with his relatives. The second section, “Tchaikovsky and the World”, is devoted to multidimensional (music, art, and public) contacts of Peter Ilyich with the outside world.
The exposition was based on authentic materials: historical documents; composer's personal belongings; photos of P. I. Tchaikovsky, his colleagues, friends and family members; engravings; lithography; graphics; drawings; friendly cartoon; letters. Guests of the exhibition have a unique opportunity to see the composer’s handwritten heritage: more than fifty autographs (“Eugene Onegin”, “The Queen of Spades”, etc.), scores, literary manuscripts. In the halls of the exhibition phonographic materials will sound.
For the first time, the composer’s creative process can be traced in such detail - from the concept of the work to its execution. Symphony No. 6, the last work that was performed during the life of P. I. Tchaikovsky, will appear to the close attention of the public.
Unusual sound and artistic design of the exhibition space create a complete image of the composer and leave the feeling of his personal presence.
Address: Kudrinskaya Square, 46/54
Gingerbread Museum in Moscow
In Moscow, in Chernigov Pereulok, there is the only interactive Gingerbread Museum in the world. In the Museum, visitors will learn the complete history of the most beloved Russian delicacies, will get acquainted with the methods of making gingerbread and will themselves be able to manually create a real gingerbread masterpiece.
Many families with children come to the Gingerbread Museum. Kids here are waiting for a whole fairy tale, made of dough, honey and molasses. The children will see the gingerbread Baba Yaga in her hut, the fire-breathing Snake Gorynych, the scientist Cat.
The atmosphere in the Museum is homely, positive. Employees invite guests to the samovar, offer to taste gingerbread. All products of the Gingerbread Museum are made by hand from natural products.
The most interesting thing in the Gingerbread Museum is, of course, master classes in decorating gingerbread and dough houses. Classes are held daily. The best gingerbread artists in the country will teach children and adults to paint gingerbread with colored glazes. Not a single guest of the Museum will leave without an exclusive handmade composition.
At the Museum there is always a shop where you can buy gingerbread souvenirs. A set of fun nesting dolls, horses, fish and birds - a great gift for the holiday.
Address: Khokhlovsky per., 11, building 1
Museum-apartment of V.E. Meyerhold in Moscow
The house of the museum-apartment of V.E. Meyerhold is built in the style of constructivism in 1928 by the project of the largest Moscow architect I. Rerberg. There simultaneously with Meyerhold, Rerberg himself lived, as well as actors A. Ktorov and V. Popova, S. Giatsintova and I. Bersenev, Scriabin sisters and other prominent figures of the theater.
The founder of the museum, Meyerhold Maria's granddaughter Maria Alekseevna Valentey, who managed to get the master's apartment back and create a museum in it only in 1991, with the help of things found with great difficulty from the office, it was possible to restore its appearance in 1934. That year the masterpiece “The Lady with Camellias” by A. Dumas Jr. was staged, where Z.N. Reich shone as Marguerite Gautier. Along with this, thanks to a significant collection preserved in the storerooms of the Bakhrushinsky Museum, Meyerhold Museum-Apartment organizes exhibitions devoted to his life and work, as well as a wide range of problems related not only to theater art but also the culture in general.
In 2009, the museum opened a new exhibition “Meyerhold - actor. Actor in the Meyerhold Theater”. The exhibition, which includes more than 500 exhibits, allows for the first time with such fullness to reveal the theme of the relationship between the director and actor.
Address: Bryusov per., 12, apt. 11
Aksakov House in Moscow
One of the monuments of history and architecture of the XIX century - the House of Aksakovs - is located in the center of Moscow; 5-10 minutes’ walk from the Kropotkinskaya and Arbatskaya metro stations.
A single-storey wooden mansion with a mezzanine was built in the 1820s. One of its first owners was the collegiate secretary, T.D. Sleptsova, who leased the building. In the 1830s, Sergei Timofeevich Aksakov, an outstanding Russian writer, public figure, literary and theater critic, journalist and memoirist, lived in the house with his family.
In 1832, Aksakov got acquainted with the then unknown writer N.V. Gogol. The latter was passing through Moscow. The future classic of Russian literature visited Aksakov's house in Bolshoy Afanasyevsky Lane.
Address: Sivtsev Vrazhek Lane, 30-A
Moscow Art Theater Museum in Moscow
The Moscow Art Theater Museum was established in 1923 and was originally located at the Moscow Art Theater building. In 1947 the museum was given a separate room. The museum is a historical, archival, cultural and educational institution of Russian importance; it collects, stores, studies and popularizes materials and documents related to the history and modernity of the Moscow Art Theater and its leaders. It has a unique collection of documentary collections, stage costumes and mock-ups, theatrical painting, graphics and sculpture, memorial items, theatrical relics.
To attention of visitors to exhibitions and exhibitions documents and historical relics are offered associated with the names of A. Chekhov, M. Gorky, K. Stanislavsky, Vl. Nemirovich-Danchenko, O. Knipper-Chekhova, F. Shalyapin, M. Bulgakov, B. Pasternak, Sun. Meyerhold, Mic. Chekhov, paintings and drawings by N. Roerich, B. Kustodiev, A, Benz, M. Dobuzhinsky, A. Golovin. All students of history and those interested in it receive valuable documentary and visual information in the museum.
Address: Kamergersky Lane, 3a
Money Museum in Moscow
The Museum of Money in Moscow is the newest museum of the capital, created on August 8, 2011. This is a private museum. The museum exposition is a private collection of the founder A. I. Plushenko. In total in the museum you can see the money of 80 countries of the world, including ancient banknotes. Extending the exposure is also planned. If you have samples of money from countries that are not represented in the museum, rare coins and banknotes will always be received.
The purpose of creating the only museum of money in Russia is to promote the dissemination of knowledge about numismatics and history to increase financial literacy. In the museum you can see not only money, but also other materials about the financial history and culture of the countries of the world. Special attention has been paid to the collection of valuable US and French money coins since 1775. The museum site has a curious column "Collector's School" with tips on how to create your own unique collection.
The Museum of Money regularly participates in the cultural events of the city. You can visit it free of charge at the museum night or at art nights. Despite the remoteness of the museum from the center of Moscow, it attracts a lot of attention from young people and the media.
Address: Leningradskoye sh., 59
Moscow State Museum of S.A. Yesenin
Moscow State Museum of S.A. Yesenin received official status on April 30, 1996. It was based on the first museum exposition in Moscow, which was created in 1995 by a group of professional enthusiasts for the 100th anniversary of the birth of S.А. Yesenin and with a huge crowd of people presented to the city.
The exposition was opened at No. 24, B. Strochenovsky Lane, where the poet’s father, Alexander Nikitich, lived, who had worked as a senior clerk in a butcher shop at the merchant N.V. Krylov. Here, in Zamoskvorechye, in 1911 the young Sergei Yesenin came from his native Ryazan places. This house became its only official address in Moscow, where the poet lived and was registered from 1911 to 1918.
The unusual artistic decision of the museum exposition creates an atmosphere in which brilliant poetry was born. The emotional center of the main exhibition is the memorial room, which, thanks to the glass wall, turns into a three-dimensional showcase. The museum reflects the entire life and career of S.A. Yesenin, culminating in the theme "Yesenin as part of world culture." Acquaintance with the museum is accompanied by video programs with a demonstration of a rare newsreel of the early twentieth century, which captures the poet and his surroundings.
Due to the absence of a stationary exhibition space, the museum’s exhibitions are exhibited as part of a program of extra-museum activities, which has a wide geography of demonstrations: from numerous sites in Moscow, Moscow region, and many regions of Russia to near and far abroad.
Address: Bolshoy Strochenovsky per., 24, b. 2
Museum of the History of Russian Post and Moscow Post Office in Moscow
The Museum at the Moscow Post Office was established in 1912, immediately after the completion of the construction of its own building. As the first exhibit to the new museum, Prince Kurakin presented a portrait of Peter the Great. Unfortunately, the fate of this portrait, like many other exhibits of that time and the museum as a whole, is unknown. The only thing that has been preserved is the plans of the old post office building and on them are the premises that the museum occupied until 1917. As an invaluable reminder of the staff of the post office of that time, albums are kept in the museum, released to the opening of the new post office building. The photographs contain images of all 1910 post office workers.
The beginning of the modern exhibition was laid in the fifties of the last century. Many documents, some furniture, old books and photo albums were carefully kept in the library, the post office shops, and in some post offices. A lot of valuable materials were provided by the St. Petersburg Museum of Communications named after Popova, with whom the Moscow Post Office has long-standing friendly relations.
The great interest of museum visitors is aroused by the personal archive of the postmaster of Rubanovsky. Here are the rarest documents relating not only to the postmaster’s work, but also family documents and things: a formal list of Kobrin postmaster Rubanovsky (a prototype of our employment record), a certificate of graduation from his daughter’s gymnasium, an old camera, many family photos, postcards and other trifles, carrying into another era. All these materials were transferred by the great-grandchildren of Kobrin Postmaster, who, according to them, was transferred to the service at the Moscow Post Office.
Address: Myasnitskaya St., 26
House-Museum of M.S. Shchepkin in Moscow
House-Museum of M.S. Schepkina is located in an old house built at the end of the XVIII century and is a unique monument of history and architecture. This building is one of the few extant, survived during the fire of Moscow in 1812. Here, the last four years of his life the Great Russian actor Mikhail Semenovich Shchepkin lived.
In the museum, visitors can see authentic items: books, paintings, furniture, and a cup from which the owner of the house drank. Here you can plunge into the atmosphere of warmth and comfort, and most importantly - the all-consuming love for the art of the theater that reigned in this house.
The museum contains a unique exhibition, recreating the difficult career of a serf boy, who, thanks to his outstanding talent, intelligence and hard work, became the largest reformer actor who determined the development of the theater in the XIX – XX centuries.
Address: st. Schepkina, 47 b.2
Museum-apartment of A.B. Goldenweiser in Moscow
The museum-apartment of A. B. Goldenweiser, one of the greatest musicians of the first half of the twentieth century, pianist, composer, teacher, music and public figure, People’s Artist of the USSR, rector of the Moscow Conservatory, was created by a decision of the USSR Council of Ministers on January 26, 1955.
The museum was created with the direct participation of Alexander Borisovich and received its first visitors in 1959. At first, Alexander Borisovich himself conducted excursions, and after his death in 1961, his pupil, assistant and spouse E.I. Goldenweiser (1911-1998) became the head of the museum.
The museum-apartment of A. B. Goldenweiser today, in essence, is a “museum in a museum” - a single memorial, fund-exposition, research, music-educational and reference-methodical complex. The museum is divided into two zones - a memorial and chamber music salon. The memorial department conducts educational and excursion work, meetings with students of A. B. Goldenweiser, concerts of piano, vocal and instrumental music, as well as evenings of video and sound recordings are held at the music salon. The museum holds scientific readings, methodical seminars, consultations and reviewing of scientific works on musical subjects, there is an opportunity for the work of researchers and scientists.
The museum stores, studies and demonstrates the archive of A. B. Goldenweiser, his library, numerous collections, and valuable memorial objects. The basis of the Goldenweiser collection is manuscripts, books, notes and letters of great scientific and historical value. And an extensive collection of paintings, drawings and sculptures speaks of his delicate artistic taste.
The musician’s photo archive contains photographs with autographs by N. A. Rimsky-Korsakov, S. I. Taneyev, S. V. Rakhmaninov, N. K. Medtner, M. A. Chekhova, K. S. Stanislavsky. Of particular interest are photographs in Yasnaya Polyana with Leo Tolstoy, which were made by Sofia Andreevna Tolstoy.
The collection of the Museum-apartment of A. B. Goldenweiser is of great value not only for researchers of the work of an outstanding musician, but also for ordinary music lovers, as well as for all interested in the history of Russian musical culture.
Address: Tverskaya St., 17
Museum of weapons of the twentieth century in Moscow
The Museum of Weapons is a non-standard place. Every visitor here is not an outside observer, but an old researcher who has the opportunity to take historical artifacts in his hands. Legendary rifles and submachine guns from the Second World War, products by Mikhail Kalashnikov, pistols, grenades, grenade launchers, ammunition, and equipment are just some of the items in the museum collection.
Visitors will look at the military events of the 20th century from an unusual angle, study the design of the presented samples, compare domestic and foreign specimens and even practice in assembling and disassembling weapons. Guests, in addition, are invited to try on military uniforms and take pictures with thematic props, as well as look at the museum shop, which sells original souvenirs.
Address: Izmailovskoye sh, 73Zh
Gallery "On Shabolovka" in Moscow
Opened in 1991, the Gallery “On Shabolovka” (formerly “Zamoskvorechye”) still retains a commitment to work in the realism genre exclusively. Exhibitions, organized by the Gallery, are held not only on its territory, but throughout Russia. The history of the gallery has about 500 exhibitions.
Gallery "On Shabolovka" is recognized as one of the most high-class exhibition venues in Moscow. Works exhibited in its halls are rigorously selected and are designed to show the art of Russian artists in all its beauty.
Sculptures, art exhibitions and even photo exhibitions are held on the territory of the Gallery. On the basis of the exhibition hall competitions of children's creativity and drawing, competitions of children's talents are held. The gallery staff organizes circles aimed at teaching art to the younger generation, conducting lectures and master classes for schoolchildren.
In 2014, the gallery space was completely updated. The focus was on projects dedicated to the avant-garde, as well as historical and regional studies projects related to the understanding of the cultural heritage of the Danilovsky district and its popularization. The building of the Gallery "On Shabolovka" occupies the first floor of the once-residential building - a monument to the era of Soviet constructivism.
Address: st. Serpukhovsky Val, 24 K. 2
Patriarchal Museum of Church Art in Moscow
The Patriarchal Museum of Church Art is located in the bypass gallery of the Lower Transfiguration Church of the cathedral of Christ the Savior. Since 1998, here was the Museum of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior, the exposition of which was devoted to the history of the cathedral. In 2003, the museum opened an exhibition of religious art, which served as the basis for the newly created museum.
The permanent exhibition of the Patriarchal Museum presents a unique collection of icons that introduces visitors to the history of religious art. Exhibits of world significance clearly demonstrate the development of the church canon and styles of icon painting.
In the museum's collection there are valuable monuments of religious art, ranging from the deepest antiquity to the XX century. This is the oldest Byzantine icon painting, Italian-Greek, Balkan, Georgian, North-European icon painting, as well as Russian icons of the Novgorod, Moscow, Pskov, and Stroganov schools.
The visitors are presented with icons of different style, technique, time of writing, and even form - double-sided, folding, designed for travel, mineyas, which depict saints, revered in a particular month.
From the later church works of art there is a triptych written by V.М. Vasnetsov for the 1899 Paris World's Fair.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 15
Memorial Museum-Apartment of E.F. Gnesina in Moscow
The memorial furnishing of the apartment, the archive and library of E.F. Gnesina (1874-1967) - the founder and for 72 years the head of the complex of educational institutions named after the Gnesins: schools, two schools and an institute, are saved there. The materials for the century period are presented: about the activities of the legendary musician and teacher E.F. Gnesina, about the Gnessins' family - outstanding musicians who created the unique Russian system of music education; about the history of educational institutions. Gnesins and their distinguished representatives; about the Gnesins' social circle, which included many of the largest cultural figures.
The museum hosts guided tours, creative meetings - concerts, lectures, meetings with schoolchildren, conferences, listening to sound recordings, memorial evenings. The history of Russian music, music education and pedagogy, Russian culture (especially the turn of the XIX-XX centuries) is richly reflected in the exposition (photographs, painting and sculpture, memorial objects) and in the museum’s funds (epistolary, documents, concert programs, visual materials, manuscripts, audio recordings, unique editions).
Address: Povarskaya St., 30/36
Central Museum of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation in Moscow
The Central Museum of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia was opened to the public on November 4, 1981 in an old mansion on Seleznevskaya Street in the center of Moscow. The building is part of an architectural ensemble - a monument of the XVIII-XIX centuries, known as the “Suschevskaya part”.
The exposition of the Museum tells about the history of creation and development of the internal affairs bodies of our country, services and subdivisions that were previously included and are currently working in the structure of the Ministry of Internal Affairs. The museum is located in two buildings, the area of the main building has 2099.6 square meters, the area of the side wing, where the museum’s depository is located, is 245.3 square meters.
The Museum collection today has more than 81 thousand items. These are items of clothing and equipment for officers of the internal affairs agencies of Russia and foreign countries, weapons, photographs, documents and personal belongings of police officers and police of different eras, battle banners, works of art, as well as objects classified as rare books.
Currently, the museum has more than 70 thousand storage units - documents, awards, military weapons, personal belongings of heroes, other materials testify to the heroic affairs of employees of the Internal Affairs bodies in the fight against crime. The presented exhibits visually tell about the organization and activities of the police, fire brigade, internal troops and other services in different periods of the history of our state from its inception to the present day.
Address: Seleznevskaya St., 11
Museum-apartment of N.S. Golovanov in Moscow
The museum-apartment of N. S. Golovanov has been leading its history since 1969, when, after the death of the conductor’s sister, Olga Semyonovna, the apartment, by order of the Ministry of Culture, was transferred to the M. Glinka Central Museum of Musical Culture.
The museum-apartment concentrates the richest heritage of the conductor, composer and pianist Nikolai Semenovich Golovanov (1891−1953): his archive, collections of paintings, sculptures, applied art, book and music libraries. Over the years, the value of this heritage is increasing.
Nikolai Semenovich performed a lot as a pianist-accompanist with his wife - the famous singer Antonina Vasilyevna Nezhdanova. After 1917, along with his work at the Bolshoi Theater, Golovanov was the music director of the K.S. Stanislavsky Opera Studio, one of the founders and artistic director of the Bolshoi Symphony Orchestra of the All-Union Radio Committee, a professor at the Moscow Conservatory. Among the master's students are well-known conductors L. Ginzburg, G. Rozhdestvensky, B. Khaikin.
N. S. Golovanov is the brightest representative of the Russian school of conducting. His work at the Bolshoi is a whole epoch in the history of the theater. Inspirational and demanding artist, he raised the artistic level of opera performances to exceptional heights. Golovanov's performance of the folk-musical dramas of M. Mussorgsky, the operas of N. Rimsky-Korsakov and A. Borodin belong to the ultimate creations of Russian musical art.
The native element of N. S. Golovanov-conductor has always been the Russian classics. He created outstanding interpretations of the symphonic compositions by M. Glinka, S. Rachmaninoff, A. Borodin, P. Tchaikovsky, M. Mussorgsky, and A. Glazunov.
Nikolai Golovanov was also an outstanding interpreter of modern music. Under his management the first performances of the Fifth, Sixth, Twenty-second and Twenty-third symphonies of N. Myaskovsky, the Third Symphony of S. Rachmaninoff (first time in the USSR), and the Second Symphony of T. Khrennikov were held.
Address: Bryusov Lane, 7
“Gems” State Museum of Colored Stone and Gems in Moscow
The idea of creating the Fund "Gems" in order to expand the Russian raw material base of colored stones, to create a demonstration collection of colored stones and products from it belongs to the geologist, academician A.V. Sidorenko. The implementation of this project was entrusted to the All-Union Geological Association "Soyuzkvartssamotsvety", which was headed by A.P. Touringe.
In 1973, for the purpose of conducting a comprehensive geological study, the extensive use of domestic gemstone riches, creating a collection fund of minerals, and organizing the export of colored stones and products from it, the Colored Stones salon was created, which was headed by talented organizer A.I. Kuvarsin.
In 1994, the salon "Colored stones" was renamed the State Organization of Culture - the "Gems", Museum of Colored Stone and Gems. In 2000, by order of the Ministry of Natural Resources, the museum was transformed into the Federal State Institution "Museum" Gems ". Public activities of the museum have been conducted since 1999 after the reconstruction and the necessary design of the exposition for visitors.
The museum has an extensive collection of jewelry, ornamental and decorative facing stones, faceted gems and a variety of artistic products. The collections of the museum fund by regions and groups of minerals are used to study mineralogy, gemology, minerals, and the qualitative characteristics of stone gem and collection raw materials. The museum exhibition gives an idea of the diversity and breadth of the geography of natural resources.
The museum’s pride is a unique collection of large samples of semi-precious stones and a representative collection of multi-colored stone sculptures by the famous artist V.V. Konovalenko, supplemented by modern works of Moscow and Ural masters.
Address: Narodnogo Opolcheniya Street, 29
Book Museum of the Russian State Library in Moscow
The second name of the book's museum, created at the Russian State Library is the reading room of the research department of rare books. It is a collection of unique and rare editions. They carry out scientific work on reading, decoding information, restoration and storage. Readers of the library have the opportunity to use books and documents that are in the public domain (if there is a copy, the issue of the original is replaced by it).
The museum collection is divided into ten thematic sections, compiled according to the collection principle. It consists of the owner’s and thematic-cinematic sections, whose sub-funds, according to the material included in them, are divided according to chronological and linguistic grounds. The museum holds over 300,000 units, a sixth of which is in the subsidiary fund. The oldest samples of book products belong to the XV century. The museum fund is constantly updated with new samples. From rare editions one can mention books published by Ivan Fedorov and John Guttenberg, one of the books of Pope Boniface VIII, highly artistic works by an unknown author of the XVI century and “Primer” published by Karion Istomin in 1696 in the amount of 20 copies.
The European collection of printed Russian books, created in the printing houses of Schweipolt Fiol and Francis Skaryna, occupy an honorable place on the racks of the museum. A special place in the vault is reserved for the first publication of the ancient Russian epos - “A word about Igor's regiment” (1800). Copernicus, Descartes, Galileo, Giordano Bruno, Kepler - scientific publications of the works of these thinkers, which are stored in a book museum, have global value. Many of the books have autographs. The museum preserves unique books made with engraving or printed on exotic materials - silk or cork, the bindings of some of them are of independent artistic value.
The museum staff is doing a lot of work on the popularization, distribution and study of printed materials. They present the book as a product of labor and a means of learning, as a method of struggle and a way of cultural expression, a work of art and a tool for communication. The museum, as well as the library, is housed in a historic building - the Pashkov House, built by the architect V. Bazhenov in the 18th century. It was opened in 1918.
Address: st. Vozdvizhenka 3/5
Gallery Belyaevo in Moscow
The State Exhibition Hall "Gallery Belyaevo" was opened in 1988. The gallery entered the history of Russian fine art as a venue for the first exhibitions of the Soviet underground, where E. Neizvestny, O. Rabin, E. Steinberg, E. Krapivnitsky and other non-conformist artists were presented.
Today the gallery is a multi-art center with a leisure-educational orientation. Exhibitions of famous Russian and foreign artists are installed here, art projects representing the traditional and contemporary art of numerous regions of Russia are exhibited, and socially significant programs are being implemented.
The gallery runs the Applied Arts Education Center, Art Salon and Design Bureau. The gallery has two branches - the Children's Art Gallery "Izopark" and the Art Center "Family Club. Batik", focused on children's artistic education and interactive family leisure.
Address: st. Profsoyuznaya, d. 100
Art Story Gallery in Moscow
The Contemporary Art Gallery ARTSTORY was opened on October 15, 2014 in the very center of Moscow - Staropimenovsky Lane, 14. The founders of the gallery - collectors Mikhail Openheim and Lyusine Petrosyan - are interested in studying both the role of history in the works of the authors and the role of artists in creating the history itself. Hence the name of the gallery. In the exhibition you can see the works of Russian and foreign authors working in various directions, techniques and genres, artists of different eras and fates.
The gallery holds both large group exhibitions of contemporary art and personal exhibitions of artists. A rich exhibition program, with the involvement of works from large private collections and museum collections, is accompanied by educational activities: lectures, seminars, master classes, and film screenings.
The gallery includes 4 exhibition halls and an art residence for talented regional artists.
The ARTSTORY collection contains works by various authors, including such as: Mikhail Shvartsman, Nikolay Sitnikov, Anatoly Zverev, Leonid Purygin, Oscar Rabin, Oleg Tselkov, Moses Feigin, Natalia Nesterova, as well as works by many other artists reflecting a definite and unique facet of such a complex phenomenon of "Russian avant-garde."
The ARTSTORY collection is an example of how, from diametrically opposed in style and direction of works, it is possible to form the basis for a lively, relevant, energetic collection that can develop to the status of a museum collection.
Address: Staropimenovskiy per., 14
Memorial Museum-Apartment of G.M. Krzhizhanovsky in Moscow
Museum-apartment of G.M. Krzhizhanovsky was established in 1968 as a branch of the State Central Museum of Contemporary History of Russia.
Memorial apartment of G.M. Krzhizhanovsky (1872-1959) - academician, energy scientist, prominent statesman of the Soviet period of Russian history, chairman of the GOELRO Commission, the first chairman of the State Planning Board, is located in the old district of Zamoskvorechye, in a mansion of the Russian classicism period of the first third of the XIX century. Family of G.M. Krzhizhanovsky lived in this apartment from 1919 to 1959.
Unique authentic interiors, one of the decorations of which are tiled fireplace stoves, made in Dutch style, furniture in “modern” style, dishes, clothes as well as possible convey the atmosphere of a bygone era. The museum stores and exhibits photographs, documents, household items, works of art, books of the first half of the XX century.
The memorial part of the museum’s exposition includes the office of G.M. Krzhizhanovsky, office of Z.P. Krzhizhanovskaya-Nevzorova, dining room, bedroom, reception room, hallway.
Address: Sadovnicheskaya St., 30 Building 1
Museum of S.S. Prokofiev in Moscow
The museum of Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev, one of the greatest composers of the 20th century, first met visitors in 2008. It was here, in this house in Kamergersky Lane (in those years - the Art Theater's Passage), in the apartment of Mira Alexandrovna Mendelssohn-Prokofyeva, his second wife, composer, pianist and conductor Sergey Sergeevich Prokofiev spent the last six years of his life - from 1947 to 1953. Here came his friends, musicians, young performers Richter and Rostropovich, this is where the life of a great genius ended. Here the composer worked on the ballet "The Tale of the Stone Flower", the Seventh Symphony.
In 1968, Mira Alexandrovna bequeathed the archive and personal belongings of the composer to the Fund for the Museum of Musical Culture named after M. I. Glinka; they became the basis of the Museum. According to the layout of the artist M. M. Ouspensky, the composer’s study was recreated here on authentic materials of the Association’s Fund.
Today, the Museum hosts daily musical evenings and museum events. Much of them are addressed to young people: those who are open to experimentation; those who are close in spirit to the innovator Prokofiev. For children there are classes that introduce the works of S. S. Prokofiev. Among them are interactive educational programs: “Forward to Fiction!”, “How Petya defeated the wolf” to the music of the symphonic fairy tale “Petya and the Wolf”, “Slipper for Cinderella”, excursion “Walk in Kamergersky with Sergei Prokofiev”, etc.
In December 2016, the year of the composer's 125th anniversary, the exposition “Sergei Prokofiev - composer ahead of time” was opened. The S. S. Prokofiev Museum is a member of the M. I. Glinka All-Russian Museum Association of Musical Culture.
Address: Kamergersky per., 6
House Museum and the Expeditionary Headquarters of Fedor Konyukhov in Moscow
Fedor Konyukhov Expeditionary Headquarters is located on Sadovnicheskaya Street. This is an interesting place, telling about the life and achievements of the Great Russian traveler. Konyukhov Fedor Filippovich, born in 1951, is a writer, author of nine books, an artist; besides, he has held the rank of Orthodox priest for several years. Konyukhov is famous for his travels; he is the first Russian to visit the South and North Poles and the Seven Summits.
Konyukhov Museum is located in the museum complex at the chapel of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, which is considered the heavenly patron of travelers and sailors. In addition to the museum there is the creative workshop of Fyodor Filippovich.
Address: Sadovnicheskaya st., 77, b. 4
Museum-Apartment of V.I. Dal in Moscow
The house in which Vladimir Dal lived the last 13 years of his life and in which he finished preparing for the publication of his world-famous "Explanatory Dictionary" is now a museum. The mansion, built in 1780, in which the museum is located, is one of the oldest wooden houses in Moscow. In the nineteenth century, the house was reconstructed according to the design of the architect, the son of Vladimir Ivanovich, Lev Dal.
The museum exposition is located in two small rooms, which preserved the atmosphere of the second half of the XIX century. It presents photographs, various biographical materials, paintings and old prints, publications of works by Vladimir Dal. The guide will tell a lot of interesting facts from the life of this great man, will tell about his friendship with Pushkin. At the end of the tour, a documentary film about Dal will be shown.
Since its opening in 1986, the museum is the meeting place of historians, philologists and other experts in the humanities.
Address: B. Gruzinskaya st., 4/6, b. 9
Apartment-Museum of A.F. Losev in Moscow
Library building "House of A.F. Losev" is a historical and cultural monument of the nineteenth century. Library "House of A.F. Losev” is a library-museum that performs a memorial function associated with the life and work of the eminent thinker A.F. Losev. There is a serious memorial exposition dedicated to the history of the development of philosophical thought in Russia. Russian philosophy is represented in documents and portraits of the Great Russian philosophers.
The outstanding Russian philosopher, doctor of philological sciences Alexey Fedorovich Losev was born on September 10, 1893 (old style) in Novocherkassk. From his student years (from 1911) he attended meetings of the Religious and Philosophical Society in Memory of Vl. Solovyov. In 1915 he graduated from the Faculty of History and Philology of Moscow University.
1930-1933 Aleksey Losev was repressed as a result of “smuggling” inserts in the book “The Dialectic of Myth” and sympathies for onomatodoxy, and was exiled to the construction of the White Sea Canal.
On April 18, 1990, the “Losevsky Talks”, cultural and educational society was created, one of whose goal was to create the Library of the History of Russian Philosophy and Culture on the Arbat, in the house where the great philosopher of the Silver Age had lived for the last 50 years. This idea was warmly supported by the Moscow scientific community and foreign scientists. In December 2000, the Library of the History of Russian Philosophy and Culture was established “House of A.F. Losev”, on the third floor of which is the memorial book collection of A.F. Losev and A.A. Taho-Godi.
Russian Forest Museum in Moscow
The Russian Forest Museum was established by order of the Government of the Russian Federation dated February 4, 1997, at the suggestion of the Federal Forest Service (now the Federal Forestry Agency) to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the Forest Department.
Acquisition of funds was carried out income from forestry research institutes and continues to this day. The museum collects and exhibits monuments of the history of forestry in Russia. These are historical relics, documents, valuable collections, forestry tools and devices.
The museum presents forest natural communities, plants and animals of forest habitats, forest use history and modern forestry, history and modernity of forest science and forest legislation in Russia, forest in culture and art - forest in all its manifestations.
In ten halls are the expositions " Wooden Rus ", "Gosudarevo oko", "Forest Temple", "Gifts of Forest", "Rings of Time", "Forest Management", "Science and Education", "Forest Protection", "Reforestation", "Protection forest fires. "
Address: 5th Monetchovsky per., 4
Cinema Museum in Moscow
On October 19, 2017 the opening of the Museum of Cinema took place. The building has six exhibition areas, storage facilities, a research and educational center and three cinema halls, the equipment of which allows showing films not only from digital, but also from analog carriers - on 16 and 35 mm film.
The museum opened exhibitions: "The Labyrinth of History", "Anna. The arrival of the train "," Cinema is the stars. "
"Labyrinth of History" introduces visitors to the main events of the first century of Russian cinema. The exhibition is divided into six complexes: "Attraction" (pre-revolutionary cinema of 1890-1910-ies), "Experiment" (revolutionary, avant-garde 1920s), "Triumph and tragedy" (Stalin's cinema and cinema of the war, 1930-40 e), "Poetry" (cinema of the thaw, 1950-60s), "Confession" (intellectual, author cinema of the 1970s), "Protest" (era of perestroika, 1980s).
"Anna. The arrival of the train” was timed to the 140th anniversary of the completion of the publication of the great novel by Lev Nikolaevich Tolstoy “Anna Karenina” in the Russian Journal of Literary and Social-Political Journal (1875-1877). Almost the same age as the invention of cinema, the novel “Anna Karenina” has become one of the most screened works of world literature. In the minds of cinematographers and spectators, the key scenes associated with the railroad forever connected it with the epochal scenes from the Lumiere Brothers film “The Arrival of a Train at La Siotta”, which shook the imagination of contemporaries in 1895.
“Cinema is stars” will allow you to meet face to face with movie stars of the Soviet era. The exhibition includes portraits of actors, stored in one of the most extensive collections of the museum - photo library. Domestic cinema, in contrast to Hollywood cinema, built on the “movie star system,” has always been primarily directorial, copyright. Nevertheless, our actors were stars no less bright than their Western counterparts. Behind each of the portraits there is a devoted service to art, a bright fate, a whole epoch from the history of the country and cinema.
Address: Prospect Mira, 119, b. 36
Nagornaya Gallery in Moscow
Gallery "Nagornaya" began its work in 1978. This is the first state gallery in Moscow. Initially, the gallery showed mainly academic painting (social realism, critical realism, "stern style",), but over the years, the focus shifted towards modern digital technologies, multimedia, installations, photographs. The strategy of the gallery presupposes the preservation of the traditions of the classical school of realism in collaboration with the latest trends, the representation of which in the context of modern culture opens up to the visitors the diversity and contrast of the creative trends of modern art.
Over the years, the gallery has gained wide popularity and a steady reputation, thanks to its vigorous creative activity, large exhibition projects, and musical and literary programs. Today it is one of the leading Moscow state galleries, which occupies a leading position in the modern art space.
Now they offer to visitors 20 exhibition projects a year inside the hall, as well as beyond the gallery premises (mobile exhibitions), master classes, a children's creative studio, a wide range of educational programs.
Address: st. Remizov, 10
Museum of Russian Dessert in Moscow
The Russian Dessert Museum in Zvenigorod is dedicated to the traditions of the Russian peasant and merchant table. Belevskaya marshmallow, Tula gingerbread and other native Russian desserts are gathered here under one roof. In the museum you can learn about the history of Russian sweets and, of course, try them all.
Every day a real Russian stove is heated in this museum and the guests are introduced to the device of an old bakery. Bread, cakes and the queen of desserts, Guryev porridge, are baked here. All exhibits are exhibited in specially adapted for this stand - vintage buffets.
For museum visitors there are several interactive excursions, during which you can participate in the process of cooking desserts and then evaluate the result to taste. For example, the tour “Thick Meal” will become a guide to the Land of Magic Buffets, where you will get acquainted with the traditions of receiving guests in Russia, learn about the culture of tea drinking and try real honey cakes, baked according to old recipes.
The excursion “Sweet stories of old buffets” will remind you of the unfairly forgotten Russian desserts and drinks: Ivan-cha and cranberry stitched with cinnamon. The excursion “Lakomka” is a gathering at the samovar with mint tea and fresh donuts, and the “Self-dressing Tablecloth” is a real folklore celebration with riddles, stories and tales.
The Russian Dessert Museum regularly holds a variety of activities that will acquaint guests with the ancient traditions of Russian tea drinking and delicacies: these are master classes, cooking classes, sweet tastings and other entertainment.
After each excursion, guests can go to the buffet and purchase any sweetness they like there - painted gingerbread, food, marshmallow, dandelion jam, and also choose a souvenir - colorful cookie boxes, herbs and much more.
Address: Merzlyakovsky per, 15, b. 3
"Ticket to the USSR" museum in Moscow
The unique exhibition of the museum "Ticket to the USSR" includes items characteristic of the period of prosperity of the Soviet Union. Guests of the “Ticket to the USSR” have a chance to move into the past and feel the spirit of that time, the atmosphere, and the socialist ideas.
The presented collection shows things without which the life of Soviet families was unthinkable. There are household items, and unique elements of wardrobe, badges, stickers and memorable trinkets. Among them there are wooden desks, dolls, pioneer paraphernalia and much more. These rarities remind us of the mores and people who believe in a bright future.
Address: Pesochnaya Alley 5, b.4
House of F.I. Shalyapin Art Gallery in Moscow
The house on Novinsky Boulevard is associated with the life and work of an outstanding Russian singer, the famous bass Fyodor Ivanovich Shalyapin. This is the first Moscow house of Shalyapin, it is filled with a special “homemade” Shalyapin atmosphere.
The museum is rich in authentic things of the Shalyapin family. Among them are pieces of furniture, a Bechstein grand piano, a grandfather clock, Fyodor and Iola's wedding candles, theatrical costumes, programs for performances, posters ... There are many paintings in the house donated to Shalyapin by artists V. Serov, K. Korovin, V. Polenov, M. Nesterov, M. Vrubel. The son of the singer Boris Shalyapin donated a large collection of his own works to the Museum.
The gallery of the Memorial estate of F. I. Shalyapin makes a single complex with the House-Museum. Exhibitions devoted to both history and current issues of domestic vocal art are held at its premises; they acquaint visitors with the materials of relevant museums and private collections. In the Gallery space there are evenings and concert tickets of various subjects - “Musical Capitals of the World”, “Artistic Families”, “Meetings on Novinsky”, “Piano Evenings in Shalyapin’s House”, “Choral Assemblies”, “Debut in Shalyapin’s House”, etc. Famous Russian and foreign singers conduct master classes at the home of the Great Russian performer.
The interiors of the house were recreated from photographs and stories of the singer’s children. The white hall, the green living room, the dining room, the office, the billiard room ... Life in these rooms was proceeding according to the routine; it was not disturbed by the artist’s busy touring schedule. In the White Hall, Chaliapin rehearsed with many of his guests, celebrated benefit performances in the dining room, and in the office Fedor Ivanovich loved to read. Shalyapin adored billiards, a table for the game of the firm “V. K. Schultz” gave him a wife.
Now, as in the times of Shalyapin, the light fawn facade of the house is turned to Novinsky Boulevard, on its green roof there are curly smoke windows, and decorative vases on the pillars of carved cast-iron gates.
Address: Novinsky Boulevard, 25
Igor Talkov Museum in Moscow
The Igor Talkov Museum at the International Slavic Cultural Center was established in the spring of 1993. Introducing the main stages of the life and work of the singer, poet and composer, the exhibits collected here bring visitors closer to comprehending his rich spiritual world.
Bayan, which Igor learned to play in the children's music school in his native city, Shchekino, Tula Region; employment record of a musician who worked in the Republic of Komi and Abkhazia, in the musical theater of Margarita Terekhova and in the group of David Tukhmanov; The white jacket and accordion are attributes of the stage incarnation of the song "Clean Ponds", penetratingly performed in "Song - 87" and bringing him fame as a lyric singer.
On the opening day of the museum, Igor's widow, Tatyana Talkova, donated priceless relics: the uniform of an officer of the Russian army with the crosses of St. George, in which Igor worked the first, social and political part of his musical performance “Court”, as well as personal belongings - a concert jacket, boots and pants in which Igor was on October 6, 1991 at the Yubileiny Sports Palace at the time of the murder, on them are stains of his blood.
The exhibits include manuscripts of poems, diary entries, letters to the mother from the army and tours, diplomas of the winner of the International Music Competition "Step to Parnassus" (1989) and the Song of the Year competitions (1989-1991). Posters and programs, a ticket to that fateful concert in St. Petersburg, records from different years with touching author's gift inscriptions to relatives and friends, books, collections of poems, published after 1991, a collection of publications in the press - responses to the singer's death are presented.
Next to the memorial things are the confessional stories of Talkov himself about his difficult creative fate, excerpts from the book "Monologue" and interviews from different years. A kind of testament to all of us who now live, says: "Live, do not be afraid of anything. The more we fear, the longer we will go to normal human life ..."
Address: Chernigov Lane, 9/13
Museum of Russian costume in Moscow
The Museum of Russian Costume and Life embodies the unique man-made history of our people, reflected in Russian clothing. The museum's director, Svetlana Osinina, managed to literally assemble a unique collection bit by bit, which you will be presented in the museum halls.
National clothing is of great importance in the history of the cultural development of any state. After reading Russian fairy tales, you will see heroes in typical folk dresses — Ivan Tsarevich in a shirt, Vasilisa the Wise in a sundress and a kokoshnik. All these dresses are decorated with rich ornaments and color symbolism. The Museum of Russian Costume and Life has collected in itself a unique collection of national folklore - kosvorotki, scarves, sarafans, and various decorations from all over Russia. Here you can see the items used by our ancestors in everyday life - samovars, spinning wheels, chests and many other antiques.
The excursion is accompanied by a fascinating story about the life and home life of people who lived in that distant time. It will be interesting to learn about the purpose of the dolls amulets, as well as the semantic meaning of patterns on fabrics and in costumes.
Address: Altufevskoe sh., 2, 1
Museum of the Medicine History of Moscow State Medical and Dental University
The Museum of the History of Medicine of the Moscow State Medical and Dental University (opened in 1987) is unique in its kind. Firstly, it reflects the life and development of the institute and the country’s dentistry as a whole, and, secondly, because the material collected by bits is unique in the field of dentistry and systematized in the aspect of scientific research. It is not by chance that students come here not only to get acquainted with the exhibits, but also to study, and the older generation of teachers and professors can not only remember, but also analyze the course of development of scientific and practical dentistry.
The exposition is based on materials that reveal the formation and development of dentistry in Russia. These are the personal belongings of dental scientists, scientific works, books and notes, medical instruments, materials, devices. Of particular value are 5 dental machines (including 2 dental offices), which are in working condition. The oldest of them is from 1890 (foot-operated with a mechanical drive). In the museum there is a historical and medical library.
Address: Dolgorukovskaya St., 4, b.7
Puppet space in Moscow
Gallery founded by a collector and patron Svetlana Pchelnikova is a rich collection of unique dolls of different styles and sizes of porcelain, wool, fabric, wood and other materials, each of which has its own character and history.
Exclusive products of famous masters, fantastic characters, classic porcelain dolls, replicas of antique works, Teddy bears - the gallery’s exposition will show the audience that the doll can be not only a subject of the game, but also an object of art. That is why the exhibits will interest both children and adults. The “Dolls Spaces” collection includes the works of masters from all over the world, demonstrating the author’s imagination and outstanding craftsmanship.
Address: 2nd Vladimirskaya Str., 8
Museum-Apartment of V.I. Nemirovich-Danchenko in Moscow
The memorial apartment, created to perpetuate the memory of a theater director, teacher, playwright, writer Vladimir Nemirovich-Danchenko (1858–1943), is located in the 5th entrance on the 3rd floor of the Moscow Art Theater Actors House in Glinischevsky Lane (building 5/7). Here in 1938, immediately after the building was completed, one of the founders and leaders of the Moscow Art Theater, V.I. Nemirovich-Danchenko moved in, who lived in this house until the end of his days.
The apartment museum, a branch of the Moscow Art Theater Museum, was opened to visitors in 1944. The objects of interior and everyday life, preserved in integrity, recreate the atmosphere of a Moscow apartment in the 30s of the last century. The rare photos, portraits, documents presented here will help the museum guests to learn interesting details of the life and work of an outstanding theatrical figure.
The museum-apartment hosts tours of the permanent exhibition, regularly hosts exhibitions devoted to V.I. Nemirovich-Danchenko.
Address: Glinischevsky lane, 5/7
Museum of folk graphics in Moscow
In 1982 in Moscow, the association of artists "Workshop of folk graphics" was created. The rarest exhibits of this unique genre of folk art were collected, the style of popular prints was developed, and exhibition activities began. On the basis of the personal collection and works of the Workshop transferred by Viktor Petrovich Penzin on May 22, 1992, on the day of St. Nicholas, the Museum of Folk Graphics was opened in the building of house 10 in Maliy Golovin Alley near Sretenka.
Not far from the museum, on the fence of the Church of the Holy Trinity in Listy back in the 18th and 19th centuries, popular prints were hung out for sale in the square where the famous Sukharevsky market was located. The museum is located in the historical place of Moscow, where a unique artistic and printed art type once originated.
Woodcut - Russian folk picture – an artistic, printed and printing art form appeared in the middle of the 16th century simultaneously with the book by the first printer Ivan Fedorov "Apostle", 1564. It became the traditional form of folk engravings; splint appeared as a picture alphabet, picture story. The story in the pictures with explanatory text is typical for many countries of the East and West. But it was in the Slavic countries that it won the people's sympathies, developed and established itself as a traditional art form and as such became known outside Russia.
Among the most gifted contemporary artists of the Russian folk graphic arts are O. Podkorytov, Y. Nozdrin, A. Maksimov, Y. Movchan, N. Kazimova, Y. Lyukshin, L. Lekhova, G. Eskin, B. Solov'ev, A. Petukhov, V Belov, N. Lokotkov, L. Ulybina, V. Lenchyn, L. Podkorytova, L. Ermilova and others. Their works are included in the permanent exhibitions of the museum.
Address: Small Golovin Lane, 10
Memorial Museum-apartment of S.V. Obraztsov in Moscow
Memorial Museum Apartment of S.V. Obraztsov was created at the initiative of his children - Natalia Sergeyevna and Alexey Sergeyevich. The apartment is located in the house where many artists lived, whose names glorified Russian culture of the 20th century.
The apartment is “inhabited” by theatrical puppets, folk toys and masks, which he collected during his life. In the living room pictures of Russian and foreign artists hang. Among them there is the portrait of Olga Alexandrovna Shaganova, the wife and accompanist of Obraztsov, painted by artist Andrey Goncharov. The walls are also decorated with works of small plastic and handicraft samples from Russian noble houses. One of them belongs to Maria Fedorovna Romanova, the wife of Emperor Paul I.
The museum’s exposition also includes collections of ancient objects, rare and simply unusual things. Among them there are mechanical theaters of the XVII-XIX centuries, as well as a home library, including rare antique and modern books with autographs. The apartment has almost entirely preserved the original furnishings, and maintains some of the traditions that developed during the life of the owner. A guitar is kept in the office, on which Obraztsov accompanied himself, performing his favorite romances. Visitors to the museum can hear them in the recording.
Address: Glinischevsky lane, 5/7
Red Chamber of the XVII century in Moscow
The historical and cultural center "The Red Chambers of the XVII century" was built at the end of the XVII century as the main house of the N.Ye.Golovin estate. In 1713, the estate became the property of Mikhail M. Golitsyn, Governor of Astrakhan, Admiral General of the Russian Navy. In the late 1760s, the Lopukhins family owned the estate, and after 1812, the merchants.
Chambers were built on the highest place of the site. On the ground floor there were utility rooms, and above there were ceremonial chambers, which could be accessed from the red porch, from the northern part of the building.
To date, the historical and cultural center "Red Chambers of the XVII century" has an exhibition hall (gallery), a concert hall, an art salon and a refectory restaurant. The art gallery, sculptures and other works of artists of Moscow, Russia and the CIS countries are updated every month in the gallery.
Address: st. Prechistenka, ½
Gallery 21 in Moscow
The task of the gallery organizers is to give young promising and unconventional thinkers and perceivers of the world around them the opportunity to acquaint a wide circle of connoisseurs and simply lovers of modern visual art with their works. The number 21 in the title of the gallery means that this is an exhibition of works of art of the 21st century, an exhibition of the future.
"Gallery 21" also performs the most important task. It teaches us to understand the language of modern painting and graphics, its philosophy. Therefore, along with exhibitions, discussions on art history issues take place here, and the author’s lively communication with the audience is achieved through lectures and round tables. At the fairs held in the gallery, anyone can purchase a piece of art that they like. Gallery specialists regularly hold consultations for clients on all issues of interest to them.
One of the tasks that the gallery management sets itself is to popularize Russian artists abroad. The opening of each exhibition is an event. And this is a meeting place for authors, critics and collectors. By exchanging opinions, all participants in the artistic process find the most interesting and promising areas for the development of future art.
Address: 4th Syromyatnichesky Lane, 1 b. 6
The Museum of Contemporary Art “Art4.ru” in Moscow
Art4 is a museum of modern art in the center of Moscow. The beautiful waits here for the visitor at every step, starting from the street. Eight windows, partly occupied by the works of artists (Gutov, Chelushkin, Kawarga, Tsetkov) and video art on huge plasmas, can be viewed completely free of charge and around the clock.
You can sit at the tables and read the catalogs, magazines and books that are sold right there in the museum shop, washed down with freshly acquired knowledge of this, freshly brewed coffee. You can go on a tour and learn about artists that are not usually told by classical art historians. You can ride a skateboard through the halls. Photographing is not only possible but necessary!
Summarizing the above, we conclude: this institution is one of a kind, so it’s better to see once than to read about it.
Address: Hlynovsky tupik, 4
Museum of Christmas Toys Factory in Moscow
The Christmas Toys Factory Museum was invented and built to tell adults and children about one of the most interesting and truly fabulous technologies - the production of glass Christmas tree toys. And not only to tell, but also to show, and even give it a try :-) to become the magic creator of the most popular New Year souvenir - the Christmas-tree ball.
Visitors of the museum-factory in the fabulous New Year's country will be led by professional guides, who in an entertaining way will tell you about the secrets of the craft of glassblowers and artists, show you how New Year is celebrated in different countries and continents, and make the most cherished wish on the Wish-fulfillment Bridge. Of course, pleasant New Year's surprises are expected.
Guests will remember the exhibition part - after all, there are presented antique toys of the twentieth century and the best examples of modern Christmas decorations of existing industries around the world.
Address: 5th Luchevaya prosek, pavilion 11.1
Alla Bulyanskaya Gallery in Moscow
“Alla Bulyanskaya Gallery” is one of the first private galleries in Russia, founded in 1989. It is engaged in the popularization of Russian culture and art, the organization of exhibition projects, cultural events and publishing.
It presents original works to Russian and foreign fans of art - paintings, graphics, sculpture - the work of world-famous and recognized Russian and foreign artists, as well as famous, bright masters of the post-Soviet countries who have made an invaluable, notable contribution to the history of modern world art.
During its existence, "Alla Bulyanskaya Gallery" has held more than two hundred exhibitions in Russia and abroad. It is included in the main reference books on galleries in Europe and the world.
Since 1999, the gallery works in the professional art market in the UK.
Address: st. Krymsky Val, 10/14
Sweet Museum in Moscow
Sweet Museum is an entertainment space for adults and children in the very center of Moscow. It is dedicated to the delicacies of different eras and nations: donuts, chocolate, ice cream, exotic fruits. Getting inside, visitors rejoice and ride on a swing like children, take selfies and begin to believe in miracles.
The sweet museum was founded by Big Funny Company, which is headed by the entrepreneur and author of the concept of tourist institutions of the new format, Alexander Donskoy. He believes that the guests of megalopolises want to visit not only historical places, but also thematic areas where you can have fun with your family and friends, take bright photos.
The creative approach of the businessman works. Since 2014, in Moscow and other cities of Russia, the Big Funny brand has successfully operated a network of entertainment museums and attractions, including Sweet Museum.
Sweet Museum is an art space, designed to return visitors to a carefree childhood. The premises are divided into 12 thematic zones, each of which is devoted to a certain type of sweets: ice cream, drinks, donuts, candy, fruit, and cotton candy. Exposure can not only inspect, but touch.
In addition to the exhibits, there are photo zones in the halls. Guests can make funny selfies near an ice cream truck, riding a rainbow pony or in giant marshmallows.
Address: New Arbat St., 24
Electro Museum in Moscow
The Electromuseum in Rostokino opened in 2014 by the Exhibition Halls of Moscow Association is the only exhibition space in Russia specializing in media art.
Gallery curators - artists Alexei Shulgin and Aristarkh Chernyshev (participants of the Electroboutique project and teachers of the Rodchenko School) are convinced that electronic, digital and interactive projects appeal to the mass audience and speak in a language that they understand, reflecting a new reality, defined by technological progress and, in particular, the emergence and development of the Internet and new media. In addition, they occupy the avant-garde position in the system of contemporary art. The mission of Elektromuzeya is, therefore, the promotion of media art, educational activities and the demonstration of current trends in this field of contemporary art, as well as the support of domestic artists working in this field.
SA)) _ gallery (curated by Sergey Kasich) is the first stationary gallery in Russia that technically and conceptually specializes in modern sound art. The gallery was created and maintained by the SoundArtist.ru community and is intended for listening to multichannel spatial audio installations and sound sculptures.
Over the past two years, more than twenty exhibitions took place in the Electromuseum, including solo exhibitions of Vladimir Dubosarsky, Vladislav Efimov, Dmitry Morozov (aka :: Vtol: :), Andrey Lyublinsky, the first GIF-GAF exhibition in Russia , exhibition project “Anti-Museum” and others. The museum has educational studios for children and teenagers, master classes, seminars, lectures, performances by sound artists and electronic musicians.
In 2015, the project “Electromuseum in Rostokino” became the winner of the grant competition of the V. Potanin Charitable Foundation under the program “Museum Guide” in the nomination “Amazing Museums”.
Address: st. Rostokinskaya, 1
Museum of hunting and fishing in Moscow
The Museum of Hunting and Fishing, the only one in Russia, is organized and maintained by the “Association Rosokhotrybolovsoyuz”. It was opened in 1988 in the building of the Central House of Hunter and Fisherman.
The exposition of the museum covers a wide range of topics: the history of hunting and fishing in Russia, the history and activities of the society of hunters and fishermen, the value of biotechnical measures, traditional types of hunting, hunting weapons and equipment of the hunter, hunting dog breeding, amateur and sport fishing. In addition to documents, the museum presents high-quality taxidermy works, models, stained glass windows, ancient man’s instruments, hunting trophies, cups, photographs, objects of applied hunting art and other exhibits.
The main funds of the museum are the hunting trophies of participants of international exhibitions in Europe of the 1960-80s, in which the Rosokhotrybolovsoyuz took an active part. “Golden” collections of Siberian roe deer, reindeer, maral, red deer, wild boar tusks and many other exhibits were acquired by Rosokhotrybolovsoyuz from hunters from Altai, Yakutsk, Irkutsk and other societies. The collection of fur is numerous, and the carpets and skins of a bear, wolverine, wolf, and lynx are a worthy adornment of many hunting exhibitions. The funds also contain works of art: graphics by the famous animal painter V. Gorbatov, honored artists of the Russian Federation I. Makoveeva, M. Nekrasov, A. Maximov, and a unique collection of animalistic icons (more than 2500 items) is kept by the famous scientist, biologist, ornithologist V. Flint.
Address: Golovinskoe sh., 1
Museum of military uniforms in Moscow
In February 2017, a new museum of the Russian military-historical society, the Museum of military uniforms, was opened in the Turgenev-Botkin estate. The first exhibition “Saved relics” introduces visitors to selected samples of Russian military uniforms of the 18th – 19th centuries.
The exhibition has become a memorial - this is the memory of those who died in the Sochi area on December 25, 2016, of Anton Nikolaevich Gubankov - director of the Department of Culture of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation. He supported the idea of transferring objects from the museum’s reserve stores to the Russian Military Historical Society for their restoration and display in the military uniform museum. Among them are real relics - priceless items of military uniforms from the Imperial quartermaster's museum. It received items of military uniforms not only of the Russian army, but also of foreign ones.
The life of the museum ceased after the events of 1917: the exhibits were put in boxes and sent for storage in the Peter and Paul Fortress. In 1932, the wanderings of an invaluable collection began: a part was transferred to the artillery historical museum; a part went to costume theaters.
The restoration of the priceless collection began in 2016, with the direct participation of Russian Military Historical Society. A year after the beginning of the restoration works, after a hundred years of oblivion, visitors can see amazing exhibits. All subjects tell of the feat of the warriors who wore this uniform and were proud of it.
Address: Petroverigsky per., 4, building 1
Art Gallery of Elena Shakhovskaya in Moscow
The Elena Shakhovskaya Art Gallery is located on the territory of the Gagarinsky shopping and entertainment center, a five minutes’ walk from the “Leninsky Prospect” metro station.
The gallery positions itself as a project free from political, religious, and national patterns, which deals only with art for the sake of art. The main direction of the gallery expositions is painting. The founder of the institution, Elena Shakhovskaya, has been President of the Talent Support Fund of Russia and has been working in this field since 2010.
One of the landmark exhibitions of the gallery was the exhibition "Russia ... Russian silence." Famous contemporary artists took part in it: S. Alexandrov, V. Kirillov, A. Voronkov, A. Piven, A. Savchenko, P. Boychenko and others. The exhibition featured landscapes and still lives that reflect the life and nature of our Motherland. In addition to exhibitions, the gallery is engaged in the promotion of young talents and the compilation of private collections. Also, artists of the gallery write portraits to order and make copies of famous paintings.
Address: st. Vavilova, 3
“Field of Miracles” Museum in Moscow
For a long time the museum was just a gift warehouse; at the beginning of the 2000s, it took shape as an exhibition in one of the pavilions at the All-Russia Exhibition Center. But three years ago it turned out to be homeless: a large-scale reconstruction began at the All-Russia Exhibition Center-VDNH. However, Yakubovich never liked that option. He admitted that he was there once and there "everything was crowded and unloaded."
The exposition in Ostankino will change regularly - the foundation allows it. And you can look at the Fields of Wonders Museum in two ways: by signing up for a tour of the telecentre or by hitting the list of participants or spectators. And by the way, the first visitors to the exhibition were just those who came to record the show.
Not everything was put up in Ostankino either: it just didn’t fit. Here are mannequins in national costumes, portraits of Yakubovich, made by folk craftsmen, crafts, and a lot of dishes - also with images related to the "Field of Miracles". And of course, the first donated can of pickled cucumbers and a bottle of moonshine in the form of dummies, explained Yakubovich. Apparently, as a symbol of what is presented most often.
In general, items received as a gift expect a different fate. Icons, according to Yakubovich, are transferred to the temples. Sometimes he returns after filming what he was given; so, the cigarette case was returned to the Hero of the Soviet Union which saved him the life of a bullet. Military awards are usually returned.
Address: Mira Avenue, 119 pav. 1
Museum-Gallery of E. Evtushenko in Moscow
Evgeny Alexandrovich Yevtushenko, a famous Russian poet, on July 17, 2010 donated to the Russian Federation the Museum-Gallery in Peredelkino. The museum’s exposition opens with an exhibition of copyright photographs by Yevgeny Yevtushenko “My humanity”, dedicated to the memory of one of the outstanding masters of world photography, the American Edward Steichen (1879–1973). Bright and lively photographs of the poet, taken during his travels around the world, illustrate various aspects of the life of a person in the 20th century.
The exhibition halls feature a collection of paintings, drawings, sculptures of various styles and trends created by famous artists of the XX – XXI centuries, including Pablo Picasso, Marc Chagall, Fernand Leger, Georges Braque, Niko Pirosmani, as well as contemporaries of Evgeny Evtushenko - Oleg Tselkov , Mikhail Shemyakin, Yuri Vasilyev. The real discovery and pride of the poet was the work of artists Alexander Bibin and Sergey Moiseenko.
On the second floor of the museum-gallery, a creative workshop was recreated - the poet’s office and library, where you can see photos and documents from the personal archive, literary awards, poet’s books published in many languages of the peoples of the world, a collection of records with songs on his poems and recordings of poetry evenings. A special place in the exhibition is occupied by the book by Boris Pasternak “My Sister is Life” with the author's words to the young poet.
An undoubted relic is Mark Twain's personal cane, presented to Yevtushenko in 1985 by the Votkins family in gratitude for the poem “Babiy Yar”, which served as the textual basis for Dmitry Shostakovich's 13th symphony. The poet’s library includes posters, recordings of speeches, photographs of meetings with great contemporaries: G. Böll, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, D. Updike, A. Miller, R. Kennedy, F. Castro.
Address: village Peredelkino, st. Gogol, 1a
House of I.S. Ostroukhov in Trubniki in Moscow
Since 1890, the famous artist, collector and philanthropist Ilya Semenovich Ostroukhov became the owner of the house in Trubnikovsky Lane. The mansion houses the famous home museum for all of Moscow, in the collection of which were the works of Serov, Levitan, Vrubel, Repin, Degas, Matisse, Renoir, Manet, as well as a rich collection of Russian icons.
In 1918 the museum was nationalized, and its owner became the lifelong keeper of the Museum of Icon Painting named after I.S. Ostroukhov, which received the status of a branch of the Tretyakov Gallery. In 1929 the museum was closed, and the collection was transferred to the Tretyakov Gallery.
Museum status returned to this building in 1979, when it was transferred to the State Literary Museum. Restoration work was carried out; the internal layout and decor were restored. In 1983, there was opened an exhibition dedicated to the 200th anniversary of the birth of V.A. Zhukovsky. From 1984 to 1992, an exposition on the history of Russian literature of the 20th century worked within its walls. Since 1992, the house of Ostroukhov received the status of exhibition halls GLM. In 2014, the Department of Literature of the 20th century was renamed to the scientific exposition department "House of I.S. Ostroukhov in Trubniki". Today the mansion lives no less active life than when Ilya Semenovich Ostroukhov. There are historical and literary, anniversary, solo exhibitions.
Address: Trubnikovsky per., 17
Museum of ill-mannered children in Moscow
The Museum of ill-mannered children is located in the center of Russian culture "Kremlin Izmailovo".
Museum visitors will be told about the norms of behavior of different cultures, nations and eras, and also explain why you should come to the meetings on time. Children will be able to try on medieval outfits and even fool around a bit: in the museum it is allowed to paint on the walls, climb over the fences, stick chewing gums and sit on the tables.
The museum also has a “literary hooligan club”, whose visitors read tales of such ill-mannered characters like Carlson or Emelya.
Address: Izmailovskoye sh., 73zh
Children's Designer Museum in Moscow
The founders of the museum say: “It all started with a hobby ... Once upon a time we found one old toy in the garage, friends gave a second one, found a third in the attic in the country house ... Further was more, after we searched for designers from around the world. Then it became interesting to understand the history of children's design ideas, and then we realized that, as always, all the good things had already been invented long before us. And now we can proudly tell who the ancestor of the children’s designer is, how this industry has developed, who earned his first million on toys and what awaits us in the future. ”
In June 2015, the Moscow State University of Railway Transport became interested in the collection and allocated space. The museum is open as a structural unit of Moscow State University of Communications.
The students of the Innovative Technologies Department of the Moscow University of Communications provide enormous assistance in gathering material, collecting information about each of the areas of children's designer, bit by bit, constantly adding new materials. In the preparation of materials they use foreign information sources.
Address: st. Novosushchevskaya, 26A
Anastasia Chizhova Gallery in Moscow
Puppet Museum "Anastasia Chizhova Gallery" was opened in May 2006. The collection of the museum is based on the unique works of the Member of the Union of Artists of Russia, the artist of theater and cinema, the Master of the museum doll Olina Dmitrievna Wentzel (1938-2007), the Chief Artist of the Museum. She graduated from the art department of the Leningrad Textile Institute. Her thesis work was the creation of a Hamlet costume (silk blouse) for Innocent Smoktunovsky, who played the leading role in G. Kozintsev's feature film Hamlet. She worked as a costume designer in theaters and film studios in Russia. The last 20 years of life she engaged in the author's doll.
The characters created by the master are made of porcelain manually, in a single copy, assembled according to a special technology that allows them to be made mobile. In the manufacture of dolls used antique fabrics, lace and accessories, corresponding to the era, in the style of which the costume was made for the doll.
Puppet Museum "Anastasia Chizhova Gallery" is a participant of Russian and foreign art festivals. Porcelain doll "The Magic Image of Venice" (author - O. Wentzel) was awarded the main prize "Best work of authorship" in the nomination "Decorative and Applied Art" at the 1st Moscow International Art Festival "Traditions and Modernity".
Address: 2nd Tverskoy-Yamskoy Lane, 10
Museum-apartment of the Priest Pavel Florensky in Moscow
The museum-apartment of the priest and theologian Pavel Florensky is located within a fifteen minute walk from the “Park Kultury” metro station.
The museum includes four rooms: the first presents the history of the clan and family of the theologian, the second exhibits the “Pillar and Approval of Truth” exposition dedicated to his eponymous book, the third is the re-established Florensky research room, the fourth is the Cabinet of the Museum’s Director (stock materials not included in the exhibition).
The exhibition presents the personal belongings of Pavel Florensky, books, family photos, church items, archival documents of the camp period.
Due to the small size of the memorial museum-apartment, there can be no more than ten people in the tour group. A visit is possible only by prior agreement.
Address: st. Burdenko, 16
Bible Museum in Moscow
The museum has a hall dedicated to the Metropolitan of Yuryevsk and Volokolamsk Pitirim, who decided to recreate the library. His work was continued by Archimandrite Sergius. The exposition of the memorial hall tells about the life of Metropolitan Pitirim, presents his personal belongings, as well as books issued by the publishing department of the Moscow Patriarchate, which he headed.
The main exhibition is the Bible in all sorts of publications in dozens of languages of Russia and the peoples of the world. A part of copies was created before the appearance of printing - these books were copied by hand. The museum fund is replenished from various sources: visitors and parishioners donate books, rare copies donate publishers.
In total, the exhibition presents more than 500 exhibits; another part is in the repository, which is constantly updated. One of the most valuable copies of the collection is the Bible, printed by the Russian pioneer printer Ivan Fedorov in 1581. In the museum you can see the Gospel of the Moscow Printing House in 1633 - the first printed Bible in Moscow.
Address: Volokolamsky district, village Teryaevo
Memorial Museum-Apartment of A.V. Nezhdanova in Moscow
Museum apartment dedicated to the memory of the famous opera singer A.V. Nezhdanova (1873-1950) was opened in 1951 in the house where she lived in Moscow. In the same building there is a museum-apartment of conductor N.S. Golovanov, her husband and constant accompanist.
The exhibition contains the personal belongings of the singer, her stage costumes, letters, concert posters, photographs, and much more, with which the creative life of a magnificent teacher, People’s Artist of the USSR is connected. The museum has a large music collection of recordings of performances from the Bolshoi Theater with the voice of Antonina Vasilyevna Nezhdanova.
Address: Bryusov per., 7, apt. 9
Gallery "Cinema" in Moscow
Gallery "Cinema" began its activity in 1996.
In its activities, the Gallery covers a wide range of contemporary artistic phenomena. The Gallery’s strategy presupposes the most complete reflection of artistic processes and trends in contemporary Russian art, the structure of which includes both the artistic heritage of the 60s and 80s, as well as contemporary art. Gallery "Cinema" was one of the first to hold exhibitions of works of non-conformist artists who received international fame and went down in the history of world art.
Gallery "Cinema" is one of the first private art galleries, which began to cooperate with the State Tretyakov Gallery and the State Museum of Oriental Art. In the engineering building of the State Tretyakov Gallery were held solo exhibitions of artists Francisco Infante, Dmitry Krasnopevtsev, Anatoly Zverev, who enjoyed tremendous success, both among professionals and a wide audience, and actively covered by the media.
For 20 years of active work, the gallery managed to unite around its exhibitions talented craftsmen living and working both in Russia and abroad. More than 30 famous Moscow artists collaborate with the gallery on an ongoing basis. Artists are not limited in the choice of themes and formal techniques: they can be classical painting, graphics, installation, video art, objects, photographs, etc.
Thus, over the years of its existence, the Gallery has organized and conducted more than 500 art projects and exhibitions. Today it is one of the leading Moscow galleries, which occupies a leading position in the scale of its projects and programs in the modern art process.
Address: st. Malaya Molchanovka, 8 building 2
Museum of Russian fairy tales in Moscow
Fairy tale house is a new educational format of the children's institution. You can call it a museum with a stretch. There is no strict guide in these walls, there are no clever lectures here and you can touch everything with your hands. Children get an idea of the life of their favorite characters, learn to distinguish the good from the bad, empathize with their pets, reach out and help protect the weak.
In the museum of Russian fairy tales they collect and keep wonderful stories and tales. Its founder was the Russian Family Charitable Foundation. Guides arrange theatrical performances in the process of which children learn about the life and culture of various nations. The traditions and values of peoples of different countries and continents, the epos and adventures of their brave souls form the basis of children's travels. The organizers implement more than twenty excursions based on Russian folk tales and legends, works of European writers, stories from Slavic mythologies. Each program has a certain intrigue, which is maintained throughout the game. In the process of presentation, children solve assigned tasks, show ingenuity in solving problems and help fairy-tale heroes in their difficult struggle against evil. To fully adapt, the guys dress up in folk costumes, which makes them direct participants in what is happening.
Interactive programs are designed for children from three to twelve years. There are more than 400 books and costumes, household items and theatrical props in museum storage.
Address: Izmailovskoye Highway, 73zh
Museum of Buratino-Pinocchio in Moscow
Tales reflect the folk soul. From early childhood, it is important to comprehend the wisdom laid down in them, understand their lessons and absorb moral ideals. The concept of the museum is to help children learn to recognize the good and the bad, the important and the secondary, the good and the evil.
The museum branch of Buratino-Pinocchio was opened in 2000. It is impossible not to love the main character of the fairy tale about the Golden Key. And let Pinocchio and his twin brother from sunny Italy - Pinocchio, be a little reckless, and their actions are far from perfect, the main thing is that they bring goodness and joy into our lives. Their enemies are powerful and insidious, and their path is not always smooth, but inner decency, honesty and kindness help friends to overcome all obstacles. All of the above is the main idea and the driving story of interactive excursions that take place in the museum.
Methodists of the museum are offered to view nine full exhibitions and presentations, which are designed for children from year old. At the “Carnival of Fairy Tales”, the guys will plunge into the world of adventures with the heroes of Lewis Carroll, Carlo Gozzi and Astrid Lindgren, in the “Theater of Fox Alice and Cat Basilio” they will learn about backstage theater life, and in “A Journey through Buratinia” they will discover the secrets of creating a story Alexey Tolstoy. In all submissions guys are directly involved. Full immersion in the fairy world does not pass without a trace. Once having been at the exhibition, the guys come there again and again.
Address: 2nd Parkovaya Street, 18
Fashion Museum in Moscow
The Fashion Museum was opened in Moscow in 2007 and became the first cultural institution in Russia specializing in the history and development of the fashion industry.
The museum exposition is based on more than 2000 items of clothing, shoes and accessories, from the 19th century to the present. The exhibits entered the museum from different countries of the world; many of them are unique author's works.
For example, visitors can see one of the first dresses created by the famous Charles Worth, the founder of House of Worth, a key company for the French fashion industry. Guests will be interested in dresses created by the Redfern fashion house, which has become one of the first global manufacturers of clothing for sports and tourism. Visitors will be surprised how uncomfortable and clumsy the sporting ammunition was in the 19th century.
At the “Museum of Fashion” there is its own concert platform, where concerts of instrumental music and folklore musical groups are held.
The museum organizes exhibitions, research activities, lectures, master classes, fashion shows, meetings with famous people. In the shop at the museum everyone can buy interesting souvenirs for themselves or as a gift.
Address: st. Ilyinka, 4
Museum of Decorative, Applied and Industrial Art in Moscow
The museum exposition consists of two halls. One is devoted to the history of the Stroganov School, which presents historical and archival documents; photographs of workshops and exhibits from the International and All-Russian exhibitions of the early twentieth century; student work in the material, drawings, projects of the beginning of twentieth century, as well as the best diploma and term papers of recent years.
The second hall reflects the stages of development and stylistic directions of the world arts and crafts of Europe, Asia, the Middle and Far East, Russia. And the temporal boundaries of the exhibits begin from the II millennium BC and ends with modern works of the XXI century.
The exposition presents collections of Western European and Eastern porcelain and ceramics, Russian porcelain of the 18th century, original works in ceramics by M. A. Vrubel, A. Ya. Golovin, rare products of the Moscow work association of pottery artists “Murava”.
The exposition of the museum presents Russian artistic metal of the XVII - XX centuries. These are typical for Russia of the XVII-XVIII centuries varieties of dishes, like winebowls, loving cups, goblets, flagons, made of copper, brass and tin, decorated with engraved and chased ornamentation. Interesting samples of products of the Ural and Siberian factories of the first half of the eighteenth century are exhibited. The exhibition contains unique works of Russian enamel art of the XVIII - XIX centuries of the Great Ustyug production.
The collection of furniture in the museum’s exposition is represented by samples of almost all styles and eras, starting with the Renaissance, which demonstrates the main stages in the development of furniture art.
Address: Volokolamskoye sh., 9
Folk Museum of Musical Instruments in Moscow
In November 2015, a small museum was opened in Moscow, which includes more than 200 exhibits - rare and unusual musical instruments from around the world.
The exposition of the National Museum of Musical Instruments is collected by the forces of enthusiasts - lovers and connoisseurs of high-quality sound. Among them are musicians, enthusiastic collectors and craftsmen engaged in the manufacture of instruments.
The museum houses a rich collection of drums from Brazil, India, Uzbekistan, Cuba, Iran, and Portugal. Many exhibits have an interesting history. So, there is a string instrument Rubab, brought by a participant in the war in Afghanistan, and the West African bark, which belonged to the famous TV presenter of the last century.
The peculiarity of the museum is that you can touch some items and even play them. Gusli, kalimba, tank drum, samponyo - these and other tools are available for free, but careful use.
Audio guides are given to all who want to hear the sound of one or another exhibit. In the museum space, there are also workshops on playing ethnic instruments and concerts.
Address: Suschevskaya St., 14
Moscow Design Museum
In 2012, the only design museum in Russia was founded in Moscow. The main tasks of the museum are to popularize domestic design in the country and abroad, to preserve and study its rich heritage, to acquaint the Russian audience with the best samples and main trends of international design.
Projects of the museum are successfully held at the main exhibition areas of the country, including the Manezh Central Exhibition Hall and the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin. The exhibition "Soviet Design in 1960-80s" was shown at Design Week in Beijing (2013) and at the Central Exhibition Hall of Rotterdam (2015). In 2016, in the halls of Somerset House as part of the First London Design Biennale, an exhibition entitled “Discovering Utopia: The Forgotten Archives of Soviet Designers” was held. The project received the main prize of the Biennale.
The museum creates cycles of design documentaries for the “Kultura” shopping mall: “Holland is the territory of design”, “Design for all. Sweden", "British design. Traditions and Innovations”, “Great Designers of Denmark”, “History of Russian Design”.
The museum uses innovative technologies and non-standard museum strategies for presenting exhibition material - for example, a mobile hall, located in a bus re-equipped for multimedia exhibitions.
Address: Manezhnaya Square, 1
Russian Museum of Medicine in Moscow
The Museum of the History of Medicine of the First Moscow State Medical University named after I.M. Sechenov was created in 1990 and stores about 70,000 exhibits in its collection. These are memorial funds of outstanding figures of domestic medicine; the richest collection of tools of the XVIII-XIX centuries; collection of medals, tokens, breastplates associated with medicine; collection of pictorial and sculptural portraits of medical science luminaries; unique collection of books and manuals.
Being a structural unit of the First Moscow State Medical University named after I.M. Sechenov, the museum regularly conducts thematic tours for medical students and high school students, as well as sightseeing tours for all comers.
Thus, the uniqueness of the museum is due to its location, and the content of the collection, and the nature of the services provided. This is the only museum in the capital of this kind.
Address: Pirogovskaya B. st., 2, b. 3
The Iron Museum in Moscow
The unique Iron Museum, which has gathered hundreds of rare antiquities from all over the world under one roof, works on the territory of VERNISSAGE, the Izmailovo market.
Now anyone who wishes can become familiar with the largest collection of irons from different eras and countries in Europe. In several rooms steam, coal, gas, electric irons, antique accessories and household items are presented. In total, the Museum contains more than 1,500 rare exhibits.
The exposition will be interesting to the widest circle of visitors: specialists and schoolchildren interested in history. The museum is based on the private collection of M.V. Gubanov, an enthusiastic collector.
The Museum holds interesting excursions, where you will learn the details of using irons not only in everyday life, but also in treatment. How to iron gloves and hats, how to always look tidy on a journey - you will be introduced to all this and many others in the Iron Museum.
Address: Izmailovsky Highway, 73zh
Dog Museum in Moscow
The Dog Museum in Moscow is the only museum institution in Russia of such a subject. All expositions are devoted to an animal that accompanies a person for millennia - a dog.
Representatives of the family of canids became one of the first animals that our distant ancestors managed to domesticate, to make them their protectors, helpers and friends.
The goal of the Dog Museum is to show visitors how great the friendship with the dog has played for the person, how important this animal turned out to be in the fate of the people. Many exhibits of the museum are evidence of the courage of dogs, their kindness, love and willingness to sacrifice themselves for the sake of their owner.
The exhibits include items related to canines, awards, documents, letters, rare photographs, paintings, graphics, postcards and much more. Collections tell about dogs and their owners.
An important feature of the Dog Museum is the absence of stuffed animals - this is the principle of the museum institution.
Address: Malaya Kaluzhskaya St., 12
Museum of Bells in Moscow
The foundation of the High Petrovsky Monastery, which houses the church Museum of the bells, dates back to 1325. It was founded during the transfer of the metropolitan department from Kiev to Moscow and consecrated by the Metropolitan of Kiev and All Russia Peter. This was done to unite the Russian lands - at the insistence of Ivan Kalita. Currently, the monastery is a powerful outpost for the revival of the Orthodox faith and the national spirit. The Museum of Bells, which is open at the spiritual center, along with the Valdai Museum, is one of the most complete collections of bells in Russia.
The first bells, which archaeologists found in ancient excavations, refer to 860 BC. Ancient Nineveh is considered the birthplace of the bells - it was there that the most ancient finds were found. Bell strikes have long signified a person’s call for action. From cleaning the streets in Germany and distributing bread in Italy, the bell gradually moved into the category of obligatory attributes during Christian worship services. The first mention of this relates to the years 353-431 and is attributed to the bishop of Nolansky.
In Russia, the bells were in a special honor - they, like living beings, were given their own names. Any Russian knows the Tsar Bell from the Moscow Kremlin. Polyelei, Sysoy, and the Swan from the Rostov Kremlin used no less honor. Not without curiosities - the bell "Uglich" was once sent to exile. You will learn about all these stories during the tour.
The museum presents church bells dated XVII-XXI centuries. Visitors can hear in the recording the canonical ringing from the “golden fund” of the church and the present - the active bell from the bell tower of the oldest Vysokopetrovsky monastery in the city. Here is a large amount of illustrated material about bells - from their manufacture to the subtleties in the training of bell-ringers. Bells are purchased worldwide and are classified in parts of the world: Europe and America, Russia and the CIS, Asia, Australia, Africa, etc. The collection includes bells made of porcelain and glass, copper and wood, amber and yarn, cardboard and wire, alpax and bamboo.
Address: Lazorevy Prospect, 15 b.1
Museum of the History of Jewish Heritage and the Holocaust in Moscow
The Museum of Jewish Heritage and the Holocaust is located in the center of Moscow, ten minutes away by ground public transport from the “Slavyansky Bulvar” metro station.
World famous architects Moshe Zarkhi and Vladimir Budayev worked on the museum project. The main hall is decorated with works of recognized Israeli sculptor Frank Meisler. Today this museum is considered the best example in the field of modern synagogue architecture.
The museum exposition is divided into two parts. The first part is devoted to events related to the history of the Jewish people, its culture and religion. The second part of the exhibition is directly related to the famous Jewish town "Shtetl". Here you can see unique documents, rare photos, personal belongings, diaries, rare newsreels and much more.
Address: Kutuzovsky Ave., 53
"Coca-Cola World” Museum in Moscow
The museum is located on the territory of the largest in Europe plant Coca-Cola, located in Novoperedelkino. At present it is a modernly equipped space in which four thematic zones are allocated. Acquaintance of visitors to the history of Coca-Cola begins at the entrance - its walls are painted with vintage graffiti and drawings on current topics - they illustrate the development of the brand.
One of the museum zones is devoted to the initial stage of the company's development. There is a stylized pharmacy of John Stith Pemberton, the inventor of the recipe for the drink, a former officer of the confederation army. It happened on May 8, 1886 - since then, a small production turned into a giant transnational corporation, and the drink became known to the whole world. Next to the testimony of antiquity is a large plasma screen - there are broadcast stories related to the company. Did you know that Santa Claus, known to us, in his red and white outfit, was commissioned by Coca-Cola in the 1930s? Did you know that the Coca-Cola figurative inscription has remained unchanged since 1859 - it was then that Frank Robinson, John Stith's accountant, invented and wrote it.
The main exhibit of the eco zone is a model of the Moscow plant, made on a scale of 1: 220. It is made so realistic that all technological lines and workshops are viewed. Very few people are employed directly in production, almost all processes are automated. As in all their museums created around the world, the organizers strive to draw attention to the environmental friendliness of the Coca-Cola preparation process and the rational use of water resources. After getting acquainted with the production, the guests are shown the best films of the company. Having settled down on a sports type of seats, guests will see a volume map with the applied Russian factories. The latest technological innovations are used in the museum - 3D images appear in the process of the excursion, the screen plays the role of a huge iPad - the guide manages them with the help of a touchscreen.
Guests enjoy being photographed against the backdrop of a huge bottle of Coca-Cola - it is located in one of the halls. A container for a drink is a special pride of the museum. The exposition contains painted bottles, on which Karl Lagerfeld and Jean-Paul Gautier worked, there are containers made at the Imperial Porcelain Factory. The honorable place in the museum is reserved for a special prize - the plant in Novoperedelkino received it from the concern, as the world's best enterprise of the company in 2011.
Address: 7, Novoorlovskaya St.
Museum of Slavic Culture named after Konstantin Vasilyev in Moscow
Not often in the history of our Fatherland, painting, unlike literature and music, gave birth to a spiritual leader, it was not often the artist’s brush that so excited the Russian person. The magnetism of K.Vasilyev’s paintings for a long time does not let the viewer go, awakens genetic memory, carrying it through a layer of temporary layers in the forgotten era of the youth of our people. The scale of the artist’s personality did not allow him to simply display historical facts; he was attracted by mythology, a mystery that he must unravel. Each canvas of the mythological genre created by him is a complete image-symbol. That intimate that each person can carry in himself all his life, but is not able to express. And suddenly this hidden in the depths of the subconscious is painted on the canvases of the master! Perhaps it is precisely such an exact hit in the image that shakes the viewer so much, draws again and again to his paintings.
The Grand opening of the Konstantin Vasilyev Museum took place on October 6, 1998. It can rightly be considered popular. By a penny, a tear, the desire of thousands of Vasiliev’s painting admirers to preserve paintings and create a folk art gallery was compressed.
The museum of creativity of Konstantin Vasilyev has now been transformed into the Center for Slavic Culture named after Konstantin Vasilyev. The museum’s exposition is based on the works of Konstantin - “Here the Russian Spirit, here it smells of Russia ..”. Permanent exhibition “Primordial Russia” - paintings by Vsevolod Ivanov, Nella Genkina, Andrei Klimenko, Viktor Korolkov, stone sculpture by Viktor Goncharov.
Address: Cherepovetskaya St., 3B
Central Museum named after B.V. Zimin in Moscow
Central Museum named after B.V. Zimin of the All-Russian Society of the Blind in the four halls tells the story of the blind in the Russian state from the 19th century to the present day. There are equipment for the blind, archival documents, personal belongings of famous blind activists, photographs, audio recordings, braille machines, teaching aids for the blind and much more.
Central Museum named after B.V. Zimin of the All-Russian Society of the Blind exists on the basis of the Cultural and Sports Rehabilitation Complex.
The museum began its work in 1973 with a production exhibition in the Central House of Culture. The section of the exhibition included the department of typhlotechnics. In 1991, the exhibition collection was replenished with exhibits from the memorial museum of the blind sculptor Lina Po (Polina Mikhailovna Gorenstein).
At the exhibitions in the Central Museum named after B.V. Zimin of the All-Russian Society of the Blind educational and visual aids, devices for writing blind people of the 19th and 20th centuries, braille typewriters, books and journals of relief-point type, pad printed literature on the blind, household appliances and industrial products, board games, products for the blind are demonstrated. Among the exhibits there are personal belongings of blind people, documents about the life and activities of the blind, photographs and photo albums, audio and video materials.
In the museum of the All-Russian Society of the Blind, visitors can learn about the history of the blind in Russia from the beginning of the XIX century to the present day.
Address: st. Kuusinen, 19a
G.O.S.T. in Moscow
The name of the gallery is “G. O. S. T.” is the abbreviation of the first letters of the names of her curators, as well as a hint at the high quality of the works of art represented here.
Gallery was founded in 2003. One of the goals of its creators was to popularize, within the framework of the “Museum of Graphics” project, graphic art, the revival of interest in the unique graphic “kitchen” of famous and little-known Russian painters of the 20th century. They are not limited to graphics. Here they organize exhibitions of interesting masters, whose names are unnecessarily forgotten.
The gallery also hosts picturesque exhibitions and sculpture exhibitions in collaboration with Russian museums. "G. O.S.T." is regularly involved in Antique salons, fairs, contributes to the formation of private collections. The gallery sees one of its tasks in the popularization and introduction of the general public to art.
Exhibitions and other events held in gallery "G. O. S. T." are very diverse, they are the same in one - in high quality.
Address: st. Prechistenka 30/2
Museum "Radio and hamradio" named after E.T. Krenkel in Moscow
Museum of Radio settled in the Education Center No. 1685. The exposition was based on a collection of various equipment and radio components, which arose in the department of the USSR Central Radio Club named after E.T. Krenkel. Exhibits were displayed on racks in the lobby, but over time they became more and more. Later it became clear that the exhibition contains rather rare exhibits and already contains copies of the museum series. In 2002, a question arose with the relocation of the exhibition, since the premises occupied by the Central Radio Club were leased. One of the Moscow schools offered help to the museum with a room, but did not calculate its capabilities and did not fulfill its obligations to restore the museum.
Later, the museum rescue enthusiasts managed to find a room through the department of education where the museum is located and is actively functioning to this day. At the moment, the exposition of the museum has more than 1000 exhibits; on the base of the museum classes of radio amateurs are held, as well as the museum has its own amateur radio station.
Address: Ryazansky Ave., 8, b.2
Museum of Economics and daily routine in Moscow
In 2011, another museum, the Museum of Economics and daily routine, appeared at the Faculty of Economics of the Moscow State Pedagogical University (Museum of V.A. Zhamin was opened in 1999). The first exhibit is accounting abacus, which was presented to the Museum by Mikhail Lvovich Levitsky, dean of the Faculty of Economics. It is this abacus, the “prototype” of modern computer technology that is etched on the emblem of the faculty.
The museum exhibits were old appliances, clothing, photographs, old money, and household items. After all, today's youth is interested in how the first paper money looked like - banknotes issued under Catherine II; or the infamous "mavrodiki" - MMM financial pyramid tickets.
You can really feel the time Perestroika, looking at the food, tobacco and alcohol vouchers of that time; on the “buyer's card”. What did the voucher or the famous “workout” looked like with the knees pulled back, in which the hero Yury Nikulin from the “Caucasian Captive” was dressed? Railway ticket since the time of Sergei Yul'evich Witte, his autograph on the book ... A tube radiogramophone combination from the 60s, once played with 78 speed the vinyl records with “Jamaica” of Robertino Loretti and Van Cliburn. The first domestic TV KVN-49 with a lens filled with water. Plywood white dove on a stick, with which our parents, still young, went to the May Day demonstrations; lecture notes on the political economy of students of the 70s - 80s...
A corner of student life is still represented mainly by exhibits provided by graduates (1981) of the history department of the Moscow State University. Photographs, abstracts, drawings, wall newspaper... This issue was very interesting and many people known so far studied on this course. This is one of the few courses that has its website on the Internet, holds periodic creative meetings - there are a lot of creative people and poets on this course. One of the gifts to the Museum is directly related to the study of the history of Soviet life. Elena Alexandrovna Osokina, who also studied at this course, - a professor at the University of South Carolina (USA) presented her monograph with the dedication “The Hierarchy of Consumption. About the life of people in the conditions of Stalin's supply, 1928−1935". Nostalgic surprises, for example, await in the museum now General Director of the Moscow Kremlin Museums Elena Y. Gagarina, director of the State Historical Museum Alexei Konstantinovich Levykin, director general of the All-Russian State Television and Radio Company Oleg Borisovich Dobrodeev, director of the “Muranovo” museum Igor Aleksandrovich Komarov, politician, TV presenter Konstantin Fedorovich Zatulin, Director of the Center for Research of the City Government and Self-Government Vladimir Nikolaevich Bykov, historian and writer Arkadiy Anatolyevich Murashev.
Address: st. Fabricius, 21
Modern Museum of Sports in Moscow
The Modern Sports Museum was established by the Dialogue-Conversion Association on April 6, 2004. The main task of the museum is to collect, preserve and exhibit evidence of the glorious history of Russian sport, reporting to future generations the names and biographies of people who have dedicated themselves to physical culture and sport, who have shown the best human qualities and brought glory to the Fatherland.
The first President of the Museum's Board of Trustees was a three-time Olympic champion, ten-time world champion Alexander Pavlovich Ragulin. The most active part in the formation of the first collections was taken by Valentina Ivanovna Makarova, the responsible secretary of the CSKA Sports Veterans Council. The first heroes of the exposition were famous army and Spartak athletes and coaches.
The main advantage of the museum is the principle of forming museum funds, their virtuality. Exhibitors can not part with their sports relics to place them in the halls of our museum. Digital copies of unique awards, prizes, photographs and documents fully reflect the sports and life path of their owners, which can hardly be achieved in any physical exposition. Another significant advantage of the Internet museum is its availability and attractiveness for the younger generation around the world.
Since its inception, the Modern Museum of Sport has been engaged in exhibition activities. Cooperation with sports veterans, collectors and museums, as well as the use of our own funds allows to create unique exhibition expositions devoted to significant events in our sports history.
Museum of Travel and Pilgrimage to Holy Places in Moscow
The word "pilgrim" originally sounded like "palm tree" - that is, carrying the palm branch as a symbol of its communion with God and a great wonder for the northern countries. The first pilgrim was Queen Helena, who visited Jerusalem in 326 in search of the burial place of Christ. Since then, the kings and ordinary people who wanted to join closer to God went on pilgrimage.
The museum of travel and pilgrimage to the holy places in Moscow is the only one of its kind dedicated to pilgrimage. It settled on the Krutitsky Patriarch Compound, where, upon legend, the archpriest Avvakum was imprisoned. The museum exhibits tell the journey of our ancestors to the Holy Land, where the Holy Sepulcher is located. Visitors can touch the shrines brought by pilgrims from different countries. The museum exhibits rare exhibits such as a bottle with the inscription “Water from the holy spring of St. Seraphim of Sarov” in 1903, a bottle of holy oil consecrated on the relics of the Great Martyr Panteleimon in 1872, the Blessed Elder Siluan of Athos and many other relics.
Address: Krutitskaya St., 11
Soil-Agronomy Museum named after V.R. Williams in Moscow
The formation of the collection began in the 80s of the XIX century by V.R. Williams and then by his many students. While working at the Petrovsky Agricultural Academy, being the head of the department of soil science, V.R. Williams used these materials when lecturing and conducting practical classes with students.
Officially, the Soil-Agronomy Museum was founded in 1934. This is the largest soil museum in Russia. The exhibition presents over 750 soil monoliths, about 2000 soil samples, plant collections. The museum has four exposition halls, and the expositions are distributed according to the principle of zonal soil-geographical zoning.
The first hall tells about the weathering of rocks and the primary process of soil formation. In the center of the hall there is a diagram of the development of vegetation on the earth’s surface over geological periods. The second hall is devoted to the soils of the tundra, the taiga-forest zone and the northern part of the forest-steppe. The third one contains the richest collection of black earth, chestnut, brown soils, gray earth and red soil. A collection of buried soil is unique. In the fourth hall the soils of foreign countries are exhibited. These materials provide a visual representation of the richness and diversity of soils on the planet.
Address: 55 Timiryazevskaya St.
House-Museum of Alexei Diky in Moscow
In the middle of the 19th century, an honorary citizen, commerce adviser A.L. Torletsky (Terletsky), a contractor in the construction of the Nikolaev railway acquired Gireyevo near Moscow. By the beginning of the twentieth century the financial situation of the Torletskys was shaken, and Alexander Longinovich's great-grandson, Alexander Ivanovich, decided to arrange a dacha settlement in part of his extensive possession to amend his family status. Yu.A. Bakhrushin recalled: “The young master cut glades in the century-old forest, overtook carpenters and began to build dachas in a hurry ... The old manor’s estate began to quickly turn into a dacha near Moscow.”
The dachavillage was named Novoe Gireyevo or Novogireevo. The grand opening took place on June 15, 1908. According to newspapers, "it was the most perfect village in the suburbs." There was built a power plant on liquid fuel and electricity was carried. Fire station was arranged. An artesian well was drilled, water supply and a water tower were built, a post office, a telegraph office, a telephone exchange, a savings bank, its own security, and even a police station appeared. In addition to summer cottages, there were built cottages for permanent residence. From the station "Kuskovo" (and later - from the specially built station "Novogireevo") to the village went bobtail car.
Nowadays, only the layout of streets and avenues and a couple of old buildings have been preserved from Novogireev Torletsky. One of them - on the street Alexei Wild. In 1910, a small log house at the corner of the then Princely and Alexander Avenue was bought by the mother of the future famous actor and director A.D. Dikogo Anna Vasilyevna. Nowadays, this house looks unexpectedly surrounded by modern high-rise buildings. Alexey Denisovich was very fond of his estate, which he called "Gireyevka".
He was born in Yekaterinoslav (now Dnepropetrovsk). Since childhood, seeing his vocation in the theater, in 1909 he moved to Moscow and a year later was accepted to the Moscow Art Theater. In 1931 he founded his own theater – Diky Studio. In 1936, the theater was closed, and Alexei Denisovich was arrested. He received a relatively "soft" for those times - 5 years of camps. After the release he mostly starred in the movie. In his record of the role there is Kutuzov, Nakhimov and ... Stalin. He died in 1955.
For some time in the house Museum opened on a voluntary basis by the writer B.V. Smirensky acted.
Address: st. Alexey Dikogo, d. 16
Museum of Mobile Technologies in Moscow
The museum’s collection includes about 1,200 exhibits: a phone-razor, a melon-sized cell phone, the legendary Nokia 3310, telephones made of titanium, the first communicators and smartphones, a telephone from the film The Matrix and much more. The museum also features a collection of modern gadgets: Google Glass, Oculus Rift, 3D scanners and printers, modern electronics and unusual concepts.
The museum offers a closer look at the history of the mobile industry - an integral part of modern culture. The curators of the museum will tell you how cellular communication works and what mobile phones are made of. In the section you can get acquainted with the developers of smartphones, listen to interesting lectures, and also take part in the “Snake” game championship.
Address: st. Bolshaya Novodmitrovskaya, 36/2
Museum of the history of cycling in Moscow
The Museum of the History of Cycling was conceived in 1988, at the same time the collection and historical research began in the field of bicycle and motorcycle history in Russia and the USSR. Currently, the museum has more than 5,000 exhibits.
The museum consists of a number of extensive thematic meetings that complement each other in the sense of a comprehensive understanding of the bicycle phenomenon.
The main one is the collection of bicycles, in which more than 200 copies of 1870-1970 are presented, of which 62 are ready for the exposition (they are preserved in their original condition or restored). Of particular interest are cars made in pre-revolutionary Russia and the USSR. The collection of bicycle accessories (lamps, calls, license plates, tools, etc.) perfectly complements the cycle collection and clearly illustrates the evolution of this kind of technology.
The main information "weight" has a "paper" part of the collection. It consists of a library with more than 1,000 storage units (books, brochures, magazines from 1880–1970 on cycling), an extensive collection of brochures and catalogs of cycling companies, a collection of documents related to cycling, and a photo archive (more than 5,000 unique photographs and negatives of 1875-1980). The extensive library and photographic archive have no analogues both in the territory of the former USSR and in Europe.
The study of these sources provides an opportunity to get the most complete picture of the development of cycling in the country.
In parallel with the studies, restoration and furnishing of the exhibits are being carried out - now more than 10 bicycles and other objects are in operation. Work on the search and acquisition of exhibits does not stop with the founding of the collection.
The goal of all these diverse activities is the creation in Moscow of the All-Russian Velomuseum with a research and restoration center. The main problem on this path is the lack of space for the museum and an acute shortage of funding for research and restoration activities.
Address: st. Krymsky Val
Museum-apartment of I.D. Sytin in Moscow
Memorial Museum-apartment of I.D. Sytin is located in the center of Moscow on Tverskaya Street. The museum is dedicated to the life and work of the famous Russian publisher Ivan Dmitrievich Sytin. In the house where the museum is located, Ivan Dmitrievich lived from 1928 to 1934. The apartment has many original furnishings in the apartment's atmosphere, Sytin’s personal belongings, his library, and memorial items related to his publishing activities are on display.
Memorial Museum-apartment of I.D. Sytin was opened in 1989. Ivan Dmitrievich Sytin (1851-1934) was the largest publisher, Russian entrepreneur, and educator. In the house where the memorial museum is open, Sytin lived from 1928 to 1934.
The apartment has preserved historic interiors, a collection of memorial items related to the life and publishing activities of I.D. Sytin.
In addition to the main exhibition in the exhibition halls of the memorial museum-apartment of I.D. Sytin temporary exhibitions devoted to the history of Russian printing, publishing, historical, artistic, historical and literary exhibitions are organized.
Address: Tverskaya st., 12, of. 274
Museum of children's cinema at the film studio "Animafilm" in Moscow
Film Studio "Animafilm" of the Moscow Children's Fund is located in an old two-storey mansion of the middle of the XIX century. Inside the building there are the scenery for the film "Canterbury Tales", sketches and drawings for the beloved "Hedgehog in the Fog", as well as windows with dolls - heroes of famous and new cartoons.
This is an operating film studio, where they still shoot new cartoons. In addition to film studios, there are expositions of the Museum of Children's Cinema. There are interactive tours for children, consisting of 4 parts:
theoretical - a story about the history of animation, technology to create cartoons;
familiarity with the expositions of the Museum of Children's Cinema;
practical - creating microfilm on the station;
view several cartoons from the film studio collection.
Also, the Children's Film Museum at the animated film studio invites children of 5-16 years old to celebrate their birthday.
Address: Leningradsky prospect, 21
Museum of Outsider Art in Moscow
The work of outsiders is an unusual artistic phenomenon that has attracted considerable interest all over the world for more than half a century. In Russia, the first collection of outsider works was presented at the end of the 1980s in the Humanitarian Center, and in 1996, a museum with a permanent exhibition was opened on its basis.
Abroad, the work of outsiders is called “art brut” (“raw” art). This style includes works of people for whom painting and drawing are not a profession, but a spontaneous way of expressing emotions, a kind of splashing out on paper or canvas of the “stream of consciousness”, disturbing or joyful thoughts, memories and ideas about the world. As a rule, these people do not have artistic education and do not try to follow any cultural tradition. They create their work for themselves and their surroundings, without pursuing commercial goals. But this is what makes their work extremely touching and sincere.
Artists of "art brut" are refered to the so-called outsiders - people standing outside the official social system. These are people with subtle mental organization and a peculiar perception of the world, which in society are called "eccentrics", people with disabilities who do not have the opportunity to fully adapt to society, as well as certain categories of mentally ill - for example, autists. In the past, it was believed that the unusual creativity of such individuals has no artistic or commercial value, but over time, art historians have recognized that it is of considerable interest to universal culture as an example of an alternative, deprived of social clichés view of our world. Currently, exhibitions of outsider works are held with great success in different countries of the world, and the Moscow Museum takes part in international events.
The museum exposition is represented by several thematic sections. In one of them works of mentally ill people and artists "with eccentricities" are collected. The rest belong to the category of "new fiction," this is the work of people with emotional disabilities and representatives of "naive art." In the museum you can see unique collections in the genre of psychopathological expression of the 20s and 50s of the twentieth century, the work of foreign outsider artists. This is not only paintings, but also graphics, applied art, various installations. Qualified guides will tell visitors about how art brut has been opened and recognized in the world, will tell interesting facts about artists of this unusual genre in different countries of the world, will acquaint outsiders with the history of the creation of the Moscow Museum.
Address: Blvd. Izmailovsky, 30
House of vintage music in Moscow
The house of vintage music is in pavilion No. 84a at VDNH. The museum’s collection of retro audio equipment includes over 500 gramophones, radio receivers, radiogramophone combinations, and jukeboxes. At the request of the visitor, you can select and listen to any disc on a vintage technique.
Many exhibits presented at the exhibition belonged to famous historical personalities. For example, visitors to the museum will be able to see Jean-Paul Belmondo's player, Philips Radio from the James Bond film Diamonds Forever, starring Sean Connery, the radiogramophone combination of Joseph Kobzon, as well as American, European and Soviet gramophones of 1920–1940.. And in the future, the very first device in the history for recording and playing sound will appear in the House of Vintage Music - the famous phonograph of Thomas Edison.
The unique English gramophone of the company “Lavette” of the sample of 1918 is a gift of a British collector with Russian roots who wished to remain anonymous. He learned about the “House of Vintage Music” at the Exhibition of Economic Achievements from the English media and wanted to make a royal gift to the museum.
In addition, in the museum's collection there are more than 3 thousand musical records of the past century.
The museum has five thematic halls, each of which is devoted to a specific period in the history of the development of musical apparatus: the 1920s, 1920-1940s, 1930-1950s, 1950-1980s.
All the exhibits of the museum are from the personal collection that has been collected since 2001.
The museum guides conduct daily group and individual tours, including those adapted for children's perception.
Address: Mira Ave., household 119, pavilion 84A
Museum of American Art in Moscow
The Museum of American Art is a 10-15 minute walk from the Arbatskaya and Aleksandrovsky Sad metro stations.
It was opened in 2009 by artist Mikhail Smorchevsky, who lived 25 years in the United States. The room, in which the museum is located, before the revolution belonged to the ancestors of the artist.
The exhibition presents works by Russian artists who emigrated to the United States, canvases by American painters, as well as the works of the owner of the museum gallery itself - the founder of naive portrait impressionism.
Address: Povarskaya St., 22 Building 1A
Museum of Comics in Moscow
In 2015, the Museum of Comics was opened in the Izmailovo Kremlin. Fans of this genre, combining the features of literature and visual art, can get acquainted with the most interesting exhibitions, where they will see dozens of collectible figurines of their favorite characters, their attributes, rare ancient and modern editions. Excursions are held for visitors, where they will be told about the history of comics, the first authors and characters, about the most famous personalities who played a significant role in the development of the genre.
For guests, the cinema room doors are always open, in which films based on comics are broadcast. In addition, the museum holds themed birthdays with the participation of super-heroes, also here you can buy printed materials and souvenirs and take pictures.
Address: 73ZH Building 1, Izmailovskoye shosse
Art Gallery of Natalia Grigorieva in Moscow
Natalia Grigorieva is a modern professional artist working in the technique of painting and graphics. Natalia Grigorieva is also a book designer and teacher. Natalia Grigorieva conducts art workshops.
Natalia Grigorieva Gallery was opened in 2010 on Neglinnaya Street. The works of the artist allow you to plunge into the unique and surprisingly attractive world of art. With the help of works by Natalia Grigorieva, visitors can take a fresh look at the beauty of the surrounding world.
Address: Petrovsky Blvd, 14
Death Museum in Moscow
Glamorous skeletons and African gods of death, merry Nigerian coffins and Mexican skulls, a copy of Lenin's mummy and funeral urns - to make an entertainment show of attributes of death is great art.
If in Russia the care of a passing person causes sadness, then for some nations of the world this is a reason for a holiday - relatives are happy for the deceased - it turns into a better reality.
The founders reacted with humor to the creation of the exhibition. The main exhibits are coffins brought from Ghana. Products in the form of a mobile phone, bottles, dolls, dogs, syringes, and condoms - unusual coffins embody the dream of the deceased or reflect his professional qualities. In the museum space there was a place for a funeral carriage from England; skeletons and skulls that have been in the hands of Italian designers; twins of the famous dead of the famous thrillers. A separate theme is the original tombstones and objects used in funeral rituals from around the world.
Address: st. Novy Arbat 15/1
Underground Museum "Zaryadye" in Moscow
Underground Museum "Zaryadie" is an interactive immersion in history. Here you can take a picture with an archer of the 17th century, try on a helmet and bracers of a local nobleman, hold heavy chain mail in your hands. Modern media technologies will allow mastering the technique of loading a gun, learning how to repel an attack of an enemy, pick up a dress for tsar archer, solve puzzles, find a treasure and much more.
The archaeological museum was built around the white stone base of the Kitaygorod wall. This outstanding monument of fortification art was created in 1535-1538. The fragment was discovered during archaeological work, which was carried out before the start of construction of the Zaryadye Park.
In one of the windows you can see an interactive projection of the warrior of the national militia of 1612, in the other - a rich Chinese city merchant. Animated characters will tell about all the exhibits of the museum and reveal them from an unusual side.
Genuine items found during the excavations of Zaryadye were also included in the exhibition. For example, the armament of the XV-XVII centuries, which remained here after the defense of Moscow from foreign invaders: reeds, spears, stone and cast-iron cores, fragments of protective weapons and firearms. You will also see everyday objects of ordinary citizens - their shoes, dishes and decorations. In a separate showcase, rich treasures are placed, hidden here at different times by residents of Kitaygorod.
Address: Varvarka st., 6, b. 1
Museum "Integration" named after O.N. Ostrovsky in Moscow
Museum of N.A. Ostrovsky was opened in 1940 in a historic building - a monument of history and culture of the XVIII - XX centuries. In the mansion on Tverskaya, 14 three epochs were joined, which was reflected both in the external appearance of the building and in its functional purpose. The museum includes the salon of Zinaida Volkonskaya, where A.S. Pushkin was; memorial apartment of N.A. Ostrovsky, where he lived from November 1935 to December 1936 and where the pieces of furniture of the writer, his belongings, documents, personal library and other relics are represented; Hall "Overcoming" (the fate of people with disabilities), opened in 1992.
On December 14, 2016, the Joint Establishment "State Museum - Cultural Center Integration named after N.A. Ostrovsky" was created. In the premises at Tverskaya St, 14 there is a museum in which the permanent exhibition, interchangeable exhibitions hall and memorial rooms of the writer N.A. Ostrovsky are opened.
In the premises at Lazo St, 12 and Sayanskaya St, 6B modern cultural centers are located, in which all the conditions for the harmonious cultural and aesthetic development of each visitor are created. Classes in creative studios and sports sections, exhibitions, concerts, educational programs for specialists of cultural institutions on the ethics of communication with people with disabilities, special projects, etc. are held here.
Address: Tverskaya st., 14
Museum of Military History of Moscow
Not far from the central part of the capital, in a picturesque place, which since immemorial time has been called Potylikha, a medieval fortress stands on the bank of the Setun river. This is the historical and cultural center “Setunsky Stan” - a recreated Slavic ancient settlement of the 12th century, in which there is a fortress wall, princely chambers, a dungeon Kascheeva cage, armories, a forge and a pottery workshop, a stable, an arena for equestrian competitions, where warriors fight by force.
Here is the museum of the military history of Moscow. Among its exhibits are weapons and armor of various periods in the history of our country, which were reconstructed with great precision. There are equipment troops of Yuri Dolgoruky, Ivan the Terrible, Peter the Great... All the exhibits can not only be contemplated: equipment and armor can be tried on. Weapons can be tried in action - throw a spear or an ax, shoot a bow. You can play in the heroic towns and ride horses. And, of course, take photos.
The history of Russian military exploits, secrets of tactics for conducting defensive actions, facts and secrets from the history of the formation of the Moscow principality, other interesting and little-known events in the history of Russia are all in the fascinating stories of experienced guides who, by the way, are dressed in Russian warrior suits.
On the territory of Setunsky Stan, the historical play “The Legend of the Russian Land” is shown in a tent for 200 spectators or on the street, if the weather permits. The theatrical performance can be seen in the torture chambers of Ivan the Terrible, in which stuntmen take part. Anyone can be devoted to fire in the warriors of the ancient rite. In the current forge you can watch the work of the blacksmith. Here you can witness the battle of youths on the shafts, the battles of the Tatar Khan with the captive princess, the battle of Russian soldiers against the knights, in which the Russian squad triumphs, heroic games and youthful games.
Visitors to the museum are both witnesses and even participants in historical events. This is interesting and especially important for the younger generation, because the main task of the museum of the military history of Moscow is the sport, historical and patriotic education of the Russian youth.
Address: 2nd Setunsky Pr-d, b. 5
Gilyarovsky Center in Moscow
It is the new branch of the Museum of Moscow. The opening took place on December 8, 2017 and was timed to the birthday of Vladimir Gilyarovsky, as well as to the 121st anniversary of the Museum of Moscow.
Gilyarovsky Center hosts exhibitions and events. This is a place for everyone, the museum center, where the main person is a resident of today's dynamic metropolis. Moscow architects, artists, local historians, urbanists, various urban communities will be not just museum visitors, but co-authors of projects.
Exhibitions, excursions with access to the city space, theater performances, lectures and master classes, workshops for children and teenagers, a bookstore-reading room, co-working, a school of urban journalism, a cinema hall - the new museum and exhibition center has many ideas. The main thing - in this historic mansion in the heart of the city all the time something interesting will happen.
Address: Zubovsky Boulevard, 2
House-Museum of B. L. Pasternak in Moscow
The village of Peredelkino near to Moscow is forever associated with the name of the poet Boris Leonidovich Pasternak (1890–1960). Here he lived since 1936, first occupying a large dacha, and in 1939 he moved to a smaller house. It was in this house that he learned that on October 23, 1958 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. As is known, his world fame turned into the most severe persecution in his homeland.
Pasternak died on May 30, 1960, in a small room, "grand piano one", as it was called, and was buried in the local cemetery. For many years the family did everything to preserve the house and atmosphere in the form in which it was during his life. Despite the constant pilgrimage of admirers, the authorities did not allow the creation of a poet’s memorial museum at the dacha. It was only in February 1990, the day of Pasternak’s widely celebrated century that a memorial exposition and a branch of the State Literary Museum were opened there.
Address: DSK Michurinets, ul. Pavlenko, 3
House-Museum of K.I. Chukovsky in Moscow
The interior of the house in which Korney Chukovsky lived since 1938, after his death, was saved by the writer's daughter Lydia Korneevna and his granddaughter Elena Tsezarevna Chukovskaya. They also became the first guides on the memorial exposition. Photographs, graphics, paintings, and a collection of books remind us of Korney Chukovsky’s connections with the largest representatives of Russian culture in the first quarter of the 20th century — Ilya Repin, Alexander Blok, Vladimir Mayakovsky, Leonid Andreev, Boris Grigoriev, Alexander Solzhenitsyn.
The museum exhibits different lines of human and literary fate of Korney Chukovsky: the mantle of the Oxford Literature Doctor, gifts for children and adults not only from Russia, but also from England, Japan and America. In the living room you can see a jug that became a model for the artist who designed the first edition "Moidodyr", and a black dial phone, on which Chukovsky "called the elephant." The famous "miracle tree" can be seen in the garden next to the house.
Children have always been the most welcome guests in the house of Chukovsky. He collected children from all of Peredelkino — he read his works to them, played with them, led conversations. The campfire site has been preserved on the territory of the museum, and traditionally the "Bonfires" are held here in the fall and spring, as it was in the days of the writer.
Address: st. Serafimovich, 3, pos. DSK Michurinets, pos. Vnukovskoye