The capital is called the gold-headed due to its churches, which for a long time determined its appearance. Despite its difficult fate, many churches and temples of Moscow are preserved on the city map and are open for tourists.
You can see the religious monuments of different denominations in Moscow: Muslim mosques, Catholic cathedrals, Jewish centers (synagogues). There are large Old Believer churches in Moscow. But the most common, of course, are Orthodox churches and monasteries of Moscow. They attract thousands of tourists and pilgrims from around the world.
Many of the old Moscow churches were destroyed during the Soviet era. Others were reconstructed, converted into economic or municipal buildings. Now the list of Moscow temples is expanding every year, old buildings are being restored, new ones are being erected. But tourists are attracted, above all, by those objects that were built back in Tsarist times. The most popular of them are located in the city center. For example, you can visit the Cathedral of St. Basil. It will be interesting not only to believers; the building is striking in its solemnity, beauty, and an abundance of complex details.
Most of the temples to which tourists are admitted are active. This means that when you visit them you will have to follow a number of simple rules. In particular, women need to wear a skirt and scarf, which can be sold near the temples or issued by guides, but it is advisable to take care of their presence in advance.
St. Basil’s Cathedral in Moscow
The Cathedral of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin on the Moat (St. Basil's Cathedral) is one of the most significant monuments of the ancient Russian architecture of the 16th century. The cathedral was erected in 1555–1561 at the behest of Tsar Ivan the Terrible in honor of the conquest of the Khanate of Kazan.
The central church was consecrated in the name of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos. Four churches - the Three Patriarchs of Constantinople, Cyprian and Justina, Alexander Svirsky and Gregory of Armenia - were consecrated in the name of the saints, on whose memory important events of the campaign took place. Other important events of the Russian spiritual life of the second half of the 16th century were reflected in the program of the church’s consecration. The Eastern Church is dedicated to the main dogma of the Christian faith - the Holy Trinity. The Western Church of the Entry of the Lord into Jerusalem connects the cathedral with the image of the City of Heaven.
The Pokrovsky Cathedral possesses unique wall paintings, an impressive collection of Old Russian icon painting and masterpieces of church applied art. The ensemble of ten churches with full iconostases, whose interiors reflect the four-century history of the temple, is unique.
Address: Red Square
Assumption Cathedral in Moscow
The cathedral was erected in 1479 by decree of the Grand Duke of Moscow Ivan III by a specially invited Italian architect Aristotle Fioravanti. The dedication of the Moscow cathedral church to the Assumption of the Virgin, the main feast of the Virgin, celebrated in the old style on August 15, has an ancient tradition due to the special veneration of the Mother of God in Russia.
For six centuries, the church was the state and religious center of Russia: the great princes were supplied here; they crowned Tsar, crowned emperors here. In the Assumption Cathedral, they elevated to the rank of bishops, metropolitans and patriarchs, read out state acts, served prayers before military campaigns and in honor of victories. In the XIV - XVII centuries, the Assumption Cathedral was the burial place of the heads of the Russian church - the metropolitans and patriarchs. Here in the precious crayfish lie the ashes of the Moscow wonderworkers Peter, Jonah, Philip II and Hermogen.
The superior position of the Assumption Cathedral predetermined the increased attention of sovereigns and rulers to the dispensation and decoration of the church. For the painting of the walls of the cathedral and the painting of icons, outstanding masters-painters from the capital and from all over Russia were involved. So gradually, a rich and truly unique collection of monuments of Russian medieval art was formed in it, which was carefully preserved and multiplied over the centuries.
After the revolution of 1917, the Assumption Cathedral was turned into a museum. Creating an exposition of the temple, the staff tried to preserve its interior as much as possible. Thanks to the constant restoration work, almost all the icons and paintings were revealed from later recordings. Since 1990, worship has resumed in the cathedral.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
The Archangel Cathedral in Moscow
The Archangel Cathedral, built in 1505–1508 by the Italian architect Aleviz Novy, is the most unique monument in the whole ensemble of the Cathedral Square of the Moscow Kremlin. With the construction of the Cathedral of the Archangel, the restructuring of the grand-ducal residence, conceived and carried out by Ivan III, the grand duke, sovereign of "All Russia" (1462–1505), ended. During his reign, the process of unification of the Russian lands, finally liberated from the Mongol-Tatar yoke in 1480, was completed, and the international prestige of the Muscovite state gained strength. A reflection of this was the grandiose construction in the Kremlin. In the ideological program that the customer himself invested in the transformation of the Moscow Kremlin, the important role was played by the Archangel Cathedral, the main princely temple, which had become the tomb of the Moscow Grand Prince's House at that time.
The temple is dedicated to the archangel Michael, the heavenly patron of princes in their feats of arms. Grand princes came here for prayer before going to war, hoping to beg spiritual power for a feat. Here his younger brothers took an oath of allegiance to the Grand Duke. Later, the tsar went to the temple to worship the tombs of the ancestors at the head of a solemn procession after the ceremony of Tsar crown.
The Archangel Cathedral which reached our days in 2008 was 500 years old. However, his initial story goes back to even earlier times.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Annunciation Cathedral in Moscow
Annunciation Cathedral is located in the southwestern part of the Cathedral Square. The nine-headed temple shines with golden domes. It is small in size but majestic. The Orthodox church was built in honor of the Annunciation of the Virgin. The Annunciation Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin was the home church of the rulers - princes and tsars.
It is believed that at the end of the 13th and the beginning of the 14th century a wooden church on a stone foundation stood on the site of the modern church. It was built by Prince Andrei Alexandrovich, the son of Alexander Nevsky. Later, at the end of the 15th century, when the Kremlin was rebuilt, many buildings were erected by foreign architects. However, the Grand Duke Ivan III commissioned the architect of the city of Pskov to build his house church. A new white-stone church with a basement (lower floor) is being built. A two-story vault is being built near its eastern wall - the Kazenny Dvor, where the sovereign's treasury was kept.
During the ceremonies held at Cathedral Square, the prince or the tsar and his retinue left the temple. During the revolution of 1917, the shrine suffered from shelling. The shell destroyed the porch of the temple. In March 1918, when the Bolshevik government moved to Moscow, the church was closed.
The temple was built in the traditions of early Moscow architecture with elements of Pskov architecture. It is a four-pillar three-apse cross-domed temple. Snow-white, it is located on a high basement. Elements of the Pskov architecture appear in the decoration of the drum heads - the runner and the curb are lined with bricks. On apses there is arkaturny belt, similar to the belt of the Assumption Church. So the Pskov masters united two shrines into a single ensemble.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Verkhospassky Cathedral in Moscow
The Verkhospassky Cathedral in the Kremlin is a temple of a complex structure that unites house churches of members of the royal family built at different times: the Church of Catherine (1627), the Resurrection of the Word (1654), the Crucifixion (Krestovozdvizhenskaya) Church (1681), the Church of the Savior the Apparitions (1635—1636) - actually Verkhospassky Cathedral, which gave the everyday name of the entire temple complex.
In the 1680s, a common roof was erected over all these churches with 11 minor chapters. During the construction of the Grand Kremlin Palace Verkhospassky temple complex entered into it entirely. During the restoration in Soviet times, some of its parts found a form close to the original. Despite numerous restructuring, unique details of the interior of the temples of the Verkhospassky complex are preserved: a hammered copper iconostasis with icons on silk and a large carved crucifix (the largest coinciding with the Cross in Jerusalem) in the Crucifixion church, carved gilded choirs and an iconostasis of the XVII century in the Church of the Resurrection of the Thing, iconostasis of the Church of the Savior, not made by hands.
Currently, the Verkhospassky Cathedral is not operational, it is part of the presidential residence, and access is denied.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Cathedral of the Twelve Apostles in Moscow
The Church of the Twelve Apostles in the Moscow Kremlin was built on the site of the church of St. Zosima and Savvatiy of Solovki, built in 1566-68. The church had a side chapel named after Apostol Philip and was in the territory of the metropolitan (since 1589 - Patriarchal) court.
In 1652, the Metropolitan Nikon of Novgorod was erected on the Patriarchal throne, and in the Moscow Kremlin the arrangement of the new Patriarch's Court began, the territory of which increased significantly. Old buildings of the courtyard, including the church of st. Zosima and Savvatiy of Solovki, dismantled and in their place by the order of Patriarch Nikon, Russian masters Antip Konstantinov and Bazhen Ogurtsov ordered new three-storey stone chambers and a house church, which was consecrated in honor of Ap. Philip. A new church porch and an entrance hall leading to the Patriarchal Chambers were built at the site of the dismantled church. The passage to the front courtyard of the patriarch was arranged in the basement of the Filippovsky church.
The new temple was a four-column cross-domed building on the basement, built on the models of Vladimir-Suzdal churches. In the design of the drums of the five heads, a columnar arcature is introduced. The same motif is present on the facades, where two tiers of the column-type belt unite the building of the temple with the adjacent chambers and serve as frames for window openings.
In 1917, the Temple of the Twelve Apostles and the Church ap. Philip suffered greatly during the shelling of the Kremlin. In 1918, the temples were closed. Since the 20s of the twentieth century restoration of buildings was carried out.
From the complex of the Patriarch's Court to our time the Church of the Twelve Apostles, the corps of residential chambers with the church ap. Philip and the Chamber of Commerce are preserved. The carved wooden iconostasis of the end of the 17th century, located in the temple, was moved in 1929 from the destroyed cathedral of the Ascension Monastery. From the upper temple of an. Philip (listed as a chapel of the Church of the Twelve Apostles), only the altar remained.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Kazan Cathedral on Red Square in Moscow
The Kazan Cathedral on Red Square is a functioning Orthodox church built to commemorate the liberation of Moscow from the Polish invaders by the Russian army under the leadership of Dmitry Pozharsky and Kuzma Minin. The history of the Kazan Cathedral is tragic and, at the same time, happy: it was destroyed to the ground, and then revived, like a phoenix from ash.
The church was consecrated in the name of the Kazan Mother of God, with the icon of which in 1612, the Russian militia under the leadership of Kuzma Minin and Prince Dmitry Pozharsky set off on a liberation march on Moscow occupied by Polish interventionists. In gratitude for the help and intercession of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in 1625, the prince at his own expense built a wooden cathedral in the name of this shrine. In 1636, a stone cathedral was erected on the site of the burnt down church, which became one of the main churches in Moscow.
Under Soviet rule, under the leadership of architect Peter Baranovsky, the Kazan Cathedral was restored, but soon, by order of the authorities, it was closed, a canteen and then a warehouse was placed in the building of the church. In 1936, in the year of its 300th anniversary, the Kazan Cathedral was razed to the ground. In its place, they first built a temporary pavilion of the Third International with a fountain, then a summer cafe, and, on the site of the altar, there was a public toilet.
The Kazan Cathedral on Red Square is the first restored church in Moscow from the shrines destroyed during the Soviet rule. There is a particularly revered icon of the Kazan Mother of God with a reliquary. Previously, there was also a list of the miraculous icon, which in 1930 was transferred to the Epiphany Cathedral in Moscow.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Ivan the Great Bell Tower in Moscow
In 1992, after a 74-year hiatus, the bell rang again from the height of the Ivan the Great Bell Tower (also known as “Ivan the Great”). Easter evangelism was spread in the cool spring air, as if there had been no long years of silence. The awakened multi-toned bells, as if at once, poured out all the accumulated energy, people forgot about the eternal Moscow rush, stopped on the run and listened to the sounds, driving out the sadness and bustle.
Bell-ringing is an obligatory accompaniment of Orthodox worship. According to the canons of Russian architecture, the church was built “like others under the bells,” that is, as a whole with the belfry. But “Ivan the Great” stands separately, although the Assumption Church and the Filaret annex were later erected next to it. The erection of these Campanillus towers is a purely Italian tradition, introduced into the ensemble of the Moscow Kremlin by overseas architects. The author of the project and the builder was a pawnbroker Bon Fryazin, who had previously worked hard in Venice. Later, the Assumption belfry was erected near to the Great Ivan to place the huge Blagovest bell weighing 65 tons.
Address: Kremlin, Cathedral Square
Church of the Deposition of the Robe in Moscow
In antiquity, the area of the Kaluga outpost and Vorobyov Field often became the scene of fighting for the defenders of the Russian capital with uninvited “guests” who tried to seize the First Throned. In 1591, the camp of the Russian army, opposing the hordes of the Crimean Khan Kazy-Girey, was located here. In 1612, Polish Hetman Khotkevich’s troops, defeated by Minin and Pozharsky’s militia, retreated from Moscow in this direction in Zamoskvorechye.
But the walls of the Rizopolozhensky temple remember one enemy invasion - Napoleon. Then the area behind the Kaluga Gate, like many other suburbs of Moscow, almost did not suffer from the fire. Of the forty-six courtyards listed in the parish of the Deposition of the Church, only seven burned. But the temple itself was desecrated by the enemy. However, its interior decoration and shrines, most likely sheltered from enemies, remained unharmed. After the French left Moscow in the Ekaterininsky chapel of the Rizopolozhensky church on December 22, 1812, services were resumed.
For the first time the church is known as wooden from 1690. The existing stone building of the temple was built in 1701-1716 in the style of Moscow Baroque. The history of this construction is not quite common. It began with the construction of the side chapel in the name of St. Catherine the Great Martyr. It was laid down on October 7, 1701 and at the completion of the work was consecrated on August 18, 1705. The construction of the main volume of the temple in honor of the Deposition of the Lord’s Robe stretched out for several more years and was completed in 1716. This is explained by the fact that the temple was built in difficult times for Russia. There was a Northern war for access to the Baltic Sea, for the return of the ancestral Russian lands captured by Sweden.
Address: St. Donskaya, 20
Pokrovsky Stavropegic Convent in Moscow
The monastery was founded as a male in 1635 by Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich in memory of his parent, Patriarch Philaret, who died on the feast of the Protection of the Virgin Mary. Earlier, at the place where the monastery was built, there was a cemetery of homeless people and wanderers; therefore, in the first centuries of its existence, the monastery was also called the Bozhedomsky monastery or the monastery on the Sick Houses. The monastery was completed during the reign of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich at the expense of funds received through the lease of land properties, which is also called “room” in the common people.
In 1655 a stone monastery cathedral of the Protection of the Virgin was erected, rebuilt in 1806-1814. In the 18th century, the Church of the Resurrection of the Word and a 30-meter three-tiered bell tower were erected.
At the end of the XIX century, approximately from 1870, the monastery was transformed into the Pokrovsky missionary monastery. A missionary institute was established in it to train monastics who wish to go on educational missions.
The monastery was closed in 1920, the temples - in 1926. In 1994, the Pokrovsky Monastery was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. In 1994, the Holy Synod decided to renew the Pokrovsky Monastery as a monastic women’s monastery. On May 2, 1998, the relics of the blessed old Matrona were solemnly transferred to the Pokrovsky Monastery and laid to rest in reliquary.
Address: st. Taganskaya 58
Andronikov Monastery and Spassky Cathedral in Moscow
One of the most ancient Moscow monasteries that have survived to our day is Spaso-Andronikov Monastery on the Yauza River. Having existed for more than six and a half centuries, it saw many historical events and keeps many secrets.
Today there is a museum in the monastery walls, and church services are held in the Savior Cathedral. If we talk about the secret, it is still unknown the authentic burial place of icon painter Andrei Rublev. Scientists have yet to figure it out. Presumably, it was located either at the walls of the Savior Cathedral, or at the site of the destroyed bell tower or necropolis.
The appearance of the Spaso-Andronikov Monastery is inextricably linked with the name of the Moscow Metropolitan Alexy. The story that has reached our days tells of an episode that played an important role in the foundation of the monastery. On the way from Constantinople, the ship on which the sovereign resided got into a strong storm, Saint Alexy prayed tirelessly and made a vow to build a church in honor of the saint, revered by the church on the day when the ship reached land in a safe manner.
The metropolitan did not hesitate to fulfill his vow, and in 1360 a monastery was founded, his disciple Sergey Radonezhsky named Andronicus became his superior. For the foundation of the monastery, the steep bank of Yauza was chosen at the confluence of the Golden Horn creek, a place where important routes to the Golden Horde and Constantinople passed. This strategic position played an important role of the monastery in the historical and military events of Russia.
Address: Andronevskaya square, 10
Virgin-Nativity Monastery in Moscow
The Virgin-Nativity monastery in Moscow was founded in the 1380s by Princess Maria Andreevna, the wife of Prince Andrei Serpukhov and the mother of Prince Vladimir the Brave, the hero of the Battle of Kulikovo. She herself took the veil in this monastery before dying in 1389. At least this version is widespread among historians. But with the place of the foundation of the monastery is still not all clear. It is believed that at first the monastery was located on the territory of the Kremlin and was called “what is in the Moat”. If you adhere to this assumption, the monastery existed in the Kremlin until 1484, and during the cardinal restructuring of the Kremlin, started by Ivan III, the monastery was moved to Trubnaya Square, where it is located in our time. But this assumption is considered unlikely.
Most likely the Monastery was situated in its present place - on the left bank of the Neglinnaya River from the very beginning. This area was the property of Prince Vladimir Andreyevich of Serpukhov, next was his country house in which Princess Maria Alekseevna lived. According to a legend that has come down to us, the remains of Dmitry Donskoy's daughters-in-law, Mary and Helen, reposed in the Nativity Cathedral - this suggests that the monastery existed long before 1484.
In addition to Princess Maria, Elena Olgerdovna, the wife of Prince Vladimir, who helped in the arrangement of the monastery, took the veil in Rozhdestvensky monastery. After her death, both founders of the monastery were buried on the territory of the monastery. The first nuns of this monastery were the widows of warriors who fell in the Kulikovo battle, everyone who left the battle without breadwinners shelter in the monastery. Legend has it that in memory of the victory in the battle of Kulikovo, monastic crosses were placed on top of the crescents.
Address: st. Rozhdestvenka, 12
Vysokopetrovsky monastery in Moscow
It is no great exaggeration to say that the Vysoko-Petrovsky Monastery is a place where the secret of how Moscow turned into the great capital of Russia from a small city in which there were no stone temples at all is “buried”.
It all started about 700 years ago, when Prince Yury Danilovich, fighting for the Great Reign, left for two years on state affairs, leaving the city to rule to his brother John. The young Prince John, the son of Daniel of Moscow and the grandson of Alexander Nevsky, was a God-fearing man and wanted to always have the opportunity to seek spiritual advice from a wise saint. Therefore, he invited the Russian Metropolitan Peter from Vladimir to visit Moscow.
The acquaintance of the young prince and the holy elder became fateful for the Russian land. They became friends, and the saint decided to stay in uncrowded Moscow. He was inclined to solitude and asked for permission to build a monastery on the high bank of the Neglinnaya River, near to the village Vysokoye. The chronicles did not keep the exact date, but historians have good reason to assume that this happened in the years 1315-1317. The monastery was named after its heavenly patron.
Metropolitan bequeathed to bury himself in the Kremlin, in the Assumption Cathedral. Gradually, more and more threads of the church, spiritual, and behind them, and the public life were drawn to this holy relics, to Moscow. All Orthodox Russia turned its face and thoughts to the grace of God reigning in the temple at the place of burial of the saint. Gradually, little Moscow became a huge unifying city of fragmented Russian lands.
Address: st. Petrovka, 28
Don Stavropegic Monastery in Moscow
Founded in 1593, it is located near the old Kaluga road in the south-west direction from the central part of Moscow. The monastery received its name in honor of the Don Icon of the Mother of God, which miraculously saved Moscow from the army of Khan Kaza-Giray. Thanks to the intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos, the enemy hordes were driven out of the city walls, and the Crimean Tatars never again attacked Moscow.
The monastery is based on the very place where the army was waiting for a battle with the Tatar hordes and where there was a small walking church with the Don image of the Most Holy Theotokos. Some time later, the Cathedral of the Don Icon of the Mother of God was built here, now called the Small Cathedral, after which the monastery later received its name. Thus, between the Danilov and Novodevichy monasteries, the Don monastery gradually emerged - a new monastic fortress, which completed the formation of the Moscow defensive ring.
By the beginning of the XIX century, the Donskoy Monastery became the most privileged and richest abode of Russia, which had a great influence on the spiritual and political life of the country as a whole. From 1799 until the end of 1827, the Spiritual and Censorship Committee was located in the Donskoy Monastery, which was then moved to the Trinity-Sergius Lavra. In 1834, a religious school was located on the territory of the monastery, and since the beginning of 1909, there was also a school for the training of novices.
Since the 17th century, the monastery has become a widely known resting place for the most famous people of our time. In particular, among the early tombstones of the necropolis were found the burials of the Georgian kings David (1688), Alexander and Matthew (1711). The monastery became the last abode for the philosopher P. Chaadaev, the poets M. Kheraskov and A. Sumarokov. Here the writer V. Odoyevsky, the historian V. Klyuchevsky and the architect O. Bove found rest in peace.
In the 1930s, the grave of artist V.Perov was transferred from the Danilovsky cemetery to the Don necropolis, in 2000 the remains of the writer I. Shmelev were reburied here, and in 2005, of the philosopher I.A. I. Denikin. One of the last burials happened in August of 2008 - the famous Russian writer A. Solzhenitsyn was buried on the territory of the ancient necropolis of the Donskoy monastery.
Address: Donskaya Square, 1-3
Zaikonospassky Monastery (Cathedral of the Savior in the Hands of God) in Moscow
Spassky Cathedral was built in 1660 at the behest of the sovereign Alexei Mikhailovich by the prince F.F. Volkonsky. It was consecrated in 1661 on November 20. The presently existing cathedral arose from this building. The exact date of its construction is unknown (presumably dated 1711-1720; the bypass gallery on the columns - the second quarter of the XVIII century). Belongs to the monuments of the I.P. Zarudny circle (in detail there is a similarity with such structures as the Menshikov Tower and the Church of John the Warrior on Yakimanka). This is a longline temple in the plan of the octagon type on the quadrangular, in the decoration of which the main role is played by elements of the classic pilaster warrant.
In 1737 the church was badly damaged by fire, but it was restored under Elizabeth Petrovna and consecrated in 1742. In 1812, the whole complex of the monastery was badly damaged during the invasion and outrages of the French army. The temple was renewed in 1851.
Upstairs a side temple in honor of the icon of the Mother of God of All Who Sorrow joy was located. This church is simultaneously the main one. Its walls are richly painted inside with images of the events of the Old and New Testaments, behind the left choir is the church chair in the form of a "pillar", the icons are richly decorated. The entrance to the lower cathedral church in honor of the All-Merciful Savior comes from the side of the monastery courtyard. The first impression at the entrance to the temple is its unusual gloom, the almost complete absence of daylight due to the fact that this low temple is surrounded on three sides by high two-storeyed and three-storyed monastic buildings. The temple is supported by four stone pillars.
In 1920 the temple became the center of the renovationist "Union of Church Renaissance", and in 1929 it was closed. The building of the temple housed various government agencies. In the 1960s the building of the closed cathedral was restored. The upper tier was rebuilt - lucarnes are made in the roof, a decorative fence is set on the 3rd and 4th tier, and so on. Instead of the cross there is a gold-plated pin.
The church was returned to the Church in 1992. Services were resumed in July 1992. The church has the status of a patriarchal monastery. On March 5, 2010, the Holy Synod decided to open the Zaikonospassky stavropigialny monastery of Moscow, isolating it from the Patriarchal monastery of the former Zaikonospassky and Nikolsky monasteries in China-town of Moscow.
Address: st. Nikolskaya, 7/9
Zachatievsky monastery in Moscow
Zachatievsky Convent in Moscow was founded in 1584 with the assistance of Tsar Fyodor Ivanovich. In 1547, the Alekseevsky Monastery existed at the same place, but when another convent was destroyed almost to its foundations (only the Church of the Conception of St. Anne survived) it was decided to move it closer to the Kremlin. In the old place a small community remained, which, several decades later became the basis of a new monastery, named after the surviving church.
10 years after the October Revolution, in 1927, Zachatievsky Monastery in Moscow was closed. In the 30s of the 20th century, the Church of the Mother of God, the Burning Bush, was demolished along with the bell tower. In their place a typical school building was built. The Temple of the Descent of the Holy Spirit was rebuilt beyond recognition, and part of the monastery walls was destroyed. In the 1960s, attitudes toward historical religious monuments changed slightly, and the external restoration of the gate church was carried out. It is a prime example of the architectural style ″Moscow Baroque″.
In the early 90s, the revival of the Zachatievsky monastery began. In 1993, services were again held here, and in 1995, by the Decree of the Holy Synod, it was given the status of a Stavropegial Convent.
Address: 2nd Zachatievsky lane., 2
John the Baptist Monastery (Ivanovsky) in Moscow
The John the Baptist Monastery, built in the name of a preacher of repentance, who announced the appearance of Christ the Savior in the world, is located in the very center of Moscow, close to the Kremlin. The abode is located in a part of Moscow called the White City; it gave the name of the area itself - "Ivanovskaya mountain". The monastery is considered one of the oldest in Moscow. The St. John the Baptist Monastery was originally a male monastery and existed from the beginning of the 15th century on the other side of the Moscow River - in the Zamoskvorechye, in the area of modern Pyatnitskaya Street.
The first news about the Moscow Ivanovsky Monastery is contained in the annals under the year 1415 when describing the miracle that accompanied the birth of Grand Duke Vasily II the Dark. In the 1530s, after the birth of Vasily III, the long-awaited heir, the future Tsar Ivan Vasilyevich, was transferred to Kulishki. Here at the new place, while maintaining the old dedication, the monastery became female.
On Kulishki, at its present location, the monastery already existed at the beginning of the 16th century. The antiquity of the monastery confirms the architecture of its cathedral church, which existed before its dismantling in 1859. It was a single-domed temple, with three apses strongly advanced to the east; in his architecture there were three vestibules, giving its plan a cruciform shape. The cathedral of the Ivanovsky monastery was built by one of the Italian masters who worked in Moscow in the 1510–1530s.
Address: per. Maly Ivanovsky, 2
Novodevichy Convent in Moscow
The history of the Novodevichy Monastery began when the Grand Duke of Moscow Vasily III made a promise that he would build a monastery in honor of the icon of Our Lady of Smolensk, if he conquers Smolensk lands from Lithuanians. In 1514 Smolensk became part of the Moscow principality, and ten years later, in 1524, on the orders of Vasily III, the construction of the monastery began.
The nuns of the monastery were mostly women of noble birth. Under Ivan the Terrible, many ladies of the courtyard, who fell into disfavor, were exiled to the monastery. At the end of the XVI century in the monastery Boris Godunov was elected as tsar. At the same time, the monastery was completely burned by the Crimean Khan Devlet Giray. Driven by the idea to make an outpost on the western approaches to Moscow from the monastery, the new king completely renovated the monastery - he built new fortified walls with battlements and towers. The monastery is preserved to this day in such appearance.
In Soviet times, the Novodevichy Convent suffered the fate of many holy places - it was closed. For many years there was a branch of the Historical Museum. After the Great Patriotic War, for some time, a seminary was located here, and only in 1994 the monastery became operational again. In 2010, the monastery became part of the Moscow Diocese, from the same year there is a church museum.
Address: Ave. Novodevichy, 1
Novospassky Monastery in Moscow
The predecessor of the Novospassky Monastery in Moscow, the Monastery of the Savior on Bor was founded in the 13th century by Prince Daniel. In 1330, Ivan Kalita transferred the monastery to the territory of the Kremlin, but when in the 15th century the number of buildings in the Kremlin increased significantly, it became necessary to transfer the monastery to another place. It was then, in 1490, that Prince Ivan III moved the monastery to Krutitsky Hill over the Moskva River, where this monastery is located now. Now the monastery has received the name of the New Savior, or Novospassky.
The Novospassky monastery was located on the southern border of Moscow and, like many Moscow monasteries, also had a defensive function, it was the watch monastery. During the reign of Ivan the Terrible, the monastery was surrounded by a wooden wall, and under Mikhail Fedorovich Romanov in the middle of the 17th century, stone walls with towers and battlements were built instead of wooden ones.
In the Novospassky monastery there is a monument to Grand Duke Sergei Alexandrovich Romanov, who was killed in 1905. Initially, a monument in the form of a cross was erected at the site of the death of the governor-general of Moscow when leaving the Kremlin. In Soviet times, the monument was destroyed. During the restoration works that were carried out on the territory of the Novospassky monastery in 1986, the surviving tomb of Sergei Romanov was discovered, where the monument was restored by the designs of V.M. Vasnetsov.
Address: Peasant Square, 10
Marfo-Mariinsky Convent in Moscow
The large snow-white cathedral is visible through a wide arch with a wooden gate in the same snow-white wall and resembles a medieval fortress. We seem to be transported to the north, to Pskov and Novgorod. In fact, the age of the temple is not as great as it seems, but the best masters of their era worked on its creation. It would not exist without the will of the sister of the last Russian empress.
After the murder in 1905 of the Governor-General of Moscow, Grand Duke Sergei Alexandrovich, his widow, Grand Duchess Elizaveta Fedorovna, sold some of her jewels. With the funds received, she acquired an extensive merchant estate on Bolshaya Ordynka with four houses and a large garden. On this basis, the Grand Duchess began to create the Marfo-Mariinsky cloister of mercy. She chose a form of service close to monastic life, but in many ways different from it. Thus, the sisters of the monastery took a number of vows, but they did not take the veil, they could eventually leave the monastery and have a family. First of all, members of the community were supposed to conduct charitable activities, not only within the walls of the monastery, but also outside it. The sisters could be seen in the most criminal corners of Moscow, including the famous Khitrovka - everywhere they provided medical and spiritual assistance, bypassed shelters, and sometimes accompanied homeless children to orphanages. At the official opening of the monastery in 1909 there were only six sisters, but over time their number increased to thirty.
After the revolution and the murder in 1918 of the Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna in Alapayevsk, the Marfo-Mariinsky Convent did not last long. In the 1920s, the Pokrovsky Cathedral housed a house of health education, which was replaced by restoration workshops. In the hospital building with the church of Saints Martha and Mary there was an ambulatory named after Professor F.А. Rein.
The revival of the monastery began in 1990 with the opening of the monument to Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna by V.M. Klykov in the courtyard of the monastery. The complete transfer of the entire complex to the new community took place long enough; the services were not resumed immediately. However, today the abode lives a new life and follows the course that was set in the pre-revolutionary era.
Address: st. Bolshaya Ordynka, 34
St. Danilov Monastery in Moscow
The Holy Danilov Monastery was built at the end of the 13th century at the personal expense of the faithful Prince Daniel of Moscow, where the relics of the saint are located. Daniel is also the son of the patriot of Russia, glorified by the Russian Orthodox Church, descended from a princely family, Alexander Nevsky, who beat the Swedes and Teutons, defending the borders of Russia.
During the life of the holy Prince Daniel of Moscow was a meek, humble and peace-loving ruler. Only once in his life did he take part in hostilities, when he reflected the attack of the Tatar troops on his possessions. For a short but fruitful life, he made the maximum possible for the unification of the Russian lands around the Moscow principality.
Prince Daniel, before a righteous assumption, became a monk and was buried in the St. Daniel Monastery. This Orthodox monastery is dedicated to the Heavenly patron of the founder of the monastery, Rev. Daniel the Stylite. In 1652 there was the acquisition of the holy relics of Daniel of Moscow, which were placed in a shrine in the church in the name of the holy Fathers of the Seven Ecumenical Councils, where they are to this day.
In 1930, the Soviet government finally closed the St. Daniel's Monastery and on its territory organized a colony for juvenile delinquents. And only half a century later, shortly before his own death, the General Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee, L.I. Brezhnev signed a decree on the return of the Orthodox monastery in the bosom of the Russian Orthodox Church.
Today, the St. Daniel Monastery is one of the main spiritual centers of Russia. At the monastery there is a Sunday school, the Orthodox publishing house Danilovsky Evangelist, catechetical courses for adults, an excursion service, church workshops, two monastic courtyards in the Ryazan Region and in the Moscow Region.
Address: st. Danilovsky Val, 22
St. Nikolsky Ugreshsky Stavropegic Monastery in Moscow
The Nikolo-Ugreshsky Monastery was founded in 1380 by the Holy Blessed Grand Duke Dimitri Ivanovich Donskoy. The written evidence of the founding of the monastery was not preserved, but the legend, by who and when recorded, pointed to Prince Dimitri as the founder of the Ugreshsky monastery and was kept in the monastery for a long time. It was set forth in a report sent by Abbot Varnaba to the Spiritual Consistory in August 1871 in response to the decree to provide data on the history of the monastery: “Fifteen miles with his army, he set up tents in a place overgrown with thick grasses for recreation. And on this place the eminent image of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker appeared to him, decorated with paints, surrounded by stars and gleaming with bright light, standing by itself in the air above a tree called pine, growing here, not supported by anyone. The Grand Duke Dmitry Ivanovich, who was praying to him, went down from the height of this holy icon and was given into his honest hands.
Upon the return of the faithful prince from the battle with a glorious victory, he again reached the place where the image miraculously condescended to him in honest hands, and about the victory granted to him, thanking God, and God’s Baptist Nicholas, prayed with his army. And at that time the great Prince Dmitry Ivanovich himself, with his pious princes and boyars, called this place Ugresha, which it is called to this day, and ordered to build a temple in this name and in honor of the holy saint Nicholas the Wonderworker and erected the glorious monastery here and satisfied it generously with all the necessities for food”.
The Nikolo-Ugresh Monastery experienced many disasters: Nogais, Crimeans, Lithuanians repeatedly devastated the monastery, but it was revived again. In 1920 the monastery was closed. In 1990, monastic life in the Nikolo-Ugreshskaya monastery was restored. In 1998, the Theological Seminary was opened.
Address: Dzerzhinsky, St Nikolay square, 1
Sretensky Monastery in Moscow
The monastery was founded in 1395 and is named in honor of the holiday of the Candlemasof the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God established in Moscow, in a grateful memory of the miraculous deliverance of the capital and Russia from the troops of Khan Tamerlane 26 Aug / 8 sept. The monastery is based on Kuchkovy field, where the miraculous image was greeted by Moscow residents.
Throughout its history, the Sretensky Monastery continued to be the center of Moscow religious processions, during times of social upheaval the monastery remained in the center of events: both during the Khans' raids on Russia, and during the civil disorder of 1611-13, and in the Patriotic War of 1812.
In 1917, the monks began to be evicted from the monastery and there was the seizure of monastic cells. In 1926 the monastery was converted to the parish. Since 1928 the destruction of monastic buildings began.
In 1994, the parish housed the courtyard of the Holy Dormition Pskovo-Pechersky Monastery. The monastic life began to re-establish. Sretensky Monastery received the status of Stavropegic. In the autumn of 1999, classes began at the Sretensky Higher Orthodox School, which, by decision of the Holy Synod in 2000, was transformed into the higher educational institution Sretensky Theological Seminary.
Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul in Moscow
The Cathedral of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul is the current church, the oldest Lutheran parish in Russia. The construction of the shrine was made possible thanks to the vigorous actions of the Russian Lutheran community, on whose funds the estate of Princes Lopukhins was bought, and with the financial support of the Russian Emperor Alexander I and the Prussian King Frederick, was rebuilt accordingly.
The building of the cathedral was consecrated in 1819, and the sounds of the traditional Lutheran organ sounded for the first time in it even after about twenty years. Toward the middle of the 19th century, in connection with the expansion of the Lutheran Moscow community, the structure of the church was reconstructed according to a project that was authored by one of the founders of the Moscow Architectural Society, Alexander Adolfovich Meinghard. The building received the features traditional to the neo-gothic architectural style. The bell for the tower of the cathedral was personally presented by Kaiser Wilhelm I.
Address: Starosadsky Lane, 7/10
Temple of the Martyr Clement in Moscow
The temple of the martyr Clement, the Pope of Rome, is located in the historical center of Moscow on Pyatnitskaya Street. Its majestic building with blue domes is visible from afar.
This is one of the most famous temples of Moscow and a unique example of baroque church architecture (from Italian la perla barocco - “a pearl of an unusual form”). The temple has iconostases uncharacteristic for Orthodox churches, and its central carved wooden gilded iconostasis with sculptures has no equal in Moscow.
If you look at the temple of St. Clement from the side, the first two tiers resemble a baroque palace. The total area of the temple is almost one and a half thousand square meters. The church consists of a temple hall with five aisles, a refectory with two aisles and a bell tower. This is a monument of architecture of federal significance included in the excursion and pilgrimage route of the Golden Ring.
St. Clement (II century AD) was the “apostle of the 70s,” the fourth Bishop of Rome (Pope). In his time, there was no separation of Christian churches into Orthodox and Catholic. According to legend, Clement was ordained bishop of Rome by the Apostle Peter himself. Clement was persecuted by the Roman Emperor Trajan, sent into exile in the Crimean quarries. However, there he did not stop his sermons, organizing services and baptism of the pagans. For this, he was drowned by the Romans in 103. Later, his incorruptible relics were found by his disciples at the bottom of the retreating sea.
Address: st. Pyatnitskaya, 26, p. 1
Anglican Cathedral of the Apostle St. Andrew in Moscow
Since 1884, when the last brick in the church building was laid, the cathedral became the center of life for adherents of religious Anglican culture. In order to look at the only church of this kind, the Queen of England visited Moscow.
A medieval atmosphere reigns in the church: light streams through the stained-glass windows of the pointed windows, the walls are decorated with small bas-reliefs, and parishioners are on the floor of the boards. A new three-manual electronic digital organ of the brand Viscount is installed under the ceiling of century-old oak beams, on which spiritual and classical works are played.
Mainly concerts are presented in the poster of the Anglican Cathedral of St. Andrew, which perform music from operas and operettas, Latin American compositions and masterpieces of Antonio Vivaldi, Johann Bach, Georg Handel. In addition to the keyboard-wind instrument, a saxophone and a harp sound on the performances.
Address: Voznesensky Lane, 8
Temple of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Kolomenskoye in Moscow
The church was built in 1640-1651 under Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich in memory of the liberation of Moscow from the Poles (consecrated under Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich in 1666).
Previously, it was part of the Gosudarev court, was connected by wooden passages to the choir of the princesses and was considered a home church. However, despite the intimate nature of its purpose, the Kazan Church is a significant building.
The building is three-storyed, seven-domed, stands on a high basement, has an impressive staircase with a tent porch from the south, and on the north side a tall, slim, tent bell tower adjoins the church, connected to the church by a beautiful staircase on a creeping arch.
Address: Andropova pr-t, d. 39, b. 9
Church of the Ascension in Moscow
The Church of the Ascension in Kolomenskoye is an Orthodox church located in Kolomenskoye, which was previously the village and residence of the Russian princes, and today is part of the city limits of Moscow.
The Church of the Ascension in Kolomenskoye is a masterpiece of Russian and world architecture, possibly the first hipped church in Russia.
According to legend, this church was decided to build by the Grand Duke of Moscow Vasily III, who for a long time did not have a son to whom the throne could be handed over. Already in adulthood, Vasily III became the father of the future Russian Tsar Ivan IV the Terrible. In honor of the baptism of the long-awaited heir, the Grand Duke ordered to build a church in the village of Kolomenskoye near to Moscow.
Address: Moscow, Andropov Ave., 39
Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord in Peredelkino in Moscow
The present temple was built in 1815-1819 at the request of V.P. Razumovsky. The Empire style building was partially renovated by Bode-Kolychev with the introduction of artistic forms of Russian architecture of the XVI-XVII centuries. Thrones: the main is the Savior Transfiguration, the chapels - St. Philip, Met. Moskovsky, vmts. Barbarians, App. Peter and Paul.
In 1884, the northern three-headed chapel joined the church in the name of Metropolitan Philip with a porch-gallery. In the interior of the church, a promising keel-shaped portal of the western entrance, an iconostasis in the right side-altar and the “royal gates” of the 17th century remained from the activity of Bode-Kolychev in the new main iconostasis. In the late 1870s it was rebuilt in the Russian style. The rest of the decoration, choruses and wall paintings of the false Russian style were in 1950s. Shrines: especially honored icons of the Mother of God Iverskaya and Kazan.
It was closed by the end of the 1930s, reopened in 1949. Since 1952, the Kolychev estate has been given to the suburban residence of the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia.
Address: Laazienki street 7, d. 42, 9
The temple-museum of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy in Moscow
The Church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy is a unique temple-museum located in Zamoskvorechye. Here the great shrine of Russia, the icon of Our Lady "Vladimirskaya", is kept.
The church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy was built at the beginning of the 17th century. The first written mention dates back to 1625. The church was restored after the fires of 1812, was constantly in operation until Soviet times and was closed in 1929. Until the 90s, the premises of the rebuilt church were occupied by the services of the Tretyakov Gallery. Divine services in the church of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy were resumed only in 1993.
Today, the temple has the status of a home church at the State Tretyakov Gallery. All the necessary conditions have been created here for the storage of unique shrines that are the spiritual and cultural heritage of our people.
Once a year on the feast of the Holy Trinity from the halls of the Tretyakov Gallery in the temple the icon of Andrei Rublev "Trinity"is brought. The interior of the temple contains more than 150 items from the collection of the Tretyakov Gallery.
In the temple-museum, in the specially equipped icon case, the greatest shrine and the world-famous work of art, the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, is kept. Its stay in the temple of St. Nicholas in Tolmachy allows you to organically combine the religious and artistic nature of this monument. Also here are especially revered shrines: the icons of the Mother of God "Iverskaya" and "Soothe my sorrows", Dmitrovsky cross and reliquary.
Address: Small Tolmachevsky lane, 9
Church of All Saints in Vsekhsvyatskoye on Sokol in Moscow
The monastery in the name of the Saints fathers of the seven Ecumenical Council at the old Tver road is known since 1398. In the XV century the village of the Holy Fathers appeared nearby. In the XVII century it was abolished, and the church became a parish, the lands were ceded to the Kremlin Archangel Cathedral and were in its possession for about a hundred years. From the second half of the 17th century, the village of Vsekhsvyatskoye passed into the possession of Prince Ivan Mikhailovich Miloslavsky, cousin of Tsaritsa Maria Ilyinichna. The construction in 1683 of a small stone church of a hip type in the name of All Saints, which stood until 1733, is associated with his name.
In 1812 the temple was ravaged by Napoleon's army, but was soon restored. In 1886 (archit. AP Popov) and 1902-1905 (arch. I. Blagoveshchensky) temple was expanded. In the years 1902-1903 houses of the parish and parish school were built. In 1903, Metropolitan Vladimir (Epiphany) consecrated the chapel in honor of the icon of the Mother of God "Joy of All Who Sorrow"; in 1905 the throne was consecrated in the reconstructed chapel of Simeon and Anna. In the temple there are the graves of Georgian princes Tsitsianovs and Bagrations that possessed the village Vsekhsvyatskoye in the XVIII-XIX centuries.
In 1939 the church was closed, and the five-tier iconostasis of the XVIII century was broken down and burned in front of the temple "for edification". In 1945 local residents secured the opening of the church, and the consecration was performed by Metropolitan Nikolai (Yarushevich). In 1960-80 extensive ancient churchyard with tombstones of the XVIII — XIX centuries was destroyed by the authorities. In the 1990s symbolic tombstones-crosses in memory of the victims of the red terror of 1918 were placed on the remains of the churchyard; the holy remains of Archpriest John Vostorgov and Bishop Efrem (Kuznetsov) were also buried here.
Address: Leningradsky pr., 73A
Church of Simeon the Stylite on Povarskaya in Moscow
The church is unique in all respects: the parish church of a number of Russian writers, the wedding venue of many famous historical figures, it was miraculously preserved when the New Arbat was laid.
The first mention of the church dates back to 1625, but it is assumed that it was originated at the end of the XVI century. Most likely, its dedication was due to the fact that the Boris Godunov’s tsar crown in 1598 fell on the day of St. Simeon the Stylite. In memory of this, two Simeon churches appeared in Moscow - one behind Yauza, and the other in Povarskaya Sloboda. The wooden building burned down during the Smuta, but was soon rebuilt. The stone church was built at the expense of the treasury by decree of Tsar Fedor Alekseevich in 1676–1679.
The structure of the church is made traditionally: the tent bell tower from the west is adjacent to a wide refectory with two single-sided chapels, and from the east there is a quadrangle with three altar apses. The main part of the temple is crowned with five domes resting on a hill of kokoshniks. Attention is drawn to the eaves: it is made of bricks set at an angle to each other. In the southern and northern walls of the church, several white-stone gravestone tables of the 17th – 18th centuries are preserved - a reminder of the parish cemetery that existed here.
In 1938, the church of St. Simeon the Stylite was closed and appointed for demolition. These plans were not realized, but the building was badly damaged, having lost its heads and hipped completion of the bell tower. Inside is a carpentry workshop. During construction in 1961–1964 of the New Arbat, the church was almost nearly demolished again, but as a result of the intervention of cultural figures, on the contrary, they even began restoration work. By 1966, the Church of Simeon had acquired its historical appearance, but without crosses on its chapters. They were restored only in 1990, when the process of returning the building to the community of believers began.
Address: Povarskaya st. 5, b.1
Church of the Holy Martyr John the Warrior on Bolshaya Yakimanka in Moscow
The most beautiful monument of Russian baroque, the Church of John the Warrior has been decorating the Great Yakimanka for more than three hundred years. The original Russian planning of the building (according to legend, the plan was drawn by Peter I himself) according to the type of “octagon on a square” is combined with an unexpectedly bright facade, a flourishing mosaic of red, green and yellow details. During its history, the temple of John the Warrior never closed, worship continued here, even in the vague 1920-1930 years for the Church. For believers, the temple is also important for the reason that there are many revered shrines here: the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God, the icon and part of the finger with the ring of the Great Martyr Barbara, as well as arks and icons with particles of more than 150 saints.
The name of the architect of the John the Warrior temple has not been preserved in the annals of history. It is assumed that he was Ivan Zarudny, a recognized master of virtuoso mixing the traditions of Russian architecture and European Baroque. Legend has it that the plan of the temple was written by the emperor Peter I himself, however, there is no reliable confirmation of this. Anyway, in 1704 the church was founded, and for parishioners it was opened in 1717th. At the end of the 18th century, the church acquired frescoes and an iconostasis, but to this day they have not survived - the current iconostasis was transported here in the 1920s from the destroyed temple at the Red Gate. The temple of John the Warrior was never closed, and in the 1930s many valuable icons from the destroyed churches were brought here, which explains the current wealth of his collection.
Address: st. Bolshaya Yakimanka, 46
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Listy in Moscow
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Listy is one of the oldest in Moscow. The first mention of the wooden church dates from 1632, the stone was built in the years 1652-1661. Through the temple the path to the Trinity-Sergius Lavra passed. The name of the place “Listy”, according to the most common version, comes from the popular prints - “listy”, which were exhibited by printers for sale near the church fence. The history of the temple is inextricably linked with significant events in the life of Russia, with the strengthening of its state, army and navy.
The temple was built as a regimental Russian warrior - archers who settled near the earthen shaft to guard the gateway to the city. The church has always been under the auspices of the kings of the Romanov dynasty and the patriarchs. By decree of Peter I in 1704, the church adopted the status of the Admiralty Church.
In the years of brutal oppression of the Russian Orthodox Church, the temple shared the fate of many Moscow parishes. In 1931 it was closed. In 1991, the city authorities decided to return the church to believers.
Address: st. Sretenka 27/29
Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin in Petrovsky Park in Moscow
The history of the Church of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos in Petrovsky Park begins 70 years before its appearance, when Catherine II ordered to build a palace near to the village of Petrovskoe-Zykovo in honor of the brilliant victory over the Ottoman Empire. The palace turned out to be magnificent, and a few decades later a beautiful park grew around it, which became first a place for celebrations of the Moscow aristocracy, and then the territory where noble people built summer houses. One of the cottages was owned by chamberlain Anna Naryshkina. The misfortunes that happened to her — the death of her beloved daughter, and then her granddaughters — prompted her to take a vow to build a church.
The construction by the project, compiled by architect F. Richter, began in 1844, three years later the church was consecrated. After the revolution, it was closed, it is assumed that this happened in the 30s; property was looted, the interior decoration was destroyed, and the building was used as a warehouse. In the 1950s and 1960s, the church was subject to even greater destruction - the crosses and heads were removed, the porch and the fence were dismantled.
Restoration began after 1991, when the building was returned to the church. Then the domes were restored, a new bell, a wall painting, new iconostasis appeared, the facades were decorated with mosaics depicting Filaret of Moscow and Patriarch Tikhon. Now the church has a Sunday school, organizations for young people, a library and a museum.
Address: Krasnoarmeyskaya St., 2
Church of the Beheading of John the Baptist under Bor in Moscow
The Church of the Beheading of John the Baptist under Bor was built in the beginning of the 16th century in Chernigovsky lane on the site of the ancient wooden church of the Ivanovo monastery. Now, at the corner of Pyatnitskaya Street and Chernigov Lane, stands the slender bell tower of St. John the Baptist Church, and the church itself is located a little further on the right side of the lane.
Of all the ensemble of the Church of St. John the Baptist, the refectory is the least distinguished. But with its half-gone to the ground windows, it very eloquently testifies to the antiquity of the building. If the refectory is low and squat, then the bell tower, on the contrary, is the architectural dominant of Pyatnitskaya street - the majestic and solemn, it causes admiration.
In 1917, the Church of St. John the Baptist under Bor was closed. According to the memories of M.L. Bogoyavlensky: "The church is now decapitated, the plaster has fallen off in places, the bell tower is painted, and there is no gilding. Inside “Grocery Management. Reitorgotdel Soviet district” is placed, it was in 1969, and in 1970 began the restoration of the building.
In 1979, the church was again crowned with a head and a cross, and in 1982, the external restoration of the church was finally completed. At the same time, the church fence was restored on a preserved old foundation, and the bell tower was repaired, which housed an art workshop. Until 1990, the exhibition hall of the GIS "Art Glass" operated in the church, which replaced the department of food products management. In the early 90s the church was returned to the Church.
Address: Chernigovsky per., 2
The bell tower of St. George in Kolomenskoye in Moscow
The Church of St. George in Kolomenskoye today is a complex consisting of a bell tower and a refectory church.
According to legends, in the XIV century on the site of the present church with a bell tower a wooden one stood, built by the orders of Prince Dmitry Donskoy of Moscow, in honor of St. George and in memory of the Kulikovo battle.
In the 16th century, a bell tower was built on this site, which, according to the researchers, served as the bell tower of the nearby Church of the Ascension. There is a mention of the existence of a “stone bell tower of the Church of the Ascension”, on which in 1640 a bell weighing 53 pounds was hung. The master Daniil Matveyev cast it by order of the tsar.
In the 17th century, a wooden refectory building was added to the bell tower, and the St. George Church that emerged in this way was consecrated in 1678.
The bell tower is notable because it was built on the model of the medieval Italian campaniles (bell towers) most often standing separately from the main building of the temple (the most famous campanile is the Tower of Pisa). Indeed, the appearance of the white bell tower shows the strong influence of the Italian Renaissance, although in the decor purely Russian element kokoshnik is widely used. The Italian influence can be traced even in how the bell is suspended: it had to be swayed, as is customary in Europe, while the tongue of the bell was swayed in Russia.
Address: Andropova Ave, 39 Building 4
Church of the Resurrection of the Word at the Assumption Vrazhok in Moscow
In the very heart of Moscow, in the quiet Bryusov Lane, between the streets of Tverskaya and Bolshaya Nikitskaya, there is a wonderful ancient temple, which bears the unusual name of the Resurrection of Slovushche at the Assumption foe. “Resurrection of the Word” is such a mysterious, not understandable by everyone name. It means that the church is reputed to be called Sunday. The main Christian Shrine, the main Christian temple is the temple of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ in Jerusalem. It was "updated", i.e. it was revived by the holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Constantine and Helen in the year 355 at Calvary, in the place of the sufferings of Christ and the attainment of the Life-giving Cross.
The centuries-old (from the 17th century) history of the temple is fascinating and mysterious. The church that survived during the Soviet period not only was not closed, but did not stop its prayer ministry in very difficult years for the entire Russian people.
The temple is located in the quarter where the creative intelligentsia of the capital has always lived: the House of Composers and the House of Artists are located nearby, and the Conservatory is within walking distance. Therefore, the parishioners of the Temple have always been people of art and science, writers and public figures, actors and directors.
Address: Bryusov lane, 15/2 st3
Old Believers Church in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Moscow
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker at the Tverskaya Gate (Old Believer) was built on the site of a wooden chapel. The construction of the temple began in 1914 and lasted until 1921. March 16, 1914 in the old chapel the last service was held with the removal of icons and utensils. During construction, the author of the project, architect I.G. Kondratenko, was suspended from conducting business, and supervision over the construction was entrusted to his colleague - A.M. Gurdjienko. By the time of the October Revolution, the building of the temple was almost finished, and even the bells were raised on the bell tower. However, the finishing work was so prolonged that the main altar of the church (Nicholas the Wonderworker) was consecrated in 1921, which is a unique case for those years. A chapel was consecrated in the bell tower in honor of Elijah the Prophet. Life in the temple lasted only 14 years. In 1935 it was closed.
In the 1940s, there was an air defense depot in the temple. Later it housed the workshop of the sculptor S.M. Orlov. It was here that he worked on the monument to Yuri Dolgoruky. Then it housed the workshop of the All-Union Art and Production Combine named after E.V. Vuchetich.
In 1993, the temple was transferred to the Old Belief Metropolis. The first prayer service in the side-street of Elijah the Prophet took place on August 2, 1995. The largest bookshop in Moscow selling old-believer literature is located in the church (opened in 1993).
Address: Butyrsky Val Str., 8/3
Spassky Cathedral of Zaikonospassky Monastery in Moscow
The central church of the Zaikonospassky monastery, the Spassky Cathedral, was built at the same time as the foundation of the monastery. Spassky Cathedral was consecrated on November 20, 1661. The Spassky Cathedral was not preserved in its original form, it was rebuilt several times. For the first time this happened approximately in the years 1711-1720 - this version of the Savior Cathedral can be seen now. At the top of the cathedral, a side church was set up in honor of the icon of the Mother of God of All Who Sorrow Joy. Lower Spassky temple had an entrance from the monastery courtyard. The lower church is unusually gloomy - this is due to the almost complete absence of daylight, which the monastery walls and buildings that surround the temple on three sides do not allow to enter.
In 1737, when the fire broke out, the Spassky Church suffered significantly, but was restored and re-consecrated in 1742. In 1812, the Zaikonospassky Monastery ransacked Napoleon’s soldiers, and 2 years later, when the Academy was transferred to the Trinity Sergius Lavra, the Zaikonospassky monastery began to decline, although it should be noted that in 1851, repair and restoration work was carried out in Spassky Church. In 1884, a school for clergy children was opened here.
Address: Nikolskaya St., 7 building 9
Church of the Holy Trinity in Nikitniki in Moscow
Nikitnikov Lane is one of the shortest in Moscow, there are almost no buildings here - this is actually a lane between several large buildings. Fame gives is the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity, in Nikitniki.
The name of the alley and the church appeared thanks to the efforts of the merchant Grigory Leontyevich Nikitnikov, who moved to Moscow from Yaroslavl. It was he who, instead of the wooden church of the holy Great Martyr Nikita, which burnt down in 1626, began to build in 1628 the stone church of the Holy Trinity.
The Moscow church architecture of the second half of the 17th century largely originates from the Trinity Church in Nikitniki: the principles of patterning embodied in it will be used almost until the time of Peter I. The decorative five-domed pyramid with kokoshniks placed in several rows and decorated with green tiles, wide tent porch, hipped bell tower, richly decorated window frames - all this will become a model for the new Moscow churches. Particular attention is attracted by the window on the southern facade facing the alley: in the side parts of its casing one can see a thin thread with the image of parrots.
After the revolution, the Trinity Church in Nikitniki, referred to monuments of the first category, was restored and transferred to the Historical Museum as a branch. The surrounding buildings, including the single-storey house of the clergy, were demolished in the 1960s, and in its place appeared the multi-storey buildings of the Central Committee of the CPSU.
In the 1990s, the church as a museum was closed; it was decided to transfer the building to the Orthodox community.
Address: per. Nikitnikov, 3
Church of St. Gregory Neokesariysky on Polyanka in Moscow
Bright, ocher, decorated with wise patterns, the church of St. Gregory Neokesariysky was built in the middle of the XVII century. It is located on Bolshaya Polyanka. The temple consists of three main parts: the tent bell tower is connected by a refectory with a quadrangle, topped with a hill of kokoshniks and five-domes. The most beautiful decorations are white-stone and brick figured details - platbands, portals, cornices. The facades of the bell tower and the quadrangle are framed by a belt of nine thousand multicolor tiles of the peacock eye pattern by Stepan Ivanov, nicknamed Polubes.
According to legend, the church of St. Gregory Neokesariysky "in Derbytsi" was laid in honor of the return from the Tatar captivity of Grand Duke Basil II. The prince, being in captivity, made a vow: if he manages to free himself, he orders to build a temple on the place from which he will see Moscow, in the name of the saint, whose memory is being committed on this day. This happened on November 17 (30), 1445, on the day of the commemoration of St. Gregory, the Bishop and the miracle-worker of Neokesariya. This is where the view of the dome of the Kremlin is. Then, exhausted by the captivity and the long road, the Grand Duke, seeing it, praised God for salvation.
The temple experienced ruin twice: during the war of 1812 and the 30s of the 20th century. In 1994, the temple was consecrated again. Now the main shrine of the temple is the miraculous Bogolyubskaya icon of the Mother of God. Other honored relics are stored here, including the relics of St. Gregory Neokesariysky, Tikhon of Zadonsky, Mitrofaniya Voronezhsky and other saints.
Address: st. Bolshaya Polyanka, 29
Church of St. Michael the Archangel of Andronikov Monastery in Moscow
The legend relates the foundation of the Spaso-Andronikov monastery to the 1350s and connects it with the name of the Moscow Metropolitan Alexei. Returning from Constantinople, where he was placed in the Moscow metropolitans by the Patriarch of Constantinople, Alexei carried with him the Byzantine icon of the Savior Acheiropaeic. On the Black Sea, the ship of the Metropolitan was in a strong storm. Addressing his prayers for deliverance from doom to the icon of the Savior, the Metropolitan promised to build a monastery in honor of this image in case of successful completion of the journey. The first igumen of the new monastery was a pupil of Sergius of Radonezh, a monastery of the Andronicus of the Trinity-Sergius Monastery, in whose honor the monastery was later named Spaso-Andronikov.
Between 1410 and 1427, under Abbot Alexander, the first stone building was erected in the monastery - the Savior Cathedral, the painting of which belonged to the old man of the Andronikov monastery, the great icon painter Andrei Rublev. After the construction of the stone cathedral, the status of the Savior-Andronikov monastery increased: it received the Archimandria. At the beginning of the XVI century the archimandrite of the monastery becomes the confessor of the Grand Duke Ivan III Mitrofan, during which between 1504 and 1506 a single-column brick refectory was built at the expense of the Grand Duke. It had two floors and was decorated with terracotta tiles. In the second half of the XVI century wooden Holy Gates (the main entrance to the monastery) were erected, replaced by stone in the 17th century. Above them the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin was later built.
Address: Andronyevskaya Square, 10
Cathedral of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Izmaylovo in Moscow
The Intercession Cathedral in Izmailovo, in the middle of an island on the Silver-Grape Pond, was built in 1672-1679 at the expense of the owner of the estate, Fedor Alekseevich Romanov, in the place of the former wooden church. The Old Church of the Intercession was set up by Ivan Nikitich Romanov in memory of the victory over the enemies in Smuta. Under Nikita Ivanovich Romanov, Izmailovo began to expand, grow rich, overgrow with numerous arable lands, vegetable gardens, apiaries, etc. There was even a glass factory. Of course, a new, more magnificent stone temple was also required.
In 1849 under the decree of Nicholas I, a poorhouse for soldiers-veterans of the Patriotic War of 1812 was built in his family homeland. In connection with this reorganization of the island, three buildings were attached to the cathedral on the project of K.A. Ton: from the north and south they adjoined directly to the facades of the temple, from the east the building almost approached the apses. Prior to this, the cathedral had been closed for a long time, as it had suffered greatly during the capture of it by the French, who had set the fire inside. However, the unique iconostasis was then saved.
After the revolution, workers and employees of a weaving factory settled on Izmailovo Island. Almshouses altered under the apartment buildings. The archive of the NKVD was located in the cathedral itself, and at the same time, approximately in 1932, the iconostasis was removed, the traces of which were lost after that. After the transfer of the temple to the community of believers in 1990 former owners could not leave for a long time.
Address: st. imeni Baumana gorodok, 1 b. 1
Compound of the Moscow Patriarch and All Russia Church of the Holy Trinity in Ostankino in Moscow
More than three hundred years have passed since the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Joachim blessed Prince Mikhail Cherkassky (then owner of the village of Ostankino) to build a new stone church instead of the old wooden church in his village and consecrated in honor of the Holy Trinity.
In 1919, the parish was forced to descend from the upper temples to the basement because of poverty and malustitude, where the throne was consecrated in the name of St. Nicholas. On April 23, 1922, valuables were seized from the church, while the weight of salaries from icons and gospels was 4 poods 1 pound 12 silver spools. In the 20s, the temple undergoes extreme poverty. Presumably in 1930 the parish was abolished, and the church passed into the possession of the Anti-Religious Museum of Art in conjunction with the financial department of the Dzerzhinsky district of Moscow. The People's Commissariat of Agriculture stored potatoes in the basement of the temple.
In the 1970s, the restoration of iconostases, wall paintings, and the repair of roofs and facades began. In the 1980s, concerts of sacred and secular music of the 18th century were performed in the church by the chamber ensemble. On March 23, 1991, His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II consecrated the throne in honor of the Holy Life-Giving Trinity.
Address: 1st Ostankinskaya Str., 7с2
Church of St. Louis of France in Moscow
From the middle of the 18th century, after the decree of Catherine II on privileges to foreigners, the French escaping from the revolution began to flow into Russia and a colony was formed between Bolshaya and Malaya Lubyanka. Its inhabitants addressed the Moscow authorities a petition for the construction of a Catholic church, negotiations were long and difficult, the authorities did not give permission for a long time to accommodate a foreign church in the center of the city, but, nevertheless, they were crowned with success.
The first church, consecrated in honor of St. Louis, was very modest - it was a small wooden structure in the depths of the courtyard. A new large stone building was erected in the XIX century by the project of architect A. Gilardi, it was carried out for a long 16 years - so much time passed from the start of construction to the consecration of the temple. Despite numerous attempts to close it and the repression to which the clergy and the most active parishioners were subjected, the temple remained active even in Soviet times and completely preserved its appearance to the present day.
Address: st. Malaya Lubyanka, 12/7 b.8
Church of St. Nicholas in the Klenniki in Moscow
The Grand Duke Ivan III built the wooden church of St. Simeon Divnogorets after a vow in 1468. The name of the modern church "in Klenniki", apparently, is associated with the maple grove that existed here in antiquity. Nowadays the existing stone church was built in several stages. They began to build it in 1657 close to the wooden one. In 1690, the church was rebuilt in connection with the creation of a new throne in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God on the second floor.
At the beginning of the 20th century, a modest church on Maroseika became famous throughout Moscow. In 1893, young priest, Father Alexy Mechev (1859–1923)e was appointed rector The parish was small and poor. Nearby were more revered temples with large rich parishes. Father Alexy, being the only priest, served every day in the temple, which in the early years of his priesthood was almost empty. But soon the disadvantaged, grieving and hopeless people reached here. They received love and consolation from Father Alexy.
In Soviet times, the building was used for the needs of the Komsomol Central Committee. In 1990, the church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church, and on December 17 it was consecrated. Its former parishioners and their descendants immediately came here. They brought many icons that were taken from the temple for preservation. The temple was completely restored, using the materials of D.P. Sukhov, by 1997.
Address: st. Maroseyka, 5
Church of the Three Saints on Kulishki in Moscow
The temple in the name of the Three Holy Hierarchs of the Ecumenical Basil the Great, Gregory the Theologian and John Chrysostom is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the White City, on Kulishki. It was built in 1674 at the expense of parishioners.
There are only three temples in the city that are “on kulishki”, and they stand close to each other. “Kulishki” (more correctly kulizhki) is an old Russian word, interpreted by different sources in different ways. Among the options for values, you can find a boggy, swampy place and a forest after felling.
In 1670-1674 at the expense of wealthy parishioners, a two-storied stone church was built with an architectural reception that was rare for Moscow - staging a bell tower on the corner. The high single-domed church crowned the Ivanovo Hill. Its facades were decorated with patterned platbands and portals, high porches rose to the upper floor, and the altars of warm aisles standing in a row ended with covered ploughshare heads.
In the 1930s the building was transferred to the NKVD. After the superstructure of the 4th floor the building of the temple was turned into a communal flat. In the 1960s the building was used for the needs of various offices. At the same time, All-Russian Society for the Protection of Monuments of History and Culture began its restoration. Since 1987, the Pilot animation studio has been housed in the building of the temple.
In 1991 the Orthodox community of the church was formed, and in 1992 the building of the temple was returned to the ROC.
Address: Small Trekhsvyatitelsky Lane, 4/6
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in the Novodevichy Convent in Moscow
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin with a refectory is located on the territory of the Novodevichy Convent in Moscow. It was built in the years 1685-1687. The architectural style of the temple is Naryshkinsky. The shape of the temple gradually changed, at first the temple and the refectory were surrounded by an open gallery, in the beginning of the XIX century it was dismantled. At the entrances to the temple and the refectory covered extensions with stairs were made. At first the temple was five-headed, but it was not preserved. It was replaced in the nineteenth century by one head.
The consecration of the refectory church occurred in 1687. After the 1917 revolution, a museum was created at the Novodevichy Convent, and all the temples, including the Refectory Church, were closed. The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was returned to the Church in 1945. Since 1964, the department of the Metropolitan of Krutitsky and Kolomna has been located here.
Address: Novodevichy pr-d, 1
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in Gonchary in Moscow
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in Gonchary is one of the existing cultural sites, on the basis of which a large number of various events are held that serve for interesting leisure activities in Moscow.
The first mention of the wooden Church of the Assumption, built in the village of potters, dates back to the beginning of the 17th century. At this time, Zayauzie was bounded from the east by the Earthen Shaft, with the only gates on Taganskaya Square, and the area’s population density became one of the highest in Moscow. There were very compact various palace craft settlements, almost each of them had its own temple. It is for this reason that Nikolsky stands literally opposite the Assumption Church, the first mention of which dates back to 1632.
For tourists, the temple is of interest as a monument of building art and national culture, a possible point of the excursion program. It is also the center of the spiritual life of the city, a meeting place for believers and worship services.
Address: Goncharnaya Street. 29
Church of Pimen the Great in New Vorotniki in Moscow
The Pimen Velikii Church in Novye Vorotniki is located in the historical center of Moscow, in the Tverskaya district. The main altar of the temple was consecrated in honor of the Holy Trinity, and the chapels in honor of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God and St. Pimen the Great. Moscow collars sloboda i.e. the gatekeepers at the city gates was located near the walls of the Kremlin, but then wastransferred to the village of Sushchevo. In 1672 the Church of Pimen the Great, the patron of collars, was built. The ancient church burned down and in its place in 1702, with the blessing of Patriarch Adrian, a new stone church was built.
An interesting legend has been preserved about the creation of the chapel of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God. According to legend, a blind boy played at this place. To the touch, he picked up an object from the ground and at the same time the wind raised dust and sand, so he had to rub his eyes. The boy received his sight and saw in his hand a small icon carved on a stone. It turned out to be the image of the Vladimir Mother of God, which was kept for a long time at the temple.
The Church of Pimen the Great is one of the few temples that was not closed during the Soviet period, although in 1922 pounds of “church property” were confiscated from it. For a long time the temple was in a dilapidated state. Through the holes in the roof, the water fell on the walls and mixed with paint to give it a reddish tint. It is interesting that when His Holiness Patriarch Alexy I celebrated Divine Liturgy in it, in his speech he said: "The people who served here forgot how to blush. The walls turned red for them."
Address: Novovorotnikovsky lane, 3, с1
Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in Lefortovo in Moscow
The temple was first mentioned in 1613. At that time, it was consecrated as the church of St. Nicholas. Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich Romanov took part in the ceremony of consecration. By the end of the 17th century it was decided to rebuild it and a wooden church was laid. The initiative came from Colonel Franz Lefort. He wanted to build a church for the soldiers of the first Moscow regiment and consecrate it in honor of the apostles Peter and Paul. The soldiers were subordinate to Lefort.
On place of the wooden church in 1711, the current white stone structure appeared. Nearby is also the baptismal temple of the Archangel Michael. These events took place during the reign of Peter I. Franz Yakovlevich Lefort was friendly with the tsar and despite the fact that he himself was from Geneva, he loved Moscow very much.
The whole building is crowned with five chapters. There is also one chapter above each aisle. Up the belfry is narrowed tent with through gaps. The bell tower itself has 8 bells. In the 19th century, Russia had the best masters in the world in foundry. They made a bell on the temple belfry, and for more than 150 years, it sounds like new.
Address: Soldatskaya St., 4
Church of St. Philip the Metropolitan of Moscow in the Meshchanskaya Sloboda in Moscow
Construction by project of M.F. Kazakov and under the guidance of architect S. Karin lasted 10 years. By 1787 a temple was built in the style of early classicism. Built Church of St. Philip, Metropolitan of Moscow, in the Meshchanskaya settlement on the site of an old church of the same name of the XVII century, in the refectory of 1752, was conceived as the home church of the monastery of Metropolitan Platon, but the project of the monastery remained unfulfilled. The church was consecrated in 1788. In 1827, at the expense of Prince Dolgorukov, the chapel of St. Sergius of Radonezh was added to the refectory.
After the 1917 revolution, an era of destruction began for the Church. The church of St. Philip was closed in 1939.
Since April 1991, services have resumed in the temple. July 16, 1992, the feast day of the transfer of the relics of St. Philip, the temple was consecrated by His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II. Since 1993, the restoration of the interior decoration and the territory of the temple were begun. In 1994 the chapel of the Sergius of Radonezh was consecrated. By 1997, the construction of the chapel and two buildings of the Siberian Compound complex, which marks the spiritual unity of Moscow and Siberian lands, was completed.
Address: st. Gilyarovskogo, 35
Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul at the Yauza Gate in Moscow
Since ancient times, the location of the Temple of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul at the Yauza Gate was called Kulishki. Here, near a small hill, which was popularly called the Ivanovo hill, the Moskva River and the Yauza merged together.
The earliest legends about the stone temple, located on Kulishki, date back to 1631. In the form in which we know it, the Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul exists from 1700-1702.
If we talk about the architecture of the building, it is made in the style of Moscow baroque. Then it was the symbol of the Russian architecture of the late eighteenth - early nineteenth century, the very source of the development of Russian baroque.
During the Soviet period, many religious institutions were closed, but the church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul was able to avoid this fate. After the revolution of 1917, opponents of the church were more often visited here with demands for transfer: representatives of the clergy who could not defend their church sought refuge here, and shrines in need of preservation were also hidden.
Address: Petropavlovsky per., 4/6, p. 8
Church of the Ascension (small) on Bolshaya Nikitskaya in Moscow
The temple in honor of the Ascension of the Lord was first mentioned in the Moscow annals under the year 1548. Since the 1830s it has been referred to as the “Small Ascension”.
The temple in honor of the Ascension of the Lord on Bolshaya Nikitskaya (since the early 1830s referred to as the “Small Ascension” to distinguish it from the newly built “Great Ascension” temple at the Nikitsky Gate) is located in the very center of Moscow, near the Kremlin. From the second half of the fourteenth century, it ran along the path to Volokolamsk and further north-west to Veliky Novgorod; life was in full swing in the rich settlement, where Novgorod merchants settled, and then trading people from Veliky Ustyug. In all likelihood, the Ascension Church, originally wooden, was built by their efforts.
Until 1764, the temple had a two-roofed end, but at the request of the abbot, the priest Vasily Ivanov, the tents were replaced with an eight-ore with a faceted coating, because of their excessive weight. The beautiful cross crowning the head of the temple with a crown and a qatu (the so-called “crescent” or “new moon”) - a symbol of the grand-ducal and patriarchal power, dates back to the end of the 18th century. It was preserved and was restored to its place in 1992.
After 1917, the temple continued to operate for two decades, in the 1930s, before closure, it was knocked down and sent to the smelting bell. In 1937 the church was closed, rebuilt, completely lost the interior decoration.
1992 is the date of the rebirth of the “Small Ascension”. Now the church houses several Orthodox shrines - an icon of the blessed princes Peter and Fevronia of Murom with a particle of their holy relics, a konchezhets with relics of Kiev-Pechersk saints (in the altar), icons of St. Theophan the Recluse, blessed Prince Roman of Uglich and patron of the capital blessed prince with particles of holy relics, an icon of the holy blessed Matrona with a particle of her coffin.
Address: Bolshaya Nikitskaya St., 18/2
Church of St. Tikhon Zadonsky in Sokolniki in Moscow
The wooden church of St. Tikhon Zadonsky in Sokolniki on the Shiryaev field was built in 1863. This temple is the first in Moscow dedicated to the Bishop of Voronezh, miracle worker Tikhon Zadonsky.
In the early 40s of the XIX century they made glades in the grove, the forest became a park; wealthy Muscovites built summer houses there for summer holidays. In 1861, an honorary hereditary citizen Dmitry Semenovich Lepeshkin and Ivan Artemyevich Lyamin, on their own behalf and on behalf of another 15 Moscow merchants, filed a petition for the construction of the temple. The place of the temple was determined at the “entrance to the Shiryaevo field, to the left of the road”.
It was a classic-style building, wooden, plastered, with white columns. Unfortunately, the logs, set vertically, soon began to rot, the log house began to quickly collapse. In 1875, one of the temple founders, I.A. Lyamin, ordered the project of a new wooden church, and a year later it was erected. A new elegant church in the “Russian style”, topped with a tent, decorated with kokoshniki carved valleys and platbands. Muscovites liked it and they began to come here to get married.
In 1934, the church of St. Tikhon of Zadonsk in Sokolniki was closed. Its building housed production and construction workshops, various construction organizations that adapted the temple to fit their needs.
In 1992 the church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church, transferred to the parish of the Church of All Saints with status ascribed. The temple has decayed so much that it was necessary to dismantle and rebuild the log house. The construction of the temple designed by the architect N.S. Vasilenko was completed in 2004. On April 13, 2004, the temple was consecrated, and from that time services are held in it.
Address: Mayskiy prosek, 5
Church of St. Nicholas in Zvonary in Moscow
At the beginning of the XVII century on this place there was a “poor house” with a wooden church of St. Nicholas, which was replaced by a stone one in about 1657. Later, this area was inhabited by the bell ringers of the Ivan the Great Bell Tower. From 1677, the church received a common name - “in Zvonary”. In 1760, on the orders of Catherine II, with the money of Count I. I. Vorontsov, who had an extensive estate here, which descended to the Neglinka River, they began to build a new stone church. The church of Nikola was completed two years later, apparently, as a house-spirit, which explains its small size.
The building that has survived to the present day was built in baroque style. It successfully combined the classical base with Russian traditions, combining a compact dome composition with a cruciform inner space. A well-traced dome, topped with a small dome, gives its silhouette a certain elegance and sharpness. The underlined-rich decoration of the main volume in the form of lush composite capitals on corner pilasters and large platbands decorated with seraphim heads contrasts with the simplified, somewhat planar styling of the finishing parts on other volumes.
In 1933 the temple was closed. The warehouse housed in the church and from the mid-1960s the department of the Moscow Architectural Institute. In 1994, the Church of the Uspensky Monastery of the Assumption (Estonia) was established in the church. Here with honors, a miraculously surviving icon was reinstated by a miracle that survived during the years of theomachism - the Mother of God of the Perished.
Address: Rozhdestvenka st., 15/8
Church of Saints Athanasius and Cyril of Alexandria on Sivtsev foe in Moscow
The wooden temple existed on this place at the beginning of the XVI century. The current building was built in the middle of the XIX century, it includes parts of the former brick church, dating back to the end of the XVII - beginning of the XVIII century. This temple, which was damaged in 1812, was renewed in 1815-1817, and in 1836 its rebuilding began. New belfry and refectory were built, and a large classic cylinder was erected over the quadrangle (previously, the quadrangle ended with a five-head). The consecration of the rebuilt church took place on September 19, 1856, and at the request of the benefactor the central Spassky throne was renamed the Resurrection. Since that time, the high altar was dedicated in honor of the Resurrection, and the chapels preserved their former dedication - St. Athanasius and Cyril and St. Nicholas.
In 1899, the temple was renewed, with the altars of the chapels being pushed forward, in line with the main one. During the war of 1812, the miraculous Smolensk icon of the Mother of God, taken out of besieged Smolensk, was kept in the church for several days.
The church was closed in 1932. The building was occupied by various small enterprises and warehouses, the last of which was the Electromechanical Plant of Switchgear. In the 1970s the temple began to be restored, it was planned to open a concert hall. In the second half of the 1970s the building was put on state protection.
In 1992, the temple was returned to believers. In the same year the Athanasius and Cyril chapel was consecrated, and in 2003 - the main throne of the Resurrection of the Word.
Address: Filippovsky Lane, 3
Cathedral of the Icon of the Mother of God the Sign of the former Znamensky Monastery in Moscow
The Cathedral of the Sign of the Mother of God was built in 1684 by the Pskov architects F. Grigoriev, G. Anisimov in the place of the church of the same name at the beginning of the XVI century. It was this church that gave the name to the Znamensky Monastery, founded in the domains of the Romanovs' boyars by the first Russian tsar from this dynasty, Mikhail Fedorovich. The five-domed red brick monumental cathedral was the central building of the monastery, around which 299 monastic buildings were located. There was the main shrine of the monastery - the clan icon of the Romanov family "Sign of Our Lady of Novgorod" (XVI century).
After the fire of 1668, the temple, like the whole monastery, was badly damaged. It was restored in the 1670 - 1680s at the expense of boyar I.M. Miloslavsky. In 1856, by decree of Alexander II, it was ordered to organize a museum in the monastery called the House of the Romanovs.
In 1923, the monastery was abolished, the Znamensky Cathedral was closed, and living quarters were placed in it. The icon "The Sign" was taken out from the monastery and transferred to Irkutsk to the local historical museum. The House of Romanovs Boyars Museum was transferred to the Armory Chamber Office, and since 1932 it has become a branch of the State Historical Museum. By 1960, the temple was in disrepair.
However, in connection with the construction of the Russia hotel, it was decided to restore all nearby structures. So, in the 1960-1970s, the cathedral underwent a major restoration. At the same time, fragments of the mural of the end of the XVIII century were preserved. After restoration, the cathedral was transferred to the department of the All-Russian Society for the Protection of Monuments of History and Culture. It was used for concerts and conferences. Since 1992, the cathedral has combined the functions of a temple and a museum. Divine services were held here, Sunday school was working. On October 7, 2013, the temple was reopened after a long restoration, and the services were resumed.
Address: Varvarka st., 8
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Serebryaniki in Moscow
The predecessor of the temple in 1657 was a wooden one (the first written mention was in 1620). It was located on the right bank of the Yauza River, near to its mouth, in Old Serebryaniki, "that in the Money Masters", near to the settlement of artisans - "silversmiths" minted the royal silver coin. The present church was built in 1781 at the expense of T.I. Surovshchikova, using parts of the walls and the basement of the old one.
In 1764–68 at the expense of great grandfather of N.N. Pushkina (poet's wife), A.A. Goncharov, whose manor from the north bordered with the church site, built a new, free-standing bell tower on the site of the old one. In its middle part there is a temple of the Beheading of John the Baptist.
It was a baroque temple with a classic design of the side facades. Single-domed with a wide rotunda, topped with a small cupola on a thin faceted drum. It has a portico with columns.
It was closed in the 1930s. Production workshops, warehouse studio "Filmstrip" were placed there. In the 1990s it was returned to the Church. The temple in the bell tower was re-consecrated in 1993.
Address: Serebryanichesky per., 1A building 11
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Krylatskoye in Moscow
The first indication of the existence of a church in the village of Krylatskoye dates back to 1554. The chronicle tells that returning to the capital from a trip to the Klin forests, Tsar Ivan the Terrible stayed in Krylatskoye on the occasion of the consecration of the church in it. The church was wooden, and by the beginning of the 18th century it decayed and burned in 1713, and in its place, at the request of the priest, Fr. John Kirilov was built a new, also wooden, temple. Its consecration took place in 1717. In 1785 the church suffered from the fire again.
The petition for the construction of the now existing church began in 1859. By this time, the village already numbered 201 courtyards, and the church could not accommodate all residents. In addition, the parishioners of the temple were residents of the nearby villages of Tatarovo and Mnevniki. A request was filed by a member of the Most Holy Governing Synod, Metropolitan Philaret, from the clergy and parishioners to build a new stone refectory and bell tower. The petition was rejected, but already in 1861 a new petition was received, this time on the construction of a stone church. Construction was begun in 1862 by the architect Vodo. By 1868, the church with two chapels, in honor of the icon of the Mother of God of Kazan and St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, was rebuilt, but without a stone bell tower, which was absent until 1877. In 1877, the bell tower was erected by the architect Stratilatov. The architecture of the 5-head temple with a high bell tower followed the traditions of Byzantine architecture.
Address: st. Krylatsky Hills, 12
Church of the Holy Unmercenaries and the Wonderworkers of Cosma and Damian on Maroseyka in Moscow
The Kosmodamiansky temple currently existing on Maroseyka was built in 1793, but the same place was where the church used to be, so the two churches themselves must be distinguished: the old and the present one.
When exactly and by whom the old church was built - exact information is not available. It is known for certain that it existed at the beginning of the 17th century. So, this temple is mentioned in the book of the Patriarchal State Order for 1625 and in the "Book of the Tsar's Salary to Moscow Churches".
At the beginning of the 1930s, the church shared the fate of many Russian shrines: the parish was dispersed, the icons and decorations of the church were confiscated, and they disappeared without a trace. Subsequently, the building was used as a production warehouse, motorcycle club, archive, art classes.
In the 60s, three church houses were demolished, and in their place a huge administrative building was erected, to which the church was handed over as an archive. In the same years, a partial restoration of the church was carried out - after the exterior repair, the external decoration of the church was restored, gilded crosses were erected.
On June 22, 1993, a decree by the Government of Moscow on the transfer of the building of the Cosmodamian Church of the Russian Orthodox Church was issued.
Address: st. Maroseyka, house 14/2
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in the Cossack Sloboda
The Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in the Cossack settlement was built in 1695-1697 by V.F. Poltev. In the XVI century there was a wooden church of Flora and Lavra on this place. After 1591 the settlement was transferred to Zatsepa, and the place was not occupied for a long time.
The temple on this site in the XVII century was first mentioned in 1642. After 20 years, the church was renewed as Uspensky in Cossack settlement.
In the fire of 1812 the temple burned out from the inside. It was resumed in 1818 through the efforts of the merchant N. Karpyshev. In the years 1869-1872 the temple was renewed at the expense of parishioners and churchwarden D.P. Rogatkin. During this period, the classic look of the refectory and the bell tower was somewhat distorted by small plastering details, which were shaped to “Russian style”.
The church was closed and beheaded in 1930. Prior to this, golden and silver church decorations and utensils were removed from the temple. The top of the bell tower and the house were destroyed. The temple housed a printing house, an archive. In the 1970-1980s it was restored. Services were resumed in 1994.
Address: st. Bolshaya Polyanka, 37
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in Pechatniki in Moscow
From the end of the XVI century, behind the wall of the White City at the Sretensky Gate, the Gosudareva Printed settlement began - a settlement of printers working in the Printed yard on Nikolskaya Street. It was they who created the first wooden Uspensky church in 1631, instead of which in 1659 a new building was built, also a wooden one. Finally, in 1695, printers created the third Church of the Assumption, this time a stone one - its quadrangle and the bell tower remain to this day.
When a new temple was being built, the “Naryshkin baroque” style prevailed in the church architecture of Moscow, paying special attention to the decoration of windows and portals. All this is embodied in the Church of the Assumption in Pechatniki: the windows of its quadrangle are framed with platbands with ridges, and the side portals are decorated with fine white-stone carvings depicting grapevines curling around the columns.
After the revolution and the closure of the church for worship, its building was occupied first by the Arktikproekt Trust, and then in 1950 the Soviet Arctic exhibition appeared here, which in 1960 was replaced by the permanently operating USSR Marine Fleet exhibition. Externally, the building was almost not rebuilt, the crosses were just removed and the fence was dismantled, but the interior decoration disappeared completely, the temple space was re-planned. In 1994, the exhibition was exported, and services were resumed in the temple.
Address: st. Sretenka 3
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Vorontsov in Moscow
The manor church in the Vorontsov estate was built in 1807 in the garden octahedral pavilion, the bell tower and the chapel were built in 1838. The temple was closed after 1928, the bell tower was destroyed, the cemetery surrounding the temple was destroyed, and a park was laid out in its place.
By the 1980s the temple was ruined. Services were resumed in May 1990. As a result of the restoration, the church was revived in a short time. Shrines: the locally honored icon of the Mother of God "Affection".
Address: st. Academician Pilyugin, 1
Church of Michael and Fyodor of Chernigov in Moscow
It is known that on this place there was a wooden church (mentioned in 1625), the present one was built in 1675 as an accessory to the neighboring church of John the Baptist, and remained ascribed to it until the 1920s. Now, on the contrary, the Church of St. John the Baptist is listed as attached to this temple. Both have the status of the Patriarchal Compound.
The temple was consecrated in honor of Prince Mikhail of Chernigov and his close boyar Theodore, who were killed in 1246 at the rate of Batyi for refusing to go through a pagan rite. In the documents of the XVII century, the temple was listed in honor of the Presentation of Michael; this gives grounds to assume that it was here that the relics of St. Prince Michael, transferred to Moscow at the request of Tsar John IV the Terrible. Later, the relics were transferred to the Archangel Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin.
It was closed in 1924 and transferred to the Baptists, later used as a warehouse. In 1977, together with the neighboring church of St. John the Baptist, the church was restored. By 1982, the chapters covered with green glazed tiles were restored; the four-sided cover of the quadrangle was embroidered with the restoration of the kokoshnik tiers. It was returned to believers in 1991, consecrated on October 3, 1993, on the day of remembrance of Michael and Theodore of Chernigov.
Address: Chernigovsky per., 3
Temple of the Iverskaya Icon of the Mother of God on the Vspolye in Moscow
The wooden church was first mentioned at this place in documents in 1625 with another dedication - in the name of St. George the Victorious. The addition “on Vspolye” means the ancient location of the temple near the field, on the outskirts of the city - the border of Moscow at that time passed along the trajectory of the Garden Ring. In 1673, the wooden building was replaced by a stone building created at the expense of the merchant Semyon Potapov and received by the chapel of John the Warrior. The building was a traditional Moscow church of the end of the 17th century, topped by a five-domed one, with a hipped bell tower. However, after more than a hundred years, the church decayed and was completely dismantled for new construction.
During the construction of a new church, its name was changed: the main altar was consecrated in honor of the Iverskaya icon, and one of the chapels in refectory became St. George’s.
The church was closed to services in 1929-1930, its head and upper tier of the bell tower dismantled. The interior decoration was destroyed, only a few icons were preserved - including the temple image of the Iverskaya Mother of God, transferred to the Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in the Kuznetsy. The room itself was divided into three floors and was used first as the club of the Second Automotive Repair Plant, then the club of the Marat confectionery factory, and in 1989 it became the gallery of modern art. In 1994, services were resumed in the temple.
Address: st. Bolshaya Ordynka, 39
The Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh in the Krapivniki in Moscow
The Church of St. Sergius in the Krapivniki is known from the end of the XVI century. It is depicted on the “Petrov drawing” of Moscow, and this is so far the only evidence of the existence of the single-domed temple at that time. The first written confirmation of the existence of the church dates back to 1625, when it was wooden.
In prerevolutionary times, the church in the Krapivniki was the only temple in the center of the capital, the main altar in which was consecrated in honor of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
The Church of St. Sergius is small; it stands at an angle to Krapivensky Lane and is far out on the roadway with its bell tower. This arrangement tells us about the antiquity of the temple.
In 1920, the Church of St. Sergius in the Krapivniki largely divided the fate of the entire Russian Orthodox Church. Values were forcibly seized in it (liturgical vessels, ancient vestments on icons and icons themselves). The temple was closed by one of the last in Moscow - in 1938. Inside, handicraft production of skate sharpening was arranged, which is explained by the proximity of the Dynamo ice rink loved by Muscovites. In this form, the temple was preserved until August 30, 1991, when it was consecrated by Patriarch Alexy II. Now the temple is a Patriarchal Compound.
Address: Krapivensky per., 4
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin on the Krutitsky
In the very center of the capital there is a beautiful place - the Krutitsy Patriarchal Compound. It is located in a secluded corner of Moscow and has a rich history that rests on the roots of the XIII century, when during the times of the Tatar-Mongol yoke on the high left bank of the Moscow River a temple of Peter and Paul was built. The coast, by the way, was very steep and for this very reason, the place was named Krutitskoe.
The Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary on Krutitsy for its centuries-old existence has repeatedly changed names, it was rebuilt and re-consecrated. During the capture of the Kremlin cathedrals by the Poles, then the Small Assumption Cathedral was the main church of Moscow Orthodoxy. The entire cathedral, up to the domes, was built of red brick. The temple has decorative kokoshniki, traditionally five domes.
Visiting the Krutitsy Patriarchal Compound, you seem to find yourself several centuries earlier, in an era unfamiliar to the modern inhabitant of our country. Albeit briefly, but you can feel how people in the Russian Empire lived. An interesting and original architecture, the spirit of that era will not leave anyone indifferent.
Address: Krutitskaya St., 11-13-17
Church of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in Kurkino in Moscow
The village of Kurkino originated over five hundred years ago and is mentioned in the annals of Grand Duke Ivan Kalita at the beginning of the 15th century.
Around 1672-1678 a stone church in the name of the Vladimir Icon of the Most Holy Theotokos was built in Kurkino. In the drawing of this time, next to the stone church, there was an extensive manor house with a three-story boyar house, human and office buildings along the hedge.
In the middle of the XVIII century Kurkinskaya church came to disrepair. Local priests Grigory Grigoriev and Ivan Fyodorov (from 1757) many times asked for its repair to the Synodal Economic Board. The funds for this were released in 1760, and in the subsequent time the church was “renewed and repaired”. As a result of these works, the main volume of the temple was preserved, but the porch was lost.
In the 1930s, the Vladimirskaya Church was closed, reopened in 1946, and has not been closed since.
Address: Novogorskaya St., 37
Church of the Transfiguration on the Bolvanovka in Moscow
The liberation of Russia from the Horde yoke began in 1380 on the Kulikovo Field, but was completed by his great-grandson Dmitry Donskoy, Grand Duke Ivan III. Almost a century later, in 1465, he publicly tore apart the Basma - a portrait sent to Moscow by Khan Akhmat so that his subjects would honor him. In memory of this event, the king ordered the church to demolish and build in its place a church in the name of the Transfiguration of the Lord. At first, the church was wooden and by the 18th century it had finally collapsed. In 1755, a stone church was erected, in which they consecrated two thrones - in the name of the martyr Evdokia and the icon of the Mother of God "All who grieve joy". In the harsh times of persecution of Orthodoxy at the turn of the 30s the temple was closed, the bell tower was destroyed, and the building was transferred to the Rot Front factory for economic needs.
The Church of the Transfiguration of the Savior on Bolvanovka was revived in 1991, when it was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. A year later, in the newly consecrated building, services began. Fully restored paintings, restored the dome, icons took their place. A small neat church is surrounded by modern high-rise buildings and looks great against their background. White columns on the brick-red walls give it a festivity.
Address: 2nd Novokuznetsky lane, 10с1
Temple of the Holy Great Martyr Nikita at the Old Basmannaya in Moscow
The first temple on this place, wooden one, was built in 1517, “with affection of Prince Vasily Ivanovich" in the name of the Vladimir Mother of God, "a fair and glorious meeting and guidance". At the end of the 17th century, a stone church with the limit of Nikita the Great Martyr appeared here. And since the beginning of the XVIII century, the whole church has been led to call it Nikitskaya.
The modern church was built in 1751 at the expense of the merchants A. I. Babushkin and I. I. Rybnikov. Reliable information about the architect, unfortunately, has not been preserved. The most likely author of the project of the temple is a wonderful Moscow architect Prince Dmitry Ukhtomsky. The majestic ensemble of the late "Elizabethan" baroque is one of the best Moscow buildings created in this style. The interior of the church is striking: the richest gilded woodcarving and stucco, the majestic iconostasis, preserved from the middle of the XVIII century - without exaggeration on the beauty of the interiors is one of the most interesting churches in Moscow.
In 1933, it was decided to demolish the temple, but this decision was not implemented. The temple stood, although it was closed. At first it housed an air defense brigade, and later it was transferred to the Ministry of Culture of the RSFSR for storage facilities. It was restored twice - in the 1960s and in 1979-1983. In 1990, the church was returned to believers. Currently it has the status assigned to the Epiphany Elokhovsky Cathedral.
Address: Old Basmannaya Str., 16/1
Church of the Assumption of the Mother of God in Veshnyaki in Moscow
It was built in 1644–1646 by a prominent figure of the Smuta boyar Fyodor Ivanovich Sheremetev in his patrimony by vow. The temple is an outstanding example of hip architecture. The two-story church with the upper throne of the Resurrection of the Word and the lower Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a massive octagon on a quadranrelle, surmounted by a tent. Around the central volume there was a gulbische, covered with a vault. In 1656, decorative chapels with kokoshniks at the base were erected above the aisles. The bell tower was erected in the XVII century; in 1734 they built up to three tiers and crowned it with a high spire. The church has frescoes of the 18th – 19th centuries, some of which are attributed to the well-known serf artist I.P. Argunov. The icons of the XVI – XVII centuries and ancient church utensils are also preserved.
The temple was closed in 1937. In 1948, services were resumed. Following the example of the Kremlin's Assumption Cathedral, the iconostasis was restored. After many years of work on the removal of late recordings, ancient images of the 16th – 17th centuries were discovered, located in the local row of the iconostasis of the upper Resurrection Church. In the lower Assumption Church, too, there were quite a few icons of the pre-Peter's epoch. In the refectory, it was possible to uncover and restore the painting of the beginning of the XIX century. The white stone stairs leading to the upper church and the white stone floors in the lower church have been restored.
Church of the Holy Prophet Elijah in Moscow
In Moscow, on Ostozhie, which was formerly called Skorodom, Muscovites were built after fires, driving wood along the water, which facilitated construction preparation. It was built, so to speak, hastily, with a view to the subsequent placement of pre-assembled structures in other parts of the city, so this place was called the Skorod. Here a wooden church in the name of the Holy Prophet Elijah was built. The construction was completed in one day - “routine”, which gave the temple the clarifying name “Ordinary”. Estimated year of construction is 1592.
Since then, the name of the temple appears quite often in various historical documents. This place becomes a witness to the well-known historical events of the Smuta: in 1612, a prayer of the clergy and the Zemstvo militia was offered near the church before the expulsion of the “student” heretics-foreigners who desecrated the shrines of the Moscow Kremlin.
In 1702, a stone church was erected on the site of a wooden building, the altar part of which and the main building, built like the "octagon on a quadrangle", have survived to this day in unchanged forms, having served people for more than 300 years.
For 300 years worship service is held in the temple. It is known that in 1930 the church was unanimously defended by believers, of whom at that time there were 4,000 people in the community. According to the legend, the authorities were going to close the church after the service on June 22, 1941, on the day of memory of All Saints who shone in the Russian Land, but this did not happen - the war began.
Address: 2nd Obydensky per., 6
Savior Transfiguration Cathedral in Moscow
The Savior Transfiguration Cathedral was erected in early 1497. Earlier this place was a wooden church building. The consecration of the temple was in 1649. Today, the cathedral has five chapters, two tiers, in its form similar to the Assumption Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin.
The interior decoration is saved. The tomb of the Romanov dynasty is located on the lower non-residential floor.
The temple was closed in 1919. At the moment restoration work has been made, and the cathedral operates.
Address: Preobrazhenskaya Square., 1
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary on Mogiltsy in Moscow
The wooden church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary has been known in this area since 1560 (another written message dates back to the second half of the 17th century). The name of this tract "Mogiltsy" is probably connected with the fact that in the Middle Ages there was a poor cemetery (Squalid house) for the burial of the dead by violent death or vagrants. Another hypothesis connects the name of the area with the “graves” - bumps and hills.
The modern church building was built in the style of classicism with two bell towers in 1799–1806 by the project of the famous architect N.N. Legrand at the expense of V.I. Tutolmin. In the refectory the chapels of St. Spyridon of Trimifuntsky and St. Nicholas the Wonderworker were built. A single-domed temple with two bell towers (a rarity for Moscow temples) is an interesting monument of classicism. In 1899, the temple was updated. In this church in 1918-1932 the famous preacher Father George Chinnov served, who completed the Sunday sermon with confession.
The temple was closed in 1932. The bell tower, the dome and the western portico were dismantled. In the church building there was the construction and installation management. Services resumed in Nikolsky chapel in 2001.
Address: Address: Bolshoy Vlasyevsky per., 2/2
Church of St. Nicholas on Bersenevka in Moscow
St. Nicholas Church is modern to the chambers of Averky Kirillov and constitutes a single urban estate of the seventeenth century. According to the chronicles, in the territory of the Upper Sadovnikov in the XV century there was a wooden church of Nikola on the Sands, the likely successor of the more ancient patrimonial monastery.
In 1812, the church suffered greatly from fire: the original refectory collapsed. In 1817-1823 the refectory with two chapels, Nikolsky and Theodosievsky, was restored in the style of classicism. A two-column quadrangle set on a basement with a three-part lowered apse, a porch along the northern facade and a porch stretched from north to south.
After 1918, the Central State Restoration Workshops were located on the second floor of the house. In 1930, the workers of the Central Hydrometeorological Department achieved the closure of the church and in the same year, at the request of the Central Group of Workers' Directorate, the Moscow Council decided to demolish the bell tower, which darkened the windows of the working premises. In 1931, architect B. Iofan, the builder of “Houses on the Embankment”, submitted to the Moscow Council a request for the demolition of the church. In 1932 the church began to disassemble, but only the bell tower was demolished. In 1958, the temple building was given to the research institutes of museology. Later, in the 1960s-70s, the building of the temple and chambers was occupied by the Research Institute of Culture of the RSFSR. In 1992 the church was returned to believers, the services were resumed.
Address: Bersenevskaya Embankment, 18
Church of the Holy Martyrs Flora and Laurus in Zatsep in Moscow
The church in the name of the holy martyrs Flora and Laurus (Joy of All Who Sorrow) is located in the territory of the ancient Yamskaya Kolomna settlement. In 1685 - 1722 here was the customs border of Moscow. A chain was stretched along the street, and carts “behind the chain” were moved to the customs for inspection. Therefore, the streets, squares, ramparts, passages and dead end were called Zatsepskie. The ancient name of modern Dubininskaya Street - Kolomenskaya Yamskaya was given in the Yamskaya ravine area.
In the early nineties of the 20th century, two churches in honor of the holy martyrs Flora and Laurus, located on the road from Moscow to Kashira, were returned to the Orthodox Church. The first temple is in Moscow, in the Yamskaya Kolomna Sloboda (on Zatsep). The second one at a distance of one “Yamsky gon” is in the village of Old Yam. In Kashira, on the site of the Yamskaya station next to the Old Pit, is a temple (1776) in honor of the holy Flora and Laurus brothers, which did not close even in the most difficult times for the Russian Church.
Address: Dubininskaya Str., 9, bld. 1
Cathedral of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God in the Novodevichy Convent in Moscow
The cathedral was erected in 1524-1525 modeled on the Assumption Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin, but has a number of features. This is a four-column cross-domed five-domed church (the Assumption Cathedral is built in a “ward-like manner”), raised to a high basement, which served as a tomb, and surrounded on three sides by a gallery. The eastern ends of the gallery are completed by two chapels (existed since the construction of the cathedral, but were rebuilt in the XVI century or in the XVII century - the exact date of the restructuring is unknown).
The painting of the cathedral, tiers covering its walls, dates from the time between 1526 and 1530. In the frescoes, the theme of victory and the construction of the Russian state are distinctly heard, and it is not without reason that such a large place is given to images of holy warriors and Russian princes. The painting of arches differs from the painting of walls and pillars and is close in style to the works of the time of Boris Godunov.
Address: Novodevichy pr-d, 1 building 5
Old Believers Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin on Ostozhenka in Moscow
The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos of the Ostozhensk community was built in the pseudo-Russian style by the architects Adamovich and V.M. Mayat in 1907–191. on a plot of land belonging to the Old Believers Ryabushinskys. The painting was done by A. A. and A. V. Tulins. The temple was closed in 1932 and gradually collapsed. In 1992 the building was returned to the Ostozhensk Old Believer community of the Russian Orthodox Old Believers Church. For a long time the efforts of the activists were being repaired, but without large financial investments, the business was hardly moving.
On February 10, 1998, the crosses were raised on the heads of the restored dome. December 12, 1999 the church was consecrated by Metropolitan of Moscow and All Russia Alimpiy. Due to the large number of Pokrovsky churches in the Old Believers, this temple was re-consecrated in the name of the Vladimir icon of the Most Holy Theotokos. Also in the church there is a side-altar in the name of St. Nicholas Deity, the throne is celebrated on August 11.
Address: Turchaninov per., 4, building 1
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in the estate of Staraya Sviblovo in Moscow
It is assumed that the Trinity Church in the village of Sviblovo exists from the time of Dmitry Donskoy, and was built when the village was owned by the Sviblovo boyars. However, the first reliable documentary mention of the church dates back to the beginning of the 17th century, when, by order of the owner of the village, Andrey Lvovich Plescheyev, from 1622 to 1623, a new wooden church was built on the site of the old wooden church. In 1677, the son of Andrei Lvovich, Mikhail, who inherited the village, again rebuilt the church and added a chapel to it in the name of Metropolitan Alexy. In 1672, the estate passes to the infant daughter of Mikhail Mary, who is raised by her uncle Kirill Naryshkin - he also builds stone chambers and a stone church in the village in 1708, and in 1709 attaches a bell tower to it.
In 1938, the temple was closed.
In the 1970-1980s, restoration work was carried out in the Sviblovo estate, affecting the building of the temple. In 1990, Patriarch Alexy II requested the return of the church of the Russian Orthodox Church, which was granted. In 1994, the church received the status of the patriarchal monastery; in 1995, services were renewed here.
Address: Lazorevy Ave, 15
The Church of St. Nicholas of Mirlikiya on the Three Hills in Moscow
A long-suffering church stands between three lanes: two Trekhgorny and one Novovagankovsky. During its history, known to us from the 1620–1630s, it changed its name more than once and was rebuilt many times. Originally wooden, it was built by parishioners from the Gosudarev Psarny court, rebuilt in stone in the years 1762-1775. From then on, the chapels were added, in 1860, the bell tower and refectory were added, increasing by two and a half times the area.
At the beginning of XX centurymMost of the parishioners were workers of the Trekhgorny manufactory. In the turbulent years of 1905 and 1917, they took over the guard of the cathedral, which was at the epicenter of the revolutionary events on Presnya. And the temple was not injured and was not looted.
The temple was closed in 1928. The church was beheaded, openings were made in the walls, and the top of the bell tower was dismantled. In the disfigured building the House of Pioneers / House of Culture named after Pavlik Morozov was located. The lane, then called Nikolsky by the church, was also named after the pioneer.
The temple was returned to believers in 1992. It was restored in 1991-2000 under the project of G.A. Kaiser. The temple has a Sunday school, a biblical college, a club for the historical reconstruction of medieval cultures, a center for contemporary art, ArtEria.
Address: Novovagankovsky per., 9
Church of the Ascension of God behind the Serpukhov Gate in Moscow
At the end of the XVII century the territory near to the Serpukhov Gate was actively settled by artisans and merchants. Over time, it took the construction of a separate temple for new residents. In 1696 a wooden church in the name of the Ascension of the Lord appeared on a plot of land donated by the Danilov Monastery. But this temple was not sufficiently roomy: in 1708 a permit was issued for the construction of a large stone building of the epoch of “baroque”, and Tsarevich Alexei Petrovich himself became the temple founder.
Worship services continued here until 1929. The temple was closed and assigned for demolition. But only the bell tower and the fence were dismantled, the rest was adapted for a cold storage warehouse. At the same time, the temple lost its head with a drum, the lower tier was rebuilt. Later there was a hostel, office, computing center of one of the ministries. Interiors have been lost. The restoration began in 1991, simultaneously with the resumption of worship. Specialists found the old church paintings under plaster, and the Jerusalem Icon of the Mother of God, which belonged to the church, was brought from the Danilov Monastery. Today the appearance of the beginning of the twentieth century has been restored to the temple, the head, bell tower, and interiors have been recreated. A beautiful architectural building of an orphanage with a home temple in the name of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia was built nearby. A little distance away a chapel-temple was built in the name of Equal-to-the-Apostles Princess Olga.
Church of St. Catherine the Great Martyr on Vspolye in Moscow
The first information about the wooden church at this place is dated to 1612. A Vspolye in the Moscow language of those times meant arable land located beyond the actual boundary of the urban settlement; lands in the area of modern Serpukhovskaya area were cultivated by the Ekaterininskaya black settlement of plowmen, in which, by 1651, there were 87 yards. At the same time (1657) the church was replaced by a stone one.
The existing Baroque temple was built in 1766-1775 according to the design of Carl Blank. It is likely that the construction of the temple was personally ordered by Catherine II during her coronation in 1762. Blank built a new building next to the old one, combining two temples with a central volume with a bell tower. The new (preserved) church operated in the summer, the old (heated) in the winter.
In 1931 the temple was closed. Temple icon of St. Catherine was transferred to the Church of the Resurrection in Monetchiki, after the demolition of the Church of the Resurrection - in the temple of Flora and Laurus on the hook. The latter was also closed; the fate of the icon is unknown.
After the closure of the temple of St. Catherine's bell tower was destroyed before the first tier, the heads were dismantled. Spassky temple was given under housing, Ekaterininsky - under the office. Subsequently, the church building was occupied by the Central Design Bureau for Instrument Engineering. In the 1970s the restoration of the temple began. By 1983, the temple of St. Catherine was restored outwardly; even the chapter was installed with a cross. By 1990, the Center occupied the winter temple, having placed workshops in it.
Address: st. Bolshaya Ordynka, 60/2
Church of St. Nicholas of Mirlikiya at the Rogozhskoye Cemetery in Moscow
In 1771, at the Rogozhskoye cemetery, a wooden chapel in the name of St. Nicholas was built, which five years later was replaced by a stone church that still exists today. The church was built in 1776 and originally belonged to the Rogozhsky Old Believer community. The temple in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker was built at the expense of Moscow merchants, the Old Believers. After in 1800 the Moscow Metropolitan Platon in Russia approved the Uniform Faith, in 1854 the church was handed over to the co-religionists and became officially called the Nicolo-Monarchist Church at the Rogozhskoye cemetery in Moscow.
The church was rebuilt in the Russian style at the expense of the merchant N. M. Alyasin in 1866 according to the design of the architect N. V. Karneev. The three-tiered bell tower with a hipped roof was re-erected, to which the bells with a total weight of 660 poods were raised; the main one weighed 360 poods.
In Soviet times, the temple was not closed. From 1923 to 1993 Pokrovsky chapel was handed over to the Old Believers-Beglopopovtsy and separated from the main chapel by a wall, now abolished. In 1993, the Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker at the Rogozhsky cemetery was completely transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. Since the 1970s, the church has been repeatedly restored both inside and outside.
Address: st. Rogozhsky Village, 1A / 29s
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Khoroshevo in Moscow
The parish church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Khoroshevo belongs to the Moscow Patriarchate. The initiator of the construction of the church is Boris Godunov, who in 1598 issued a decree to build a building for worship in his patrimony - the village of Khoroshevo. It was ordered to take the Small Cathedral of the Donskoy Monastery as the sample. The complex of buildings was supplemented by the refectory part and the bell tower only in the XIX century.
The temple under the central and side domes is decorated with magnificent kokoshniks, the facade and apses are decorated very modestly, while the cornices are lined with stepped tiers, and the apses are decorated with pilasters. The windows were initially very narrow, later in the XVII century they were significantly increased.
In August 1939, the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity was given to the collective farm club, later used as a children's consultation. In the 1990s, the church was handed over to the parishioners; on April 30, 1989, at Easter, the first service was held after many years of calm.
Address: Karamyshevskaya nab., 15
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin on Uspensky Vrazhok in Moscow
The wooden church already existed on this site at the beginning of the 16th century: in the Nikon Chronicle in 1531, the Assumption Church was mentioned. In stone, the Assumption Church was built in 1647. The current church was built in 1857-60 at the expense of the merchant Sergei Zhivago. Architect A.S. Nikitin. The church of St. Nicholas, destroyed in 1955 adjoined the church from the north from 1767.
In 1924 the temple was closed, the building was given under the archive. In Soviet times, the head was demolished, decorative kokoshniki were broken over the southern facade. The bell tower remained, but the cupola with the cross was deprived, its windows of the bell were laid with bricks. Since the late 1970s, the building housed a point for intercity telephone calls.
The church community was registered in 1992; the church was consecrated in 2000. The temple is two-tier. Thrones: the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the upper church, the chapels - Sergius of Radonezh and the Beheading of John the Baptist, Nicholas the Wonderworker in the lower crypt.
Address: 15 Gazetny Lane
Church of the Ascension of the Lord on the Pea Field in Moscow
The first wooden church of the Ascension, created in the early 1730s, played the role of a house one at the estate of Chancellor G.I. Golovkin. After the fire of 1737 the building was rebuilt in stone. In 1773, the Ascension Church from the house became a parish; there was not enough room in it. The old building was dismantled, and the new one was erected in 1788–93 a little further away, closer to the Chechere River, on the site of which Elizavetinsky Lane subsequently appeared. The neighboring street became Voznesenskaya (since 1929, Radio Street).
In 1913 the church was visited by Nicholas II. In 1933, the church was closed. The building was used first for the club of the neighboring Aerodynamic Institute, then for the locksmith and printing house, and after a while - for the hostel. The interiors were completely destroyed, the interior space was divided into floors, but the church was hardly rebuilt from the outside. In the 1970s, the building passed to the Production Association "Packaging." In 1993, the church was handed over to believers and its restoration began.
Address: Radio st., 2, building 1
Temple of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Uzkoye in Moscow
The estate “Uzkoye” is known from the beginning of the 16th century, the wooden church in it is from 1641. Nowadays, the existing stone church was built in 1698 by the boyar Tikhon Nikitich Streshnev, uncle of Peter I, in the style of “Moscow baroque” . For two centuries, the church was the center of the spiritual life of the estate "Uzkoye", which in different years were owned by the ancient surnames of the Russian princes: Golitsyn, Gagarins, Streshnevs, Obolensky, Neyely, Tolstoy, Trubetskoy.
The history of the temple and the estate is also associated with the name of the brilliant Russian religious philosopher Vladimir Solovyov. In this estate near to Moscow on July 31, 1900 at the age of 47, V. Soloviev died. In addition to the temple in the Uzkoye manor house and an old park of the XVIII century were preserved. The temple was closed in 1928 and used as a repository of the most valuable books, which in different years were removed from scientific and cultural circulation. It was returned to the Church in September 1990. Services are resumed on the day of Easter 1992.
The main throne was consecrated in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, the chapels - the First and Second Acquisitions of the head of John the Forerunner, St. Nicholas. Shrines: Kazan Icon of the Mother of God on the western outer wall of the temple.
Address: Profsouznaya St., 123B
The Church of St. Nicholas at the Transfiguration Cemetery in Moscow
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker is an active Orthodox church on the territory of the Transfiguration Cemetery in Moscow. The temple was erected at the end of the 17th century and belonged to the Old Believers community. Since in the early 1850s by the emperor Nicholas I Old Believers were accused of treason, by 1857 the church was rebuilt and consecrated in honor of Nicholas the Wonderworker.
Ten years later, a monastery was founded at the church, some buildings of which have survived to our time. In the thirties, the monastery was closed, the property was stolen, and some buildings were destroyed. The remaining rooms housed the hostel.
Currently, the temple has two entrances: from the west side to the Orthodox part of the church, and from the north to the Old Believers.
Address: st. Preobrazhensky Val, 25
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Khokhly in Moscow
The Church of the Holy Trinity in Khokhly is mentioned in historical documents from the first half of the XVII century. The first information about this temple and its parish is contained in the Census Book of 1638, which lists the courtyards of the clerks — the priest Fyodor Yevsevyev, the sexton Nasonka Ivanov and swelled Darya Grigorieva, as well as some inhabitants of the parish — Ivan Shapilov, Prince Vasily Fedorovich Mortkin, the clerk of New Chety Vasily Konin and Ivan Stepanovich Kiselev. What was at this time the church, wooden or stone, is unknown.
The stone church of the Life-giving Trinity, which is in Khokhlovka, was first named in the Building Book of 1657. At that time, the courtyard of the priest Fyodor Anfimov was in his presence, as well as the Dyachkovsky courtyard in which the sexton Mitka Avdeev lived. Actually the ponomarsky and the malignant yards remained empty. From these courtyards and from the priest's garden, the land was subsequently taken for the construction of a new cemetery. Near to the church the courtyards of Gregory Holshchevnik and the Ivashka Semenov Pokrovskaya hundred were located. Information about other residents of the parish can be obtained from the list of courtyards of 1669.
At the end of May 1935, the Commission on Religious Affairs of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee approved a decree of the MOIK on the liquidation of the Trinity Church in Khokhlovsky Lane using the building for the laboratory and the repository of the State Museum of Anthropology. The revival of the Trinity Church and the community began in the 90s of the XX century.
Address: Khokhlovsky pereulok, house 14с5
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity on Gryazekh in Moscow
The name "on Gryazekh" is given to the church because to the north of it from the Pogany (now Chistye) ponds the pipe Rachka flowed through a pipe in the wall of the White City and the churchyard. It formed a large puddle, and then turned into a "stream". This flow formed dirt on Pokovka.
At the end of the 16th century, the Pokrovskye gates of the White City were established nearby. In 1619 at the church of St. Basil appeared in the name of the Intercession of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and in 1625 the aisle of the Holy Trinity was built. On the first stone church, conflicting information was preserved. According to one version, the stone building was built in 1649, but on the plan of Moscow in 1674 the church was listed as wooden. In 1701, the old church was replaced with a new one, with the chapel of the Entry into the Temple of the Most Holy Theotokos.
The current building of the temple of the Holy Trinity on Gryazekh was built in 1861. The church is a magnificent structure built in the style of the Renaissance. The four-pillar temple in plan has the form of a rectangle. The column portico ends with a domed drum, and a multi-tiered bell tower rises above the western porch.
In 1929, the Gregorians, led by false Metropolitan Boris (Rukin), settled in the church, but in January 1930, by decision of the Moscow Council, the church was closed and a granary was set up in it. In the mid-1950s, the dome and bell tower were demolished, the interior space was re-planned using various partitions, and a cultural center was placed in the former church.
In 1992, the church was handed over to believers. In the Trinity Church at Gryazekh there are such Orthodox shrines as: the icon of the Mother of God of the Three Joys, the icon of St. David of Gareja, as well as the icon of the Mother of God: Iverskaya, the Joy of All Who Sorrow, the Housemaker.
Address: st. Pokrovka, 13
Orthodox Church of the Nine Kizichesky Martyrs in Moscow
The saints of the Nine Martyrs of Kizichesky suffered for the Christian faith at the end of the 3rd century AD in the Asia Minor city of Kizik on the banks of the Dardanelles. The population of Kizik was mostly pagan, as because of the persecutions, many Christians left the city, and the rest hid their faith. By order of the local ruler, the preachers were imprisoned in a dungeon and were forced to renounce Christ with torture, promising freedom in return. Having achieved nothing, the authorities sentenced them to death, which took place around 284–292. All the martyrs were beheaded and buried near the city.
In 1696, Patriarch Adrian, who had been paralyzed on the verge of death, turned to the Nine Martyrs for help. He vowed to place a church in Moscow in honor of the Saints in the event of his healing. A miracle happened, and the Patriarch rose from the bed of his illness.
The location for the Novinsky Monastery was determined, and construction began almost immediately, by decree of Peter I. He himself often visited the Devyatynsky Church and liked to listen to patriarchal choristers here.
On April 5, 1922, more than 9 pounds of gold and silver church items were seized from the temple. The building of the temple of the Nine Martyrs was transferred to the neighboring City Women's Prison. The Temple of the Nine Martyrs of Kizik was returned to the Church in 1992.
Address: Bolshoy Devyatinsky Lane, 15
The Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh in Rogozhskaya Sloboda in Moscow
The first wooden church of St. Sergius was built in the Rogozhskaya Yamskaya settlement (or Gonnaya) at the beginning of the XVII century. This is evidenced by the scribal book of 1628, informing that in 1627 the church was imposed (that is, it already existed before) with a tribute to the “wooden church building of Yamsky hunters” with the main altar of the Life-Giving Trinity and the aisle of the Holy Trinity of Sergius.
In the 1720s the wooden church in Sergiev was replaced by a stone church, as evidenced by the first mention of a stone church, dating back to 1722, and the next, to 1727. During the Napoleonic invasion of September 3–4, 1812, the invaders looted the temple, and on September 5 it was embraced by fire and burned out. Part of the utensils managed to bury in the ground and save.
After closing in 1938, the temple stood, gradually decaying. According to some reports, even a shower was arranged in the central part of the temple. On the domes and roofs of the temple grew small trees, and the whole building was in deep cracks. Soon the domes of the temple were stripped, the crosses knocked down. For some time a secured secret archive was housed in the church, communal apartments were placed in the house of the clergy.
Address: Nikoloyamskaya St., 59
Church of St. Nicholas on Bolvanovka in Moscow
On the high Tagansky hill, between the Lower and Upper Bolvanovskaya (now Radischevskaya) streets, in 1697-1712 the Church of St. Nicholas on Bolvanovka was built. Bolvanovsky streets were called according to the settlement of craftsmen who lived here and made blanks for the manufacture of hats or metal castings.
The construction of a stone single-tiered church with a small refectory and a separate bell tower dates back to 1682 and was carried out "with the blessing of the holy Patriarch Ioakim, at the request of parish people."
The revolution came to Taganka rapidly. In the early 20s, services in the church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker were banned by the Soviet authorities, and the building itself was leased to various organizations. In 1922, more than 15 pounds of silver were taken out of the temple, while painting was painted over, partitions were installed, the iconostasis was destroyed, tiles were brought down from the facades and the bells were removed.
In 1944, during the reconstruction of Taganskaya Square and the beginning of the construction of the Taganskaya metro station, it was decided to disassemble the Church of St. Nicholas as it stood in the immediate vicinity of the metro building. They managed to demolish the drums with the heads of the main quadrangle of the temple, the interfloor overlappings, and the roof over the refectory, the tent and the octagon of the bell tower, but, fortunately, thanks to public intervention, the work was stopped, which saved the temple from death.
And only in 1990 the church was given to believers. With the efforts of the abbot and parishioners, the second life, the second breath began at the church of St. Nicholas. Work on restoring former greatness continues to this day.
Address: Verkhnaya Radischevskaya St., 20
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Pokrovsky-Glebov-Streshnev in Moscow
The name of the estate unites the double surname of its perennial owners, the Glebov-Streshnevs, and the old name of the village, Pokrovskoye. The latter was given to the local church, which is preserved today.
According to the clerk lists, the existing church was built in 1750 in a new place, but with an old dedication. There is an assumption that initially it was an economic building, adapted for the church.
After the revolution, the Noble Manor Museum was established in the main house of the Shakhovsky-Glebov-Streshnevs, the exhibition of which reflected the life and lifestyle of the aristocracy in Russia of the 18th-19th centuries. In the early 1930s it was closed, many of its exhibits disappeared and were sold abroad, only some of them were transferred to the Historical Museum.
The main house later housed the rest house of military pilots, and in the temple there was a civil aviation research institute with a laboratory. The building lost its crosses and heads, the interior decoration was destroyed, and new premises were opened. Restoration of the church began in 1992, and the following year, the first services after a long interruption were held here.
Address: Volokolamskoye sh., 52
Orthodox Church of the Great Martyr Dimitrius of Thessalonius on Blagusha in Moscow
The temple, built in 1908-1911 on Blagusha, was named in honor of the holy great martyr Dimitri Solunsky, the patron saint of Orthodox soldiers. Blagusha is the historical name of the area, located in the north-east of Moscow between the Semenovskaya Gate and the village of Izmailovo.
In 1931, the parish was closed, and the building of the Temple was transferred to the NKVD, which adapted it to the precious metals recycling plant. The crosses were demolished, the domes were removed, and the upper tiers of the bell tower were dismantled. Melting furnaces were installed in the altar. Under the main arch acid workshop was placed.
In a completely ruined state, cut off from all city communications, the building of the Temple was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in 1991. Since November 17, 1991, when the consecration of the crosses and their installation on the Temple was performed, the parish has been working on the revival of the Temple. At the Diocesan Assembly of 2000, Patriarch Alexy II of Moscow called the Church of Dimitry of Thessaloniki the most destroyed Temple of Moscow.
Address: st. Ibragimova, 6
Church of the Imposition in Leonov in Moscow
In the village of Leonov in the XVII century there was a wooden church in the name of the provision of the robe of the Most Holy Theotokos, built between 1629 - 35 years. In 1719, a stone church was built in the name of the provision of the robe of the Most Holy Theotokos with the chapel of St. Nicholas. The modern church building was built in 1719–1722.
In Soviet times, the temple was not closed. In 1918, icons and utensils from the Chersky St. Michael’s Church of the Grodno Diocese were transferred to it. Among the church shrines there is the revered icon of the Mother of God “Imposition” with a piece of the robe of the Most Holy Mother of God, the icon of the Mother of God “Smolenskaya” (XVI century), the icon of the Mother of God “Soothe my sorrows” (beginning of the XVIII century) and others.
Address: st. Dokukina, 15, b. 1
Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh in Moscow
The temple complex of Sergius of Radonezh on Ryazanka includes 2 temples today (Sergius of Radonezh (small) and the Entry into the Temple of the Most Holy Mother of God (large) and the clergy house, which houses the Sunday School and the School of Church Bell-dwarfs.
On April 22, 2000, the constituent assembly of a small initiative group of believers decided to create a parish in honor of St. Sergius of Radonezh and petition the authorities for permission to build a temple on Ryazanka. On May 19, 2002, Archbishop Arseny of Istrinsky consecrated a plot of land allocated at the intersection of Okskaya Street and Ryazan Avenue.
On January 16, 2005, the Cross was erected on the head of the small church, and on December 3, the Great Consecration of the temple in the name of the Venerable Sergius of Radonezh. The single-headed building with a cross vault and one apse was constructed according to the design of N. Khrustaleva, who stylized it under the XVI century.
Address: 17 Okskaya Street
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Sign" in Aksinino in Moscow
The church "Sign", the remains of the park and a pond - this is all that survived from the once estate near Moscow. At the end of the 17th century Prince Mikhail Golitsyn arranged an estate in the village of Aksinino. In 1708, with his efforts, the first wooden church was erected in honor of the icon of the Mother of God “The Sign”.
In the war of 1812, the village of Aksinino fell into the zone of active actions; however, in comparison with other churches, the Znamensky temple suffered the least damage from ruin, since the parishioners together with the priest managed to hide the valuable utensils of the temple.
After the October Revolution in 1922, church treasures were seized. Liturgical vessels and other valuables were selected. In 1923, the sacristy of the temple was robbed. The archive had a contract with the local authorities, which was made with the church in 1925, under which the church and the bell tower were given to the community for free. However, the village council was located in the house for the priests, and then the cinema.
In the period from 1938 to 1941, there was a massive closure of temples in Moscow, but the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Sign" was not closed. It became a place where icons and other utensils were brought from closed churches.
In the temple in 1981, on January 1, Nadezhda Yakovlevna Mandelstam (the wife of Osip Mandelstam) had burial service. According to the memoirs of contemporaries of this event, the church was filled to capacity, there were about 500 people. Today, the temple operates a two-class Sunday school.
Address: Festivalnaya ul., 6
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker "Red Ringing" in Moscow
The nickname of this church is unique for Moscow: nowhere else does the name “Red Ring” occur. These words are all that today reminds of one of the most beautiful bell bells of Moscow.
As a rule, the original buildings of temples were built of wood, and then erected in stone. In the case of the Church of St. Nicholas the “Red Ring”, first mentioned in 1561, it was a matter of a stone building, which is rare for Moscow.
In 1927 the services in the Nikolskaya church ceased. Recognized as “of little value,” it was assigned for demolition, but it survived. The interior has been completely lost. Only the bell of 1573, brought from Poland, was preserved and transferred to the museum in Kolomenskoye. The space of the temple turned out to be unlocked on several floors, it housed various government agencies. In the 1960s, an electrical substation was equipped inside.
Later, the church was surrounded on several sides by a new complex of buildings of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, to which the building of the temple was attributed. Since 1991, the process of transferring the church to the community of believers began, but permanent worship services were organized only in 1996. For many years the domes remained rusty, there were cracks in the walls, and the crosses completed only the bell tower and the central chapter. However, the restoration works gradually return to the temple its historical appearance. Today, four side heads are again crowned with crosses.
Address: Nikolsky per., 9A
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God the Sign in Pereyaslavskaya Sloboda with the Christening Church of the Holy Martyr Alexander Khotovitsky in Moscow
The Znamensky Church has its history since the end of the 16th century, when "blessed memory under the Sovereign and Grand Duke Ivan Vasilyevich of All Russia was set by him to Pereslavskaya Yamskaya settlement on the mountain of worship, and there were fifty people”. The wooden church built in the settlement was consecrated in honor of the Beheading of John the Baptist (according to the name of Tsar Ivan the Terrible).
Soon, a chapel appeared in the church in honor of St. Nicholas, whom the driver was especially honored as the patron saint of travelers. And already in 1638 in the Census Book of Moscow it was written: “In Pereslavskaya in Gonnaya settlement in the name of the Church of the Sign of the Most Pure Theotokos”. The reason for renaming history is not preserved. In 1757, "the diligence of parishioners and outsiders of good-willed hunters" began the construction of a stone church, which was consecrated in 1765 and still exists today.
The building built in the Baroque style has a symmetrical axial composition, which was finally formed in 1888. The consistent and accurate reproduction in the architecture of the late aisles and extensions of the original baroque forms makes it possible to perceive the building as stylistically uniform. The red color of the walls and the white color of the details give the temple a strict and at the same time elegant appearance.
Address: 2nd Krestovsky Lane, 17с1
Cathedral of the Armenian Orthodox Church in Moscow
The site for the construction of the future temple at the corner of Trifonovskaya Street and Olympic Avenue was allocated by the Moscow government in 1996. Works were planned to be completed by 2001. However, the money collection and construction were frozen a year earlier, when the head of the Novo-Nakhichevan and Russian Diocese of the Armenian Apostolic Orthodox Church, Bishop Tiran (Kyureghian) was defrocked after being charged with appropriating funds donated to the church.
In 2005, after the trial, the sentence to Tiran Kyureghyan was appealed and declared invalid. Bishop Ezras announced a new fundraising for construction, which began in 2006. Due to the proximity of groundwater, the project had to be revised and, in order to make buildings more resilient, to abandon several extensions from the Olympic Avenue. The construction lasted seven years - until 2013.
On September 17, 2013, the opening ceremony of the Armenian temple complex in Moscow took place. It was attended by Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan, Catholicos Garegin II and Patriarch Kirill.
Address: Olympic Ave, 9
Church of St. John Lestvichnik in the Donskoy Monastery in Moscow
To the east of the altar part of the Great Cathedral a small temple in honor of St. John Climacus stands, built in 1896-1897 at the expense of Major General I.F. Tereshchenko. Originally it was a chapel-tomb for his family; in 1898 it was converted into a church.
A small church was built in the style of Russian historicism and its architectural appearance is turned to Moscow posad churches of the 17th century. The central tent octagon is flanked by 4 smaller similar volumes located on the cardinal points; the diagonal corners of the main volume are decorated with decorative barrels. The altar completion is flanked by small kokoshniks and crowned with a tiny dome. From the western part of the temple the closed porch-porch adjoins. The walls of the temple are decorated with decorative ornaments made of molded bricks and stucco details.
The facades of the temple were restored in 1989, and in 1990 the interior paintings were restored. In the mid-1990s, an iconostasis was installed in the church.
Address: st. Donskaya, 1b17
Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in Yasenevo in Moscow
The present building of the temple was erected in the years 1751-1753 in the style of Elizabethan (late) baroque and consecrated in the name of the holy first-class apostles Peter and Paul. The owner of the village then was Theodore Avrahamovich Lopukhin; in his presence, the Yasenevo manor was built near the temple and a park with alleys and ponds was laid out.
On July 9, 1822, the wedding of Princess Maria Volkonskaya and Lieutenant Colonel Nikolai Tolstoy, the parents of the writer Leo Tolstoy, took place in the church.
In the 1930s, the temple, which had already been used as a state farm warehouse, was closed (the painting of the temple was not preserved). In the years 1973-1976, it was externally restored; crosses and the bell tower were erected on the temple. At the same time, the whole territory of the temple, enclosed by a fence, belonged to the car repair base and its warehouses.
In 1989, the temple with the house of the clergy were transferred to the Orthodox community; a parish was established.
Address: Novoyasenevsky Ave., 40к7
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Podkopai in Moscow
In the historical sources, the Nikolsky Church near the grand-ducal residence at the base of the Ivanovo Hill is mentioned starting from the end of the 15th century. And the lane in which the temple stood was at one time called Nikolsky. Over time, the appearance of the temple changed. In 1700, a unique, elegant hexagon finish was erected, which now adorns the temple.
After the war with Napoleon, the temple was closed for almost half a century, and then it was decided to transfer the temple to the Patriarch of Alexandria. In 1858, the temple of Nicholas in Podkopai was consecrated by the subsequently glorified Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow and the Bishop of Thebaid Nicanor. A year later, the chapel in honor of the Kazan Mother of God becomes the main temple.
In the post-revolutionary 1920s, the temple was able to avoid closure due to the fact that the Greek community was registered in it. The temple was closed in the 1930s. The temple was returned to the church in 1991.
Address: Podkopayevsky per., 15/9
A temple in honor of Rev. Euphrosyne of Grand Duchess of Moscow in Kotlovka in Moscow
In 2003, under the leadership of Alexy Ladigin, a home church was founded in honor of Euphrosinia Moskovskaya in the Kotlovka area and at the same time a Sunday school for children and adults was created on a free basis. The Kotlovka District Administration allocated the premises where the First Divine Liturgy was served on April 20, 2003. The foundation stone of the stone temple was laid in July 2005.
In May 2008, the relics of St. Euphrosyne of Moscow were transferred to the church, and in December 2010, the church was consecrated. The place for the temple was not chosen by chance - on the territory of the modern district of Kotlovka there was an estate of Princess Evdokia called Boilers. In the Boilers, the princess, together with her son Basil, received Metropolitan Cyprian, who was later canonized, and persuaded him to remain in Moscow. This, in turn, made Moscow the spiritual center of Russia.
Address: Nakhimovsky pr., 8
St. Nicholas Church of Common Faith in Studentsy in Moscow
The name "on Studentsy" allegedly occurred along the road leading to the White Sea along the temple, which in common people was called "studenets". The exact date of the foundation of the temple is unknown, but in documentary sources for 1672 it is listed as wooden. The construction of the stone church began in 1699, and the end of construction dates back to 1702, but some sources question these dates. In 1718, the first altar was mentioned for the first time in the name of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God.
The temple was closed in the early 1930s, the bell tower was blown up, and the building was greatly redone. The demolition of the temple continued until 1937, but it did not end, a second floor was created in the building and the Cardolent factory hostel was placed in it. In 1965, there was another attempt to demolish the temple to make room for the construction of a dwelling house, the demolition stopped due to public protest. After a survey of the remains of the building in 1966, it was decided to restore it; work began in the same year and continued until 1969, although the building stood in scaffolding until 1983.
Returned to believers in 1992, the first service was held in 1994, and they have become a regular since 1996. Services are performed according to the old rite.
Address: Taganskaya St., 20-a
Cathedral of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Moscow
The stone Cathedral of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God is the main cathedral and the core of the architectural composition of the Virgin-Nativity Monastery.
It was built in the years 1501-1505 on the site of an older temple. Part of the white stone foundation in the eastern part remained from it. The new building is designed in the style of early Moscow architecture. Its pyramidal silhouette and some details remind the famous Savior Cathedral of the Andronikov monastery.
The temple was badly damaged during the Moscow fire of 1547, but was soon restored by Queen Anastasia, the wife of Ivan the Terrible. The king himself ordered in the southern altar apse to arrange the Nikolsky chapel, which was later transferred to the Church of St. John Chrysostom.
After the revolution, the temple was closed along with the monastery. The drainage system was disturbed in it, but the building itself was preserved and was renovated in the 1970s.
Address: Rozhdestvenka Street, 20
Temple of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God in Orlov in Moscow
The temple in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God was built in the village of Orlovo (Solntsevo district, Moscow) in the second half of the 17th century.
Stone temple in Orlovo was erected at the expense of the manufacturer Epaneshnikov in 1861 instead of the wooden church burnt down in December 1851. Initially, it was with two chapels in honor of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Nicholas. Later in 1873, a refectory part was attached to it, in which a third chapel was held, dedicated to the Donskaya Icon of the Mother of God.
In July 1935, Kuntsevsky District Council at its meeting approved the "petition" of residents of the Orlovo and members of the collective farm "Leninets" on the closure of St. Nicholas Church with the refurbishment of the building under the local high school. The temple was soon destroyed.
The construction of the church was begun in 2011 as part of the program "200 churches of Moscow".
Address: Staroorlovskaya St., 106
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary at the Chizhevsky Compound in Moscow
The Assumption Church building was built in 1691. For a long time it was considered the home church of the land plot owners, but in 1799 the then owner P. A. Kusovnikov was denied having a home church, and it became attached to the Trinity Church in the Polya.
A small church building, on a high, deaf basement, was built in the style of Moscow Baroque. The main volume is completed with a light octagon with a bulbous head on a faceted drum. A quadrangular altar is adjacent to the square from the east, and from the west - a wider, refurbished refectory, which has been repeatedly rebuilt.
In 1918, the Assumption Church took Narkomvoenmor. On August 30, 1960 by the Resolution of the Council of Ministers of the RSFSR № 1327 the temple was put on state protection as a monument of architecture. Since 1977, the premises of the temple are occupied by the All-Union Production Scientific and Restoration Combine. At the same time restoration was begun in the temple.
Since 2000, regular worship has been resumed in the temple.
Address: Nikolskaya St., 8
Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Chertanovo in Moscow
On September 30, 2000, the Most Holy Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II approved the Minutes of the meeting of the constituent Parish meeting of the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Chertanovo, Moscow. The newly elected members of the Parish Assembly, the Parish Council and the Revision Commission were approved in the position. By decree of His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II of November 10, 2003, His Grace Bishop Arkady was appointed the first rector of the church under construction.
On December 26, 2004, with the blessing of His Holiness the Patriarch, a small consecration of the church was performed by Bishop Arkady. On June 23, 2005, by decree of His Holiness the Patriarch, priest Konstantin Sopelnikov was appointed rector of the church. At present, a draft order of the Government of Moscow has been prepared to extend the construction of the temple complex in honor of the Life-Giving Trinity in Chertanovo until 2015. The temple has entered the city-wide program for the construction of 200 temples.
Address: Dnepropetrovskaya St., 16
Church of the Transfiguration on Preobrazhenskaya Square in Moscow
In the XVIII century, the Transfiguration Church was the main church of the Preobrazhenskoye village - the residence of Peter the Great, the "capital of Peter the Great Transformations". The original church was built in the courtyard of the Preobrazhensky regiment and in fact served as a troop formation of the first regiment of the Russian Guard. This tradition was maintained and honored by the guard and the imperial court even at the end of the 19th century. The high altar of the Transfiguration, which gave the temple the name by which it became most famous, was consecrated in 1750.
The church on Preobrazhenka - in the pre-revolutionary years only one of the many temples in the outlying urban areas - in Soviet times, after the closure and destruction of dozens of ancient and famous churches, became one of the notable centers of Orthodox Moscow. The service here has never stopped; the temple took under its arches the shrines from the surrounding closed and destroyed churches.
At four o'clock in the morning on July 18, 1964, the inhabitants of Preobrazhenskaya Square and its environs were awakened by a terrible roar. Many knew that on that night the old church of the Transfiguration, which supposedly interfered with the construction of the subway, was to be blown up.
On July 17, 2009, the Moscow government issued a decree on the re-establishment of the Church of the Transfiguration "with full identification and scientific authenticity of the restored architectural forms."
Address: Preobrazhenskaya Square, 9A
Church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul in the New Basman Sloboda in Moscow
The wooden church of St. Peter and Paul in the Basmannaya Kapitanskaya Settlement was founded in 1692 at the request of the steward and Lieutenant Colonel I. Bashev. In 1705, work on the erection of a stone church began. The wooden church was still functioning during the works, nothing is known about its future. In 1719 the church building was completed. The temple turned out to be a two-tier one, with an open arched gallery in the lower tier and a high ground on the top. A churchyard was located around the church, surrounded by a fence.
The temple was closed in 1935 by a decree of the Presidium of the Moscow City Council of March 11. The church building was handed over to the Office of the Moscow Regional Police for a warehouse of military-economic property. The wooden hut of the Geodesy plant was built on the temple grounds, and in 1940 a kindergarten was built. In 1949, the church almshouse was built on two floors. The building housed apartments for employees of the Zheleznodorozhny District Executive Committee and the Metropolitan Building Service. In 1959, by decision of the Moscow City Council, the building of the temple was transferred to the All-Russian Scientific Research Institute "Geophysics".
In 1992, by order of the Government of Moscow, the Peter and Paul church returned to believers. A small consecration took place on the feast of the Epiphany, on December 19, 1994. The first feast day was celebrated in the same year.
Address: New Basmannaya St., 11
Chapel of the Transfiguration of the Savior on the Bratsk military cemetery in Moscow
In February 1915, a military cemetery was opened on the lands of an old park near to the Church of All Saints (now the Sokol metro station is located near to it). At first, a wooden chapel was located in the center of the military necropolis, and on August 6, 1916, a stone church-chapel in the name of the Transfiguration of the Lord, built by the architect A. B. Schusev in 1918, was laid in the cemetery.
In the 30s of the 20th century, the territory of the Bratsk cemetery was significantly reduced, and in the late 40s due to the construction of the Sandy streets area, the cemetery has been liquidated. In place of the church-chapel in 1956, the Leningrad cinema was built. Nowadays, the territory of the former Bratsk cemetery is partially built up, partly occupied by Sandy Square and a public garden.
The Chapel of the Transfiguration of the Savior was rebuilt in 1998.
Address: st. Novopeschanaya 12 building 2
Cathedral in honor of the Bogolyubsky Icon of the Mother of God in Moscow
The first wooden church in honor of the Bogolyubsky Icon of the Mother of God was built in the Petrovsky Monastery in 1382 by the decree of the Holy Blessed Prince Dimitri Donskoy. At the beginning of the 16th century, a wooden church was built at this place in honor of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos.
Stone Bogolyubsky Cathedral was built in 1684–1690-ies in the style of the early Naryshkin (Moscow) Baroque by the decision of Tsarina Natalia Kirillovna and the young Tsar Peter over the graves of the future emperor's uncles, Ivan and Afanasy Naryshkins, killed during the Streltsy revolt of 1682. Later the temple became the resting place of more than 20 representatives of the Naryshkin family, including grandfather and grandmother of Peter I.
After the revolutionary events, it was Bogolyubsky temple that for a long time remained the only active church in the monastery. In 1924–1929, services in the church were performed by the community of the Vysoko-Petrovsky Monastery, which existed in those years in secret from the authorities.
In 1929, the church was closed by the Moscow authorities, and then plundered. The masterpieces of Russian icon painting were burned in the courtyard of the monastery, the tombstones of the Naryshkins were thrown out onto the street, and valuable liturgical utensils went for scrap. In Soviet times, various institutions were located in the temple, whose activities led the building to a state close to critical.
On December 21, 2013, the first divine service for 84 years from the date of its closure by the Bolsheviks took place in the Bogolyubsky church of the Vysoko-Petrovsky monastery.
Address: st. Petrovka, 28, b. 11
Temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God on Khavskaya in Moscow
Historically, the area near to Khavskaya Street was the residence of Old Believers. In the XIX century in the house of Mikhailov there was a prayer room, in which in 1898 the archbishop of Moscow and All Russia John (Kartushin) was elevated to the pulpit. In August 1909, the Old Believers' society accepting the priesthood of the Belokrinitsky hierarchy from the parish of the Mikhaylovs in the Moscow Provincial Board requested permission to establish an Old Believer community in Moscow with the name of Tikhvin Old Believers. The temple was laid on August 21, 1911.
At the beginning of 1930, the church was closed "for transfer under a red corner to the Armatrest plant". In February of that year, the royal gates, more than 30 images of the XVII century, a folding three-tier marching iconostasis and 15 large icons were taken to the museum fund. The central head was broken, four decorative domes with a crate from makovki remained on the corners of the temple. The iron was torn off the wooden tent of the bell tower, only the crate survived. The Old Russian tent was broken over the church porch. Only the small cupola above the altar remained. In 1967 a hardware warehouse was built in the temple. In 1978-1980, the building was empty; no one was guarding it, inside was a complete rout. But even in its wounded form, the church adorned the street.
In the 1990s it was privatized contrary to the law and turned into a grill bar by the executive committee of the Moscow City Council. In 2003, it was to be returned to the Church. This did not happen, and the temple is still privately owned.
Address: Prospect Mira, 130
Church of the Transfiguration in Tushino in Moscow
The temple is the successor of the Spaso-Preobrazhensky Monastery known from the XIV century. In the XVIII century, after the closure of the monastery, its temple was converted into a parish. At the end of the XIX century, under the project of architect Vladislav Osipovich Grudzin, construction began on a new church, which was basically completed by 1886.
After the arrival of Soviet power, the temple was experiencing hard times. In 1935 or in 1937, the temple was closed. On December 11, 1937, the former rector of the church, Alexander Buravtsev, was arrested on December 22 of the same year, according to the verdict issued by the Troika, shot at Butovo training ground and was buried in a nameless common grave.
After closing, the building of the former temple was occupied by various institutions. In the 1950s, local residents turned to the authorities with a request to open the church, but their demand was not only met, but on the contrary, the authorities blown up the bell tower and the main dome. In 1965, the Savior-Tushino cemetery at the temple was abolished and demolished, and the building of the temple itself was turned into a materials warehouse.
The Tushino church has been reborn since the 1990s. This is the first temple consecrated by Patriarch Alexy II after his enthronement. The active restoration of the temple was started, the demolished bell tower and fence were rebuilt, the dome was restored, and the interiors are decorated with mosaics. The territory was equipped; all human remains found from the previously destroyed cemetery were reburied.
Address: Volokolamskoye sh., 128
Church of the Holy Blessed Tsarevich Dmitry in Moscow
The temple in the First City Hospital of Moscow has existed for over 200 years. It was built at the end of the 18th century together with the hospital and was consecrated on September 22, 1801 in honor of Tsarevich Dimitri - the saint, whose name was born by the founder of the hospital D. M. Golitsyn. Before its closure under the Soviet regime, the hospital church helped many thousands of sufferers. Of great importance to the temple have always been the donations of pious people.
In 1990, the temple of St. Tsarevich Dimitri at the First City Hospital in Moscow was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church on the initiative of the hospital administration. On November 22, His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II of Moscow and All Russia consecrated it anew.
Address: bldg. 12, Leninsky pr., 8
The Cathedral Church of the Diveevsky Saints at the Compound of the Trinity Seraphim-Diveevsky Monastery in Moscow
In 1909, Fyodor Vasilyevich Dolgintsev, a hereditary Muscovite temple founder of the Spaso-Preobrazhensky Cathedral of the Diveevsky monastery, bought a plot of land with buildings at 20, Mira Avenue for the Moscow monastery. The building was rebuilt by architect Peter Kharko in 1911—1912 and the chapel of St. Seraphim of Sarov was arranged in it.
In 1929, the compound was closed, and the building was significantly rebuilt.
Construction of the Moscow compound of the Diveevsky monastery began in the late 1990s. On May 16, 2008, with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II, the archbishop of Nizhny Novgorod and Arzamas, George, performed the rite of consecration of the foundation stone of the first church-chapel in honor of the new holiday of the Diveevsky saints Cathedral in the Moscow courtyard of the Diveevsky monastery.
Address: Mira Ave., 22
The Church of St. Nicholas on Bersenevka in Moscow
The existing church was built on the site of the former wooden church of St. Nicholas, where already in 1390 Nikolsky on the Swamp Monastery was listed, recorded as “the Great Wonderworker Nikolai at the Berseneva lattice” - that is, at the night outpost, which Berseny-Beklemishev watched from it and this name stuck. In 1656-1657 a new stone church of Nicholas the Wonderworker was built on Bersenevka.
In 1775, from the west, a new spacious refectory in the style of classicism was attached to the temple square, which greatly distorted the original appearance of the building. The refectory itself was a good example of classicism, but next to an elegant figured church it seemed completely irrelevant.
In Soviet times, the church operated until 1930, when it was closed at the request of the Central State Restoration Workshops located in the chambers of Averky Kirillov. After closing, representatives of the workshops submitted an application for the demolition of the bell tower, which prevented good lighting in the wards. Demolition threatened the whole church: B. Iofan, the author of the famous unrealized project of the House of Soviets, petitioned for this. In 1932 the bell tower was demolished, and the church was left, despite the neighborhood of the House on the embankment. In 1958 the Research Institute of Museology was housed in the temple.
In 1992, services were resumed in the temple.
Address: Bersenevskaya Embankment, 18-22
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in Putinki in Moscow
The first records of the temple in the annals are dated by 1621. At first it was wooden and was called “The Assumption, that in the old Embassy court” and “in Dmitrovka outside the city”. Already in those years, it was famous for the myrrh-flowing icon of the Assumption of the Virgin.
In the second half of the seventeenth century, the wooden church was probably dismantled or burned. And in 1676, under Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, a stone one was built on the site of a wooden church.
In 1922, the temple was closed, looted and partially destroyed, and “34 spools of gold, 6 pods and 5 pounds of silver and 1 precious object” were seized. The five heads and the top of the bell tower were broken, the course laid in it, the apses were destroyed, in the place of which the windows and the door were pierced. The building of the temple after closing and desecration for many years was used as a residential building.
The temple was rebuilt in 2008.
Address: Uspensky per., 4
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity on Shabolovka in Moscow
The history of the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity on Shabolovka goes deep into the life of the Moscow State. There are various assumptions regarding the origin of the name Shabolovka, but still the most likely is the suggestion that the village of Shabolovo near Moscow was named after the settlement of Prince Shabolat, and the Shabolovka area received its name as the road from Moscow to the mentioned village.
Soon, in the newly built settlement, with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch Adrian, a wooden Church of the Holy Trinity was erected; the construction began in 1698 and was finished in 1699. The temple was built on the land of the Danilov Monastery.
In the 30s of the 20th century, the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity was closed by decree of atheistic Soviet power; it was ruined, the bell tower was demolished and the rooms were adapted for watching movies. In 1992, the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: st. Shabolovka, 21
The Church of St. Nicholas in Khamovniki in Moscow
The painted church, standing on a hillock, stands out clearly among the surrounding buildings - even the later buildings did not obscure it and did not diminish its importance in shaping the appearance of the district.
In this area there was a wooden church in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, first mentioned in 1625, but, as researchers suggest, founded much earlier. In 1657 the church was named stone. Finally, in 1679, by decree of Tsar Fyodor Alekseevich, the construction of a new stone church, which ended in 1682, began somewhat apart from its former location.
During the Patriotic War of 1812, the temple suffered from the inside, but was soon restored. In the 1840s, a new mural appeared. In 1872, instead of Dimitrievsky, the chapel of the Icon of the Mother of God "The room for sinners" was built.
In the twentieth century, the Nikolskaya Church did not close and kept its decoration almost intact (with the exception of the lost in 1922 during the seizure of church property). Even the expansion of the next street and the creation of Komsomolsky Avenue did not affect it - only the fence in 1959 was transported closer to the temple itself. The ancient bells, including the bell of 1685, have survived. Time has greatly changed Khamovnaya settlement and only the church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker for more than 300 years remains in its place.
Address: st. Leo Tolstoy, 2
Church of St. John the Evangelist under the Elm in Moscow
The massive and majestic church building dominates all the surrounding buildings. Even the new buildings of the twentieth century in the neighborhood did not crush it and did not diminish its importance in shaping the look of Novaya Square. However, the crosses to the temple and the bell tower returned recently.
The exact date of construction of the first church is unknown, but it is mentioned as existing as early as 1493. The next time it appears in the sources after almost a century - in 1585, as wooden. At the same time, its nickname “under the elm,” over a large tree that grew next to the altar of the temple until 1775 becomes known. By the beginning of the 19th century, the old church building was dilapidated, but the Patriotic War of 1812 prevented its restructuring. Only in 1825 (this date is still visible on the gable above the altar) did construction work begin on the project of architects S.P. Obitaev and L.P. Karloni, which lasted 12 years and ended in 1837.
In 1925, the church was closed - one of the first in the district - and adapted first to the archive, and then to the municipal museum, which in 1934 turned into the Museum of History and Reconstruction of Moscow. The church lost its head and spire of the bell tower, inter-floor ceilings appeared inside, almost all the decoration was destroyed, with the exception of some fragments of stucco molding. Until the museum moved to the building of Provision warehouses on Zubovsky Boulevard, the church was closed. Only in 2011, services were resumed here, at the same time the church received the status of a home church at the St. John the Evangelist Russian Orthodox University. Restoration is underway, in the process of which the lost temple belltowers have already been recreated, it is also planned to restore the lost appearance to the interiors.
Address: New Square, 12, p. 2
Church of the Resurrection of Christ in the former Semenovskoye cemetery in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of Christ is the Patriarchal Compound and is located in the Sokolinaya Gora district of Moscow (near the Semenovskaya metro station). The building of the temple is a monument of historical architecture.
The temple was built in 1855 at the Semenovskoye cemetery by the merchant M.N. Mushnikov in the Russian-Byzantine style and was consecrated on July 17, 1855 by the outstanding First Hierarch of the Russian Orthodox Church, St. Philaret, Metropolitan of Moscow (Drozdov). After the revolution of 1917, the temple was closed and suffered considerable damage, and after a few years, a mechanical repair plant was located here. The revival and restoration began in 1992, when the rebuilt and dilapidated church was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Akathists in front of the icons of the Mother of God "Inexhaustible Chalice" and "Joy of All Who Sorrow", St. Nicholas, of St. Monica, St. Peter and Fevronia of Murom miracle workers are read there.
Address: Izmailovo sh., 2
The Church of the Holy Unmercenaries and the Wonderworkers of Cosma and Damian in Kosmodemyansky in Moscow
The first mention of the wooden church dates back to the end of the XVI century. In the years 1608-1609 the temple was completely destroyed. The new stone church was built by the zeal of Count Nikita Zotov in four years and was consecrated in 1730.
In 1820, after being ruined by French troops, the church was renewed and re-consecrated. In 1888, a winter chapel in the name of the Holy Prince Alexander Nevsky was added.
After the revolution, by the decision of the Moscow Council in 1940, the temple was closed. The club, printing house and repair shops were consistently located in the ruined and rebuilt temple.
The new life of the temple began in January 1992, when the Orthodox community was registered. In 1993, the building was transferred to the Church; in 1994 the first Divine Liturgy was served. In 2000, the bell tower was built, and by 2005 the church was completely painted.
Address: Pravoberezhnaya St., 6
Temple of the Holy Trinity in Kozhevniki
It was built in 1685–89 in the Kozhevniki settlement, replacing the wooden church, known since 1625. In the first half of the 18th century, a refectory with two chapels was added to the church (the thrones of Cyrus and John and Paraskeva), in 1772 a bell tower was erected. After the building was renovated in 1899, its facades received a new eclectic decorative finish. During the restoration works carried out in the 1980s, the original appearance of the church was restored, which is a double-height four-domed quadrangle with apse decorated in the style of Moscow baroque.
The slender proportions of its volume emphasize bunches of thin corner speakers, based on brackets. The walls are completed with a wide attic with kokoshniki, in which tympanum large white-stone sinks are inserted. The white-stone portals located on the side facades of the quadrangle are decorated with carved tops supported on columns with lush capitals. The walls of the gallery, finished in the center of the side facades with semicircular gables, are decorated with paired pilasters with composite capitals; in the gables are bas-relief images of the archangels Michael and Gabriel.
The temple was closed in the 1930s. Services were resumed in 1992.
Address: 2nd Kozhevnichesky per. 4/6
Church of the Nativity in Mitino in Moscow
In the old archives it is indicated that the original wooden church was built in 1758 with the blessing of the temple founder of the governor of the Kremlin Chudov Monastery Archimandrite Joseph.
The complex and sometimes tragic events of the gradual growth of the parish of the tireless labors of parishioners, by whose efforts the church and parish were built over the centuries, lead us to the culmination of the events of the parish’s life at the beginning of the 20th century, to the October Revolution. The already existing stone church built by the parishioners in 1896, by the beginning of the 20th century, was under the authority of a talented preacher, priest Dmitry Pavlovich Mirolyubov.
According to the decree of the Soviet government from January 1918, here, as in other parishes of the Russian Orthodox Church, the building of the parish school was confiscated. During the company for the confiscation of church property in May 1922, the local commission took away the sacristic silver items from the church: lamps, corners, and middlemen from the Gospels. Worship services were held before 1939.
The construction of the old wooden church was dismantled for the construction of the greenhouse. The school of public education was housed in the building of the parish school, and in the 1960s the building was used as a club, poultry farm, warehouses and a turning shop.
In 1992, it was a new time in the life of the temple. By the decree of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II, a priest Alexey Grachev was appointed to the church, and in April of the same year the liturgical life was resumed in the church.
Address: 39 Muravskaya St.
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity at the Moscow Compound of the Holy Trinity St. Sergius Lavra in Moscow
The first mention of the Trinity Compound and the wooden church of the Life-Giving Trinity refers to 1638. In 1696, the stone Trinity Church was built on the territory of the compound.
In 1922, the courtyard was abolished; the buildings were transferred to the renovationists, then to secular institutions.
In 1992, by the decree of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II, the activities of the monastery were resumed. Hieromonk Longinus (Korchagin) was appointed abbot.
On July 24, 1993, on the day of memory of the holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Grand Duchess Olga, the first Liturgy was held in the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity - in the Vladimir Aisle. On May 1, 1994, on Easter, the first Liturgy was celebrated in the central chapel of the Trinity Church. In the same year, the bells were installed on the bell tower of the temple.
Address: 2nd Trinity Lane, 8/10
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in honor of the Millennium of the Baptism of Rus in Moscow
The decision to build a church in Moscow in honor of the Holy Trinity, dedicated to the anniversary of the Baptism of Russia, was taken in 1988, but was originally planned elsewhere, somewhat west of this (near the Tsaritsyno museum on June 13, 1988 Patriarch Pimen consecrated a foundation stone which was a consequence of the satisfaction of the Moscow Soviet executive committee with the request of the Moscow Patriarchate, expressed during the meeting of General Secretary of the CPSU Central Committee Mikhail S. Gorbachev with the Patriarch and members of the Synod on April 29 of the same year, but construction was not started at the reasons, in particular, in view of which in 1995 the reconstruction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior on Volkhonka began).
By the spring of 2004, the construction of the temple building was completed, the team of icon painters under the leadership of Vasily Nesterenko, People’s Artist of the Russian Federation, corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Arts, started painting the temple, the project of which was approved by His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II and Moscow Mayor Yuri Luzhkov on May 12, 2004. The grandiose ceramic iconostasis was made by St. Petersburg workshops under the guidance of artist Yuri Volkotrub. All icons for it were written by Anna Kalinina, a famous Moscow icon painter, whose author's work on the creation of 48 icons of this iconostasis was recognized by the Russian Academy of Arts as one of the best in Moscow.
Address: Kashirskoye sh. 61A
Church of the Holy Tsar-Martyr Nicholas II and all of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia in Moscow
The temple has been open since 1992. Since 1993, the abbot of the church of St. Tsar-Martyr is Archpriest Michael Ardov. In the winter of 1996, the wonderful image of St. Tsar-Martyr, written with the blessing of abbot, was donated. The sovereign is depicted on it in white riza; in his hands, as a symbol of the “Kingdom of earthly deprivation”, the head of Monomakh, and above the head - a shining martyr's crown - a symbol of triumph in the Kingdom of Heaven.
Ten and more years of worship were held in a stone building a little like a church building. In early 2000, work on the reconstruction began. By the end of 2008, the reconstruction was completed. During the work of worship in the temple did not stop. In December 2014, Metropolitan Theodore performed the Great Consecration of the temple.
Address: Golovinskoe sh., 13
Temple of the Beheading of St. John the Forerunner and the Life-Giving Trinity in Brateev in Moscow
At the beginning of the 17th century, a wooden village church was built in the village of Brateevo, and then instead of it another one, also wooden, was erected with a bell tower on a stone foundation. It was transferred from the village of Rozhdestveno, Moscow district. There were two thrones in it: the main one, in honor of the Beheading of the honest head of St. John the Forerunner and the side - the Holy Martyr Blasius. On May 27, 1890, the laying of a new stone church was completed, and by mid-October the temple was ready. It was built on a high place, behind the village, "in the Byzantine style", with three altars set in a row and an extensive dome. On November 3, 1892, the temple was consecrated.
The wooden church was destroyed in the 1920s. Stone one was closed in 1930 and converted into a club. It was finally destroyed, according to some data, in the 1940s, according to others, in the 1980s, during the demolition of the village.
On January 4, 1996, the parish of the reconstructed Church of the Beheading of John the Baptist was established in Brateev. To date, the chapel of the Life-Giving Trinity has been built and is operating near to the site of the proposed restoration of the temple.
Address: Klyuchevaya st., 18A
Temple of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in the Trinity-Lykovo in Moscow
The summer three-domed Church of the Life-Giving Trinity, an outstanding world-famous monument of Russian culture of the Peter epoch, Moscow Baroque style, was built by the architect Jacob Bukhvostov and consecrated in 1708. On the central quadrangle there are three tiers of octagon, on average - the bell tower. Two lateral volumes are crowned with bunk octahedral turrets. Outside is decorated with stone carving, inside - on wood (not preserved). Nine-tier iconostasis was gilded. The temple is a sample of "Naryshkin baroque", it is a monument of architecture of world importance.
The wooden Assumption Church was burnt down in 1936, and closed in October 1930. In Soviet times, the canteen of the Suvorov School was located in the Assumption Church, and then the church building was used by the I. Kurchatov Institute of Atomic Energy as a warehouse. Chapters with crosses were demolished, the bell tower was destroyed, and the interior decoration was destroyed. In the 1980s there was a fire in the temple, and it burned from the inside.
In October 1989, the decapitated, half-destroyed Church of the Assumption in the Trinity-Lykovo was returned to the Orthodox Church.
Address: Odintsovskaya street, 24
The Church of St. Nicholas in Old Vagankovo in Moscow
In the center of Moscow to the west of the Kremlin in Starovagankovsky Lane there is a small church with a modest decor. This is the church of St. Nicholas Myrlean, with a chapel in honor of St. Sergius of Radonezh, remarkable for its five centuries of history.
In 1531, Grand Prince Vasily III built in Vagankovo a stone church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker with the chapel of St. Sergius of Radonezh. At first this temple was called the Church of St. Nicholas by the Gosudarev Dvor, and at a later time - the Church of St. Nicholas on Old Vagankovo.
In 1924, the temple was closed. In 1926, icons were taken out of the temple, the crosses were knocked down, and the bells were dropped and smashed. The temple was given to the Lenin Library as a warehouse. In 1992, the church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. Through the efforts of a small group of people who continued the spiritual work of the martyr Metropolitan Seraphim, under the leadership of the priest Victor Shishkin, the Church of St. Nicholas was restored and consecrated in 1993.
Address: Starovagankovsky per., 14
Temple of the Martyr Hermogen Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia in Moscow
The construction of the temple of the holy martyr Hermogen, the patriarchal monastery in Krylatskoye, was carried out within the project of 200 temples.
On March 1, 2012, His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia consecrated a stone at the construction site of the temple of the martyr Patriarch Hermogen on the 400th anniversary of his martyrdom.
According to him, the new church should become “an expression of our hope that Russia will always keep the Orthodox faith, in which its salvation”. “God forbid that the memory of Saint Hermogen would arouse in our people a clear, strong, holy feeling of love for Homeland, readiness and ability to peacefully arrange the life, and in years of danger - to protect the borders of the Fatherland".
Address: Osennyaya st., 32, b. 1
Temple of St. John of Kronstadt in Zhulebino in Moscow
In 1996, residents of the Zhulebino micro district of Moscow appealed to the Most Holy Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II with a request for a blessing to hold a meeting for the establishment of a parish in Moscow’s Zhulebino micro district, electing governing bodies, and an audit commission and the blessing of the name of the future temple.
On June 4, 1997, the place was consecrated and the Cross was erected at the construction site of the temple. On December 26, 1998, with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II, Protopresbyter Matthew Stadnyuk performed the rite of the Small Consecration of the temple. The first Divine Liturgy was served.
The final construction of the temple was completed on December 12, 2006, the building of the temple was put into operation and on October 20, 2008 it was transferred to the ownership of the Parish of the temple.
Address: st. Saranskaya, 1
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Chernevo in Moscow
In 1683, on the wastelands of the Higher Chernevo, Jacob and Nikita Tarakanovs set up a courtyard for themselves and built a wooden church in honor of the Nativity of Christ, which made the wasteland called the village of Higher Chernevo. In 1709, the temple is referred as wooden, and in 1722 it is already referred to stone one.
The temple was a typical patrimonial one for beginning of the XVIII century - a small, brick, designed for the prayer of one family and their servants. It was the tallest building in the estate and once stood above the whole district. For the construction the type of petal in terms of the building, common from the end of the XVII century was chosen. Chernevsky temple was built in this typology by one of the last and one of the simplest in form and decor.
After the revolution, for some time the temple continued to exist as a rural parish. A village cemetery formed around it. And in the late 1930s, services in the church ceased.
In 1974, the temple was included in the lists of architectural monuments, which are under state protection, but by that time it was so looted that there was no floor covering left.
The modern life of the Church of the Nativity of Christ in Chernevo dates back to 1989 when the church was again transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: st. Chernevskaya, s1k1
Temple of the Holy Martyrs of the Faith Hope Love and Sofia at Miussky cemetery in Moscow
The temple in honor of the holy martyrs Faith, Hope, Love and their mother Sophia was founded in the Miussky cemetery in the second half of the XVIII century. Miussky cemetery was established during the plague of 1770-1771 behind the Kamer-Kollezhsky shaft near the locality of Miusy, from which it got its name.
In 1922, church values were removed from the surviving temples and monasteries. The ruin of the temple at the Miussky cemetery fell on April 5, when "4 pods 4 pounds 25 spools of gold and silver products were seized."
In 1934 the temple was closed, the cross was shot down from it; the bell tower was broken to the first tier. Behind the apses, on the sides of the dome and above the refectory, ugly extensions were made. The building of the temple housed the equipment shop "Meduchposobie" of the RSFSR Ministry of Health.
The Russian Orthodox Church returned the church in 1990, and since September 28, services have been resumed here.
Address: Sushchevsky Val, 21
Temple of the Vatopedskaya Icon of the Mother of God Joy and Consolation in Moscow
On December 2, 1906, the new Moscow Governor-General and the Commander of the Moscow Region, Sergei S. Herschelman, was joined with the application by honorary member of the Russian monarchical assembly in Moscow, full state adviser I. Kolesnikov. In it he wrote:
“Fully recognizing those extraordinary efforts that defenders of Moscow suffered in the sad December days to the benefit of its civilians, and wanting to thank them as much as they could for their work, I am a native of quiet Don, had the intention to build a temple at my expenses and under my personal observation for the Cossacks of the 1st Don Cossack Generalllsimus Prince Suvorov’s Regiment and the 1st Grenadier Count Bruce Brigade, in the place of their location on Khodynka Field”.
The solemn laying of the temple was accomplished with a huge gathering of people on the birthday of the prince on April 29, 1907 and began with a majestic religious procession from the Kremlin.
On February 5, 1924 the temple was closed. All five heads of the church and the belfry were demolished. At first, a dormitory was located on the territory of the temple, then a warehouse and a building workshop of the Znamya Truda plant. The temple once again miraculously survived the demolition in the late 1980s, when its site was planned for the turnaround of cars approaching the morgue of the Botkin Hospital. However, the head physician of the hospital offered to return it to the Church in order to recreate here again the first in the USSR hospital church.
The restoration of the temple began only in 1990. On January 5, 1991, the church was returned to believers.
Address: 16 Polikarpov Street
Church of the Holy Apostle St. John the Evangelist on Bronnaya in Moscow
In the middle of the XVI century, a settlement of sovereign armorers was built between Tverskaya and Malaya Nikitskaya streets. One of the lanes, passing through the very center of this area, is called Theological. It was here that the parish church was erected, then still wooden, in the glorification of St. Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian. It happened according to some information during the reign of the pious Tsar Theodore Ioannovich.
In 1615, Mikhail Fedorovich, who entered the kingdom, donated to the temple an icon of a Byzantine letter of St. Apostle and Evangelist John the Theologian with a dedication, "From Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich", which became one of his main shrines.
The beginning of a new stage in the life of the temple was the construction of a stone church building, when construction work began on donations from parishioners in 1652, which ended with the consecration of the temple in 1665. The temple is distinguished by harmony, sophistication and at the same time stylistic rigor in solving its three-dimensional composition and decorative design.
In Soviet times, there was a dormitory in the church for a long time, and then it was adapted for the carpentry and metalworking workshops of the theater, and therefore machines were installed in it. In 1991, after 36 years of unsuccessful restoration work, the temple was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. At the time of the legal transfer of the temple, the monument of architecture was in acute emergency condition.
Address: Bogoslovsky Pereulok, 4
Old Believers Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Moscow
The temple was founded in 1640 at the beginning of a deep ravine, cutting through the upper terrace of the left bank of the Moscow River. In place of a wooden church, the construction of a stone church in the name of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross began. It had been building for 18 years. In 1658, the high altar was consecrated.
The name of the temple is closely related to history. The middle of the seventeenth century is the time of the church schism. The cross was a state symbol of the Byzantine Empire, and from there it passed as such to Moscow, the “Third Rome”. It was on the feast of the Exaltation of the Cross of the Lord (September, 27 in a new style) that the Orthodox asked in their prayers for the granting of victories in the battles of the Jews and the preservation of the Cross of their state and nation in the shadow.
In 1930, the temple was closed. The dome and the bell tower were broken, the almshouse and the house of the prince were torn down, and a hostel was made in the temple building. The wall painting was painted over, and when it began to show through whitewashing, it was shot down. But 70 percent of the paintings survived.
The church did not function from 1931 to 1992. On April 8, 1992, the first prayer service in the past sixty-plus years organized by the newly created Orthodox community was served at the fence of the church. By the end of 2000, the temple again took on its former architectural appearance.
Address: 1st Workers Lane, 8
Cathedral of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Bratsevo in Moscow
The history of the Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Bratsevo is inextricably linked with the history of the Bratsevo estate, which is a monument of architecture and landscape art of the XVII-XIX centuries. The first documentary evidence of the village Bratsevo relates to 1565.
The inscription on a stone slab of ancient Russian ligature testifies to the time of the construction of the temple: “Summer of 7180 (1672) of August on the 30th day of the Great Sovereign and Grand Duke Alexei Mikhailovich, boyar Bogdan Matveyevich and his wife Mariya Ivanovna built this church.
After 1917 the church was gradually dilapidated, the most valuable objects of decoration were removed from it. The first seizure of values occurred, apparently, as throughout the country, in 1922. Then in February 1923, silver items were re-withdrawn to the Metal Fund. In the 20s, the State Historical Museum, and from it in 1930, the State Tretyakov Gallery received a collection of icons of the festive series of the church. The temple was closed in early 1934. Soon the bell tower was broken; the drums of heads and the dilapidated portico were dismantled. In a partially rebuilt temple building in the mid 60s there was a factory for the manufacture of dyes, then a warehouse, a maintenance station. The building of the parish school was occupied by housing; the store was located in the gatehouse.
The first service was held on October 13, 1992, at which a small consecration of the temple was performed, and which was attended by a large number of clergy.
Address: st. Neris Salome, 4
The Church of St. Nicholas in Golutvin in Moscow
In the Aleksandrovsky manuscript in 1472 this area was first mentioned when Dmitrovsky Prince Yury Vasilyevich bequeathed it to his brother John III. Here was a village and a monastery near to it. In the XVIII century in this area was Golutvinskaya black settlement, in which in 1631 there were 77 courtyards.
The center of the settlement has always been a temple. The predecessor of the stone church - the parish, the wooden one of the same name has been known since 1625, and in 1679 a new church with a side chapel of Nicholas the Wonderworker was built after the fire. In 1686 a stone church was built.
The church were closed in 1923; a significant part of the seized icons was transferred to the State Tretyakov Gallery. After closing the temple was beheaded. In the 1930sthey dismantled the bell tower, in the 1960-1970-ies they demolished house and a fence with a gate. In the 80s the Department of Exploration Drilling of the Geological Prospecting Institute was located in the temple. The temple was used as a warehouse of building materials as well.
In 1992, the Church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church, and from that time the service began in it.
Address: 1st Golutvinsky Lane, 14
Temple of the Descent of the Holy Spirit at the Lazarevsky cemetery in Moscow
In 1750, at the behest of Empress Elisabeth Petrovna, Lazarevskoye cemetery was established as the first urban cemetery, unlike parish cemeteries, which could no longer be expanded. The place was chosen outside the city, where the poor and homeless people were buried before. To commemorate the dead, a wooden church was erected in the cemetery in honor of the Resurrection of Four Day Lazarus, from where the cemetery got its name.
In the eighties of the XVIII century a plague epidemic raged in Moscow. At this terrible time, a charitable committee to help the sick was created - the “Safety Commission”, which was headed by the merchant Luka Ivanovich Dolgov, a well-known benefactor and beggar. Luka Ivanovich and his family were saved from a terrible disease, and in gratitude for this he wished to build a new three-altar stone church in the cemetery of Lazarevskoye, instead of the already dilapidated wooden one. Work began in 1782.
One Sunday in 1932, the church was suddenly cordoned off by the police, and the abbot was announced the closure of the church and the confiscation of property. The building was transferred to the factory as a hostel for workers. In 1936, the Lazarevskoye cemetery was also destroyed, and a children's park and a dance floor were organized at the burial site of the dead.
The Temple of the Descent of the Holy Spirit was returned to the Church in 1991, although a few years after that, the operetta's workshops were located in the refectory.
Address: st. Soviet Army, 12
A temple in honor of the Icon of the Mother of God of Unexpected Joy in Maryina Roshcha in Moscow
The temple was built in 1899–1904 at the expense of residents of Maryina Roshcha on the land donated by Count A.D. Sheremetev. It did not close.
Architectural style: the architecture is designed in the style of ancient Russian temples of the XVII century.
The temple cooperates with the Phoenix club of young people with disabilities, helps difficult families of the Maryina Roshcha district, participates in meetings of the Commission on Minors ’Affairs and Protection of Their Rights at the Maryina Roshcha District Municipality, and holds meetings and talks in the Maryina Roshcha Central District with people who are part of a day stay group.
Address: Sheremetyevskaya St., 33
Alexander Nevsky Church in Kozhukhovo in Moscow
The Alexander Nevsky Church in Kozhukhovo was founded on May 5, 2005, on the eve of the 60th anniversary of the victory in the Great Patriotic War. Alexander Nevsky, who is canonized, is considered the patron saint of the Orthodox army. It was consecrated on December 6, 2008.
The Orthodox parish of the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God in Old Simonov was involved in the construction of the church, to which the church is currently assigned.
The temple is single-domed, cruciform in plan, with a separate belfry. The temple is two-tier, has two thrones: the lower, in honor of the heroes of the Kulikovo battle of the monks of Peresvet and Oslyabi, and the upper, in honor of Alexander Nevsky.
This temple was the last Moscow church, consecrated with the blessing of Patriarch Alexy II.
Address: Trofimova str., 14
Holy Apostolic Cathedral Assyrian Church of the East in Moscow
The Holy Apostolic Cathedral Assyrian Church of the East - the Temple of Mat Maryam (in the name of the Blessed Virgin Mary) in Moscow - is located in one of the most populated districts of Moscow. The beautiful majestic building of the temple, located between the modern skyscrapers, attracts attention with its uniqueness.
In August 1992, the initiative group organized a visit to Russia of the bishop of the Assyrian Church of the East, Mar-Aprim Khamis. Then the church community was organized. The grandson of the last Moscow Assyrian shamashi (deacon of the Assyrian church) Mikhail (Mukhatas) Frantsevich Shmovel, who began a work on registering the community, became its chairman. The community was registered in early 1994.
The consecration of the temple took place on September 27, 1998. It was produced by the patriarch of the Assyrian Church of the East, Mar Dynh IV. In 1999, the first abbot of the temple was recalled by the patriarch with the aim of appointing the bishop of Northern Iraq and the CIS countries to the department.
Now the parish is headed by father Samano, who does a lot to attract young people to the temple. The temple has a Sunday school of Assyrian language. They periodically held meetings, lectures, round tables on national topics.
Address: Sharikopodshipnikovskaya St., 16
Church of the Sovereign Icon of the Mother of God in Chertanovo in Moscow
The construction of the two-tier temple began in 2001, it was finished in December 2013.
Upper throne is in honor of the icon of the Mother of God "Sovereign". The lower one is in honor of the passion-bearers of Tsar Nicholas, Tsarina Alexandra, Tsarevich Alexy, the Grand Duchess Olga, Tatiana, Mary and Anastasia.
The attached throne is in honor of the righteous John of Kronstadt.
The shrines of the temple: the Ark with a particle of relics of St. Anastasia the Moderator, icon with a particle of the relics of the Apostle Andrew the First Called.
Address: Chertanovskaya st., 2, k. 2
Church of the Cathedral of the Moscow Saints in Moscow
The Church of the Moscow Saints Cathedral in Bibirevo accommodates 500 worshipers more than the Moscow Cathedral of Christ the Savior. It was built in 2015 according to the project of the honored architect of Russia Viktor Zakharov, who worked for many years at the Ministry of Atomic Energy, designing nuclear accelerators. Within the framework of this project, V.Zakharov managed to apply the latest construction technologies, in particular, permanent brick formwork, into which concrete is poured. The architect designed a unique veneer of crushed minerals. It turned out super-durable material, not worse in beauty to natural marble, but at the price of plaster.
The Orthodox Youth Center and the Rock Club also operate at the temple for informal youth, whose activities are highly valued by the secular administration of the Prefecture (as well as the central city authority), which recognized that crime in the area has fallen, because young people go there and get better. Also operate there: the Russian Serbian Brotherhood, the club of Russian hand-to-hand combat, a children's school, a music school, an art school and other associations. The needy and the elderly parishioners receive help; there is a refectory, where they feed both the workers and the needy. The abbot of this church, Father Sergiy, is known for his mission among young people, including at rock events. Recently Father Sergiy was awarded by the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia - Kirill, the Order of St.Pr. Daniil of Moscow.
Address: Kostromskaya street, 7
Church of the Beheading of John the Baptist in Dyakovo in Moscow
The temple was founded in 1529. The modern building of the temple according to various studies dates from 1529 to 1570s. The architects are unknown. There is an opinion that it was Barma and Postnik. Indeed, the plan and architectural features of the temple resemble the Church of the Intercession on the Moat on Red Square - the creation of these architects. According to another version, it was built by Italian architects.
The temple was erected at the place where Grand Prince Vasily III learned about the conception of his son, the future Tsar John IV the Terrible, during his return from a hunt. The temple was intended for the Tsar and the royal court. Since the end of the XVII century the temple was gradually becoming parish.
In 1923, the church was closed by the Soviet authorities and transferred to the museum department of the Glavnauka. In 1992 the church was transferred to the Church and the parish life was renewed. It was consecrated again and the services were resumed on September 10, 1992. In 2009, the restoration of the church building was completed.
Address: Andropova pr-t, 39, b. 7
Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin in Fedosyino in Moscow
In the village of Fedosyino, on the Aleshenka River, a temple in the name of the Transfiguration of the Lord has long existed. At the beginning of the 17th century, a wooden celtic church in the name of the Transfiguration Savior was mentioned here. In the book of the Patriarchal State Order for 1628, it was mentioned in the number of "newcomers" in 1627 "the Church of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos in the patrimony of the Ascension Monastery in the village of Fedosyino".
The Patriotic War of 1812 did not pass by Fedosyino and the villages adjacent to it. The church building in Fedosyino was not damaged, but the French foragers looted some valuable things of the sacristy and the precious decoration of icons.
The temple in the village Fedosyino was closed only on the eve of World War II in 1941.
Address: 11 Lukinskaya St.
Church of the All-Merciful Savior in Mitino in Moscow
Church of the All-Merciful Savior is a Patriarchal Compound in Mitino. The construction of the temple was carried out with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Kirill as part of the program to build two hundred new churches in Moscow. Since September 2011, prayers have been regularly performed at the construction site of the temple. From the first days the community quickly began to form.
By the beginning of 2016, the temple and house of the clergy and the land plot were fully decorated and transferred to the property of the Patriarchal Compound. Also, by the beginning of 2016 a stone carved iconostasis was made, work began on the painting of the temple, work still continues on the beautification.
On March 27, 2016, His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Kirill performed the Great Consecration of the temple.
Address: Pyatnitskoe sh., 5
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Old Cheryomushki in Moscow
The history of the temple dates back to the 18th century. Trinity Church stood until 1879 and was rebuilt by the priest John Zabavin on donations. A new temple in the name of the Life-Giving Trinity was built on the site of the dismantled one. Shortly before the First World War a neo-classical bell tower was erected above the entrance.
In 1935, by the decision of the authorities, the ministry was banned and the church was used for the needs of an industrial enterprise (sports artel). Until 1958, the temple was still in relative preservation. But during the liquidation of the village, the territory of which entered the line of Moscow, the church was finally destroyed in 1963. In its place a basin was built, which soon became unusable and turned into a garbage dump.
The restoration of the temple began in 1997.
Address: st. Shvernik, 17, 1
Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin in Sokolniki in Moscow
The Church of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos was built in 1906 for the soldiers and officers of the Saperny Battalion of the Life Guards Preobrazhensky Regiment, whose barracks were located here - in the block between the street and Popov Lane.
The Annunciation Church was built according to a model project, developed in 1901 specifically for military churches. This is the only church in Moscow built according to a similar project, and in all about ten of them were built in Russia. A single-domed temple with a hip-bell tower was designed in the pseudo-Russian style, and in its decorations details typical for Old Russian architecture were used - platbands, kokoshniks. The temple was designed for 1200 soldiers.
The Annunciation Church was closed in 1923, the dome and the upper tier of the bell tower were dismantled, and in the former church they organized a club for soldiers. Later the building of the temple was used for various military needs.
In the beginning of the 2010s, the restoration of the church began - the dome and bell tower were restored, the internal space of the church was cleared, a new iconostasis was installed - the temple returned its original appearance. Now it is a working temple, belonging to the Compound of the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia at the headquarters of the Airborne Forces.
Address: st. Matrosskaya Tishina, 9
Church of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God in Vinogradovo in Moscow
From afar, the temple resembles a burning candle. It is successfully located opposite the long ponds. The church was consecrated in 1777 by the Moscow Metropolitan Platon (Levshin) in the name of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God and was never closed.
Instead of the traditional square, the central part of the temple is arranged in the form of a two-light round hall. Surrounding the bottom of the building form a triangular base with rounded corners, each side of which is underlined by a classic quadrangular portico. In the second tier, paired columns adorned the round rotunda.
A massive dome and a cylinder with a small dome reinforce the impression that the entire building is aspiring. Located behind the temple, the bell tower and the service building, together with the main building, form another large triangle. The decorative design from the iconostases of the main throne and the chapel of St. Nicholas is not usual.
Address: Dmitrovskoye sh., 170
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Vishnyaki in Moscow
The parish of the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity, which is known in Vishnyaki since 1642, was built in 1815. It was consecrated on May 18, 1824 by St. Philaret (Drozdov) of Moscow.
The main altar was consecrated in honor of the Most Holy Trinity, right side chapel – in the name of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin. The left aisle was consecrated in honor of St. Tikhon, Patriarch of All-Russia and the New Martyrs of Russia.
During the years of persecution, the parish was removed from legal registration, and the church was closed for worship and transferred to the national economy in 1922.
In 1991, the building of the temple was attributed to the parish church of St. Nicholas of Myra in Kuznets. On June 8, 1994 it was consecrated by His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II.
It is the base temple of the Orthodox St. Tikhon Humanitarian University.
Address: st. Pyatnitskaya, 51 building 1
Temple of the Savior of Acheiropaeic image on Setun in Moscow
Church of the Savior of Acheiropaeic image on Setun was built in 1674-1676 in the suburban village of Manukhino, which belonged to one of the most influential boyars of the reign of Alexei Mikhailovich - Artamon Sergeyevich Matveyev.
The temple was not built the way we see it today. By the 17th century there is a white double-lit quadrangular - the main part of the temple with the main altar in the name of the Transfer from Edessa to Constantinople, the Miraculous Image of the Lord Jesus Christ in 944. It is known that the five-domed completion of the temple, as it looks now, appeared as a result of the restructuring of the temple at the beginning of the XIX century.
In 1941, the temple was closed. At the same time, the five-domed end of the ancient quadrangle and the top of the bell tower tent were dismantled, so that they could not serve as a guide for German aircraft. Since then, industrial enterprises one after the other were located in the temple. During the War, the production of mines took place here; after it ended, there was an artel for the production of stamped pots and spoons.
The last of the series of industrial production located in the temple was the electroplating plant of the non-ferrous casting plant, due to the specifics of the production processes carried out in it also caused serious damage to the church. However, in 1968 the workshop was moved, and the church was transferred to the Ministry of Culture of the RSFSR.
Empty, dilapidated, polluted with industrial waste, surrounded by rotten scaffolding - in this form the church was returned to believers in 1989.
Address: Ryabinovaya Street, 18
Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Derbenevo in Moscow
The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in Derbenevo is located in the center of Moscow and is a historical and architectural monument of Russia of the 18th century of federal significance. However, its first construction (wooden) refers to the beginning of the XVII century. In 1715, it was replaced by a stone temple.
In the future, the appearance of the building has been changed several times. The decorative processing of the facades of the temple and the apse was also repeatedly updated. The temple was finally closed in 1927. The facades were distorted by late extensions, the completion of the temple and the upper tiers of the bell tower were lost, most of the decorative details were cut down.
Divine services were resumed only on September 27, 1994. Prayer services were performed in the church, akathists and memorial services were served. spiritual enlightenment conversations with parishioners were conducted. In 2000, restoration work began in the temple, which continues to the present.
Address: Ulansky lane, 11с1
Church of the Holy Great Martyr Paraskeva Pyatnitsa in Kachalovo in Moscow
The place on which the temple stands was consecrated almost five hundred years ago. At the same time, here, in the center of the village of Kiovo-Kachalovo, the Moscow district, they installed the first wooden church in the name of “Great Martyr Paraskeva Pyatnitsa”. It existed until the beginning of the XVII century and was destroyed during the Polish-Lithuanian invasion. In 1694 a stone temple was erected and consecrated on the same place.
The first stone church served for more than two hundred years, greatly deteriorated during this time and it was decided to renew it. In 1901, the project of the architect of the Moscow diocese I. Blagoveshchensky for the reconstruction of the building was approved and construction began. The temple was considerably expanded; a bell tower was built on one tier, and so changed all its architectural appearance that it seemed to be built anew.
In the late 1930s, the church was closed and placed at the disposal of local authorities. Icons, liturgical vessels, books, church vestments - all disappeared. The building of the temple began to be used for production purposes. And when in the mid-80s it became completely useless, it was left to the mercy of fate. In this state, the building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. From the autumn of 1990 in the cold half-dark church with paper icons, the rector of the church, Archpriest Anatoly began to hold the first divine services. On the feast day on November 10, 1998, the newly rebuilt church was consecrated.
Address: st., Starokachalovskaya 8, building 1
Vvedensky temple in Barashi in Moscow
The Church of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the Barashi was named in 1922 after the ancient stow that was located here "under the pines", known since 1476 by the name of the church " Presentation under the pines". The former name - Vvedensky - was given in the XVII century by this church. The construction of the first stone church was testified by the three wooden crosses stored here with inscriptions about the consecration of the throne of the Imposition in 1647. The current building was built at the end of the 17th century.
The church was closed in 1932. Inside they made a dormitory of construction workers, and then a factory. In 1931, the staff of the factory "Russolent" petitioned for the closure of the temple. From the closed church in Barashi several iconostasis icons were transferred to the Tretyakov Gallery.
Until 1993 inside the metal restoration workshop of the All-Union Production Scientific and Restoration Combine was placed. In 1993 the church was handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: 8/2 Barashevsky Pereulok, Building 4
Church of St. Nicholas Myrlean on the Three Mountains in Moscow
The history of the Church of St. Nicholas in Three Hills begins with the wooden church of St. Nikola in Psary, mentioned in the annals from 1628. Its name is associated with the Sovereign Psarny court responsible for hunting and royal menageries, which in 1637 were transferred from the western wall of the Kremlin to Three mountains.
In the first half of the XVIII century Three Mountains become a summer residence for wealthy Muscovites. Over time, the rich "gardeners" were transformed into permanent residents of New Vagankov and are attributed to St. Nicholas parish.
It was at this time that a permit was received for the construction of a stone church on the site of a wooden one: according to some data, it dates from May 1763, according to others - 1762.
In the spring of 1922, St. Nicholas Church, like all Moscow churches and monasteries, survived the campaign of seizing church valuables, having lost more than 12 pounds of gold and silver objects.
In 1928, the Church of St. Nicholas on the Three Mountains, despite numerous requests from believers, was closed. By the end of 1930, heads were removed from the church, openings were cut through the walls, and the upper tiers of the bell tower were dismantled. The building was adapted first under the House of Culture, and then under the House of Pioneers named after Pavlik Morozov.
In 1992, the church was transferred to the Moscow Diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church. Regular worship was resumed in 2001.
Address: Novovagankovsky per., 9
Church of the Holy Apostle Iakov Zavedeev in Kazennaya Sloboda in Moscow
The wooden church in the name of the Apostle Iakov has been known since 1620. In 1676 an existing building was built at the expense of the Moscow guest of Daniil Pivovarov. The main temple is a columnless two-sided quadrangle with a triple apse; it was closed by an arch and completed by the five-domes. Its top was decorated with kokoshniki, the facade – with horizontal thrust from the figured brick, in the center of the northern facade, facing the street, was an icon case framed by a roller. The temple was built with a refectory and a bell tower.
In the middle of the XVIII century an existing bell tower was built with a tent in the second tier and the bell-figure octagon. The walls of the tent were decorated with paired pilasters with stucco capitals, windows were framed with baroque platbands. In 1806, rectangular aisles were built; possibly in place of older ones. In 1831 the building was rebuilt in simple geometrized forms of the mature Empire style.
The temple was closed in 1932. A mechanical workshop was set up in the building. The dome collapsed in 1970, the fence was broken in 1979 (the gate pylons remained). In 1979, the temple itself was occupied by the Metrostroy Department of Mechanization, and the refectory was converted into a garage. The church was returned to believers in 1991. Services were resumed in 1994.
Address: building 1, Yakovoapostolsky lane, 6
Church of the Archangel Michael in Ovchinniki in Moscow
The temple in the name of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos, better known under the name of the Archangel Michael in Ovchinniki, was built from 1603 to 1612 at the expense of Simeon Potapov and consecrated on December 3, 1613, with the blessed Tsar and Prince Mikhail Feodorovich.
In the years of persecution, the parish of the temple was removed from legal registration; the temple was closed for worship and transferred to the national economy in 1930. In connection with the construction of the administrative building on the site of the churchyard in the 50s there was a question about the demolition of the temple, but due to its great historical and architectural value, it was decided to move the temple building to a new place. Extensive archaeological work was carried out, but the building of the temple remained in its place. The painting was completely destroyed, the iconostasis was not preserved. In the 1960s, the temple was partially restored.
On March 18, 1997, the Church of Archangel Michael in Ovchinniki was returned to believers again. Since the feast of Easter 1998, the celebration of the Divine Liturgy began. On November 25, 2006, His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II performed the rite of great consecration of the Temple of the Archangel Michael (Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God) in Ovchinniki.
Address: Sredny Ovchinnikovskiy per., 7
The Church of Gabriel the Archangel in Moscow
The high tower of this church is still clearly visible from Chistye Prudy. Conceived as a dominant over the whole Butcher Settlement, it copes with this task today.
The Church of the Archangel Gabriel is known since 1551 as a wooden parish church for butchers who inhabited the local suburb. In 1657, the church was already referred as a stone one; the second restructuring took place in 1679.
Architect Ivan Zarudny, who created the new church, worked in the style of Peter the Great Baroque, which borrowed more and more features from European temple architecture. His works include a number of Moscow churches, united by a main feature - they are extended vertically. That is why many buildings of Zarudny remind towers - the same title was transferred to the Church of the Archangel Gabriel, which received the nickname “Menshikov Tower” among the people.
In the 1930s, the temple was closed, but the interior was virtually unaffected. In 1948, the temple was reopened for worship and transferred to the Antioch Orthodox Church as a monastery. It continues to function here today, under the leadership of Bishop Niphon, who heads the compound since 1977.
In addition to the decoration of Gabriel temple, its stucco and paintings, the iconostasis attracts particular attention. It was created for another Moscow church - the Transfiguration Savior on Preobrazhenskaya Square. When in 1964 the latter was destroyed, its iconostasis was preserved and transferred to the Temple of Gabriel. The old iconostasis was transported to the Assumption Cathedral of Makhachkala.
Address: Archangelsky Lane, 15Ас9
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Vorobyevo in Moscow
The wooden temple of the Trinity on the Vorobyevy Gory existed since ancient times and is associated with the history of the ancient palace village of Vorobievo. According to the chronicle it is known that when in the XV century the village was bought by Grand Duchess Sofia Vitovtovna, the spouse of Grand Duke Vasily I of Moscow and the daughter of Grand Duke Vitovt of Lithuania, the temple was already standing.
The now existing brick-built church with a white-stone plinth was built according to the project of architect A.L. Vitberg, the author of the project of the temple-monument of Christ the Savior on the Vorobyevy Gory. The building was built in the style of late classicism.
The Trinity Church was not only saved from socialist destruction, but was not even closed during the Soviet era; therefore its ancient interior has been preserved. Moreover, after the well-known Bolshevik ban on bell ringing throughout Moscow, the bells continued to ring in the Vorobievskaya Trinity Church. Once again, the church survived the construction of a high-rise building at Moscow State University in the late 1940s and early 1950s.
Address: st. Kosygin, 30
Church of the Holy Prince Alexander Nevsky in Moscow
The idea of building a church at the Moscow State Institute of International Relations (University) of the Russian Foreign Ministry was born in 1999. It was initiated by teachers and students of the university. In 2005, the construction was blessed by the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II, and at the same time it was decided to dedicate the church to the blessed Prince Alexander Nevsky, one of the most famous heroes of Russian history and the most revered saints in Russia.
In the summer of 2012, a temporary temple was built in honor of St. St. Nicholas - one of the largest temporary temples in Moscow - one hundred seventy six square meters. On September 30, 2012, the first Divine Liturgy was performed in a temporary temple. The construction of the main church in honor of the holy Prince Alexander Nevsky began in the spring of 2013.
Address: st. Lobachevsky, 23
Temple of the Great Martyr Irina in Pokrovsky in Moscow
The history of the temple begins in 1635, when a side church was attached to the church of St. Nicholas the Miracle-worker. The name of the church is given in honor of St. Great Martyr Irina, patron saint of the daughter of Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich and Evdokia Lukyanovna - Irina Mikhailovna. She was born in Pokrovsky on April 22, 1627 and was the firstborn of the royal couple.
The princess lived here for a long time, delving into all matters and maintaining the beauty of the temples. After a failed attempt to marry Irina Mikhailovna for the Danish Prince Voldemar, who did not want to accept the Orthodox faith, she devoted herself to godly deeds and prayer for the salvation of the soul.
In the 1920s – 30s, a Voroshilov rifle club was located in the temple. In 1932, by decision of the Moscow Regional Executive Committee, the temple premises became a dining room. At the end of the 20th century, the temple was used as a warehouse. They destroyed the bell tower and domes, demolished the temple fence, destroyed all the interior decoration, painted over the church frescoes. The bells from the bell tower were melted down.
On October 10, 2013, with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Kirill, the Church of the Holy Great Martyr Irina in Pokrovsky officially became the Patriarchal Compound with the Representative Office of the Belarusian Exarchate in Russia.
Address: st. Frederick Engels, 38
The Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh in Businovo in Moscow
The first information about the temple in the village Businovo refers to 1584. According to the legend, the place where the church was built was blessed by the Monk Sergei Radonezhsky himself, while he was passing through the village of Businovo from the Trinity Monastery to Moscow to Metropolitan Alexy. In 1643 a wooden church in the name of St. Sergius of Radonezh was built on this place.
In the middle of the XIX century the wooden church collapsed and in 1859 a stone church was built at the expense of Prince Nikolai Ivanovich Obolensky and Vladimir merchant Ivan Andreyevich Busurin, whose main altar was consecrated in the name of St. Sergius of Radonezh with three aisles.
In 1937 the temple was closed, the dome and the bell tower were destroyed. After 1940, the village of Businovo was demolished; the Businka River was confined in a pipe. In Soviet times, the building was heavily rebuilt; it was given as a factory for making mattresses. Then the building of the temple was not used, it stood open and collapsed.
In 1990, the building was returned to the Orthodox community, restoration work began. A year later, on July 18, 1991, the first Divine Liturgy took place here.
Address: Izhorskaya St., 1
Church of Surb Harutyun in Moscow
The Armenian Apostolic Church Surb Harutyun (Holy Resurrection) was built in 1815 at the Armenian cemetery on the Vagankovsky field by the “dependency” of the brothers Mina and Ivan Lazarev. The remains of Lazarev’s relatives who were buried there were transferred from the Assumption Church to this one. The temple of Surb Harutyun became the family tomb of the Lazarevs, 23 representatives of this illustrious family were buried in it.
In 1956, the authorities returned the chapel to the faithful Armenians, and allowed them to pray in their native language, as their ancestors had done for 1700 years.
Address: st. Sergey Makeev, 10
The Church of the Holy Martyrs Boris and Gleb in Degunino in Moscow
The first mention of the Borisoglebsk church in the village of Degunino refers to 1585, in connection with its destruction by the Polish-Livonian army, although the settlement itself had been listed as a village since 1339. In connection with the destruction of the temple, from the beginning of the XVII century, Degunino was mentioned in the documents as a village. In 1633, a new wooden one was built on the site of the burnt down church, with a chapel in the name of the Apostle John the Theologian, at the expense of the local priest.
After the revolution, the church operated until 1930, after which the services were discontinued due to the absence of clergymen, and only in 1941, by the decision of the Moscow Regional Council, the church was officially closed and the building was converted into an outpatient clinic. In the 60s of the 20th century the building of the temple was transferred to the artel of disabled people “Motherland” and it was adapted for the production department, the upper tiers of the bell tower were broken, the domes were removed, extensions were made, the building was surrounded by a reinforced concrete fence.
The factory vacated the building only in 1985; the building was abandoned, but in 1987 it placed a garage at the Eye Microsurgery Center. The restoration of the temple began in 1991, when its building was transferred to the Orthodox community.
Address: 18A, Deguninskaya St.
House temple in the name of the Holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Grand Duchess Olga in Moscow
The house church in honor of the Holy Equal-Apostle Grand Duchess Olga at the Pilgrimage Center of the Moscow Patriarchate - the highest church in Moscow with a belfry - operates on the 15th floor of the Universitetskaya hotel.
On August 11, 2003, in the Pilgrimage Center of the Moscow Patriarchate, the rite of the Great Consecration of the house church in the name of the Holy Equal-Apostolic Grand Duchess Olga was performed.
Services are held on a regular basis on Sundays and public holidays. The Confession before the Communion of the Holy Mysteries of Christ passes. The Sacraments of Baptism and Wedding are performed. Prayer services and memorial services are served.
Address: Michurinsky Avenue, Building 8, 1
Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Tolstopaltsevo in Moscow
On May 27, 2002, a parish meeting was held under the chairmanship of the dean of temples of the Mikhailovsky District of Moscow, Archpriest George Studenov, at which it was decided to apply for blessing to His Holiness Patriarch Moscow and All Russia Alexy II about the start of construction of the temple complex in Moscow on the central square of the village of Tolstopaltsevo consisting of two churches: the big one - in honor of the Resurrection of Christ, and the small one - in honor of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos.
On June 4, 2002, by resolution of His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II, the establishment of the Parish was approved and blessing was given for construction.
The beginning of the construction of the Church of the Resurrection of Christ in the village of Tolstopaltsevevo was laid on Palm Sunday, April 4, 2004, by installing the Cross at the site of future construction.
During 2006–2008, the main works in the Church of the Resurrection of Christ were completed; an iconostasis was created and installed. Since the fall of 2008, a parish (Sunday) school has been opened for children and adults.
Address: st. Osipenko, 2
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Troitsky-Golenishchevo in Moscow
The first mentions of Golenishchevo go back to the second half of the XIV century and are associated with the names of Saints Alexius and Cyprian, Moscow metropolitans. According to the legend of the chronicler of St. Alexis (1354–1378), there was a garden in Golenishchevskaya field (near the present Trinity-Golenishchevskaya church), and without a doubt there were cages and cells near the garden.
Oprichnaya (that is, a special, built by the saint for himself) church in the name of the Three Hierarchs was, in all likelihood, wooden and stood, on a hill, known as the Three Saints.
In 1991, the temple was returned to believers. Sergius Pravdolyubov was appointed priest.
At present, services are held on Sundays, Saturdays and public holidays, on the days of commemoration of the most revered icons of the Mother of God and on the days of commemoration of the saints venerated by the people.
Address: Mosfilmovskaya, 18A
The Church of St. Nicholas Mirlean in Biryulevo in Moscow
The temple in the name of St. Nicholas Mirlean is located in the Southern District of Moscow, near to the station Biryulyovo Commodity Paveletskaya railway.
In 1911, at the request of employees at the station Biryulyovo, as well as the Board of the Ryazan-Ural Railway, the Moscow Spiritual Consistory allowed to establish a school-church of the Ministry of Railways, for which an extension was supposed to be made to the railway school building. By the decree of the Holy Synod of November 8, 1911, at the church under construction at Biryulyovo Ryazan-Ural railway "an independent parish with the clergy from a priest and a psalm reader with content from local means" was opened.
By April 1912 the church was built and consecrated in the name of the Holy Blessed Prince Alexander Nevsky. The church was housed in a wooden extension to the school building; it was separated from the classroom by a swing door, which was opened during the major religious holidays, thus increasing the space of the temple.
By the decree of the Presidium of the Moscow Council of Workers 'and Peasants' Deputies of March 24, 1924, the Alexander Nevsky Church was closed, and in May of the same year it was finally liquidated; its premises were handed over to the administration of the railway school, and church property was transferred to the nearest Pokrovsky church in the village of Pokrovsky.
Address: Bulatnikovskiy pr-d, 8A
Church of St. John Rylsky in Moscow
The church of St. John Rylsky is at the City Clinical Psychiatric Hospital No. 1 named after N.A. Alekseev.
It was consecrated on December 11, 1900. A warm stone church without a bell tower, built in the shape of a cross, is located away from the rest of the hospital buildings, on the bank of the pond, and was intended for the funeral services of the dead. The hospital buildings were designed by the architect LO. Vasiliev. The initiator of the construction was the Moscow city head N.A. Alekseev. In 1902, the church walls painted. The temple was closed in 1922, and a morgue was placed in it. They again consecrated the hospital home church-chapel on June 18, 1998.
Address: Zagorodnoe shosse, 2, b. 10
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin in Arkhangelskoe-Tyurikovo in Moscow
The history of the Arkhangelskoe-Turikovo estate dates back to the 15th century. In 1666 the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built with two chapels. Despite the fact that the Arkhangelsk church burned down, and the village of Tyrikovo was obliterated, the newly founded village remained the former name - Arkhangelskoe-Tyurikovo – it was affected by the habit of the inhabitants of the surrounding villages to the old name.
In 1755, the surviving stone church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was erected to this day, but without the aisles.
From the mid-60s of the 20th century before the beginning of the restoration, the church was chosen by climbers, who saw in it a convenient training simulator. The temple, and with it the whole territory, were dilapidated, decayed. It was badly hurt by climbing exercises. The roof was gradually torn off from it, the cupola with the crosses collapsed, an elegant drum on a quadrangle was dismantled brick by brick, and the frescoes disappeared, the stone vault above the altar and the refectory collapsed.
After the Millennium of the Baptism of Russia in 1988, the time has come for the revival of churches across the country. On the week of Myrrh-bearing Women, May 10, 1992, the first service was held in the Church of the Assumption. Currently, the Orthodox Parish of the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is restoring the eponymous temple complex on its own.
Address: Chelobitevskoye sh., 1, building 50, 1
The Church of St. Nicholas at the Straw Lodge in Moscow
Moscow newspapers wrote about this church in 1916: “Representing archaeological value as a collection of rare icons, this temple is at the same time the first church in Russia to be a monument to the events we are experiencing.” The temple was the first temple - monument to the First World War built in Russia.
The architectural appearance of the temple brings back memories of the best examples of tent temples of the XVI-XVIII centuries. The architect F.O. Shekhtel in 1926, signing a drawing of the church, testified that “the church is arranged in the character of the northern churches of the Olonets province, with the exception of the belfry, since in the North the belltowers were set apart from the church; belfries begin from the Kostroma region ". “Arranged in character” meant that it carried the main features of northern folk architecture, repeating the most important compositional elements and details. At the base of the building a cruciform plan lays, when four barrels forming a cross were cut to the lower quadrangle, culminating in a tent. The base under the barrels was expanded, which allowed increasing the internal space for worshipers. The core of the composition was the solemnly ascending tent and barrels on the sides.
After the closure of the temple in 1935, the belfry and tent were broken. According to the testimony of old-timers, services and the children baptism still continued in the temple. But soon a hostel was placed here. In the 60s, the church was finally demolished, in its place a multi-storey building number 4 on the street Dubki was built.
Work on the revival of the temple began in late 1996. On April 20, 1997, it was consecrated solemnly.
Address: st. Ivanovskaya, 3
Church of the Transfiguration in Bogorodskoye in Moscow
In 1877, the villagers received permission to build a monastery of the Transfiguration of the Lord, and on August 17, 1880, the church was consecrated with the blessing of His Eminence Metropolitan of Moscow Macarius by His Grace Ambrose Dmitrovsky. The temple was built from selected forests. It was small, with a high bell tower, and at the same time cozy.
Shortly before his arrest, on May 7, 1922, Patriarch Tikhon served in the church. He completed another service several months before his death - on September 7, 1924. In Soviet times, the temple was not closed: the already prepared Decree on its closure, dated March 23, 1933, was not signed by the Deputy Chairman of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee P. G. Smidovich.
On August 14, 1954 there was a first fire in the temple. All the decorations and icons perished, except for the wonderfully surviving Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God (from the chapel of the same name) and the icon of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, located nearby.
The second fire occurred in the temple on August 30, 2002. This time, all the church utensils and icons survived, but the roof was destroyed and the walls of the church were significantly damaged, which required the replacement of logs.
Address: 17 Krasnobogatyrskaya St.
Church of the Resurrection of Christ and the Protection of the Blessed Virgin in Moscow
In Tokmakov Lane there is one of the most original in its architecture of the Old Believers' churches in Moscow - the Church of the Resurrection of Christ and the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos. It was built in 1907-1908 for the Second Moscow community of the Pomeranian legislative consent.
The Resurrection-Pokrovsky Church, consecrated in the summer of 1908, was built according to the type of ancient Novgorod and Pskov churches of the XVI century with elements of Pomorskaya architecture. But those techniques that are characteristic of ancient Russian architecture were reinterpreted by the architect in a new way; it was not stylization, not copying of monuments of the past, but a new direction in architecture that embodied everything that had been accumulated by art by the beginning of the 20th century.
Designed by Bondarenko, the temple was a two-story, with a large prayer room and meeting rooms for the community. One of the attractions of the temple was the belfry, covered with tiled tiles; its facade was decorated with majolica panels depicting angels holding the icon of the Resurrection.
After the Bolsheviks came to power, the temple continued to operate until 1930, when it was closed. Valuable icons and utensils were transferred to museums, and in the church building itself there was first a theater, then a sewing workshop and a stamp factory. The temple was returned to believers only in the early 1990s. Now restoration work is underway.
Address: building 9, Tokmakov lane, 17
The Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Fili in Moscow
The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos in Fili is an Orthodox church of St. George’s Prosperity of the Moscow City Diocese. The building is architecturally related to the type of longline centric churches, “Naryshkin baroque”, which was widespread in the late 17th century.
The present building of the temple (“the octagon on a quadrangle”) was erected in the years 1691-1644 at the expense of L. K. Naryshkin (the brother of Tsaritsa Natalia Kirillovna). The eponymous wooden church that used to stand here was built in 1619, when the village belonged to Miloslavsky.
In July 1941 the temple was closed. In order to disguise against airstrikes, the heads and the upper tier were dismantled. Until 1943, the lower church was used as an infirmary, then, until 1963, as a warehouse of paper products. In 1955, the restoration of the temple began, which was completed in the mid-80s of the XX century.
In 1971, the temple was leased to the museum named after Andrei Rublev, after which a branch of the museum was created in it, which was opened in 1980 for the Olympics.
Since 1991, the community of believers sought the opening of the church for worship; the first service (prayer) in the lower Intercession Church was held October 14, 1992.
Address: Novozavodskaya St., 6
Chapel of Cyril and Mary of Radonezh in Moscow
At the end of September 2014, construction on a temporary wooden church in honor of St. Cyril and Mary of Khotkovsky, parents of St. Sergius of Radonezh began. On December 21, 2014, a new church was erected under the program for the construction of 200 churches in Moscow.
The tent church was built from glued timber using the most modern technologies. The building is heated, illuminated. The temple is spacious, for 300 people. Place for worshipers is 150 sq.m. The rector of the church, the priest Alexander Gerego, has already opened a Sunday school in the parish.
Address: Novocherkassky Boulevard, 6-8
Temple of the Kazan Peschanskaya Icon of the Mother of God in Izmailovo in Moscow
On the eve of Easter in 2001, a new Orthodox church was opened in Moscow in the former kindergarten. There are regular services in the temple, and the temple is filled with many people.
The temple in honor of the icon of the Mother of God Peschanskaya is the one in Moscow, and it is one of the few in all of Russia. The opening in Moscow of a temple in honor of the icon of the Peschanskaya Mother of God, which, according to the words of St Joasaph, is a strong Protector of modern Russia.
Address: st. 9th Parkovaya, 4A
Temple of the Holy Blessed Great Prince Alexander Nevsky in Kurkino in Moscow
The temple was erected on the territory of the military camp number 64, where since 1993 one of the oldest military units of the armed forces of the Russian Federation was based - the First Sevastopol Red Banner of Alexander Nevsky and the Red Star communications / control brigade, whose history goes back to the first regiment of the Russian Empire: Life Guard Preobrazhensky regiment.
The initiator of the construction of the temple was Major General Alexander S. Semakin, commander of the First Communications Brigade in 1993–1996. On September 13, 1995, His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II headed the foundation of the church, which turned out to be the first regimental church in Russia, created in the post-Soviet period.
By the nearest Easter the temple was built. The first Divine Liturgy took place on Thursday of Bright Week on April 18, 1996. The liturgy was performed by the Bishop of the Krasnogorsk Savva (Volkov) of the Synodal Department of the Moscow Patriarchate for Cooperation with the Armed Forces and Law Enforcement Agencies. And on June 7, 1996, His Holiness Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II consecrated the church with a full hierarchal rite, and from that time until today, church services are held regularly.
Address: Rodionovskaya St., 14
Church of Evangelical Christian Baptists "Golgotha" in Moscow
The church "Golgotha" was formed in the city of Moscow by brothers and sisters in the early 90s. The first service was held in February 1991, and in the same year the church was called “Golgotha”. Aleksei Mikhailovich Bychkov became the first presbyter of the church and carried this ministry from 1991 to 1997. From 1997 to 2004, Brother Alexei Petrovich Buzenkov served as the ministry priest, and from 2004 to this day, the service of the church’s first presbyter was performed by Peter Walter Mitskevich.
In 1996, Moscow authorities allocated land in the north of Moscow, in the Bibirevo district, and in 1997, construction of the temple began. The building of the temple was designed by architect Belov Vasily Konstantinovich. To date, the construction is almost completed, but the divine services in the building of the temple have been held since 2000.
Address: st. Leskov, 11
The Church of St. Dimitry the Metropolitan of Rostov in Ochakovo in Moscow
The temple is a quadrangle with a faceted apse, made in the style of the late Russian baroque. The bell tower is connected to the temple through a small refectory. This suggests that the temple and the bell tower were built at the same time. The temple with the apse, the refectory and the bell tower, close in width, are connected by a longitudinal axis. The cubic volume of the main double-domed, four-sided cross-shaped arches is completed with a deaf octagonal head with an openwork cross, topped with a white-stone cornice with a semicircular elevation in the center of each facade.
The three-tiered bell tower is completed with a brick coating with lucarnes and a small baroque cupola with wrought openwork cross. The middle tier of the bell tower is a low vaulted room illuminated by windows (now the abbot's cell is there). An internal stone staircase leads to it. The architectural details - cornices, above the windows of the sandriks, windowsill and basement plates - are made of white stone and have a carved baroque profile. The found ratios of the volumes of the tiers of the bell tower and their completion, the finely drawn profiles of the cornices and the bells indicate the undoubted skill of the temple builder.
In 1932, the temple was given an "off-cult appearance": the upper drum and the cupola with the cross were torn down, with the mast of the cross sticking out for a long time, and a five-pointed star appeared over one of the gables. When, in 1992, for the first time after more than 50 years of desolation, the prayer-liturgical life returned to the temple, the believers saw neither an iconostasis, nor icons, nor murals, but only bare brick walls and crumbled plaster.
Address: st. General Dorokhov, 17
Church of the Holy Archangel Michael in Troparevo in Moscow
Historical sources indicate that "in 1704 there was a stone church in the name of the Archangel Michael, probably built in 1693, in the village of Troparevo."
The Archangel church was built in the style of church architecture of the end of the 17th century. At that time there was a transition from the three-headed (Ukrainian style) to the five-domes in Moscow. This style is often called “Naryshkin Baroque”, since churches of this type were built on the estates of the princes Naryshkins at that time. A characteristic detail of such temples is a combination of forms familiar to Russian Orthodox churches and new, more magnificent elements of decorative furniture, largely inspired by Western architecture, which then penetrated into Russia. In a number of studies, this style was called the “Moscow Baroque”.
In the XX century, the temple in Troparevo did not escape the fate of many Moscow churches. On the eve of the war, in 1939, the temple was closed. The bells were dropped from the bell tower and disappeared without a trace.
In 1988, by the decision of the executive committee of the Moscow Council No. 2118 dated December 13, 1988, the Church of the Archangel Michael in Troparevo was transferred to the use of the Russian Orthodox Church and on February 23, 1989, the Church of the Archangel Michael was already open to believers.
Address: Vernadsky Avenue, 90
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Karacharovo in Moscow
In 1773-1776 “the stone church in the name of the Life-Giving Trinity was built, and it was content with all the churchly beauty and stands on sanctification and readiness.” In 1782-1837 an aisle in the name of the icon of the Sign of the Most Holy Theotokos and the Prelate and the Miracle-worker Nicholas was built, and in 1833-1834 with the blessing of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow, a bell tower was erected.
In September 1812, according to legend, Field Marshal M.I. Kutuzov prayed for victory over Napoleon in the temple, when the Russian army was withdrawn from Moscow (and with it almost the entire population) along the Ryazan road. This was the beginning of the famous "Tarutinsky maneuver" of Mikhail Kutuzov, which allowed him to prepare for a counteroffensive and defeat Napoleon's army.
Before the war, the temple was closed. In 1992, according to the petition and efforts of the former parishioners and with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II, the church was returned to the believers in a terrible ruin, desecrated, beheaded, with a bell tower half-destroyed to the lower tier.
Address: Ryazansky Ave., 3
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God of All Who Sorrow Joy in Moscow
The classic look of the temple is combined with the traditional layout of the XVII century "ship", in which the temple, the refectory and the bell tower are located along the east-west axis. The current temple was the result of the gradual restructuring of the church in 1683-1685 and generally kept its planning solution.
Initially, the bell tower and refectory were rebuilt. The customer of the alteration of the temple was the merchant Afanasy Dolgov, whose house was on the opposite side of B. Ordynka (preserved in the reconstructed form). The merchant mentioned was a relative of the outstanding architect Vasily Ivanovich Bazhenov; it is understandable that he ordered the restructuring to him. The buildings of Bazhenov date from 1791.
In Soviet times (in the early 1930s), the temple was closed, but escaped destruction — only the bells were dropped and destroyed. During the war, the vaults of the nearby Tretyakov Gallery were located here. Its employees, who understood the artistic value of the church, took care to preserve the interiors in no small measure. And soon after the war, the temple was returned to believers and re-consecrated in 1948. All this contributed to the fact that this monument of architecture, created by two famous Moscow architects, retained both the appearance and interiors, including the iconostasis, designed by O. I. Bove, and cast-iron floor tiles, made according to his own design.
Address: st. Big Ordynka, 20
Church of the Holy Great Martyr George the Victorious at the Old Luchniki in Moscow
The first mention of the temple dates back to 1460, when on the site of our temple stood another, small and wooden one. There are various names in the history of the place where the temple was built - "in Luzhniki", "in Luzhki", "in Luchniki ".
There are several versions of the origin of these names. According to the most common version, there were meadows for cattle pastures, whose patron was Great Martyr George, and near which was the Cowhide site, where merchants traded cattle. In other versions, the names originated from bow dealers or bow and arrow manufacturers.
In 1657, in the “Storelnaya book” (a book about the construction of new and restoration of the fortifications of the old cities in the XVI-XVII centuries), the stone church of St. George was first mentioned.
In 1932 the temple was closed and was under the jurisdiction of the NKVD. The tent of the belfry, the completion of the temple, the head above the aisles, the fence with the gate were lost. First, the NKVD hostel was located in the temple, and then the KGB shoe shop. Machines were installed, from which work in the walls formed extensive cracks.
In 1993, the church was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: Lubyansky pr., 9, b. 2
The home church of the martyr Ionn Artobolevsky at the Moscow Agricultural Academy named after K.A. Timiryazev in Moscow
In 1691 in the Petrovsko-Razumovsky a parish church of the Holy Apostles Peter and Paul was built and consecrated. After the opening of the Higher Agricultural School, it was transformed into a home church, which operated until its closure in 1927.
In 1934, the academic home church was destroyed. During the persecutions of the Church, the last rector of the academic church, professor of theology, head of the theology department at the Petrovsky Agricultural Academy (now the Russian State Agrarian University - Moscow Agricultural Academy named after K.A. Timiryazev) was repressed. In 2000, at the Bishops' Council of the Russian Orthodox Church, he was canonized as a Holy Martyr. Thus, in Timiryazevsky district and in Moscow Agricultural Academy their own patron saint, the Holy Martyr John (Artobolevsky), appeared.
Residents of Timiryazevsky district created an initiative group for the revival of the academic temple. In response to the petition, signed by the Rector of the Moscow Agricultural Academy by V.M. Bautin, the blessing of His Holiness the Patriarch on the reconstruction of the destroyed house church was received.
Address: st. Timiryazevskaya, 56
Alexander Nevsky Church at the Intercession Almshouse in Moscow
In the epoch of Alexander II, charity houses, almshouses, educational institutions were widely established, and their house churches, consecrated in honor of the emperor's namesake, transferred these charitable institutions under the protection of St. Alexander Nevsky. Such was the house church under the poorhouse of the Moscow bourgeois society on Pokrovskaya (Bakuninskaya) street, where Elizaveta Petrovna founded it, and therefore it was under special august patronage. They built their own building for it, and the house church was consecrated in December 1858, and later they built a side-alley in the name of St. Xenia, on the birthday of the Grand Duchess Xenia Alexandrovna, daughter of Alexander III.
The Pokrovsky poorhouse, intended for "elderly and incapable to work bourgeois", was founded in 1840 and was one of the largest institutions of this kind in Moscow (at the beginning of the 20th century, the number of suspected was over 1000 people). Nowadays, almost the entire complex of the former poorhouse, which was closed in the 1920s, has been preserved. In Soviet times, the building contained apartments, a technical school, a factory, a techno-shopping center.
The almshouse complex with the church was partially returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in 1998. With the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch Alexy II, the Compound of the Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia was established with the temple of the holy blessed Prince Alexander Nevsky.
Address: st. Bakuninskaya 81/55
Lutheran Church of the Holy Trinity in Moscow
Lutheranism in Russia has existed since 1560. The parish of the Holy Trinity, which is part of the Church of Ingria, located in the German cemetery, is the spiritual heir, together with the German parish of the Lutheran Church in Moscow, which existed before 1937, and has more than 400-year-old Lutheran traditions.
The basis of the Mikhailovsky parish consisted of immigrants from the Baltic States and Germanic subjects. The parishioners of the church were also members of the Moscow Swedish colony, Danes and Finns living in the city.
And in 1928, despite the protests of the parishioners, the church of St. Michael, the oldest Evangelical church of Russia, was demolished, taking with it the image of the first stone Lutheran church.
In the southern part of the German cemetery, in December 1911, construction on a stone chapel with a semi-basement for the funeral service of the dead began. The chapel was intended for denominations included in the Cemetery Improvement Committee: Evangelical Lutheran, Catholic (Polish and French Churches), Reformed, Anglican. The building was completed in April 1912 and consecrated in May.
The building is an integral link in the architectural ensemble of the German cemetery, which was formed in the period from the middle of the XIX-early XX centuries. In addition, it represents an independent architectural value, as the rarest for Moscow sample of religious buildings, made in the traditions of the western church using neoclassical forms of modern style.
Address: Nalichnaya Street, Building 1, 1
Temple of the Holy Princes Peter and Fevronia in Moscow
According to historical photographs in 2012 - 2014 the chapel with the prayer house was completely recreated, located behind the monastery fence on Taganskaya Street. In Soviet times, the building was completely destroyed. On the remnants of the old foundation a new building was built, which had all utilities (water, electricity, heat). The walls are brickwork, mosaic icons of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos and Holy Apostles are laid out on the walls outside. On the altar wall there is a mosaic icon of the saints of the faithful Peter and Fevronia of Murom.
Inside the building, in addition to the temple itself, there is a baptismal with a large font for adult baptism (the walls of the font are lined with blue mosaic), a candle box (all for baptism and wedding, you can order occasional offices, buy candles, icons, spiritual literature).
On February 27, 2014, with the blessing of His Holiness Patriarch Kirill, the chairman of the Synodal department for monasteries and monasticism, Archbishop Sergiev-Posadsky Theognost performed a small consecration of the first church in Moscow in honor of the holy Blessed Peter and Fevronia and the first Divine Liturgy in the newly consecrated church.
Address: Intersection of Perervinsky Boulevard and Porechnaya Street
Church of St. Nicholas in Zayaitsky in Moscow
The appearance of the Raushskaya Embankment without St. Nicholas Church in our days is impossible to imagine: its high bell tower and wide dome contrast with the neighboring high-rise buildings and the power station complex. Now it is hard to believe that in the twentieth century this temple was almost wiped out from the face of Moscow.
According to one of the versions, the St. Nicholas Church on the banks of the Moskva River was founded in the 16th century by zayaitskie Cossacks — that is, they lived behind the Yaik River (today it is called Ural). According to another hypothesis, the first church appeared here at the beginning of the 17th century, and the Cossacks presented it with an icon of St. Nicholas. In the middle of the 17th century, it was already mentioned as a stone one, and its main altar was consecrated in honor of the Transfiguration of the Savior, and St. Nicholas was only called the chapel. Nevertheless, in the people it continued to be called in honor of Nicholas the Wonderworker, one of the most popular saints.
The overall composition of the new temple is characteristic of its time: the building is made in the spirit of Elizabethan baroque, named after the Empress Elizabeth. The quadrangle of St. Nicholas Church is crowned with a powerful octahedral dome with eight large lucarnes - this not only gives the temple a monumental look, but also contributes to a good illumination of its internal space.
After the cessation of worship in 1933, the St. Nicholas Church passed under the authority of the neighboring power station, which, destroying its dome and upper tiers of the bell tower, supposed to demolish the building, but then turned it into a transformer-mechanical shop. By the beginning of the 1990s, the church was brought to a state of emergency, the central part of the building was divided into floors, and cracks appeared on the brickwork. Only in 1996, the disfigured church was turned over to the community of believers.
Address: 2nd Raushsky Pereulok, 1/3 / 26s8
Temple of the Entry into the Temple of the Most Holy Mother of God at the Saltykov Bridge in Moscow
The Church of the Entry became the first church of Common Faith built after the emergence of common faith. The wooden church of the Vvedenskaya community was built in 1801, and the stone church (which has survived) was built by 1829. Nearby in 1819, the Trinity Church of Common Faith was built, which was originally conceived as a summer church. Vvedensky church served as a warm winter temple. The church is built in the Empire style.
In 1931, the temple was closed. The domes and cylinders of the church were broken. In 1966 a sobering center was placed in the church building. Since the 1970s, the laboratory of the institute was located there, the building was partially restored.
In the early 1990s, the church was returned to the Moscow Patriarchate. In 1992, the first service was held on the day of the Holy Trinity. Restoration work continued. In the 2000s, the unique painting of the XIX century was restored.
Address: 3/8 Samokatnaya St.
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God Recovery of the dead on Zatsep in Moscow
The home church of the Icon of the Mother of God “Recovery of the dead” on Zatsep was laid in 1904 and consecrated on June 9, 1905. It was built by the architect N.L. Shevyakov.
In 1910-1911, a two-storey building for preparatory classes of the school was attached to the church along B. Strochenovskiy lane. After 1918, the church was separated from the academic building and became a parish for several years. During the years of persecution, the temple was closed and transferred to the national economy in 1929. In 2002, the parish of the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God was formed, which received legal registration. In 2011, the room in which the altar part of the temple was located was given to the parish for conducting worship services. On August 30, 2016, a complex restoration of the temple was completed.
On October 14, 2016, His Holiness Patriarch Kirill performed the rite of the Great Consecration of the temple and the first Divine Liturgy.
Address: Zatsep st., 41
Church of the Nativity of St. John the Forerunner on Presnya in Moscow
The Church of the Nativity of John the Forerunner on Presnya was founded in 1685. It was then that the wooden building of the temple was built. In 1734 a stone temple was erected. In this form, it stood for almost a hundred years. In 1806, the church warden merchant F. Rezanov began construction of the bell tower. In 1810, the bell tower was finished. The largest bell - 316 pods 23 pounds – was consecrated by St. Philaret of Moscow in 1848.
The interior of the temple was recorded for the first time by the inventory of 1861. The adjoining iconostasis had the shape of a rotunda and was empire in style. By the end of the century, they were morally obsolete and decayed. Their renewal was carried out almost simultaneously in July and August 1892.
In its place altar barriers appeared, preserved to our days, with carving typical for that time, imitating ancient specimens. The painting was greatly influenced by the then built Cathedral of Christ the Savior. Thus, the altarpiece of the chapel of John the Warrior "The Adoration of the Magi" is a reproduction of a similar composition by V. P. Vereshchagin from the Cathedral of Christ the Savior.
The Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist, one of the few in Moscow, and indeed in Russia, was not closed during the Soviet era. In the postwar years, the temple turned from the once marginal to one of the most revered and visited in Moscow.
Address: Small Predtechensky Lane., 2
Moscow historical mosque
The Moscow Historical Mosque was founded in 1823 in the historical center of the Zamoskvoretskaya Tatar community and is the oldest mosque in Moscow.
This mosque has a difficult history dating back to the turn of the 18th-19th centuries, when the courtyard of the Foreign Office of Prince Sulamit-Murza was located at this place, and there was a mosque in the courtyard. By fire in 1812, the mosque, along with other Moscow buildings, was destroyed. The Tatar community could receive permission to create a prayer house at this place only at the end of 1823 - provided that the structure would not have any external signs of the mosque and would not be different from ordinary houses.
Only in 1880, permission to rebuild the mosque with the device of the dome and minaret was received. In the 30s, the mosque was closed, in the Soviet years it was used as a military registration and enlistment office or workshop. The resumption of the activity of this mosque in Moscow took place only in 1993.
Address: st. Big Tatarskaya, 28, b. 1, 2
The complex of mosques Inam and Yardyam in Otradnoe in Moscow
A complex of traditional religions is located on a small square in the Moscow area of Otradnoe. It is also called the Small Jerusalem or the New Jerusalem.
The complex includes the chapel of the Holy Great Martyr Panteleimon the Healer, the Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas Myrlean, the foundation stone of a Buddhist stupa, the synagogue “Darki Shalom”, an educational and administrative complex and two mosques under one roof - the Tatar Yardem and the Azerbaijani Inam.
The Moscow Shia mosque Inam was opened in 1999 at the initiative of the first president of Azerbaijan, Ayaz Niyazi oglu Mutalibov, and its name translated from Azerbaijani means “faith”. Inam mosque is an important part of the spiritual heritage of Muslims.
Sunni mosque Yardyam was opened in 1997. Its name is translated from the Tatar as "help". There is educational and administrative building, where students learn about the basics of the Islamic faith and its history, learn the Tatar and Arabic languages. Also at the mosque, the Hilal Charitable Foundation, an educational center, a shop of halal products, funeral services are provided. For holding Muslim events at the mosque there is a conference room and a Muslim cafe.
Address: st. Khachaturian, 8
Memorial mosque in Moscow
This mosque was built in one of the most memorable places in Moscow - on Poklonnaya Hill - and is dedicated to the memory of Muslims who died in the Great Patriotic War. In its original appearance, the mosque united the Tatar, Uzbek and Caucasian architectural traditions.
In 1997, the mosque was solemnly opened. The ceremony was attended by the mayor of Moscow, as well as the heads of Kazakhstan, Bashkortostan, Tatarstan and numerous guests from the CIS. Parishioners of this mosque in Moscow are Tatars, Vainakhs, Dagestanis and Turks. Services are held in both Arabic and Russian.
Address: st. Minskaya, 2b
Moscow Cathedral Mosque
This most famous and largest Moscow mosque is located in the heart of the capital. It was opened in 1904 and has not been closed since then - even during the Soviet years. Throughout its history, the Moscow Cathedral Mosque has remained a place of prayers and a link for Muslims throughout the country.
At the moment, this Moscow mosque is the largest in the capital (6 floors, the total area is 18,900 m2) and accommodates about 10,000 people.
Address: Vypolzov Pereulok, 7
Moscow Choral Synagogue
The Moscow Choral Synagogue is the oldest and one of the largest in the capital. Its construction was begun in 1887, but due to the persecution of Jews during the reign of Alexander III, the project was completed only in 1906. During the years of Soviet power, it continued to exist semi-legally, then closing, and then opening again. Only in the 2000s the reconstruction began, and in 2006 the choral synagogue celebrated its 100th anniversary.
The choral synagogue was created by the works of a number of architects, including S. S. Eybuschits, S. C. Rodionov and R. I. Klein. Its interior decoration combines Oriental motifs, reminiscent of the First Temple, with European religious architecture. It also has a symbolic Wailing Wall and a sculptural composition Bird of Happiness, symbolizing the friendship of peoples.
The choral synagogue in Moscow is considered to be the central main synagogue not only of the capital, but of the whole country. There are Torah courses in it, the main rabbinate of Russia and the rabbinical court are located there, and there is also a kosher refectory. In addition, the synagogue cooperates with many Jewish communities, community services, schools and kindergartens.
Address: Bolshoy Spasoglinischevsky Lane, 10 bldg. 1
Synagogue on Bolshaya Bronnaya in Moscow
The synagogue on Bronnaya is one of the oldest and most famous synagogues in Moscow. It was built in 1883 by the project of architect M.N. Chichagov at the expense of patron L.S. Polyakov. For a long time it was the only active synagogue in Moscow. In 1939, the building was taken away and returned to the Jewish community of Moscow only in 1991.
From 2003 to 2004, the synagogue on Bronnaya was reconstructed. In the course of the work, a broken sign was found with the inscription: "God bless you and take care of you." This phrase was the motto of the synagogue. The special status of the synagogue on Bronnaya was due to the fact that it was chosen as its representative by Lubavitchsky Rebbe - one of the most famous figures of Judaism of the 20th century.
During the construction of the synagogue in 1883, an underground passage was built from it in case of possible pogroms. Such a precaution was not in vain: even in our days, synagogues and its visitors were attacked. In 1993, a firebomb was thrown here, in 1999 they tried to blow up, and in 2006 an armed ill-minded person attacked the visitors. Despite all the dangers, the synagogue on Bronnaya continued its work.
The synagogue on Bronnaya closely cooperates with the Moscow Jewish Community Center, including the Schneerson Library. Anyone can takea look at the collection of books compiled by the Lubavitchsky Rebbe. The synagogue on Bronnaya also cooperates with the center of spiritual and physical rehabilitation "Eshel". The center focuses on the study of traditional and contemporary practices of Judaism and the integration of Jewish youth into community life.
Address: st. Big Bronnaya, b. 6, 3
The synagogue "Darkey Shalom" in Moscow
The synagogue Darkey Shalom is one of the young synagogues in Moscow, its name means “The Path of Peace and Harmony”. It was created with the money of the Tatar community and donated to Moscow Jews. Not only a synagogue, but also an Orthodox church and two mosques are located in a small corner of Otradny.
Darkey Shalom is active in educational activities. This Moscow synagogue supervises the kindergarten and primary school, within which they study the traditions and rituals of Jewish culture. There are programs for young people and the elderly, evening courses for students, a family club. The synagogue Darkey Shalom is also involved in charitable activities: it organizes anonymous meetings for drug-addicted Jews, rehabilitates problem children and adolescents, as well as Jews who are released from prison. The synagogue also has a library, an audio library and a video library. The synagogue's bookshop is open daily from 10:00 to 17:00 (except Saturday and Friday). In addition, Darkey Shalom has a kosher grocery store and religious paraphernalia.
Darkey Shalom also takes care of travelers. Wayfarers arriving in Moscow have the opportunity to stay in the guest rooms of the synagogue or in a hotel located near to it. The synagogue preaches tolerance and the principles of peaceful coexistence; therefore it accepts non-Jews for meetings and services.
Address: Signalny proezd 19B
Temple of Alexius Met. Moskovsky in Rogozhskaya sloboda in Moscow
This is one of the most beautiful churches in Moscow dedicated to St. Alexis. The temple was founded at the beginning of the XVII century for parishioners of the sovereign Rogozhskaya settlement. After the fire in 1748 and with the blessing of Archbishop Platon Malinovsky, a new stone church was laid on the site of the first wooden building, the architect of which was the greatest master of his work, Dmitry Ukhtomsky.
Before the October Revolution, the temple of Alexis Metropolitan Moskovsky was a beautiful classical example of Moscow Elizabethan baroque: a massive quadrangle with a semicircular apse (on the east side), a two-part refectory and a bell tower (from the west); rectangular pilasters, large and narrow arched windows of the square in the frame of figured platbands and windows of the second light with the tops in the form of torn gables. The combination of straight and curved lines, three-dimensional and slender forms made the temple elegant and majestic at the same time.
The services in the temple were conducted until the beginning of 1930. And after that the holy monastery was plundered and destroyed. They dismantled the bell tower to the second tier, demolished the drum with the head and the ancient cross.
Address: Stanislavsky st, 29, b. 3
Temple of Alexius Met. Moscow and the temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God at the Central Clinical Hospital in Moscow
A beautiful architectural ensemble is located on the longest street in Moscow, and it is simply impossible not to pay attention to it. Once these pompous buildings were a hospital for the incurably sick, a poorhouse and two house temples. Now the building is called the temple of Metropolitan Alexy. Moscow and the temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God at the Central Clinical Hospital. All this was built on the means of a well-known merchant, philanthropist Alexandra Ksenofontovna Medvednikova, who bequeathed an inconceivable amount for patronage — more than 5 million rubles.
Construction and arrangement of buildings lasted about two years (1901-1903), Ready-made institutions were named in honor of their benefactors, the spouses Medvednikovs and were consecrated on the eve of the new 1904.
In 1923, the temple was closed, and the property was confiscated. The rest of the buildings became the 5th city hospital. In 1992, the entire complex of buildings passed into the hands of the Moscow Patriarchate. Since 1996, there are worship services here again.
Address: Leninsky Ave., 27
The Temple of Alexis, the man of God, in the Red Village in Moscow
The year 1853 was marked by the construction in the center of the monastic lands of the new church with the main altar in the name of the monastery saint Alexis by the project of the famous architect M.D. Bykovsky. A feature of this building was a huge similarity with the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. The Alekseevskaya Church, erected in the same Russian-Byzantine style, as if confirmed the connection of the two temples of contemporaries, indicating the commonality of the place (the Cathedral of Christ the Savior was built on the former territory of the Alekseevsky Monastery).
Alekseevsky temple has a rectangular shape with a projection (projection of the same height as the main building) in the center and three semicircular apses. It is completed by a huge dome (even the motif of the dome belt of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior is repeated here) on the impressive, both in width and height, light cylinder. Since Bykovsky was a supporter of the Russian national architecture, the decor of the temple is replete with motifs of ancient Russian architecture.
1926 was the year of the closure of the Novo-Alekseevsky monastery, its main church shared the common fate: it was beheaded, rebuilt, becoming the House of Pioneers for many years. Only in 2000, the temple of Alexis, the man of God, in the Red Village was returned to believers.
Address: 2nd Krasnoselsky Lane, 3, b. 1
Temple of Anastasia Uzoreshitelnitsa in Teply stan in Moscow
The temple of Anastasia Uzoreshitelnitsa in Teply stan has appeared quite recently, but despite this, it already has its own traditions and stories. At the beginning of the creation of the Orthodox community at the temple of Anastasia there is Archpriest Sergius Zhigulin. In 1996, a resident of Teply Stan, Father Sergius, on behalf of the Patriarch, was sent to Grozny, where he was captured by militants. For more than 5 months, Father Sergius prayed to St. Anastasia.
The holy patroness of the temple Anastasia lived in the III century BC in Rome during the reign of Emperor Diocletian, the persecutor of Christians. Anastasia, being a noble and rich Roman woman, helped Christians imprisoned in dungeons as best as she could: with money, food and care. She accepted a martyr's demise, and was subsequently canonized in the sainthood. They pray to her about Christian prisoners, calling her the Uzoreshitelnitsa that is facilitating the bonds.
Freed from captivity and returning home, Fr. Sergius accepted monastic tonsure with the name Philip and set about creating an Orthodox community.
Address: Teply stan st. 4, 6
The temples of Andrew the First-Called and Tikhon, Patriarch of All-Russia, in Lublin in Moscow
The Orthodox community in this place was registered back in 1996. Three years later, Patriarch Alexy II (now deceased) blessed the foundation stone of the future Church of Tikhon, the Patriarch of All-Russia in Lublin. It was the first church in the area, and its construction was the beginning of the construction of a whole temple complex in honor of Andrew the First-Called.
During the construction of the Church of Tikhon, the Patriarch of All-Russia, work was carried out to prepare for the construction of the Church of St. Andrew the First-Called. According to the project, in addition to these two temples, the complex includes an Orthodox gymnasium and outbuildings; the total area is almost 14’000 sq. m.
If we talk about the Tikhon temple, it had been building relatively long. First, they poured the foundation and built the ground floor. Divine services began in this basement, although it was intended for technical purposes. This continued until 2003: even though the building was wooden, there were already windows and doors in it, and domes and crosses on top.
Address: st. Stavropolskaya, 25
Church of St. Andrew the First-Called at Vagankovsky Cemetery in Moscow
In 1824, the Church of the Resurrection of the Word appeared on the famous Vagankovo cemetery. At about the same time, two wings were built at the entrance to the churchyard by A. Elkinsky. In one of them there was a poorhouse, in the other, northeast, to the right of the entrance - a chapel, and later a parochial school. In 1916, the school building was rebuilt into the church of St. Andrew the First-Called, and under it a chapel for the funeral of the deceased was built.
The Church of St. Andrew the First-Called at the Vagankovo Cemetery is the only one built before the revolution in the name of the Apostle Andrey. Its architecture does not claim to sophistication, on the contrary, we can observe the simplicity and modesty of the exterior, which is logical, given the original purpose of the construction.
After the church was closed in 1918, a hostel and ritual services were located there at various times. And only in the summer of 89th the building was decided to be handed over to the church. For its necessary restoration work about 100 thousand rubles were collected. And in October of the same year, Archbishop Alexis of Zaraisk sanctified the temple. Today there are worship services and a Sunday school.
Address: st. Sergey Makeev, 15
The Church of Andrei Rublev and the Protection of the Blessed Virgin in Ramenki in Moscow
The temple of Andrei Rublev in Ramenki is truly unique. Rublev was canonized in the sainthood of the monk not so long ago (1988), but the church is unique not because of this, but because it was created in honor of the artist. His art is one of the heights of not only Russian, but also world culture.
The idea of building a temple has been seen since 1994. The projects were offered standard, until Mikhail Filippov got involved in the matter. He offered his vision of the future temple, and his project was almost immediately approved. In 2008, construction work began, in February 2010, the monastery was consecrated, but the improvement works continued for several more years.
Unlike many new churches, this did not incorporate the entire decorative arsenal of Old Russian architecture, but focused on early Moscow architecture. In style, it resembles the Cathedral of the Savior-Andronikov Monastery, where Andrei Rublev was buried. This is a large bunk building with a semicircular volume. Indoor staircases surrounding it and light perspective arcades with differences of tiers resemble the silhouette of either the ancient city or the monastery. The temple - strict and elegant - demonstrates the delicate balance between elements of medieval and classical architecture.
Address: st. Ramenki, 2
Temple of Antipas of Pergamon in the Kolymazhny yard in Moscow
A lot of secrets and mysteries are kept in the temple of Antipas of Pergamon in the Kolymazhny yard. It is located just 400 meters from the Borovitskaya Tower of the Kremlin in Chertolye. One of the main mysteries of this temple is the date of its construction. The first mention was in 1530. However, there is an assumption that the first wooden church in the Konyushennaya Sloboda appeared as early as 1514-1519, and Aleviz Fryazin himself built it in honor of Metropolitan Peter. According to one version, a new church was built in its place, already consecrated in the name of the martyr Antipas, the Bishop of Pergamon (the disciple of the Apostle John the Theologian). The third version suggests dating the Antipas temple to 1560, the year when it was erected already in stone.
Today it is difficult to say why it was consecrated in honor of St. Antipas, but when you consider that they pray for deliverance from toothache, and Ivan the Terrible himself had a silver “tooth” of “Antipas the Great”, it becomes clear that the temple of such a saint was simply necessary for Muscovites.
In 1929, the Antipas of Pergamon temple at the Kolymazhny yard was closed and transferred to Art Courses, which first used it as a residential building and then as a warehouse. After the war, in the 1950s, the central dome and the head of Nikolsky chapel were broken.
In 1991, the Orthodox community of the temple of Antipas of Pergamon was formed, but only in February 2005 the church was finally returned to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: per. Kolymazhny, 8
Temple of the Apostle Iakov Zavedeev in the Kazennaya Sloboda in Moscow
The Temple of Iakov Zavedeev in Kazennaya Sloboda is the only holy cloister in Russia built in honor of this apostle. Although Iakov, as the Gospel narrates, was one of the disciples closest to Christ.
The exact date of construction of the temple is not known, but the first mention of it is dated 1620th year. Then it was a wooden structure, and the first stone church was built in 1676 with money allocated by Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich.
The base of the building was a square-free square with an adjoining triple apse, covered with a closed vault and completed by five domes. There are kokoshniki, horizontal thrust on the facade of figured bricks, framed by a roller icon case in the decor. There was also a refectory and bell tower at the temple.
The temple was closed in 1932 and began to be used as a workshop. In 1970, the holy monastery lost the dome, in 1979 the fence was broken. At the same time, the Metrostroy Department of Mechanization moved into the building, and the refectory turned into a garage.
In 1991, believers regained their church, and since 1994 there have been regular worship services. In 1994-1998 under the leadership of Tsarina, the building was restored.
Address: Yakovoapostolsky per. 6, b. 1
Epiphany Cathedral (Yelokhovskaya Church) in Moscow
The modern Epiphany Cathedral in Moscow was preceded by a wooden church built at the end of the 17th century in the village of Yelokhovo. This village is associated with the name of the famous Moscow holy fool Basil the Blessed, who, according to the churchmen, was born in Yelokhovo in 1469. At the beginning of the 18th century, during the reign of Peter I, this area began to develop rapidly; in 1722, Yelokhovo became part of Moscow. By decree of Peter and at the expense of his niece Proskovya Ivanovna in the 1720s. Epiphany Church was rebuilt out of stone.
A century later, the building of the temple, built under Peter, decayed and no longer accommodated all parishioners. Therefore, in 1837-1845 the temple was completely reconstructed by the project of E. D. Tyurin. The new Epiphany Cathedral was built in the style of late classicism, in the center of the majestic five domes a huge dome-rotunda was installed, the facades were decorated with decorative moldings. By 1858, the construction of a new three-tier bell tower was completed. The height of the bell tower and the cathedral itself is leveled to 56 meters. The temple was one of the largest in Moscow in terms of area; its capacity was 3,000 people.
In the 20th century, despite several attempts to close the church, the Church of the Epiphany continued its work in the face of constant oppression. From the closed churches, the surviving icons and utensils were transferred here, which after 1991 were returned. In 1991, the Yelokhovskaya Church received the status of the Moscow Cathedral.
Address: st. Yelokhovskaya (Spartakovskaya), 15
Church of the Great Ascension at the Nikitsky Gate in Moscow
The Great Ascension Church at the Nikitsky Gate is one of the most famous historical monuments in Moscow. The first wooden construction of the temple originated in Moscow around the end of the 16th century, and the first mention in the ancient Russian chronicles dates back to 1619. The name of the “Great Ascension” temple was in contrast to the “Small Ascension” - a more ancient temple located nearby.
In 1629, in the next Moscow fire, a wooden church burned down. Parishioners of the church and the clergy attempted to restore it, but until the 1680s the temple was never opened. The situation changed when the famous benefactor, the queen Natalia Kirillovna Naryshkina (mother of Peter I), took over the restoration of the church. Thanks to her, in 1685, the Great Ascension Temple was first built of stone, and since then it has become increasingly important in the history of Moscow. The temple was located opposite the royal court of Natalya Kirillovna, so she did not spare funds for construction; as a result, a majestic five-domed tent temple was erected in the best traditions of ancient Russia.
In 1931, the temple was closed. All valuable property of the temple was partially confiscated, partially destroyed. In 1937, the bell tower was demolished, and the temple was saved from complete demolition by the memory of A. Pushkin. After closing in the premises of the temple warehouses and Research Institute laboratories were located there. In the late 1980s the buildings were restored, originally intended for the construction of a concert hall there. However, in 1990, the Great Ascension Church was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church, and in the same year the first services began.
Address: st. Bolshaya Nikitskaya, 36
The Church of Boris and Gleb in Zyuzino in Moscow
The first church in Zyuzino was of Old Believers, because after the death of Gleb Morozov, his wife, the famous noblewoman Feodosia Morozova, turned her estate into the center of the Old Believers. For that in 1671 she and her sister were banished to the Chudov Monastery, where they were starved to death. And all the property of Morozov, including the village of Zyuzino, in 1671 was taken to the treasury. In 1687 Peter I granted the estate to Prince B. I. Prozorov, who in 1688 ordered that the wooden church be replaced by a stone church.
The architecture of the temple is Russian; the details of the decorative plan were mainly borrowed from Western European architecture. The lower tier is characterized by thoroughness, some heaviness of details: the windows are wide, recessed into deep niches. An elegant patterned staircase leads to the second tier of the temple. The decoration of the upper tier is restrained: arched niches, carved ridges, small gables. There are no plat bands on the windows; the space between the windows is decorated with elegant columns.
1938 became a test for the church: the services were stopped, the church property was plundered, broken down and cut into old iconostasis for firewood, and the bell tower was forever destroyed. The temple fell into disrepair. In the 50s of the 20th century, the temple was adapted as a diamond processing workshop, which led to an even more dilapidated building. Only in 1989 the church was devoted to the Orthodox community.
Address: st. Perekopskaya
Temple of Varvara on Varvarka in Moscow
It is believed that the Church of the Great Martyr Varvara on Varvarka was built in 1796 - 1801, but the temple was already known in the 14th century, and in 1514 the first stone building of the church built by Italian architect Aleviz Fryazin appeared. In 1796 it was decided to rebuild the church, funds were allocated by merchant N. A. Samgin and major artillery I. Baryshnikov. Construction was led by architect Rodion Kazakov. This is how the temple appeared in the style of classicism with a two-tier bell tower, which can be seen today on Varvarka.
In 1812, during the Napoleonic invasion, the Church of Great Martyr Barbara was severely damaged - the building of the temple was turned into a stable. The restoration was completed in the 1820s.
In the 20th century, the temple was twice restored. In the 1930s, like most of the churches of Moscow, it was closed. Until now, the church is not active; the Council of the Moscow regional branch of the All-Russian Society for the Protection of Historical and Cultural Monuments is located in the church building.
Address: st. Varvarka, 2
The Church of St. Basil the Confessor at the Rogozhskaya Gate in Moscow
The Church of St. Basil the Confessor at the Rogozhskaya Gate (or in the New Village) is the only church in Russia consecrated in the name of St. Basil, known for devoting his life to the resistance of the iconoclasts and the veneration of holy icons. The temple with its name was built at the end of the XIX century at the request of the residents of New Village and at the initiative of the famous Moscow merchant and benefactor Vasily Bakhrushin.
The Church of St. Basil the Confessor at the Rogozhskaya Gate has become one of the largest churches in Moscow, accommodating about 3,000 people. It presented a majestic four-pillar building with an octahedral dome-drum, next to the main building of the temple was attached a high three-tiered bell tower, on which, among others, was placed a bell weighing 11 tons.
After the revolution, the church suffered the fate of most Russian churches: in 1922, the church was confiscated of church property, and in 1935 it was closed. After the war in 1945-1947 it was handed over to public institutions. As a result, the architecture of this beautiful building was completely destroyed: the bell tower was destroyed, the dome of the temple and the cupola with crosses were demolished. In their place an add-on with internal ceilings for three floors was created, the building of the temple was occupied by the archive of the Institute of CPSU History. In 1967, all the walls of the building were plastered, which led to the complete destruction of the wall painting and the entire exterior decor.
In 1991, by a decree of Moscow, the church was officially handed over to believers, but the organizations that occupied it left it only in 1998.
Address: Mezhdunarodnaya st., 10, b. 2
Temple of the Great Martyr George the Victorious in Yendova in Moscow
The deed of the temple begins in 1653. It was built, most likely, with the use of stone remnants of the previous church, built under Ivan the Terrible and destroyed in the Smuta. Next to the local temple, the tsar ordered to build a tavern for personal guards - the guardsmen. By the way, “Yendova” is the name of a copper vessel for beer, honey and mash. However, this word also means hollows from the dried riverbed. With what exactly the church name is connected not precisely known.
The inhabitants of the settlement built a beautiful five-domed church with a hipped bell tower and a low refectory, located symmetrically with respect to the longitudinal wall of the temple. At its core, the church had a tetrahedral base, covered with a closed vault, framed by magnificent kokoshniks.
In 1812 the temple suffered significantly from the fire, but in the 30s it was rebuilt. In Soviet times, it operated until 1935, and after closing it was used by various organizations. In 1958-1962 the Church of Great Martyr George the Conqueror in Yendova was restored according to the design of Nedovich. And in 1992, the Solovki Compound began its activities on its territory. In 1993, on January 7, the first service was held in the church since it was closed.
Address: st. Sadovnicheskaya, 6
The Church of Vlasiy in the Old Konyushennaya Sloboda in Moscow
The temple of Vlasiy in the Old Konyushennaya Sloboda is known since 1625 as the church of Vlasiy in Kozie swamp. The place where it stayed has long served to graze goats and other domestic animals. First, the shepherds settled here, later the whole Konyushennaya settlement grew. The dedication of the temple to Vlasiy of Sebastia was due to the fact that this saint was considered the patron saint of animals in Russia. Later, with the growth of Moscow, the stable settlement was forced out of the earthen city, and the area continued to be called Starokonyushennaya settlement (as opposed to the new one, located elsewhere). In 1644, the old wooden church was replaced with a stone four-altar church.
In 1936, the Renaissance schismatics settled in the temple of the martyr Vlasiy, but their stay here was not too long. Already in 1939, the temple was closed completely, beheaded and placed inside the workshops of the nearest school. Already by 1966 the building was in disrepair.
In the early 1980s, part of the temple complex was given to Rosconcert, which housed the “Bayan” folk ensemble. Team members familiar with first-hand folk sources became interested in the restoration of an architectural monument and not only took direct part in it, but also attracted public attention to the church. Partly thanks to their efforts, many volunteers appeared who helped in the restoration of the temple, officially transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church in 1992. Only in 1997, the first Divine Liturgy was held in the Vlasiy temple in the Old Konyushennaya Sloboda.
Address: per. Gagarinsky, 20
Church of the Blachernae icon of the Mother of God in Kuzminki in Moscow
The Church of the Blachernae Icon of the Mother of God in Kuzminki was built in 1716 by a special order of the Stroganovs merchants. The purpose of building the temple was to build in it the priceless gift received by the Stroganovs for services to the Fatherland from Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich himself - the Blachernae icon of the Mother of God.
The icon was presented to Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich in 1654 by the monks from Saint Athos. Its appearance is associated with the name of the evangelist Luke in the 1st century AD. From the 5th c. it was kept in the capital of the Christian world of Constantinople. According to legend, the Blachernae icon protected Constantinople in 626 from the attack of the Avars. In memory of this event on Saturday of the fifth week of Great Lent, Akathist is celebrated in honor of the Most Holy Theotokos. Therefore, the Stroganovs decided to create a separate monastery specifically for the storage of the ancient Blachernae icon there.
In Soviet times, the two-tier bell tower of the end of the 18th century was completely demolished; the church building was transformed in 1929 into a hostel. And only in 1992 the temple was returned to believers.
Address: st. Kuzminskaya, 7, b. 1
Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross on the Chisty Vrazhek in Moscow
The Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross began to be built in 1640 instead of the old dilapidated church, and it was built as much as 18 years. In 1658, the monastery was consecrated, after which it became truly active.
The architecture of the temple is quite interesting and pleasing to the eye. Large apses, semicircular windows, keeled kokoshniks well “get along” with other architectural elements, endowed with straight strict lines. The octagon above the main part of the temple echoes the bell tower, made in the same manner and decorated with an elegant double-decker drum with a spire. The interesting geometric shape of the building and the bright faces of the saints on its walls easily compensate for the lack of rich decor.
The temple was one of the richest in the capital. Donations were made mainly by the merchants — both for construction work and interior decoration. In 1918, the authorities devastated the monastery, seizing about 400 pounds of silver. But the church continued to operate until 1930, after which it was closed, and the prior of Nikolai Saryevsky was exiled.
The dome and the bell tower were broken, the almshouse and the clergy's house were demolished, and a hostel was set up in the temple. The wall painting was painted over and shot down when it appeared through whitewashing.
For a long time, the Church of the Exaltation of the Cross did not work, but was eventually restored, and in April 1992 the first prayer was served there.
Address: Truzhenikov 1st lane st., 8
Churches of the Exaltation of the Cross of the Lord, baptismal Faith, Hope, Love and their mother Sophia in Altufyevo in Moscow
In 1687, Nikita Akinfov, then owner of Altufyevo, built the Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross. Since then, the village has been called Krestnoye, less often - Vozdvizhenskoye. And after the fire that occurred in the first half of the XVIII century, the church began to be called Sofiyskaya.
In 1759, Lieutenant Ivan Velyaminov became the owner of the village. He erected a new church in honor of the Exaltation of Christ the Lord in the place of the old, already dilapidated church. The monastery was built in the style of the late Russian Baroque and was completed by 1763.
In 1960, Altufyevo became part of Moscow. But, despite the construction that began, the manor, the garden, the pond and the temple itself have survived to the present day (although not in their original form) and are protected by the state.
The Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross was closed briefly before the war. It did not differ in spaciousness, therefore, when the parish expanded over time, an extension was added to the temple. But it did not solve the problem in full.
In 1989, a 2-storey wharf house was built with a baptismal temple in the name of Faith, Hope, Love, and their mother Sophia (was consecrated in 1998). The exterior of the temple was stylized baroque.
Address: Altufyevskoe highway, 147
Church of the Resurrection of the Word of God in the Danilovskaya settlement in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of the Word of God in the Danilovskaya settlement is located next to the Danilov Monastery, one of the oldest monasteries in Moscow, founded by Prince Daniel of Moscow in the 13th century. And it stands on the very spot where the monastery once began, which in 1330 was transferred by Ivan Kalita to the Kremlin.
In 1832-1837 Ivan Nazarovich Rybnikov, one of the oldest cloth manufacturers, an honorary Moscow citizen, donated a large amount of money for the construction of a new stone church in Danilovskaya Sloboda, thanks to which a new temple of the Resurrection of Slowing was built in the “late Empire” style.
In 1933, the Church of the Resurrection of the Word in the Danilovskaya settlement was closed, and the production workshop was located in the building of the church. In 1986, when the Danilov Monastery was already partially restored, an umbrella factory was still located in the building of the Resurrection Church. The following year, the plant vacated the premises of the temple, and they were officially returned to the Orthodox Church in 1988.
Address: per. Starodanilovsky sredny, 3
Temple of the Resurrection of the Word of God in Krutitsy in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of the Word in Krutitsy is part of a magnificent architectural complex located on the once steep bank of the Moskva River, from which the name Krutitsy originated. The Moscow residence of the bishops of Saraisky (the capital of the Golden Horde Sarai was the main center of the diocese) and Podonsky was founded in the XIII century. The bishops who guided the Orthodox in the Horde stayed here.
In 1498 a wooden house church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built here. In the Smuta, this church mattered to the cathedral, since the Assumption Cathedral of the Kremlin was occupied then by the Polish invaders. It was in the Krutitsky Assumption Church that the Minin and Pozharsky militiamen swore to expel the invaders from the capital city.
In 1665, near to the Assumption Church, a new cathedral was laid, which was consecrated in honor of the Assumption of the Mother of God in 1689, in connection with which the old Assumption Church was re-consecrated in honor of the Resurrection of the Word.
In the 1930s, the Resurrection Church was adapted as a residential building, the ancient tomb was desecrated, and some of the ancient tombstones were broken. True, in 1947 the complex of the Krutitsy monastery, including the Resurrection Church, was again decided to be restored, but the building still remained at the disposal of secular institutions who rented its premises.
In the 1960s - 1980s, some restoration of the church was carried out in Krutitsy under the direction of the famous architect P. Baranovsky. In 1991, the Krutitsky farmstead was returned to the Church, which gave it patriarchal status, and a year later the Church of the Resurrection began to live a new life, services began here.
Address: st. Krutitskaya, 13
The Church of the Resurrection of the Word on the Arbat in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of the Word on the Arbat in ancient times was called quite differently - the Filipp Church. Its story is closely connected with the name of Metropolitan Philip (Kolychev), the very one who dared to confront Ivan the Terrible and paid with his life for this.
The first documentary mention of the temple in the name of St. Philip in Iconnaya Settlement dates back to 1631, although perhaps it was built in the 16th century. Some researchers would like to believe that the Metropolitan himself, who had a country house nearby, was at the origins of the construction of the Filippovsky temple, while others suggest that the church was built in honor of the Metropolitan after his death and was consecrated in the name of his saint patron.
The church was wooden until the 80s of the 17th century, when, thanks to the efforts of Ivan Kosmin, the capital boyar of the Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, it was rebuilt in stone in the style of Naryshkin’s baroque.
The damage to the temple in 1812 was so great that the Holy Synod did not even want to restore it, as evidenced by a decree dated July 26, 1818, which proposed to abolish the temple. However, Emperor Alexander I handed it over to the Jerusalem Patriarchate, who petitioned for the structure of his residence in Moscow.
By 1918, the Jerusalem Patriarchate in Moscow was abolished by the Soviet authorities, but the temple was not closed. Believers still came here. And finally, in 1989, the church was again transferred to the representation of the Jerusalem Patriarchate.
Address: per. Filippovsky, 20
Church of the Resurrection of the Word at the Vagankovo Cemetery in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of the Word at the Vagankovo cemetery was built on the site of an older church of St. John the Merciful. Rather, the temple was dismantled already in the process of construction (since it was wooden and dilapidated) and installed a rotunda in its place.
Construction took place in 1819-1824 under the leadership of Athanasius Grigoriev, a leading architect of the Moscow Empire. It was in this style that the church was erected. It is a quadrangle, above which a domed light rotunda stands; it is crowned with its small cylinder, decorated with column-type belt.
Although the Church of the Resurrection of the Word at the Vagankovo cemetery was never closed, the October Revolution still touched it: the authorities seized 18 pounds of church decorations and utensils from precious metals in 1922.
In the period from 1925 to 1944 the cloister was in the hands of the renovationists.
Address: st. S. Makeeva, 15
Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Sokolniki in Moscow
The Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Sokolniki is one of the most majestic and, at the same time, exquisitely delicate temples. It was built during the whole 5 years (1908 - 1913) in the “modern” style, very fashionable in the art of that time, and it was never closed - neither during the revolution, nor during the years of the Great Patriotic War.
This is a magnificent example of eclecticism, since (despite the fact that art critics attribute the “Russian modern” to the temple), modern and intertwined elements of 17th century architecture and even Gothic elements are intertwined here.
The building turned out to be incredibly beautiful, tall (34 meters) and roomy (960 square meters). Its device corresponds to the basic principles of Russian architecture - the four-column; cross-domed temple at the base is completed with a high tent-shaped octagon. Due to the high slit-like windows and zakomar with keeled completion, the monastery as if the whole is striving upwards. 9 domes crowne it in honor of the 9 angelic hosts. The elegant cylinders of the domes are decorated with Abramtsevo tiles (it was always valued for excellent quality and was notable for the amazing beauty of the glaze) in blue. In the western porch a belfry is arranged.
Address: Sokolnicheskaya Square, 6
The Church of All Saints in Novokosino in Moscow
The Church of All Saints in Novokosino is part of the program to build two hundred new Orthodox churches in Moscow. A decree of the Government of Moscow regarding it was made back in July 2001 at the numerous requests of residents of the area, whose population is about 100 thousand inhabitants.
The Church of All Saints, in the land of Russia that shone, became the first temple in the capital city with a similar dedication. It personifies the gratitude of the Russians to their ancestors, who by their exploits enlightened Russia, who made it truly great. Memory and reverence are the small things that we can do not for them, but for ourselves and our descendants.
In 2012, the main construction and installation work was completed and finishing began, for which the priesthood and the congregation again collect donations. The temple turned out very beautiful and even quite unconventional for our days. Standing on the shore of a small lake, asymmetrical in planning, hipped, in the neo-Russian style, with a side chapel and a belfry, it really adorns the local landscape.
Address: st. Suzdalskaya, 8B
The Church of All Saints on Kulishki in Moscow
The Church of All Saints on Kulishki is known since the reign of Dmitry Donskoy in the 14th century. According to researchers, the construction of the first wooden church of All Saints is associated with the Don Battle of 1380, to the victims of which it was dedicated. The area chosen for construction was called Kulishki, which meant “the end of the earth”, “very far”. In 1488, the temple was first rebuilt from stone. The final form of the Church of All Saints on Kulishki acquired in 1687 - 1689 - it was rebuilt in the style of Moscow Baroque.
In 1930, the temple was closed. It was supposed to be demolished, but at the last moment the decision to demolish was changed, and the building of the temple was transferred to the use of state security agencies. The specifics of the work of the organs became known in the 1990s, when the remains of the executed people were found in the basement of the temple.
In the 70's and 80's the 20th century church, which is of historical and architectural value, was transferred to the Museum of the History of Moscow, at the same time it was restored for the first time in 100 years.
In 1991, the church was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. Currently, a Sunday school is working in the active church of All Saints on Kulishki and there is a representative office of the Alexandrian Orthodox Church, transferred here from Odessa.
Address: Slavyanskaya Square, 2
Church of St. George in the Gruziny in Moscow
The Church of St. George the Victorious is famous not only for antiquity, but also for the fact that it is the only Orthodox church in Moscow where worship is conducted not only in Slavic, but also in Georgian. Georgians settled in the capital of Russia at the beginning of the XVIII century. The Georgians occupied the village of Voskresenskoye assigned to them and settled there for a long time. In this village, a wooden church was once arranged according to the decree of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, in memory of John the Theologian, but by the middle of the 18th century it burned out.
The location was convenient - not far from the Georgian palace. Therefore, the king's son George Vakhtangovich sought permission to resume the church at the same place, but in honor of St. George the Victorious, long revered as the patron saint of Georgia, and even the personal patron saint of the prince. Having received permission in 1749, George began construction at his own expense. Already in 1750, Archbishop Joseph Samebeli consecrated the church. Since then, the entire Georgian diaspora, professing Orthodoxy, began to attend divine services in Georgian in the church of St. George.
In 1929-1930 Church of St. George was closed, refitting it under the Electromechanical College named after Krasin, who has not vacated the premises so far, despite the fact that the original church building was returned to the Orthodox in 1993 and restored with the help of the “Dzalis” society of Russian-Georgian friendship.
Temple of St. George belongs to the Russian Orthodox Church, has the status of a patriarchal monastery. Here, in agreement with the Georgian Orthodox Church, services are conducted in two languages - Church Slavonic and Georgian, which attracts not only local residents, but also representatives of the Georgian diaspora in Moscow.
Address: st. B. Gruzinskaya, 13
Temple of St. George in Koptevo in Moscow
The Church of St. George in Koptevo is one of the most beautiful temples of Moscow, completely made of wood. Its story began not so long ago - in 1997. The place for the construction of the holy cloister was chosen more than successfully - without damage to the ecology of the area: not a single tree was cut down.
The church was built for the 850th anniversary of Moscow and was named after St. George the Victorious not by chance - it is the patron saint of the capital. The architectural design of the temple belongs to V.V. Ivanov, who has experience with the architecture of the Russian North.
For the modern capital, the building is somewhat unusual, because it is a reproduction of the wooden northern temples of the XVII century and is considered one of the most successful of their samples. Even from the most inexperienced eyes the harmony of the composition, the elegance of proportions and the harmonious grouping of architectural elements will not cover. The Church of St. George has six chapters, including the central one on the tent, and a bell tower is located above its porch.
Address: st. B.Akademicheskaya, 33
The Church of St. George on Poklonnaya Hill was not just a part, but one of the attractions of the memorial complex in honor of the Victory of the Soviet people in the Great Patriotic War. The stone in the foundation of the temple on May 9, 1994 was laid by Patriarch of All Russia Alexy II.
The date of opening of the complex was to be May 9, 1995 - day of the 50th anniversary of the Victory, so the construction was carried out in record time (in order to be in time, the dome was mounted directly on the ground at the same time as other construction works, and then it was erected on the finished temple core), and on May 6, 1995 - on Memorial Day of St. George - Patriarch Alexy II consecrated a new temple, the decoration of which still lasted for some time.
St. George the Victorious was always particularly honored in Russia as the patron saint of warriors, many of the generals of Russia turned to him with a prayer for help. The image of the saint, St. George the Victorious, kills a snake - is often depicted on the emblems and standards of the Russian princes, there is also on the emblem of the city of Moscow.
Address: Victory square, 3B
Temple of St. George on the Pskovskaya Hill in Moscow
The Church of St. George on the Pskovskaya Hill is located in the historical center of Moscow - in China Town. Until 1657, the church was called the Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos. The exact date of construction of the Church of the Intercession is unknown, presumably it is the middle of the 13th century, but by 1462 the first documentary reference dates back to 1462. In 1657, the original church building was demolished to the foundation, and in its place a new stone church grew.
According to the architectural composition, this is a typical posad temple, quadrangular in shape, topped with five domes. From the original building, a high basement was preserved, divided into several large rooms - for storing property and sheltering peasants in case of unexpected disasters. Interestingly, the brick finishing work was done by hand, for which the workers used all the design types that were then known, combining them together. The interior walls were made in the 17th and 18th centuries, therefore baroque motifs and compositions dominate in it.
After closing and desolation in Soviet times, the temple was again renewed and opened in 1991. Now the question is being considered that the entire area on the Pskovskaya Hill, including the Church of St. George the Victorious, be included in the UNESCO world heritage as historical and cultural value.
Address: Varvarka st., 12
Church of Dmitry Donskoy in Sadovniki in Moscow
The temple of Dmitry Donskoy in Sadovniki was built in the third millennium, but the place on which it stands is inspired by the glory of previous centuries.
Once there lay a road on which the Moscow Prince Dmitry Donskoy was returning with his army from Kulikovo Field. One of the hills on the outskirts of the modern Nogatino-Sadovniki region is famous for the fact that it was here that the Russian army stopped for a halt, resting, waiting for the stragglers and giving land to the heroes who died on the way from their wounds. And this is not just a legend; archaeological excavations in the area confirmed the presence of burials of the XIV century. And the legend reminds of the church in honor of St. George the Victorious (depicted on the emblem of Moscow), erected here by Donskoy himself in memory of the battle.
In 1993, an Orthodox community was registered, which wished to erect a church in honor of the holy Prince Dimitri at a memorial site. On January 1, 2005, the first Divine Liturgy was celebrated in the new altar of the now fully-fledged church in honor of the holy blessed prince Dimitri Donskoy.
Address: st. Academician Millionshchikov, 37
Temple of Dmitry Prilutsky at clinics on the Devichie Field in Moscow
In 1890, at the Imperial Moscow University (now MSU), medical clinics were opened on the Devichie Field. The main part of the funds for their construction was allocated to Alexander III; the rest was helped by the Moscow merchants. Here, at the clinics, they built a chapel for the burial service of the departed. It was a small building in the Byzantine style, the architect of which was K. Bykovsky.
After 1917, the temple of Dmitry Prilutsky was closed. At various times it housed a printing house, an anesthesiology laboratory, and an oxygen station.
The cloister was restored in 1991 thanks to the initiative of doctors working in the clinics of the Moscow Medical Academy and the material assistance of the First MGMU. On February 11, the divine services in the monastery resumed.
The temple of Dmitry Prilutsky is a very elegant structure. The combination of rounded and straight, clear lines along with unobtrusive decor makes the composition harmonious. Church records and walls of the temple are decorated with illustrations from the Bible and images of saints, made in the technique of mosaics. The main volume of the temple is crowned with a low octagon, decorated with narrow columns and ending with a squat dome. The cloister has no gilding; therefore it is inconspicuous from a distance.
Address: st. B. Pirogovskaya, 6
The Temple of the Holy Spirit at the Danilovsky cemetery in Moscow
In the second half of 18 century the plague was rampant in Russia. These were extremely difficult times, when even the authorities left the capital in impotence. By order of the favorite of Catherine II, new cemeteries outside of Moscow, in particular in the territory of the Danilov Monastery, were opened. Thus the Danilovsky cemetery arose, which is now the largest in Moscow by the number of Orthodox clergy buried here.
In 1772 a small church was built here in honor of the martyrs of Kherson. The wooden building quickly decayed, and thanks to patrons of the arts a new, stone church was erected. In 1832, the thrones of the temple were consecrated: the main one - in honor of the Descent of the Holy Spirit, and the other two - in honor of the martyrs of Chersonesus (as it was before) and in honor of the Assumption of the righteous Anna.
The Church of the Holy Spirit at the Danilovsky cemetery has a strict, monumental architecture. It is massive and squat, but, despite its rather simple forms and simple lines, it looks majestic. The rich interior is decorated with wall paintings with images of biblical scenes, which are harmoniously combined with decorative painting. The iconostasis is made in a rare color combination of gold and green.
In the 1920s, a huge amount of gold and silver was removed from the church, but still the Temple of the Holy Spirit at the Danilovsky cemetery was one of those that managed to avoid ruin in Soviet times. Its decor remained unharmed, carved icon cases with gilding, ancient icons were also preserved. In the early 1930s, the renovationists seized the church, and in 1944 it was returned to the Moscow Patriarchate.
Address: 4th Roschinsky Ave., 30, b. 5
Temple of the Conception of Anna, that on Ugol in Moscow
The wooden “Church of the Conception of the Righteous Anna at the East End” was built in the southern part of Kitay-gorod (in Zaryadye) on the bank of the river called “Sharp End”. The first written mention of this church refers to the description of the Moscow fire and dates from 1493.
After the construction of the walls of Kitay-gorod in 1535 - 1537, the church acquired its second, more common name - “that on Ugol”. The stone church was probably built in the first quarter of the 16th century, and after the fire of 1547, the damaged building was restored again. During the reign of Ivan the Terrible and at his command the temple was made a valuable gift in the form of the image of the Mother of God miraculously surviving the fire (“Odigitria”).
This temple is of cubic form with a baptized and closed brick vault and one head. The vaulted, somewhat indented basement of the temple and walls divided into three parts to the toe are made of white stone, the top of the church is built of small brick. An arch of three blades, separated from the wall by a brick belt of a frieze-runner, completes the facades. In the center of each wall there is a portal.
In the 1920s the temple was closed, but left under state protection as a historical monument. Subsequently, various institutions were located in the building of the temple, as a result of which the interior of the church was irretrievably lost. The church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church in 1994, in the same year it was consecrated.
Address: Moskvoretskaya emb., 3
Temple of Zosima and Savvatiy of Solovki in Golyanovo in Moscow
The first church in honor of Zosima and Savvatiy of Solovki was built under Alexey Mikhailovich Romanov in the 60s of XVII century, as Golyanovo was at that time his patrimony. On the 1662nd year, the parish of the church was quite impressive (58 courtyards) and consisted not only of locals, but also residents of neighboring villages.
Under Trubetskoy, a new brick church of Zosima and Savvatiy of Solovki was built in Golyanovo, which was consecrated in 1842. It was a beautiful structure in the Empire style, consisting of a cold part and a winter chapel.
In Soviet times, a pig farm operated in Golyanovo. Transformations touched the temple. It was closed and given under the manufactory factory; the bell tower was also used as a factory pipe. For a time, the chemical laboratory was also located in the temple.
In the spring of 1990, the temple was opened again.
Address: st. Baikalskaya, 37A
Temple of the Iverskaya Icon of the Mother of God affiliated with Iverskaya Community of Sisters of mercy in Moscow
The community of sisters of mercy arose in 1894 under the auspices of the Red Cross. Its trustees were Elizaveta Fedorovna (Princess of Hesse-Darmstadt) with the Grand Duke Sergei Alexandrovich. Since the immediate responsibility of the sisters (they were widows and unmarried girls from 20 to 40 years old) was to care for the sick, an outpatient clinic was built in the community building. And in 1901, they built a temple of the Iverskaya Icon of the Mother of God.
The Church of the Iverskaya Icon of the Mother of God was built in the style of Old Russian, or rather, Vladimir-Suzdal architecture. The exterior has much in common with the Dmitrovsky Cathedral on Klyazma.
The temple of the Iverskaya Icon of the Mother of God was closed in 1925. The building was given as a warehouse. In 1990, repairs were carried out, and in 1993, services were resumed.
Address: st. B. Polyanka, 20
Temple of the Jerusalem Icon of the Mother of God behind the Pokrovskaya Gate in Moscow
In November 1912, a temple of the Jerusalem Icon of the Mother of God was erected near the Pokrovskaya Gate outside the village of Dubrovki. The parishioners - slaughterhouse workers and peasants Dubrovka donated for the construction, and the monastery was built by architect Sergey Voskresensky.
The temple of the Jerusalem Icon of the Mother of God behind the Pokrovskaya Gate was built in the Russian style. The building accommodated up to 2,000 people and was a rectangular massive quadrangle with three large semicircular apses adjacent to the east side. Above the main volume there was the octagon, surmounted by an elegant high tent; in the side apses chapels were built.
The life of the temple was not long - in 1935, S. Guberman signed a decision to close the monastery. The building was supposed to be put under the workshops of hosiery and knitting factory, and therefore its redevelopment and restructuring began. In the 50s, the “Electron” plant located in the temple specialized in defense production, and more recently, the Ugorsky joint-stock bank.
In 1996, the Patriarchal Compound was established at the Jerusalem Temple, and from 2006 it became the representation of the Holy Cross Jerusalem Convent.
Address: st. Talakhina, 24
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “Joy of All Who Sorrow” at the Kalitnikovsky cemetery in Moscow
In 1771-1773 in Moscow, a fierce plague raged. 117 churches in the city were closed because there was no one to serve, the priests died. The plague spread with great speed and did not spare either the rich or the poor. By order of Catherine II, people were buried outside the city, and churches were built in cemeteries.
Thus Kalitnikovsky Pogost arose. And in January 1772 (according to some data - in 1773) the first wooden church was built on it in honor of the icon of the Mother of God of All Who Sorrow joy. It stood for several years until it died in the fire. After that, in its place, a new wooden church was rebuilt, which was later rebuilt and re-consecrated in the name of the “Bogolyubskaya” icon of the Mother of God. The monastery was operating till 1875, and then burned down. Now in its place there is a chapel.
In 1834, with the aspirations of parishioners and benefactors, the construction of a stone church began, which still exists, albeit in a somewhat modified form.
The temple at the Kalitnikovsky cemetery was never closed, but in the 1920s it fell into the hands of the renovationists and remained in their power until 1944, after which it was transferred to the Moscow diocese.
Address: Kalitnikovsky pr., 11
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God "Joy of All Who Sorrow" at Meshchanskaya in Moscow
The old church chronicle says that in 1648 after the birth of Christ, the sister of Patriarch Joachim, Yefimya Akinfiyeva, suffered from a huge non-healing ulcer in her side. The healers were powerless, and when the unfortunate was already desperate to heal, she suddenly heard a voice that asked why she would not turn to "the common healer of all." The voice told about the saving icon, indicating in which temple and where exactly it is located. After the prayer was served before the icon, the sick person was healed. It was the first miracle from the Joy of All Who Sorrow icon.
The temple on the Meshchanskaya was erected in 1896-1899 at the Catherine's Hospital, built for lepers on the orders of Catherine II.
The five-domed church of the icon of the Mother of God is erected in the so-called Russian-Byzantine style. This is a two-tier structure with a three-part altar ledge and a hipped bell tower above the western entrance. In the upper church, walls were painted and a four-tier iconostasis was erected, the main altar was consecrated in November 1899 in honor of the Joy of All Who Sorrow icon.
After the revolution, the Church of the Sorrow was closed and subsequently was partially destroyed - the monastery lost its five-domed headboard and tent. In 1924, the building was handed over to a hospital, and a forensic examination bureau was housed in it. In 1996, the church was handed over to the parish, and from that moment repair and restoration work began. Services were resumed in March 1997. In 2006 the bell tower was restored.
Address: st. Schepkina 61/2
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Khovrino in Moscow
The temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Khovrino was built by the boyar V. B. Sheremetyev. After his death, the patrimony went to the state treasury. And in 1700, Peter I presented Khovrino with Count Golovin, who later passed into the possession of his widow. She built a stone church in the old churchyard.
The interior of the temple was distinguished by its magnificence. A very bright impression (thanks to tones and an elegant pattern) was produced by a mosaic floor and walls lined with multicolored marble, as well as a beautiful marble iconostasis.
The temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Khovrino is an incredible, fascinating synthesis of Moscow Baroque and Italian Renaissance with elements of Byzantine ornament. The tall, massive quadrangle is completed by the octagon, around which there are four belfries. The white-stone frieze of the facades contrasts beautifully with the general background, and the gilded temple of the temple in the sun, as if burning with fire.
In 1939, the temple closed. It housed a hospital, production facilities, and a Rybstroymontazh garage.
In 1991, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Khovrino was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. A few years later it resumed the work.
Address: st. Festivalnaya, 77A
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Life-giving Spring" in Moscow
The temple of the icon of the Mother of God “The Life-Giving Spring” in Tsaritsyno was built in 1722 by order of the ruler of Moldavia, Prince Dmitry Kantemir, who was granted the estate by Peter I for special services to the fatherland. The church was built in the style of Petrovsky baroque, but in the years 1759-1765 it was rebuilt by the son of Prince Matvey Cantemir in a slightly different form of Elizabethan baroque.
Until the end of the 1930s the church worked as a parish, but in 1939 it was closed, the official reason for closing was the non-payment of debts. After that, the church building was used first as a transformer booth, and then it was transferred to the printing houses. And from 1975 to 1990 a carpentry workshop with heavy woodworking machines operated there. As a result of the use of machines, the murals of the temple were severely damaged, and cracks in the domes and walls appeared.
In 1990, a decision to return the church to the Russian Orthodox Church was made, and in early 1991, services were resumed in it. Restoration work in the church was fully completed only in 1998.
Address: st. Dolskaya, 2
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Kuntsevo in Moscow
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Kuntsevo is one of the most unusual churches of Moscow. Kuntsevo was acquired by Uncle Peter I Lev Kirillovich Naryshkin in 1690, who owned the neighboring Fili. His son Alexander, who received Kuntsevo as an inheritance, built here in 1744 a manor house and a baroque house church, consecrated in honor of the icon of the Mother of God “The Sign,” according to which the village was called Znamensky.
In 1908-1913, in the Byzantine style on the model of the temples of Ravenna (a city in Italy) of the 6th century, the temple of the icon of the Mother of God of the Sign was erected on the old foundation of the Naryshkinskaya church.
This is in its own way a magnificent structure, little resembling the other Orthodox churches of the capital. Squat, cuboid, with a dome on a large light cylinder, with double arched windows, covered with bas-reliefs in the form of peacock-like birds (symbols of soul and heaven), decorated with mosaics, covered with glazed tiles and plastered "under brick" - this temple was very different from others. A detached bell tower in the form of a pillar reinforced the individuality of the temple.
In 1932, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in Kuntsevo was closed and looted. The heads of the chapels were cut down, the bell tower was demolished, the iconostasis made of marble was destroyed, and the crypt was destroyed.
In 1991, the Znamensky Church was returned to believers. In 1991-2000 there was a systematic restoration of the Church of the Sign in Kuntsevo.
Address: st. B. Filevskaya, 65
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “the Sign” in Perovo in Moscow
The Church of the Icon of the Sign in Perovo is one of the brightest examples of the “Golitsyn baroque”, which was widespread in Moscow in Peter the Great times.
In 1680, the owner of the village of Perovo, Prince Peter Golitsyn, requested permission to build a stone church in his estate. The construction work went slowly and for a long time, because the prince served at the court and often traveled, so that the new church was consecrated in honor of the icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” revered in Russia only in 1705.
At the base of the building is an eight-oval volume (in contrast to the cross, more characteristic of Russian churches), resembling a park rotunda. It has a large octagon with a head on a cylinder, which has a rather complex shape. The entrances to the temple have massive portals in the Western European spirit; high rectangular windows give enough light. Virtually the entire decoration of the building is white-stone relief carving, reflecting the mixture of some elements of the Eastern Russian style with the features of the Western European.
The temple of the icon of the Sign in Perovo was closed by the Soviet authorities in the 30s of the twentieth century. In 1937, local clerics, Vasily Koklin and Nikolai Skvortsov, were arrested and shot at the Butovo training ground. For a long time the building of the Church of the Sign was used as production premises: soap-making, chemical workshop. The temple was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church only in 2000.
Address: st. Lazo, 7
The Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” beyond the Petrovsky Gate in Moscow
The temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” behind the Peter's Gate was built on the site of an old wooden church in 1681 with funds raised by the archers of the regiment of Nikifor Kolobov. It was a military or regimental temple, which immortalized the end of the Crimean campaign led by Prince Golitsyn.
It refers to the type of five-headed, pillarless churches. It is a two-color cube, which is covered by a closed vault. The cube ends with two rows of kokoshniki. Above there are five deaf heads with kokoshniki, which are located at the base of the cylinder. On all church heads there are forged crosses.
This temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” is amazing because all entrances to the refectory, as well as to the building itself, are decorated with white-stone portals with paired columns. There is a bell tower, which is located above the entrance to the refectory. It is a two-tier quadrangle. Above there is an octahedral tent.
In 1932, the church was closed and even adapted first for the archive of the Moscow Police Department, and then for a physical laboratory. An extension was made especially for the laboratory from the south-east. In the fifties, the building was led by the Institute of Chemical Physics of the USSR Academy of Sciences.
In the sixties, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” beyond the Petrovsky Gates fell into complete decay, forcing its owners to make repairs. As a result, the temple was completely rebuilt. In 1994, the church building, changed to unrecognizability, was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: 1st Kolobovsky per, 1, b. 2
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” at the Sheremetev court in Moscow
The first information about the temple is dated 1613. Until 1722, the temple was the home one and after it became a parish. In 1725, Ivan Nikitich Romanov (the uncle of Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich) erected in its place a new church - in honor of the icon of the Virgin "The Sign", which was considered the patroness of the Romanov dynasty.
According to art critics, the Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Sign” in the Sheremetev court marked the beginning of the development of a magnificent architectural style - Naryshkin (Moscow) baroque. Kirill Naryshkin (Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich’s father-in-law) contributed to this — it was he who in 1671 became the new owner of the land and built a new temple here.
The Znamenskaya Church has a special architectural feature characteristic of ancient Russia and not having analogues in the West - it is a temple “under the bells”, where the tier of the ring is located above the main building volume. It ends with a central head on a small, elegant cylinder. All chapters are covered with scales, sheets of tinned iron, and crowned with their gilded openwork crosses.
In 1929 it was closed, the refectory was broken, a beautiful white-stone lower-level decor was cut, an internal redevelopment was made, it was divided into several floors. For many years, the building has housed a hospital kitchen, a canteen, and various administrative offices. In the second half of the last century, the facade of the building was restored several times. 75 years after the closure of the temple, in 2004, the first prayer was held here.
Address: Romanov per. 2, b. 8
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “The Quick to Hearken” on the Khodynka Field in Moscow
In 1897, at the camp military hospital, they built a tiny (it could hold no more than 20 people) wooden church, consecrated in the name of Panteleimon. In 1902, a stone chapel was attached to it in honor of the icon of the Mother of God “The Quick to Hearken”.
In the exterior of the church, elements of Old Russian and Italian architecture are guessed. The decor of the building is very rich: promising portals, kokoshniks, arched belts, composing columns, curbs and a lot of carved elements. The single-span belfry was made in the style typical of Pskov-Novgorod architecture. A special type of cement was also used, which, due to the white color, replaced the usual white-stone details and added “wealth” to the decor.
In the early 20s the church was closed, its wooden part was demolished, and also the cupola and the upper part of the belfry of the stone church were broken. In the surviving building for a long time different warehouses were located. The last thing that was kept in the temple is the semi-precious stones of the Roskvartssamosvety association. As a result, the temple lost not only the “face”, but also the inner grandeur: the walls were plastered, the windows and doors from beautiful arched turned into typical Soviet ones; but the building had a shower and toilet, as well as the 2nd floor.
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God on the Khodynka Field was reopened in 1992. But years passed before the cloister regained its beautiful appearance. It was consecrated only in 2001 by the Most Holy Patriarch Alexy II.
Address: st. Marshal Rybalko, 8
Church of the Icon of the Mother of God “Soothe My Sorrows” in Maryino in Moscow
The temple of the icon “Soothe My Sorrows” in Maryino is the first temple of Moscow, built at the beginning of the third millennium.
Until 1960, the Maryino district was a village with a long history. The name dates back to the 15th century, when Grand Duchess Maria Yaroslavna, the wife of Vasily the Dark, founded a settlement here. Mass housing construction was unfolded in Maryino joining these territories to the capital. Now in the neighborhood almost 200 thousand Muscovites live.
In just a year and a half, a huge (42 m high, with a capacity for a thousand people) temple “Soothe my sorrows” in Maryino, whose 5 domes symbolize Christ and the four evangelists, appeared on an almost empty place. The author of the project is A. Obolensky; the style is Russian classicism of the XIX century.
On February 24, 2001, Patriarch Alexy made a small consecration of the stone church, and 10 years later, on February 27, 2011, a great consecration was made by the new Patriarch - Kirill.
Address: Maryinsky Boulevard, 1
The Church of the Icon of the Mother of God "Soothe my sorrows" at the hospital named after N. Bauman in Moscow
In 1865, Princess Natalia Borisovna Shakhovskaya founded the community of the Sisters of mercy "Soothe My Sorrows." In 1874, when it was built, the hospital was built on Hospital Square, and in its building there was a house church in honor of the icon “Soothe my sorrows”.
The monastery was located in the center of the hospital building, separating the female and male departments. The divine services held in it could be heard in the wards, without getting up from the beds, through large internal windows.
With the advent of Soviet power, the sisters of mercy communities were closed. In fact, they continued to exist, but in a different form. So the former community “Soothe my sorrows” became known as the School of Nursing at the hospital number 29, and even later - the medical college. As for the temple, its dome was broken, and the premises were re-equipped for service. In particular, they housed the mortuary and X-ray room.
Temple of the Icon of the Mother of God was returned to believers only in 2003. Its building has the status of a monument of architecture.
Address: Hospital Square, 2
Temple of Elijah the Prophet in Obydensky Lane in Moscow
There is a temple on Ostozhenka, which has existed for over 300 years - the temple of Elijah the Prophet in Obydensky Lane. The lane itself is named for the temple. Obydensky means created for “about one day”, it was during this time that a wooden vow (according to the vow given to God) temple in the name of Elijah the prophet was built here in the XVI century.
In 1702, with donations from the Derevnins brothers, designed by architect I. Zarudny at the site of a 16th-century wooden church a stone church of Elijah the Prophet was built in the style of Peter the Great in Baroque style according to the standard scheme - octagon on a quadrangle. The temple it has never closed since then, its foundation has reached our days.
Address: per. 2nd Obydensky, 6
Temple of Elijah the prophet in Cherkizovo in Moscow
The history of the Ilyinsky Church is inextricably linked with the history of the village Cherkizovo, in which it was built in the XIV century. At the same time, a church was built in honor of Elijah the Prophet.
Ilyinsky Church was located in a picturesque place on the banks of the river Sosenka. Currently, the main part of the riverbed of Sosenka is enclosed in a pipe. The Cherkizovo pond, on the bank of which the church still towers, is one of the few places that reminds of where the river had previously flowed along the surface.
In 1689–90, a stone church was built on the site of a burnt-down wooden church. It is surrounded by a cemetery, which is the oldest in Moscow. This is one of the rare domestic historical necropolises, which was not ravaged during the Soviet era.
During the Great Patriotic War, believers and the clergy of the temple collected 1 million rubles for the construction of aircraft and sent them to I.V. Stalin. He sent a telegram of thanks in response. And the temple survived all the difficult years of Soviet epoch. In the middle of the 20th century, icons from neighboring churches to be destroyed were brought to the temple.
Address: st. B. Cherkizovskaya 17
Temple of Elijah the prophet on the Vorontsovo field in Moscow
According to the legend, the Church of Elijah the Prophet on the Vorontsovo field was erected on the occasion of the victory over the Tatars who attacked Moscow. The battle took place on the day of St. Elijah (July 20, old style) near the village of Vorontsovo. The year of this event is not known, but from the chronicles it can be concluded that in 1476 the Church of Elijah the Prophet already existed in this village.
The building was wooden and was located in a pine forest, above the river Yauza. Later, a cemetery appeared in the village of Vorontsovo.
In 1504, Vorontsovo, together with the palace and the temple, passed into the possession of Vasily III. With him, the village flourished and for a long time became his favorite residence. In 1514-1515 next to the church of Elijah the Prophet, the prince built a stone temple in memory of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos.
In 1929, the Church of Elijah the Prophet at Vorontsovo Field was closed, and later transferred to the Museum of Oriental Cultures. The parishioners arranged a house church in one of the houses that are located next to the temple. Since 2000, regular worship services have been held here.
Address: st. Vorontsovo Field, 16, b. 7
Temple of Elijah that in China-town in Moscow
Ilyinsky temple in this place was built in the early 16th century and is one of the oldest temples of China Town. About his consecration in 1519 - 1520 Vladimir chronicle testifies. In the first half of the 18th century, a bell tower was attached to the temple, and the temple itself was reconstructed in the Baroque style.
The temple of Elijah the Prophet was very famous at all times because of its location in the very center of Moscow. In 1606, it became famous for the fact that its bells gave the signal for the beginning of the uprising against False Dmitry I. The Elijah temple is often mentioned in various chronicles as one of the landmarks, since several foreign embassies were located around it. There is evidence that Ivan the Terrible himself attended services in this temple.
In Soviet times (since 1922) various state institutions were housed in the church, and restoration work began to be carried out only in 1995, when the threat of complete destruction of the building appeared.
When Patriarch Alexy II ruled that the Church of the Prophet Elijah in China Town was the central temple of the Russian Airborne Forces, its clergymen actively undertook not only landscaping and restoration, but also missionary work. Since 2005, with the permission of the President, every year on August 2, on the Day of Elijah the Prophet, coinciding with the Day of the Airborne Forces, a procession takes place. Since then, thousands of military and civilians have been involved in this action.
Address: st. Ilyinka, 3/8
Temple of Joachim and Anna in Babushkino in Moscow
The temple of Joachim and Anna in Babushkino was built at the beginning of the twenty-first century at the church of Adrian and Natalia. This small baptismal temple was erected in honor of the righteous saints, to whom the afflicted pray for the gift of a child, as well as other need.
The architecture of the building cannot be called remarkable: a squat red-brick structure with small semi-circular (at the bottom of the building) windows; a low six-sided tent with a deaf drum topped with a head; an elegant cross planted on a small apple completes the design.
Address: Yaroslavskoye highway, 61
Church of John the Baptist in the Kazennaya Sloboda in Moscow
At the end of Pokrovka Street there is a slender bell tower, squeezed on the sides of nondescript two-story houses. Its modest architecture, unfortunately, does not give any idea about the greatness and beauty of the temple to which it once belonged. And yet, this magnificent example of an intermediate period between the lush baroque and rationalistic classicism is an architectural monument of federal significance.
The Church of St. John the Baptist in Kazennaya Sloboda was a huge rotunda building. Due to the large pilaster protrusions, it had a cruciform shape, and the semicircular apses added even more monumentality. There were no similar structures in Moscow.
In 1936, the temple was demolished. The same fate was prepared for the bell tower, but the beginning of the war changed plans. Now its arch is laid, and the bell tower itself is transferred to the temple of the Holy Apostle Iakov Zavedeev. The repair was made on the donations of parishioners.
Address: st. Pokrovka, 50/2, b. 8
Church of St. John the Baptist at the Khovansky cemetery in Moscow
The foundation was laid in the summer of 1994. Remarkably, among the other stones at the base of the building is a stone from the font where Prince Vladimir was baptized. This information is not confirmed, but there is a legend.
Construction was completed in 2003, internal work continued for several years more. The project of the monastery was prepared by the “Architectural workshop of O. Klimov”, and the artist and icon painter A. V. Pushenko was engaged in its interior decoration.
The Church of St. John the Baptist in Khovansky cemetery has an interesting architectural composition. It is a large multi-brick building made of bricks with wooden floors. It is based on a quadrangle, on which a three-tiered octagon stands. The upper tier is slightly higher than the rest, with a hipped roof. Each tent is crowned with a bulbous head. Three semicircular apses adjoin the rear facade: the large one is centered, and the two smaller ones are to the left and right of it. The decor of the facade used techniques of architecture of the Ivan the Terrible.
Address: Podmoskovnaya st., 1 b. 3
Church of John the Russian in Kuntsevo in Moscow
The temple of John the Russian in Kuntsevo is the first in Moscow, erected in honor of this holy saint.
John spent most of his life in Turkish slavery. He prayed earnestly, kept the fast and regularly received communion. He accepted the fate of a slave and did not try to change it, even when there was an opportunity. His master, Aga, soon became rich and saw the merit of his slave - after all, the real righteous man lived in his yard.
Once, Aga made pilgrimages, and during his absence, relatives and family friends gathered at the dinner table. Then Aga's wife noticed casually that it would be wonderful if her husband also tasted this pilaf with them now. To which the attendant John answered that he would deliver the dish to Mecca to his master.
Being in Mecca and going into his locked room, Aga saw smoking pilaf on the table in his homemade dishes - his own name was engraved on the plate. After this story, John was called holy.
And now His Holiness Patriarch Alexy blessed the construction (2003-2004) of a small wooden church-chapel of John the Russian in Kuntsevo. The building was erected according to the architectural type "Ship" (the main parts of the church are located in one line), which was typical of the Old Russian church architecture - this form symbolizes a refuge in the raging world of life.
The first stone was laid in the summer of 2013. To date, the monastery completed. This is a very beautiful snow-white building, in style reminiscent of ancient Russian temples, built on the model of Byzantine and Greek. The peculiarity of the new stone church is that it has as many as 3 bell towers, and each has its own, individual set of bells. In the future, there are plans to hold bell ringing festivals.
Address: Yartsevskaya St., 1A
The Church of St. Clement the Pope of Rome in Moscow
The Church of St. Clement, the Pope of Rome (Savior Transfiguration), is considered one of the most beautiful and largest temples of Moscow in Zamoskvorechye. It is dedicated to the third Pope named Clement, who lived in the first century BC before the division of Christianity into a Catholic and Orthodox Church. Clement was executed in 101 for preaching activity.
This temple has been known since 1612, when it involuntarily got into the chronicle of events connected with the liberation of Moscow from the Polish-Lithuanian interventionists.
By 1662, the Church of St. Clement was first built of stone. However, in the 1740s a new reconstruction of the temple began. It was dedicated to the ascension to the throne of Queen Elizabeth Petrovna. Thus, a new five-domed baroque cathedral type temple was built, which we can still see today.
In 1929 the Church of St. Clement the Pope was closed by the will of the Communist Party. And in 1934, a repository of books by the Lenin State Library was arranged in the building of the temple. The Russian Orthodox Church regained its rights to the temple only in 2008.
Address: st. Pyatnitskaya, 26, b. 1
The Temple of Cosmas and Damian in Old Pani in Moscow
In the very center of Moscow, in Kitay-Gorod, among the high houses, the Church of Cosmas and Damian in Old Pani is quietly nestled. Its altar is one of the oldest in the capital. A small wooden church in honor of the holy unmercenaries of Cosmas and Damian of Asia was still standing in 1468 not far from the Pansky court, which served as the Polish embassy in Russia. But by 1564 the wooden building of the temple had burned down, and in its place a new one was erected from stone.
In 1803, the temple of Cosmas and Damian was rebuilt in the style of classicism. It was decorated with a new bell tower, a refectory was added. There was another chapel in the church in honor of John Chrysostom, but in 1878 it was abolished.
Already in the early 20s of the twentieth century it was closed. In 1931, the status of the monument was removed from the temple. The refectory with the bell tower and the apse were dismantled, the arches were rebuilt, the walls were bricked up, the portal was laid, and in the western part of the ancient temple of Cosmas and Damian an administrative building was built (all that remains of it - its eastern part -now forms the altar of the modern church).
In 1995, the temple began a second life: the service was resumed and at the same time another restoration began. Old shrines have been returned to the temple, in particular, the cross-reliquary, carefully preserved by the parishioners during the years of persecution, a new iconostasis has been installed.
Address: per. Staropansky, 2/4
The Temple of Cosmas and Damian in Shubino in Moscow
The temple of Cosmas and Damian in Shubino was first mentioned in church documents in 1625. Then it was a wooden church with two chapels: St. Nicholas and St. Polycarp, located in the area that once belonged to the Russian governor Iakinfiy Shuba. In 1626, the scourge of wooden Moscow - a fire - completely destroyed the temple. Since the parish of the temple was small and consisted mainly of peasants, the funds for the operational restoration of the temple was not enough, and therefore it lasted until the middle of the 17th century.
Since 1920, at the request of the authorities, the church was closed, and its premises were transferred to the Ministry of Culture and were used as a repository of foreign literature and a printing house at the same time. In 1933, the bell tower was dismantled, and close to it a dwelling house was attached.
Only in 1970 a long restoration began, protracted until the 1990s. In 1991, the church renewed worship. In 1997 the main temple icon of Saints Cosmas and Damian was returned. Currently, the question of restoring the destroyed bell tower is being resolved.
Address: per. Stoleshnikov, 2
The Temple of Cosmas and Damian on Pokrovka (on Maroseyka) in Moscow
The Church of Cosmas and Damian on Pokrovka (on Maroseyka) is one of the most prominent examples of mature classicism in Moscow. In the form in which we see the temple now it was built in 1791-1793. However, the first temple of Cosmas and Damian in this place appeared much earlier, as evidenced by the records associated with the fires in those times. So, judging by the records, the first wooden church in this place burned down during a fire in 1547, the second - in 1629. The third church was built of stone in 1639, but by the end of the 18th century it had decayed, and in its place it was decided to build a new modern church in the classic style that is known to us.
The Church of Cosmas and Damian on Pokrovka (on Maroseyka) was repeatedly visited by the famous Russian writer F. M. Dostoevsky, the constant parishioner was the poet F. I. Tyutchev.
In 1930, the temple was closed, all valuable decoration disappeared without a trace, and the old fence was destroyed. The building of the temple was used as a warehouse, on the territory that previously belonged to the temple a beer bar was located. Then there was a motorcycle club, an archive, art workshops.
The Russian Orthodox Church was only able to return the church to the parish in 1993. Currently, the church holds regular services, there is a Sunday school for children and adults, sewing and icon-painting workshops.
Address: st. Maroseyka, 14/2, b. 3
Church of Maxim the Confessor in Moscow
The Church of Maxim the Confessor (Maxim the Blessed) is named after the first canonized Moscow holy fool named Maxim, who lived at the beginning of the 15th century. Blessed Maxim spent most of his life near the church of Boris and Gleb on Varvarka, so after his death it was decided to bury him in the walls of this church.
The church was subjected to serious fires several times. So, after the next fire in 1737, the building was completely rebuilt in a new style - baroque.
In the 1920s, the church was closed by order of the Soviet authorities, and then partially destroyed and completely destroyed. In the late 60s of the 20th century church building was restored to house the All-Russian Society for the Conservation of Nature. In the early 90s of last century, the Church of Maxim the Confessor was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. Since 1994, in the days of Christian holidays in the temple worship services are held.
Address: Varvarka st., 4
The Temple of Maron the Hermit in Moscow
The temple of the Reverend Maron the Hermit in Old Pani is known since 1642. In 1730, Empress Anna Ioanovna issued a decree according to which the wooden church of the Annunciation was to become a two-altar stone church with a bell tower. The new church was consecrated in the name of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos and St. Maron the Miracle-worker. By 1747, the plan for the reconstruction of the temple was carried out.
The main shrine of the temple was the icon of the miraculous image of Maron the Hermit. Maron lived in 4 - 5 centuries in the vicinity of the Syrian city of Cyrus. Almost all his life he lived in the open air, accomplishing many different feats: he had a gift to heal from bodily diseases and to heal the soul, therefore people in need of his help came to him incessantly.
With the coming to power of the Communist Party in 1918, the persecution of clergy, the confiscation of church property and the complete destruction of churches began. In 1929, adjacent to the temple College of fat industry demanded the transfer of the building of the temple in its use. The Central Executive Committee in speed satisfied the requirement of the technical school. By 1930, the parish of the Temple of Maron ceased to exist.
The church was transferred from one organization to another, and, ultimately, it passed into the hands of figures that had a garage for cars in one part of the building, and a warehouse in another. For this, an opening was made in the wall where the gate for entry was installed.
In 1992, the temple building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. By 1995, the temple was fully restored, the icon of St. Maron the Syrian Hermit returned to the iconostasis of the temple.
Address: st. Bolshaya Yakimanka, 32/2
Temple of Martin the Confessor in Alekseevskaya New Sloboda in Moscow
In the history of Moscow churches, the Temple of Martin the Confessor in Alekseevskaya Novaya Sloboda occupies a special place. Its fate is full of greatness, however, as well as architecture. Anyone who looks at it will immediately think of a certain similarity with the Cathedral of St. Peter in Rome. The similarity is enhanced when one learn that Martin the Confessor is the Pope. The style and name of the temple are often misled by people who are not well-known in the history of the Church, who take it for Catholic. In fact, the church is Orthodox, since Martin I (the Confessor) was the Roman patriarch before the separation of the churches, and therefore revered by both Catholics and Orthodox. There are few churches in Russia consecrated in honor of St. Martin, a fighter against the Monothelaic heresy. This temple in Alekseevskaya Sloboda was given the same honor in connection with the blessing of Basil III to the great reign in 1502, just in the day of the memory of St. Martin.
The current view of the temple was acquired in the late XVIII - early XIX centuries. Thanks to the donation of a Moscow merchant who sold tea and later became the city mayor, Vasily Zhigarev, in 1791, the famous stone architect Rodion Kazakov ordered the design of a stone church. He connected in this building two schools of classicism: Petersburg (monumental and majesty), and Moscow (two-light lighting system, panels, lucarnes), not forgetting about his favorite architectural form - the rotunda.
Despite the seizure of church treasures and closure in 1931, the building was still not badly damaged, since it was donated as a repository of documentary films. Even the unique interior paintings of the Italian master Antonio Claudo, which are not characteristic of Orthodoxy in general, have been preserved. Now they are restored. After the church of Martin the Confessor was given to the believers in Alexeyevskaya New Sloboda in 1990, not only restoration work was carried out here, but even the iconostasis of the central altar was returned.
Address: st. Alexander Solzhenitsyn, b. 15
Temple of Mitrofan of Voronezh in Moscow
The history of the Church of St. Mitrofan of Voronezh is inextricably linked with the Elizabeth Orphanage, at which the church was built in 1894 - 1895. The construction of the church with the blessing of Metropolitan of Moscow Sergius was carried out by the merchant Mitrofan Grachev, and the architecture project was prepared by G. A. Kaiser. After the death of Mitrofan Grachev his wife, Varvara, continued his work, she built a two-story parable of the temple.
In 1922, the shelter was closed and turned into communal apartments, and the lands belonging to the shelter became the industrial zone of the Machine Plant named after Kalinin and Metrostroy. The temple was able to survive until 1935. However, after closing the temple did not escape the fate of most religious buildings - the premises were transferred to various organizations: first to the factory school, then to the repair base, the latter was occupied by the temple factory warehouse. In 1985, the temple building with destroyed heads and a collapsed roof was abandoned.
Restoration began in 1990, the construction was managed free of charge by architect S. Ya. Kuznetsov. By 1992, the parishioners of the Church of St. Mitrofan of Voronezh were completely restored. Currently, an active spiritual and educational work is being conducted in the church, Sunday, singing and icon-painting schools have been created, and the Orthodox Education Orthodox Center“Life” is working.
Address: 2nd Khutorskaya st., 40
The Church of Michael the Archangel at the clinics on the Devichie Field in Moscow
The Temple of the Archangel Michael at the clinics Devichie Field was originally associated with the history of the Clinical town, built as a scientific and practical part of the medical faculty of Moscow University. The town on the Devichie Field in the suburbs of Moscow began to be built at the end of 1887, and in 1893 one of the leading professors of the Department of Obstetrics - Alexander Matveyevich Makeev - asked to accept 100 thousand rubles as a gift for the construction of the temple. Emperor Alexander III received the project and approved it, and the construction of a church for 650 people and a house for the clergy began.
The five-domed church was modeled on a free space on the model of the Moscow tent architecture of the 17th century. It happened that at that moment the “free” site was at the beginning of the alley near the obstetric clinic, where new people were born, who were often immediately baptized. At the other end of the alley there was a chapel for the funeral of the dying in the clinic, which made it possible to call it “the alley of life”. The architecture of the church is quite interesting. Built at the end of the XIX century, the temple had features characteristic of ecclesiastical architecture of the Smuta, reinterpreted by Nikiforov in the spirit of modernity.
In 1922, they seized everything more or less valuable, and in 1931 they closed it. During the following years, hipped heads and a bell tower, aspiring to the sky, were demolished, partitions were made. In the early 1970s, they wanted to demolish the temple, because the Medical Institute, the owner of the clinics, demanded the place for the kitchen, he even began dismantling the walls. Only public intervention, including several eminent architects, did not allow the ancient walls of the building to be destroyed. The church was awaiting revival in a dilapidated, half-ruined form and waited for the reconstruction that began in 1992. In honor of the 100th anniversary of the Clinical town in November 1997 patriarch Alexy II performed a small consecration of the restored church, and after finishing the restoration works - September 19, 2002 – the great one. At the end of the XIX century this temple was ranked as one of the best in Moscow, now it has again rebelled in all its glory.
Address: st. Elansky, 2A
The Church of Nicholas of the former Nikolo-Perervinsky Monastery in Moscow
The first mentions of the monastery and the wooden church of St. Nicholas are found in one of the decrees of Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich and date back to 1623. In 1649, on the territory of the monastery, the stone church of Nicholas was built with a bell tower. During the stay on the patriarchal throne of Hadrian (1690-1700), the stone church of St. Nicholas was dismantled along with the Assumption and Sergievskaya, and in return a cathedral in honor of St. Nicholas was built, uniting all three monasteries. The patriarch consecrated it personally in 1700, and after 3 weeks he died there.
The architecture of the temple intertwined elements of Moscow Baroque and Old Russian architecture. At the bottom of the building there is a warm refectory temple, consecrated in the name of St. Sergius, at the top - the temple of Nicholas, in the bell tower - the Church of the Assumption of the Mother of God.
After the revolution, part of its premises was handed over to the orphanage and changed their purpose: somewhere the club was located, somewhere - the dining room, somewhere - the warehouse. Until the late 1920s the monks still lived in the monastery, but in fact it was already closed. In 1940, it was not decided to convert it into a pioneer home. In fact, the monastery was used for small household needs. For some time it housed the shops of the Metal Forming Plant, then the building was given to the children's plastic toy factory, and in 1969 to the Experimental Research Institute of machine tools factory.
Since 1972, restoration work began at the monastery. And in 1991 it was given to the Church, and the services were resumed in it.
Address: Shosseynaya st., 82
The Church of Nicholas in Kotelniki in Moscow
The Church of St. Nicholas in Kotelniki is located at the foot of the Tagansky Hill, on the so-called Shvivaya Hill. The first mention of it dates back to 1547. A wooden church in honor of the Life-Giving Trinity was built in Kuznetskaya settlement at the beginning of the 16th century and then called the Church of the Trinity, that in the Old Kuznetsy.
The Trinity Church suffered in a fire exactly, it is not known when, but already in 1722 in documents it is listed as the Church of St. Nicholas in Kotelniki, erected on the site of the burned Trinity Church.
The church of Saint Nicholas in Kotelniki was closed in the 1920s, beheaded, disfigured and desecrated, and the Stroganovs ashes were thrown out of graves. The geological chemical laboratory was located in the building of the church.
The revival of the Church of St. Nicholas began in 1992, when it was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church, which renewed its services and started restoration.
On October 5, 1999, by decree of Patriarch Alexy II, the Orthodox Church of the Czech lands and Slovakia was located here. In November of the same year, Patriarch Alexy II, in co-operation with the Metropolitan of Czech and Slovak Dorotheus, carried out the Great Consecration of the Church of St. Nicholas.
Address: per. Kotelnichesky, 8
The Church of Nicholas in Kuznetskaya Sloboda in Moscow
The history of the Church of St. Nicholas in the Kuznetskaya settlement begins simultaneously with the birth of the settlement itself in 1491. At first the temple was a small wooden building that served as a prayer house for several courtyards. But by the middle of the 17th century, the number of inhabitants of the settlement increased several times and continued to grow, and therefore the question of the expansion of the church arose.
In 1683, with the blessing of the Patriarch of Moscow, it was decided to build a stone church building. It was a modest building with a simple design and facade, without the "loud" shrines and icons.
The temple of St. Nicholas in Kuznetskaya settlement is in some way unique - it is one of the few temples that survived the Soviet anti-religious repression in the 20th century and was never closed in its entire history.
Currently, there is an Orthodox gymnasium and a Sunday school at the church and a free charity canteen is also open.
Address: per. Vishnyakovsky, 15
The Church of Nicholas in Novaya Sloboda in Moscow
The first documentary mention of the existence of a wooden church in honor of St. Nicholas belongs to 1625, but it is believed that it was built here in the XVI century. In the second half of the XVII century parishioners built a stone temple on this site. According to the legend, when they applied for a building permit, they received from Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich as a gift an icon of “Nikola with miracles”, which was carefully kept until the temple was closed during the Soviet era, and then disappeared.
Now it is impossible to establish exactly when the construction of the stone church began, but the tombstone on the refectory limits the construction time of 1672-1712. It is known for certain that the main altar was consecrated in 1703 in honor of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God, and the chapel - in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker. It was a small two-light square temple in the classical style.
In 1922 more than 17 pounds of precious metals were removed from the temple. In 1934, the church was chosen by the renovationists headed by the “Metropolitan-Apologian-Evangelical” Alexander Vvedensky, but in 1936 it was closed.
The decision of the Moscow City Council to establish an anti-religious museum in the building of the Nikolsky temple became fatal. The main quadrangle was completely rebuilt, closing it with a five-story building with columns in the spirit of "Stalinist classicism." In 1947, the museum was liquidated, and its funds were moved to Leningrad to the same museum. The building of the former temple together with the adjacent territory was transferred to the Soyuzmultfilm film studio. Despite the decision of the Moscow authorities to transfer the building to the Orthodox community, established in 1993, Soyuzmultfilm Studios does not want to free the occupied territories.
In this regard, in 2007, the authorities of the Nikolsky Church community transferred the clergy house for Dolgorukovskaya 23a to free use, where the Orthodox built a temple on the second floor and hold services.
Address: st. Dolgorukovskaya 23A
The temple of Nicholas in Saburovo in Moscow
In 1595, the wooden church of St. Nicholas appeared in the village. Most researchers believe that the stone church of Nicholas in Saburovo appeared in 1693-1695. It was cubic; with a closed arch, topped with one head on a thin cylinder. Exterior was extremely simple. Of the decorations the widespread at the time decorative zakomaras and multi-stage eaves, gilded cross and head can be noted.
In 1861-1865 the temple of Nicholas in Saburovo was dismantled and rebuilt again with the money of the Tarasovs merchants. The building was built of brick and white stone (foundation, plinth, cornice). They made an extended refectory and built a new 3-storey bell tower. There were also arranged two limits (in addition to the main, in honor of Nicholas the Wonderworker) - in the name of the prophet Elijah and the Iberian Icon of the Mother of God. The interior was decorated with painting.
After the revolution of 1917, the church was deprived of all possessions. Until 1940, they were allowed to use the buildings and utensils necessary for holding worship services. Then the temple was completely closed, and a year later it was partially destroyed for “defense” purposes.
After the war, at various times in the temple there was a garage, a mechanical workshop, a wire processing plant. In 1986, the service of Moszelenstroy destroyed the chapel of the prophet Elijah.
Services in the Nicholas temple in Saburovo were resumed in 1991. A few years later, they restored the lost side chapel and the bell tower.
Address: Kashirskoye sh., 59k4
The Church of Nicholas in Troyekurovo in Moscow
Troekurovo on Setun is the former manor of princes, who bore this name. Having received possession of the former ancestral patrimony of Godunov, the Troyekurovs began to equip it in their own way and in the 40s of the XVII century a church appeared here (most likely a wooden one) in honor of St. Nicholas.
At the turn of the XVII - XVIII centuries a new temple was erected here - a stone one with a hipped bell tower. The peculiarity of the architecture of this temple is the connection of the Moscow “Naryshkin” baroque with the Western European, which became widespread under Peter I. A two-storey four-square church with a rotunda inscribed inside it is crowned by another rotunda with a head on a small cylinder. The project of this temple has reached our days. It is visible not only the original bell tower, but also a fantastic head above the rotunda in the shape of a crown, crowning the royal person.
The temple of Nicholas in Troyekurovo is very interesting for its exterior decoration. Some details of the decor are made in the style of Moscow Baroque, but they remained as if unfinished, only intended. Other details are very reminiscent of Dutch architecture.
The temple was closed in the 30s of the twentieth century and was given to the tannery. In the 1960s, the village of Troekurovo became part of Moscow; all buildings were completely demolished except for this very church, which stood without crosses until 1991, when it was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. In the 80s of the twentieth century the church was slightly restored, but the main work to return the temple to the external appearance still had to be carried out by the believers after the building was given to them.
Address: Ryabinovaya st., 24A
The Church of St. Nicholas and St. Sergius of Radonezh in Rzhavki in Moscow
The church complex of St. Nicholas, including the temple of St. Nicholas and the church Sergius of Radonezh, is all that remains of the old Russian settlement - the village of Rzhavki, named after the stream of the same name.
The first wooden church in the village appeared in 1756 and it was consecrated in honor of St. Nicholas the Myrlean. The parish of the church then included all the surrounding villages, which later became part of Zelenograd. In 1802, Rzhavki already belonged to Prince Andrey Nikolaevich Dolgorukov, who did not spare funds for the improvement of the church. Thanks to A. N. Dolgorukov, the parish of the Nikolskaya Church received its own clergy, for the maintenance of which the prince put a large sum of money for “eternal time” into the safekeeping treasury of the church. At the same time, alongside the dilapidated wooden church, the prince decided to build a new two-story stone church with two altars.
After the revolution, the poorhouse was abolished, and the temple itself was closed in the 1930s. For a long time the temple was in a deplorable state. The bell tower, whose walls are decorated with niches and pilasters, has retained from the time of the original construction only the lower tier and side structures, the upper tiers after World War II were demolished.
On the occasion of the celebration of the 1000th anniversary of the baptism of Russia in 1988, the Nikolsky Church was returned to the Orthodox Church. The parishioners received the temple almost in a ruined state, and its restoration required considerable effort.
Address: Zelenograd, Nikolsky Prospect, 1
The Church of St. Nicholas and the chapel of Panteleimon in Otradnoe in Moscow
Church of St. Nicholas and the chapel of Panteleimon in Otradnoye is part of the “New Jerusalem” complex, which also includes the “Yardyam” Tatar Sunni mosque, the “Inam” Shiite mosque and the “Darkey Shalom” synagogue.
The church of St. Nicholas the Myrlean was laid in 1997, and consecrated a year later. The central chapel is consecrated in the name of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, the left - in the name of Sergius of Radonezh, right - in honor of the icon of the Mother of God "Joy and Consolation."
The monastery was built in the Byzantine style and is a 4-column, cross-domed building with 5 large cylinders. Central one is the largest, and another 4 are smaller. Cylinders, like the walls of the temple, are decorated with tall windows with narrow slits, and they are crowned with hemispherical domes. The belfry connecting to the western facade has a marquee completion.
In 2000, the Church of St. Nicholas and the chapel of Panteleimon in Otradnoe acquired the status of the Patriarchal compound. Today at the monastery there is a Sunday school and a youth club.
The temple of Nicholas at the Rogozhskoye cemetery in Moscow
The churchyard appeared in 1771 at the suggestion of Count Orlov, when the plague raged in Moscow. With the permission of Catherine the Great, temples and an almshouse were erected here. After some time, an Old Believer village appeared nearby.
In 1776, at the entrance to the cemetery, the temple of Nicholas, the archbishop of World of Lycia, was built. Later it was rebuilt on the initiative of parishioners who had converted from Old Believers to single faith (which was approved in Russia in 1800), and became known as the Nicolo-congregational church at Rogozhskoye cemetery.
Recent changes in the exterior of the temple of Nicholas at the Rogozhskoye cemetery were carried out at the beginning of the 20th century. Nowadays, its architecture corresponds to the Russian or Byzantine-Russian style characteristic of the 19th century.
The interior of the temple fascinates: a high light porch with a blue arch, decorated with gilded stars; the pompous five-tier iconostasis in the main temple amazes with rare icons; beautiful painting in the Greek style; the arches and side walls are decorated with biblical scenes.
In Soviet times, the monastery did not close, but now it belongs entirely to the Church.
Address: st. Rogozhsky Posyolok, 1A / 29s1
The Church of Nicholas on Shchepy in Moscow
Arbat is one of the most famous places in Moscow. It was here that the very original five-domed church of Nicholas on Shchepy was sheltered. Traditionally, the beginning of the history of the temple in honor of St. Nicholas on Shchepy dates from 1649, as evidenced by sources and it is believed that at that time it was wooden. But the restorers who carried out work on its restoration in 2000–2002 had a different opinion. During the excavation work on the opening of the foundation of the church, not only the tombstone with the date “1609” was found, but also “Alevisovskie” small-sized limestone mortar bricks, more precisely, their remains, which suggested that at the beginning of the 17th century the temple already stood here, and it was stone one.
In 1686, Patriarch Joachim blessed the construction of a new stone church here. Perhaps the old was destroyed in a fire. The new five-domed temple of Nicholas on Shchepy was erected in the style of Russian pattern.
The Soviet authorities closed the church in 1934. By that time, it contained valuables from many nearby churches that had been liquidated before this time. Upon closing, the valuables were looted, the temple was beheaded, the bell tower was destroyed, and the premises were adapted to the needs of the state. For example, during the Great Patriotic War, munitions for the front were fired here. In 1993 it was returned to believers.
Address: 1st Smolensky per., 20
The Church of St. Nicholas in Pyzhi in Moscow
The Stone Temple of St. Nicholas in Pyzhi was built in 1670-1672 in Streletskaya Sloboda on the place of a wooden church that existed here since 1593. The initiators of the construction of the church were archers from the regiment of Bogdan Pyzhov. The Church of St. Nicholas became one of the main models of Moscow’s Posad architecture of the second half of the 17th century.
In 1811 a new Nikolsky chapel was built in the style of classicism. During the war of 1812, the temple was ravaged by the French and partially destroyed. Only in 1848 the restoration of the temple began at the expense of the Lyamins merchants, it lasted almost 40 years.
From 1934 to 1990, the church of St. Nicholas in Pyzhy was closed. In Soviet time it was equipped as a building dormitory, then as a machine-building laboratory and sewing workshops. In September 1990, by order of the patriarch, the church building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. Since 1991, worship is renewed. At the temple there are Sunday and choral schools.
Address: st. Bolshaya Ordynka, 27/6
Temple of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia in Butovo in Moscow
The Butovo range is known for mass executions and burials of victims of Stalinist repression. In the 1930-1950s, tens of thousands of people died here, of which about 1,000 were representatives of the clergy of various denominations.
In 1995, a part of these territories (approximately 6 hectares) was transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church, and in 1996 a small wooden church was built here in honor of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia. It was erected in the style of Russian architecture by the project of D. M. Shakhovsky.
In 2004, construction on a large stone temple of the same name began. A year later, Patriarch Alexy II consecrated a cross on the main dome of the building. In December 2006, the rite of the small consecration of the temple was performed, and in May 2007, a large stone temple was consecrated.
The temple of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia in Butovo was built under the direction of M.Y. Kesler and is a beautiful tent building with two floors. The lower one is a crypt-temple; it is dedicated to experiencing the suffering of the new martyrs (more than 320 people were glorified in the face of the saints). Here you can see photos of the victims, their belongings, details of clothing, as well as bullets and shells, seized during the excavations of graves. On the walls there are more than 50 cathedral icons of the Butovo saints.
Address: Yubileynaya st., 2
Temple of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia in Strogino in Moscow
The building looks very elegant, first of all, due to the white color, lace decor and many keeled elements. It is designed for 650 people (height - 48.5 m., area - 722 square meters) and has an interesting architectural composition: 4 tiers of keeled kokoshniks (each of which is individual), narrowing, turn into a belfry, above which there is quite massive cylinder and dome-bulb. Three semi-circular apses, covered with a closed semi-arch, adjoin the main volume.
The name of the monastery and its chapel are somewhat unusual, since they are dedicated to a group of people. New martyrs and confessors are Russian saints who died a martyr's death in the name of Christ, or were persecuted after the revolution of 1917. And the Royal Passion-bearers, in whose honor the side-altar was named, is the family of Nicholas II canonized in the sainthood (the emperor himself, his wife and 5 children), who were shot by the Bolsheviks.
The church community of the Church of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia in Strogino was registered in 2000. The following year, the architectural workshop of the Moscow St. Daniel Monastery, under the leadership of D. S. Sokolov, begins work on the project of the future church.
Address: Stroginsky Blvd., 14
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in the Red Village in Moscow
The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos in the Red Village on Olkhovets was first mentioned in the 20s of the XVII century. Naturally, it was a wooden building, which in 1701 was replaced by a stone one with a side chapel of St. Nicholas and the bell tower built in the style of Russian baroque.
Thirty years later, the church deteriorated, and in 1734 they received instructions from the Synod to build a new church building with another chapel to the refectory, in honor of the Beheading of John the Forerunner. The chapel was staged first (1745), moving services there, which allowed the rest of the church to be dismantled and to start construction.
In 1934, the authorities insisted on closing the church on the grounds that it harms the traffic. The protruding altar interfered with the laying of the tram tracks, so they destroyed it, and in the apses they first cut through passages, and then completely disassembled, demolished the heads and the bell tower. The building was given to state institutions, and only in 1996 was returned to believers.
Address: st. Nizhnaya Krasnoselskaya, 12
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin in Medvedkovo in Moscow
One of the ancient temples built before the reforms of Patriarch Nikon and survived to this day is the Church of the Intercession in Medvedkovo. Due to the fact that the village Medvedkovo until 1960 was not part of the city limits, the Pokrovsky Church was never closed.
Medvedkovo was the patrimony of the princes Pozharsky. One of the first owners of the village bore the nickname Medved (Vasily Fedorovich Medved Pozharsky) which was fixed in the name. After the victory over the Poles in 1612, Prince Dmitry Pozharsky, who led the militia together with Minin, elected Medvedkovo as his permanent residence. In 1623, in his village, the prince placed a wooden church in honor of the Protection of the Most Holy Theotokos to commemorate the victory, which was achieved thanks to the intercession of the Mother of God.
In 1634 - 1635 on the site of a wooden church, a stone one, a delightful example of one-treater architecture in the “pattern” style, later banned by Patriarch Nikon as “not appropriate to the church order”, was erected. The octagon on the quadrangle serves as the base of the peaked tent, decorated with rows of kokoshniks, emphasizing the pyramid of the temple.
The Church of the Intercession in Medvedkov operated constantly, only after the revolution services were held in the lower church, but already in 1945 the upper part was renewed, and services also began to be held there. In the 1970s and at the end of the twentieth and the beginning of the twenty-first centuries, two more restorations were undertaken.
Address: Zapovednaya st., 52
Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin on Lyshchikova Hill in Moscow
The monastery appeared at the turn of the XV-XVI centuries, and at the end of the XVI century was abolished. The Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos on Lyshchikova Hill is one of its structures, and was first mentioned in 1625 as a parish church. In 1688 it suffered in a fire.
Then it was decided to build a new temple, not in the same place, but at the foot of the hill. So in 1695 there was a stone church of the Intercession. In 1697, finishing work was completed, and the building was consecrated. The chapel was also consecrated in honor of John of Damascus. Today it is the only one in Moscow.
The architectural style of the new church is Moscow baroque. Remarkably, it was the first church building, in the decoration of which special elements were used - mascarons (in this case, the face of angels in the front). Simultaneously with the temple a two-tier bell tower with a porch was built.
In Soviet times, the Church of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos on Lyyshchikova Hill was not closed. From neighboring churches, which overtook a different fate, icons were brought here for storage. And in 1979, in honor of the closed temple of Simeon the Stylite, the throne was consecrated.
Address: Lyshchikov per., 10
Intercession Cathedral at the Rogozhsky cemetery in Moscow
The 286. Intercession Cathedral at the Rogozhsky cemetery was built in 1790-1792. The Old Believer cemetery at the Rogozhskaya outpost appeared after the plague of 1771, when all city burial sites were closed to prevent the spread of infection. 20 years later, Catherine II graciously allowed the Old Believers, who made a great contribution to the fight against the plague (many of them were very wealthy merchants and manufacturers), the construction of two temples in the Rogozhsky cemetery.
The temple was consecrated in honor of the Intercession of the Most Holy Theotokos, because the Old Believers believed that the Mother of God especially patronized their Church, allowing them to survive in difficult times.
In 1929, the authorities attempted to close the Intercession Cathedral at the Rogozhsky cemetery and arrange a theater in it, but the attempt was unsuccessful. Valuables from other Old Believer temples to be closed began to flow here, and choristers also moved.
Even in the years of the Great Patriotic War (1941-1945) services were held here. In 1993, the Old Believer Metropolis appealed to the authorities for the return of the territory of the former Rogozhskaya settlement. 2005 was marked by the decree of the mayor of Moscow on the restoration of the historical and architectural ensemble of the Rogozhsky cemetery, the reconstruction project of which was already ready in 1996.
Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Krylatskoye in Moscow
For the first time, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Krylatskoye was mentioned in 1554, on the day of its consecration, attended by Ivan Vasilievich himself (the Terrible). The village was then called Kryletskoye (the porch at the entrance to the capital) and was the royal patrimony, and the church was wooden. Later the village was owned by the Romanov nobles. By the end of the XVII century the wooden church had completely deteriorated, and the fire that had happened in 1713 destroyed it completely. However, a year later, in its place, a new wooden church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos, consecrated in 1714, was raised.
In 1936, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Krylatskoye was closed; icons from the temple and the chapel at the source were collected and burned right before the eyes of the villagers. In the first year of the war, our anti-aircraft gunners demolished the domes of the temple and blew up the upper tier of the bell tower, serving as a guide for German airstrikes.
In 1989, the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God in Krylatskoye is handed over to the Moscow Diocese. Immediately began the restoration work and worship. The original appearance was almost returned to the temple, inside by a group of artists led by N.V. Nuzhny wall painting was renewed in the technique of acrylic tempera on plaster, a new iconostasis was erected and icons were painted for it.
Address: st. Krylatsky Hills, 43
Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Kapotnya in Moscow
Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Kapotnya was built in 1860-1870. Its style is quite interesting. Some people call it Novorussky, others - pseudo-Russian, some - Russian-Byzantine. This style is based on the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Kapotnya of ancient Russian architectural traditions, combined with Byzantine, with the use of elements of folk art. At that time (late XIX - early XX centuries), it was quite popular, since it was beneficial for the government to emphasize the continuity of Russian Orthodoxy from Byzantium.
In the second half of the XIX century they built a new white stone church with a bell tower, also consecrated in honor of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, which has reached our days.
In 1938, the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin in Kapotnya was closed; the head was demolished, having spared the tents and walls. In 1960, the village Kapotnya entered the line of Moscow, being in the outer line of the construction of the ring. Due to its remoteness from the center, the temple was not destroyed, but simply used as warehouses and production premises. So after returning to believers in 1991, the temple was in complete decline.
Address: 1st Kapotninsky pr-d, 10/1
Churches of the Nativity of the Virgin and the baptismal of Filaret of Moscow in Vladykino in Moscow
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built under Prince I. I. Shuisky. The approximate construction date is 1627. And from 1653 Velyaminovo it became the patrimony of Patriarch Nikon, in connection with which his name was changed to Vladykino (from the word "lord", which they called the patriarch).
In 1770, a stone church was erected on the site of a wooden church. The owner of the neighboring village, Count Razumovsky, built a bell tower and a chapel. And the icons were brought by the residents of the village of Nikolskoye, since their church was abolished. Subsequently, the chapel was dismantled, and a church fence was built from its brick.
During the Soviet era the cloister did not close. Interestingly, during the Second World War the building did not suffer at all, although the Germans were standing nearby. Also in the village that is located around the temple all the houses remained intact.
Address: Altufevskoe sh., 4, b. 1
Church of the Nativity of St. John the Forerunner in Ivanovskoye in Moscow
The Church of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist in Ivanovskoye was built in Izmailovskaya, the estate of sovereign Alexei Mikhailovich Romanov in 1667. Initially it was a wooden hipped temple with two chapels - in honor of St. Basil the Great and George the Victorious.
In 1801, instead of the dilapidated wooden building of the Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist in Ivanovskoye, which was at that time on the edge of the Kuskovo estate, a stone temple was erected in the style of early classicism. More precisely, it was rather a mixture of Baroque and Classicism. The rotunda on the square with the Tuscan porticoes is certainly a sign of classicism, but the apse and the refectory with the aisles have rather baroque features. And the three-tiered bell tower with pilasters is more in line with the Baroque style. Perhaps the reason for this mixing of styles was the fact that the temple was built not immediately, but in several stages.
After the revolution in 1917, the Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist was never closed, despite all the attempts of the authorities. The last of them was undertaken in the late 1940s, allegedly at the initiative of local servicemen who went to houses trying to collect signatures in support of the closure of the church. But local residents refused to take part in such an action. In 1937 - 1941 after the closure of the Church of the Savior in Gireyevo (Perovo), which was before the beginning of the twentieth century attributed to the Church of the Nativity of John the Baptist, even the throne was brought here.
Address: st. Stalevarov, 6
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Butyrskaya Sloboda in Moscow
In 1646-1647 Boyar Nikita Romanov built a wooden church in his domain. By its name the village was called Rozhdestveno on Dmitrovskaya road. And in 1667 it was given under the settlement of the soldiers of the Butyrsky regiment. They erected a stone church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Butyrskaya settlement in honor of the end of the Russian-Turkish war.
It was a large 2-column church, with a long refectory, into which 3 porches led, and a high hipped bell tower. By the way, at that time it was forbidden to build tent churches (by order of Patriarch Nikon), therefore the tent adorned the bell tower. It was located separately from the church building and consisted of 3 tiers.
By 1917, the bell tower of the Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Butyrskaya settlement was considered one of the most elegant in Moscow, along with a very similar bell tower of the St. Nicholas Church of the Annunciation (not preserved to this day).
After the Bolsheviks came to power, the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God in Butyrskaya Sloboda, oddly enough, was taken under state protection as an architectural monument. However, the cloudless life of the monastery did not last long: in the 20s the services stopped, in 1935 the church was finally closed, and then given to the “Znamya” aircraft factory, which destroyed the building (after making a warehouse out of it).
In 1996, the belfries were returned to the Church, to which the congregation attached an apse for the altar and a belfry. The resulting miniature temple was consecrated in 1999.
Address: st. Butyrskaya, 56
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Putinki in Moscow
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Putinki is a unique sample of Russian pattern. This temple is the last Moscow monument of hip architecture, since in 1653 the construction of hipped churches was forbidden by the patriarch. The first wooden version of this church was built in 1625, but a few years after construction the church burned down in one of the major fires in Moscow. In 1649, Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich ordered to build a new stone church on the site of the destroyed one. Thus, in 1652 a new Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos was erected near the Putevoy Embassy Court.
In 1935, by order of the Soviet authorities, the parish was closed, and the church’s premises were handed over to various city organizations. It is known that until 1990 the church building was used as a circus training base, where dogs and monkeys were trained. In 1991, the church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church. In the same year it was restored and opened.
Address: st. Malaya Dmitrovka, 4
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin in Old Simonovo in Moscow
In the place of the modern church, the Old Simonovo Monastery once stood with the cathedral church in honor of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos. They were founded in 1370 by Theodore’s nephew of Sergius of Radonezh. In 1379 the monastery was moved a half kilometer further and a new temple was laid, which was to be the receiver of the Nativity, the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary. It was built for a long time, and was consecrated only in 1405.
Since that time, the Nativity Church has become a skete - next to it were several cells, where the aged men lived, wishing to remain in the same place. And the old monastery officially became known as Rozhdestvensky, which is on the Lisiy pond. In the meantime, the Assumption Church became a cathedral. In the 1470s, lightning struck its dome, after which Aristotle Fioravanti himself undertook to rebuild it. At the same time they built a brick fence around the monastery, the first in Moscow.
In 1928, the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Mother of God in Old Simonovo was closed. A few years later the church was on the territory of the Dynamo plant when it expanded. The monastery was not destroyed, because strong walls could still be used in work. The bell tower was demolished, and the cast-iron gravestone went for scrap, rescuing 317 rubles and 25 kopecks. Since the church building was used as a production facility, and in its floor was installed a powerful motor, shaking the walls, the temple quickly became unusable.
In 1987, the plant handed over the church to the Historical Museum. In 1989, it returned to believers and was re-consecrated.
Address: Vostochnaya st., 6
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin on Kulishki in Moscow
Храм закрыли в 1935 году. Он всеми силами боролся за веру и пытался сохранить жизнь храма. До того, как храм Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы на Кулишках вернули Церкви в 1991 году, в нём размещались самые разные учреждения, в числе которых скульптурная мастерская, «Леспроект», рентгенорадиологический институт, салон красоты.
For the first time, the Church of the Nativity of the Most Holy Theotokos on Kulishki is mentioned in the records of 1547. It was erected at the assembly point of the Russian army at the Battle of Kulikovo. It is believed that the monastery was built in honor of the Russian soldiers who fell in battle.
In the same 1547, the temple burned down in a fire. In the brick it was rebuilt only in 1600 and rebuilt again in 1712, and then - in the beginning of the XIX century.
The temple was closed in 1935. It was housed by various institutions, such as the X-ray Radiological Institute, and a beauty salon.
In 1996, the monastery was transferred to the Ossetian community and became the Alan monastery. Services here are conducted in Church Slavonic and Ossetian languages.
The temple was built in the style of mature classicism, which is characterized by restraint, harmony and monumentality. It is these features that we see in the Church. First of all, a high bell tower attracts to itself the sight. Its three lower tiers are identical in width and have angled corners. The last tier where the belfry is located is somewhat less. It has a cylindrical shape and is completed with a deaf cylinder. From the decoration of the temple 4-column Tuscan porticoes and paired columns of the Ionic order that adorn the bell tower can be noted.
Address: st. Solyanka, 5/2
Church of the Nativity of Christ in Izmailovo in Moscow
In 1654, Izmailovo became a country estate of the Romanovs, and Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich wished to arrange a residence here. By 1665, the sovereign archers built a wooden church of the Nativity of Christ here. It had two side chapels and seven domes. And in 1676, guided by the blessed letter of Patriarch Joachim, they erected a stone church of the Nativity with the same chapels that were at the wooden church.
The monastery was built by a typical “ship” (the main elements of the structure are on the same axis), in the style of Russian patterns. The main volume of the temple has three tiers of kokoshniks and is crowned with 5 heads. From the north and from the south, cubic aisles adjoin it, on each of which there is a small cupola, from the east - three apses. At the end of XVII century a refectory was attached to the temple, and at the beginning of the 18th century - bell tower and porch.
In general, the church looks very elegant - Russian pattern suggests an abundance of decor: the column-type belt on deaf cylinders, semi-columns, pilasters, fly on the walls, carved patterns on the window frames.
The Church of the Nativity in Izmailovo is one of the few that did not close during the Soviet era. Of course, the removal of valuables could not be avoided. 196 items of utensils were taken from the church. Near the monastery there is the Izmailovo cemetery, where many priests were buried. Also at the temple Sunday school and choir work.
Address: 28, Izmailovsky proezd
Temple of St. John of Kronstadt in Zhulebino in Moscow
The temple has a very short history, starting in 1996. Then the residents of Zhulebino appealed to Patriarch Alexy II with a request for a meeting, the purpose of which was to establish a parish in this micro district. The patriarch gave a blessing for two names for the future church: in honor of Ksenia of Petersburg, who is considered the patroness of the family, or in honor of John of Kronstadt, the patron of an honest marriage. They stopped at the last. The beginning of the creation of the temple of St. John of Kronstadt in Zhulebino was laid.
In June 1997, they consecrated the construction site and put a cross there, a little later they laid a stone in the foundation of the future monastery. In December 1998, the order of the Small Consecration of the temple was performed and the first Liturgy was served. In September 1999, the rite of Great Consecration was performed. The construction was finally completed in December 2006, and in 2008 the building was put into operation and transferred to the Parish.
The Church of the Holy Righteous John of Kronstadt in Zhulebino has a structure typical for Russian wooden church architecture - the octagon on a quadrangle. Usually octal is higher, but here, on the contrary, it is lower than quadrangular. The building stands on a brick basement and includes a refectory and a tent bell tower. The main volume of the temple and the bell tower are crowned with heads on deaf cylinders, covered with a ploughshare. The entrance to the cloister, as well as the upper tier of the bell tower, is decorated with carved columns.
Address: st. Saranskaya, 1
Church of the Holy Equal-to-the-Apostles Constantine and Helena in honor of the Pochaev Icon of the Mother of God in Mitino in Moscow
The temple in honor of Equal-to-the-Apostles Constantine and Helena in Mitino is one of those that are built according to the “Program-200”. The monastery was conceived as a component of a large temple complex, the project of which was developed by the famous architect Andrei Obolensky.
According to his idea, the church building should be one of the tallest in the capital (54 m.) and consist of lower and upper temples. At the base there is monolithic concrete and brickwork, the finish is from natural materials. By the way, builders sawed several thousand bricks by hand to create a special decor. The temple is planned to be three-fold, with a baptismal; completion will be hipped.
As for the complex, on its territory (3340 sq. m.) according to the plan should be located (besides the main church) a wooden chapel in the style of old Russian architecture, the house of the clergy, economic buildings, as well as a Sunday school, lecture hall, workshops of children's creativity and even kindergarten.
Now on the territory of the future temple complex there is only one wooden church of the Pochaev Icon of the Mother of God, built in 2004. It is designed in the style of wooden architecture of the Russian North. We see its characteristic multi-tiered, turrets and tent, crowning the 3-tier bell tower. The decor is almost absent; the roof is covered with a plowshare.
Address: st. Mitinskaya, 11
Temple of Nikita on Shvivaya hill behind Yauza in Moscow
The current temple of Nikita on Shvivaya hill behind Yauza was built by a merchant, Savva Yemelyanov in 1595, the inscription on the slab says about it. However, it was built on the basis of another, more ancient and, most likely, stone one. The laying in it was laid out with small “Alevizovsky” brick (named after the Italian architect Alevizo), which began to be used in Russia from the beginning of the 16th century. And the first mention of this ancient temple is dated 1476. The record referred to a certain arc of light, which rested with one end on the church of Nikita. The second entry (1533) speaks of a thunderbolt on the altar.
In 1684-1685 the tent bell tower, the chapel of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos, the refectory and the terrace, which was notable for its special magnificence, were erected. The buildings look very harmonious - a low, but slender and elegant bell tower, a beautifully decorated limit, a portal with a patterned finish. Temple of Nikita on Shvivaya hill behind Yauza is one of the most interesting architectural monuments of old Moscow.
In 1936, the temple was closed, the gate and the fence were destroyed, and the building itself was transferred to the national economy. In 1957-1960 the temple was restored under the guidance of the famous architect L. A. David.
In 1991, the temple of Nikita on Shvivaya hill was handed over to the Russian Orthodox Church, and a year later it became the metochion of the Athos monastery.
Address: Goncharnaya st., 6
Temple of Adrian and Natalia in Babushkino in Moscow
The temple of the holy martyrs Adrian and Natalia in Babushkino was built in the first half of the twentieth century thanks to the peasant S. Karpov and the Moscow resident A. Ivanov. The first one allocated its own lands for a good cause (a little more than 800 square meters), and the second one donated money for it (15,000 rubles).
The shrine was built in 1914-1916, and it must be said, this is the only church in Moscow, consecrated in honor of Adrian and Natalia. At the age of 28, Adrian, who was still a pagan, consciously condemned himself to a martyr's death by adopting Christianity. Natalia courageously supported her husband and died shortly after him.
The church has an interesting architecture, designed in the neo-Russian style with elements of Pskov architecture. The temple itself is a low domed light rotunda, erected on a quadrangle, two symmetrical aisles and a porch. The heavy construction of the building with high and narrow arched windows, large low domes and a gable, but plastic decor, crowned with asps, generally represent a beautiful harmonious composition. In 1916, both chapels were lit - in honor of St. Basil and the icon "Unexpected Joy."
The church has never closed, and therefore has retained all of its decoration - painting, iconostasis, icon cases in its original form.
Address: Yaroslavskoye sh. 95
Temple of Serafim Sarovsky in the Filyovsky floodplain in Moscow
The Church of Seraphim Sarovsky in Filevsky floodplain appeared not long ago - construction began in 2003, and in 2004 it was consecrated. This small (for 100 people) wooden building was built as part of a temple complex. Next to it, a large, roomy All Saints Church has been erected for several years. In fact, the Seraphim Church was constructed as temporary; in some sources it is even called a chapel.
The church was built on donations from private entrepreneurs and parishioners. Its architecture is uncomplicated: the main volume is a rectangular frame house in plan with the faceted apse adjacent to it on one side and the porch on the other. The temple has a simple duo-pitch covering and one modest head on a deaf cylinder. The most beautiful architectural element of the composition can be called a covered staircase with carved columns. Near the abode there is the clergy's house and a simple wooden belfry.
Especially revered icons of the monastery are the image of the Venerable Seraphim Sarovsky with a part of his relics and a list of the image of Our Lady “Affection”, before which the great devotee of the Russian Church, hieromonk Seraphim, prayed.
Address: Filevsky Boulevard, 18
The temple of Seraphim Sarovsky and the baptismal one in Raev in Moscow
The temple of Serafim Sarovsky in Raev is quite young - its laying was carried out in 2005 according to the famous project “200 temples”. Since the construction was financed exclusively by donations, this process was relatively long. But very quickly a small baptismal church was rebuilt, and in 2006 ceremonies began to take place in it.
In 2011, on the feast day of St. Nicholas, a cross was erected in the dome of the Seraphim monastery, and in 2014, the chapel of the church was consecrated in honor of the same saint. A small consecration of the monastery took place in 2016, and a great one in 2017.
The temple of Seraphim Sarovsky in Raev is called the Pearl of the District. It is really very beautiful – it even entered the list for re-use. This means that according to its project, it is possible that at least another magnificent temple will be built - in Moscow or another city of Russia.
The church is made in the style of Russian architecture of the XVII century. The building looks majestic and aspires to the height. This effect is achieved due to the fact that the facades are divided by blades into straps, and the walls and cylinders are dotted with slit-like windows. The temple has three semicircular apses, and it is crowned with three pear-shaped, slightly flattened domes. The pretense is also crowned by a small cupola on a deaf cylinder. The entrances are decorated with promising portals. The cylinders are beautifully decorated - they are girded with an ornament (like the walls of the building), and also decorated with an archature with imitation of hanging weights. In addition, the church is replete with curly kokoshniki.
Address: Shokalsky proyezd, 48
Temple of Simeon Stylite beyond Yauza in Moscow
The temple of Simeon the Stylite behind Yauza is one of the most remarkable in Moscow. Its appearance is striking by unusual architecture. The huge rotunda, placed on a quadrangular with porticos, and a very thin cylinder with a cupola - today it looks devoid of any stylistic proportions, but this was not always the case.
The history of the temple began more than four centuries ago. On September 1, 1598 Boris Godunov ascended the Russian throne. On the same day, the Orthodox Church celebrated the day of remembrance of the Christian ascetic Simeon the Stylite. As a sign of the coincidence of these two events, the new tsar ordered to build a temple; it was built and consecrated in 1600. Originally, the church was wooden. However, only half a century later, the temple was already rebuilt from stone. Subsequently, it has been updated once. One of the most significant reconstructions was carried out in 1792.
The revolution of 1917and the events that followed gave the temple a lot of trouble. Values and shrines collected over the centuries were seized, and in 1929 the church was finally closed; it was decided to re-equip it as a state institution. As a result, they dismantled the bell tower, leaving only the lower tier. The magnificent rotunda and quadrangle in the style of classicism were divided into floors, and holes were punched in the walls for windows, all these changes created a disproportion in the building and the lack of stylistic integrity.
In 1995, at the Nativity of Christ, the Church of Simeon the Stylite at Yauza was returned to believers and services were resumed after restoration.
Address: st. Nikoloyamskaya, 10
Temple of Sophia the Wisdom of God in the Srednie Sadovniki in Moscow
The area of the Sadovniki, where the Temple of Sophia the Wisdom of God is located, has been known since the end of the 15th century. It arose at the behest of Prince Ivan III of Moscow, who ordered to organize a separate settlement for gardeners who worked at the royal palaces. Originally, for the residents of the settlement, a wooden temple of Sofia was installed (about 1480), which in 1493 was completely destroyed by fire. After this event, the existence of the Sophia Church in Sadovniki was forgotten for almost 200 years.
The present stone Temple of Sophia, the Wisdom of God, was founded in 1682 on the opposite bank of the Moscow River from the Kremlin. During its existence, the Sophia Temple has been expanded several times, so now it is an imposing building in the ancient Byzantine style.
After the Soviet anti-religious purges, almost all the valuables and relics were seized, the clergymen were systematically interrogated and searched, and in the end, in 1932, the Moscow Regional Executive Committee decided to transfer the premises of the Sofia temple to the “Red Torch” plant. In 1940, the premises were converted into an apartment communal house, finally destroying the ancient interior of the temple; the crosses were broken, and television antennas were installed in their place. In 1941, the church was badly damaged during the German attack on Moscow - a bomb struck and almost completely destroyed the roof.
In 1992, the temple in complete desolation was returned to the church. Regular services and parish life were resumed there only by 2004.
Address: Sofiyskaya embankment, 32
The Temple of Sofia at the Pushechny Yard in Moscow
The first wooden church of Sofia at the Pushechny Yard in the modern Lubyanka was built in 1480. According to legend, the Novgorod inhabitants moved to Moscow. Hence, there is the consecration in honor of Sofia the wisdom of God, because the most famous temple of Novgorod was St. Sophia Cathedral. In memory of the native places, the second throne of the St. Sophia Church in Moscow was consecrated in honor of St. Nikita Novgorodsky.
In the middle of the XVII century the dilapidated Sophia Church was rebuilt, the consecration took place on June 19, 1650. Probably it was then that the chapel appeared in the church in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God. The fire of 1685 did not spare the church of Sophia. Then it was decided to build it in stone. While the main volume of the temple was being built, one more chapel was erected by Moses Ovtsyn, a steward, in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, where services were held, until the high altar was consecrated in 1692.
In the years following the revolution, the temple suffered a common fate. In the 1930s it was closed, and the building was handed over to the “people.” The heads of the temple and the bell tower demolished, the columns dismantled.
In the 1990s, the church with the adjacent territory was under the jurisdiction of the Federal Security Service, whose employees, with the support of the leadership, make the fateful decision in 2001 to create an Orthodox community. It was with the assistance of the FSB and partly on the personal donations of the Service workers that the Sofia temple at the Pushechny Yard was restored.
Address: Pushechnaya st., 15
Church of the All-Merciful Savior Formerly the Skorbyaschensky monastery in the Moscow
The Church of the All-Merciful Savior was once part of the women's Monastery, moreover, its cathedral church. It was erected in 1891-1894 at the expense of the merchant's widow Akilina Alekseevna, who not only donated money for a good cause, but also actively participated in the construction process.
The architectural project was prepared by Ivan Vladimirov. He created a luxurious building in the Russian-Byzantine style. In 1894, the temple was consecrated: the high altar was dedicated to the All-Merciful Savior, the right - to the image of Our Lady, "Hearken Hearing," and the left - to the Twelve Apostles. In the years 1898-1900 a stone fence was built, about 1378 meters long. Unfortunately, it has not survived to this day.
In 1910 the church was restored, after which it was re-consecrated in the presence of Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna.
The cathedral was closed in 1929. It lost not only the heads and part of the bell tower, but also the interior: all the interior items were removed, the wall painting was smeared. In 1979, they intended to disassemble the temple, but this was prevented by the public, in particular the intervention of the famous sculptor Nikolai Tomsky and the outstanding artist Ilya Glazunov.
In 1982, there was a cardinal reconstruction of the building, as well as its cosmetic repairs. In those years, the Church of the All-Merciful Savior was the absolute dominant in the architectural ensemble of the monastery. It was a very beautiful monumental building, clearly distinguished from other buildings and successfully completing the panorama of Novoslobodskaya Street.
Address: st. Novoslobodskaya, 58, b. 5
Church of the All-Merciful the Savior in Kuskovo, Moscow
Kuskovo, where the temple is located, has been known since the 16th century as the estate of one of the country's most noble family of the nobility, the Sheremetevs. Now it is an open-air museum, which is a whole ensemble of architectural structures of the 18th century.
A prominent place here is occupied by the Church of the All-Merciful Savior; with its construction there is a story..Boris Petrovich Sheremetev, who owned Kuskovo in the 17th century, making a diplomatic trip to Europe, was granted an audience with the Pope of Rome. The head of the Vatican as a sign of special location gave the graph a golden cross with a particle of the Tree of the Life-Creating Cross. Boris Petrovich himself did not manage to dispose of this relic, as he soon died. According to the testament, the manor, and with it the sacred particle, were transferred to his son, Peter Borisovich.
The new owner, like his father, was a great connoisseur of European culture, and, being impressed by the beauty of the Parisian palaces, he decided that he could create an ensemble in Kuskovo just as good. Construction of the palace complex began with the construction of a new church. Thus, in 1737, on the site of an old wooden church, a new magnificent temple was erected, the heart of which was the very relic brought by the old count from Rome.
After the revolution, the Church of the All-Merciful Savior was abolished and from 1919 to 1991 it existed as a museum of Russian history. In 1991, the church was returned to the Church and re-consecrated. Since 2010, the temple received the status of an object of cultural heritage and is protected by the state.
Address: Yunosti st., 2, b. 5
Temple of the Holy Image of the Saviour Not Made by Hands in Gireyevo in Moscow
The Church of the Holy Image of the Saviour Not Made by Hands in Gireyevo was built at the time when the architectural style of Naryshkin baroque was popular. The monastery of the Holy Image of the Saviour Not Made by Hands was consecrated in 1718 by Metropolitan Stephen. In fact, the church was the home church of the village owners due to the small number of parishes.
Over time, the church of the Holy Image of the Saviour Not Made by Handsin Gireyevo was dilapidated, although the successive owners of the village patched it from time to time. The interior of the building was more than modest. However, it is known about the revered shrine of the temple - an ancient silver altar cross with holy relics, which was transferred here from the Moscow Church of the Sign of the Most Holy Theotokos.
In 1922, the Bolsheviks confiscated the already poor property of the temple - a saucer, a lamp, a tabernacle, the covers of the Gospels and robe - weighing 13 pounds and 32 zlotniks (a bit over 6 kg).
In 1941, the Church was closed. The see was transferred to the Baptist Church in Ivanovo. In 1949, the church building was transferred to a military dog breeding school.
The temple was returned to the church in 1989. Services were resumed in 1991. Much work has been done on the restoration of the monastery, and now we can contemplate a very splendid architectural structure - a cruciform in plan, with an octahedral base, over which the ringing tier is located. Architectural feature of the monastery can be called buttresses located at the corners of the vestibule - the presence of these structures is not typical for Moscow churches.
Address: pr. Svobodny 4A
Temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God of the former Simonov monastery in Moscow
Simonov Monastery was founded in the XIV century with the direct participation of Sergius of Radonezh. It was the most visited in Moscow. Members of royal families also came to pray to him, and most of the metropolitans here began their monastic way.
The customer was not satisfied with the work of the master, as the motives of the old Moscow architecture were present in it. It got to court, and ended up after 3 years that another architect, Osip Startsev, rebuilt the building in the style of Moscow Baroque. It was a magnificent building with an abundance of semi-columns and other decorative elements. The western facade with a beautiful stepped gable had a special splendor. The walls were painted in a manner imitating stonework - “in chess”.
In 1923 the premises of the holy cloister with the refectory were occupied by the museum, in 1931 – by the cinema club. When in 1930 the monastery was mercilessly destroyed, the aforementioned church remained the only surviving, albeit decapitated. The vacated territory was occupied by the Palace of Culture. In 1995, all that remained of the monastic ensemble (not counting the Tikhvin temple - 3 monastery towers and the southern wall), was given to the Church.
The temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God of the former Simonov monastery has one peculiarity - it is the only one in the capital where they hold services for the deaf and dumb. Until 2001, the sign language interpreter accompanied the services. And then services began to be fully carried out in sign language by the priest and the deacon themselves.
Address: Vostochnaya st., 4
Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Alexeyevsky in Moscow
In 1673, in honor of this icon, Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich decided to build the Temple of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in the village of Alekseevo near to his traveling palace. However, the tsar did not have time to see the new church, construction work was completed 4 years after his death - in 1680. On the day of consecration, October 31, the Patriarch and the young Tsar Fedor III solemnly brought the main shrine to the church - the Tikhvin Icon.
During the Soviet era, the temple was not closed. But in 1922 it did not avoid confiscation of property, including parts of the premises in which a vegetable base was arranged, and later an art workshop. Only in 1998, all church premises were vacated.
During the Second World War, the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God became the center of a very symbolic event. In December 1941, during the German offensive against Moscow, Stalin ordered to take the miraculous icon of the Tikhvin Mother of God from the church and fly around the whole city with it to support the fighting spirit of the people. Shortly after this event, the first successful offensive of the Red Army occurred, which, oddly enough, ended with the capture of the city of Tikhvin, where the original of the Tikhvin Icon was kept.
Currently, the Church of the Tikhvin Icon of the Mother of God in Alekseyevo has been restored and is open to believers.
Address: Mira Ave., 130
Temple of Trifon in Naprudnoye in Moscow
The temple of the martyr and wonderworker Trifon in Naprudnoye is considered one of the most ancient architectural monuments of Moscow. The temple was supposedly built in 1492. Its erection is associated with the legend of the falconry of Ivan the Terrible, who missed the beloved tsar’s hunter gyrfalcon. According to legend, falconry knyaz Trifon Patrikeev was in despair, as the loss of the falcon could have cost him his life. He spent the whole night in prayer to his patron Saint Trifon and fell asleep during prayer. In a dream, Saint Trifon himself appeared to him and indicated where the falcon was. After waking up, the knyaz immediately went to the specified place. Falcon was there. In gratitude for his salvation, he built a chapel of St. Tryphon in that place, and later, instead of the chapel, there was a stone church, preserved to this day.
In the 19th century, new limits were added to the church, the bell tower, the refectory. In the middle of the 20th century, restoration was carried out, later extensions were dismantled, and the temple was given its original appearance. After the long Soviet years of desolation, divine services were resumed in 1992.
Address: st. Trifonovskaya, 38
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Konkovo in Moscow
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Konkovo received a Trinity dedication only in 1991, but it was erected in 1690-1694 as the temple of St. Sergius of Radonezh.
At the end of the 17th century, Serino’s manor in the area of modern Konkovo (then the area was called Sosensky camp) was owned by the son of stolnik Fyodor Tolochanov, Semyon. It was he who in 1690 started in his village the construction of a stone house church in the style of Naryshkin baroque, completed by 1694 and consecrated in the name of Sergius, the wonder-worker of Radonezh. Thanks to this temple, the village was called Sergievsky.
In 1772, in connection with the increase of the peasants assigned to the parish of Sergius Church, it became a parish. At the beginning of the XIX century a warm stone refectory and a three-tiered stone belfry were attached to it, which had features of classicism, which were clearly discordant with the baroque building of the main church.
In the Sergievsky church there was a particularly honored icon of St. Sergius with a piece of relics. To this icon it is credited the miraculous deliverance of the inhabitants of Konkovo from the cholera epidemic that raged in those places in 1848. In the parish villages only 3 people died from the disease, while in the neighboring ones whole yards died out.
In 1939, the authorities closed the Church of St. Sergius of Radonezh and used as a warehouse (first a state farm, then a television center). Its appearance was disfigured, the altar was desecrated.
In 1990, the church was returned to believers. The first liturgy was performed on Easter 1991. The restoration of the church lasted for many years.
Address: st. Profsoyuznaya, 116 "a"
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Nikitniki in Moscow
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in Nikitniki was built in 1631 - 1634 at the expense of the merchant G. L. Nikitnikov in the territory of his own manor. The temple was erected in a place that has already changed several religious buildings. Prior to the temple of the Holy Trinity there was a wooden church of Nikita the Martyr, built in the late 16th century. It burned down in the 1620s during a major fire in China Town. It is also known that even earlier, in the 15th century, the Church of the Savior stood in the same place.
The temple is the most vivid example of Moscow patterns of the mid-17th century. And although the masters who built the temple belonged to the Yaroslavl school, famous for its huge temples, the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity has nothing to do with them. The expressive architectural forms, diverse decoration of portals and facades made it a model for the projects of new churches in Moscow at that time.
In 1920, the temple was closed for worship, and until 1991 it was part of the State Historical Museum. From 1923 to 1941 it housed a museum of works by the famous Russian isograph Simon Ushakov, since 1963 - the museum of ancient Russian painting. In 1991, the building was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church.
Address: per. Nikitnikov, 3
The Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in the Trinity sloboda in Moscow
The history of the Church of the Trinity in the Trinity sloboda begins in 1609 in the period known in Russia as Smuta. The temple owes its appearance to the Trinity-Sergius Lavra, which made an invaluable contribution to the liberation of Moscow from the Polish-Lithuanian interventionists, enduring a 16-month siege. For such steadfastness of the monastery, Tsar V.I. Shuisky allocated a plot of land in a village Naprudnoye near to Moscow for the construction of the Trinity-Sergiev Compound. Thus, at the time of the first mention of the Church of the Life-Giving Trinity in 1632, the wooden construction of the temple already existed.
In 1696 -1706 the temple was rebuilt from stone in the style of Moscow Baroque. Originally, the church had an asymmetrical composition, consisting of a temple with an apse and a refectory with a single aisle. In 1726 a bell tower was attached to the temple, and in 1851 a new side-altar was added, which made the construction of the church symmetrical. In the 19th century, the temple was repeatedly rebuilt and expanded.
Since 1815, the Church of the Trinity in the Trinity sloboda became the residence of the Moscow bishops. Russian patriarchs lived here at different times: Archbishop Augustine, St. Philaret, St. Innocent. The last patriarch who lived in the Compound from 1917 to 1922 was St. Tikhon. After his arrest, the temple was immediately closed, the crosses were removed, and the domes were partially dismantled. In Soviet times, the building was occupied by various institutions.
In 1992, the church was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church, and since 1993, services have been resumed. Currently, the church has a children's Sunday school, a library, a children's church choir, a publishing house, and workshops (icon painting, embroidery, sewing).
Address: 2nd Trinity Lane, 6A
Temple of Theodore Stratiote in Moscow
The construction time of the church belongs to 1806. Some researchers claim that when they restored the Menshikov tower without the upper tier, on which the bells were supposed to be, a warm winter church with a belfry was required, and then in 1782 the construction of the church “under the bells” was required. Most historians tend to believe that the Stratiote Church was originally planned as an independent temple, since the Menshikov Tower was used for a time for Masonic meetings, was desecrated and not consecrated.
At the beginning of the XIX century the church belonged to the Post Office, and its director, Fyodor Klyucharyov, in honor of his birthday made it a side chapel of St. Theodore. According to the legend in 1812 the churches of Theodore Tiron and the Archangel Gabriel at the Post Office were not burned by the French for a bribe given to them by the director of the post office. The soldiers threw burning straw in the courtyard away from the buildings, so that the Post Office and the two temples were not injured.
In the 1930s, the Stratiote Church was closed by the Bolshevik authorities. When, in 1947, the Patriarch of All Russia Alexy (I) addressed a request for the transfer of the well-preserved buildings of the churches of the Archangel Gabriel and Theodore Stratiote to open in Moscow the foundation of the Patriarch of Antioch, who was present in 1945 at the Local Council of the Russian Orthodox Church. So from July 17, 1948, both temples in Arkhangel (then - Telegraph) lane began to belong to the Antioch Compound, which still operates there. They were repaired; the worship in them has not stopped since. In 2006, the Stratiote Church celebrated its 200th anniversary.
Address: 15a, Arkhangelsky lane.
Temple of Theodore the Studite at the Nikitsky Gate in Moscow
Theodore the Studite is remembered by the Christian Church on November 11 (24 in a new style). On the same day, Russia celebrates another great event - the end of the Standing on the Ugra (river), which meant the liberation of the Russian people from the Mongol-Tatar yoke. In 1480, on this day, Khan Akhmat suddenly fled with all his army.
The temple that reached us was built in 1624 - 1625 by order of Patriarch Filaret himself, the father of the first Russian tsar from the Romanov dynasty. According to legend, in 1619, when Filaret returned from Polish captivity, it was at this place, at the Smolenskie (later - Nikitskie) gate, met his clergy of the capital. After 5 years, Vladyka Philaret expressed a desire to see a monastery here. The magnificent five-domed stone church with an eight-pitched hip-bell tower standing next to it - one of the first in Moscow in this style - became its cathedral church.
In 1812, the temple of Theodore the Studite at the Nikitskie Gate burned down and was renewed in the Empire style. It was left with only one head above the domed semi-circular apse. They attached 2 side chapels. It remained in this form until 1927, when it was closed and transferred to the needs of the national economy. Around the 1930s, the bell tower was destroyed, and a new building was built in its place. The Soviet authorities began restoration in 1984, adapting the church to the Suvorov Museum, which did not have time to be opened, since in 1991 the Orthodox returned the building to themselves.
Address: st. B. Nikitskaya, 29
The Cathedral of Christ the Savior in Moscow
The memorial church to Christ the Savior of Russia from the French invasion was erected after the promise of Emperor Alexander I. The temple was laid on December 12, 1817 on Vorobyevy Hills. But this project, conceived in majestic classical forms, was never implemented - by the decree of the Senate of May 11, 1827, construction was discontinued.
In 1830, Nicholas II handed over the design of the temple to K.A. Ton, who managed to harmoniously combine the idea of the temple with its appearance and dignified location - the territory of the Alekseevsky Monastery. In 1837, the Commission was appointed for the construction of the temple, a year later, construction began.
The construction of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior became a significant event for Moscow: its architecture made a clear distinction between two eras in the architecture of Moscow - outgoing classicism in the version of the post-fire Moscow Empire style and the birth of the Russian style to update the historical center of Moscow.
On December 5, 1931 the temple was blown up. A number of frescoes were removed and transferred to the Tretyakov Gallery. Several high reliefs from the facades of the temple were transferred to the Museum of Architecture (mounted in the walls of the Donskoy Monastery). In 1990, his restoration began, while the drawings of Ton and his assistants stored in the Architecture Museum were used for construction. A new temple was erected on a huge stylobate, inside of which there is a lower temple in the name of St. Nicholas Mirlikisky, the Museum of the Cathedral of Christ the Savior and the hall of church councils. The newly built temple was consecrated in 2000.
Address: st. Volkhonka, 15-17